- Oct 8, 2017
- AFL Club
- Carlton
Sniper Lewis would probably enjoy the chance to line up Clarkson these days
True, sour
Clarko will be very good , I think.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Sniper Lewis would probably enjoy the chance to line up Clarkson these days
Why wouldn't he be, not many clubs can do deals in the multi sevens ATM, especially with a list like ours and an insistent benefactor loaded to the GillsClarkson is very much interested.
Assuming he agrees to the offerTrue, sour
Clarko will be very good , I think.
No, No, No. This is the Carlton mentality of accepting mediocrity and making excuses for non-performance. We do not need 5 years of rebuild. Teams like Brisbane and Bulldogs have proven this. If Clarkson cannot turn our list around into top 4 in 2-3 years maximum, then he is not worth the million dollars he is being offered. We have a spine which is flourished with All Australian caliber players
And if he is simply going to sack/trade players because its too hard to mentally reach them or win them over, then he again is the wrong coach for us. Coming in an adopting an arrogant 'my way or the highway' mentality is a cop out. Do the hard yards to build the team - that's what the coach is paid to do
Assuming he agrees to the offer
Milburn had to get a police escort out of the ground because there were dead set a large group of supporters waiting to line him up.I was also 10 rows back 15m to the right. The wildest day at the footy I've experienced.
Heavy dark clouds and unseasonal humidity really gave the scene a dramatic atmosphere. We were absolutely towelling the Cats, and were travelling ok into finals.
We had the chance at a top 4 finish stolen by Essendon playing dead on the Friday night to let Richmond finish 4th rather than the finals-seasoned Blues. We were clearly a top 4 calibre team that season, but had dropped too many games.
We knew the team was teetering on the edge, with ageing stars and a bunch of scrappy goers. With finals starting the following week, we just needed to get through the end of this game to have one last crack at a flag with the 90s core. Kouta was back to his 2000 form, and if everything went right, anything was possible.
In pretty quick succession, Ratten busted his elbow, and a couple of other players went down. Started feeling sick. Then Milburn.
I reckon the fear that our last shot was being ripped from us doubled the angst and hate for Milburn, who behaved outrageously. The crowd reaction was really wild stuff, and I felt the same rage.
After Jimmy Plunkett smashed the Crows and Essendon embarrassed Richmond with their real team we rocked up to play a huge final vs Richmond 4 days after September 11. Me and my Richmond mate went along sheepishly, it didn't feel right to go to the footy that day.
sh*t game, couldn't get going, We kicked 2.9 to 4 straight after half time, when Kouta did his ACL I shed a tear. It didn't matter if we won the game, our season ended there. Beaten by 9.
Era dead and buried. Most of us knew we were probably cooked.
any word on when this 66 game rebuild starts? was mentioned in 2015 but yet to see it start? Similar to the west gate tunnel.
I was also 10 rows back 15m to the right. The wildest day at the footy I've experienced.
Heavy dark clouds and unseasonal humidity really gave the scene a dramatic atmosphere. We were absolutely towelling the Cats, and were travelling ok into finals.
We had the chance at a top 4 finish stolen by Essendon playing dead on the Friday night to let Richmond finish 4th rather than the finals-seasoned Blues. We were clearly a top 4 calibre team that season, but had dropped too many games.
We knew the team was teetering on the edge, with ageing stars and a bunch of scrappy goers. With finals starting the following week, we just needed to get through the end of this game to have one last crack at a flag with the 90s core. Kouta was back to his 2000 form, and if everything went right, anything was possible.
In pretty quick succession, Ratten busted his elbow, and a couple of other players went down. Started feeling sick. Then Milburn.
I reckon the fear that our last shot was being ripped from us doubled the angst and hate for Milburn, who behaved outrageously. The crowd reaction was really wild stuff, and I felt the same rage.
After Jimmy Plunkett smashed the Crows and Essendon embarrassed Richmond with their real team we rocked up to play a huge final vs Richmond 4 days after September 11. Me and my Richmond mate went along sheepishly, it didn't feel right to go to the footy that day.
sh*t game, couldn't get going, We kicked 2.9 to 4 straight after half time, when Kouta did his ACL I shed a tear. It didn't matter if we won the game, our season ended there. Beaten by 9.
Era dead and buried. Most of us knew we were probably cooked.
Interesting timing re Murph . . . 300 this week rather than next, different farewell, following news (and additions) next week . . .
Great summary. Remember sitting on the second level in the Southern Stand watching Kouta towel up the Crows in the first final thinking we have got a chance, now. I remember the Herald Sun headline, "Kouta's Scooter Derails Crows". For some reason that stuck in my head.
The next week Richmond dragged us down to their rubbish football. But I was still comfortable with Kouta leading the way. He was unstoppable that day. Then Knights did Kouta's knee. And that was that.
Thinking about it, although there was a chance we would have got over the Bombers and I think the Lions would have been too hard.
Yeah a possibility but by the GF Brisbane were on a roll win 14 in a row or something. The were fit, no injuries and primed.We beat Essendon in both Home and Away matches that year, in fact they tanked in their last home and away game against Richmond to avoid playing us in the first week of Finals. resting a bunch of their better players.
Richmond defeated Essendon by 24 points in the last Home and Away Match, the next week Essendon defeated Richmond by 70 points in the Qualifying Final.
We had defeated Brisbane by 74 points earlier in that year so who knows?
He's trolling mate.
I also found the retirement announcement curious.Interesting timing re Murph . . . 300 this week rather than next, different farewell, following news (and additions) next week . . .
I think the difference this time is that the list is in better shape. We have a young core that includes a likely perennial Coleman medal contender (McKay), a likely perennial All Australian key position defender (Weitering) and a like perennial Brownlow medal contender (Walsh). We never had those pieces when Malthouse took over from Ratten which is why it failed so spectacularly.I’m so concerned that this is shaping up to be a Ratten-like dismissal. Knee jerk reaction to a season where we had no where near our best 22 on the park for an extended period. Unless the review shows a real coach driven culture issue or a culture issue that Teague is incapable of mending, then I’m concerned we will be going down a familiar path.
I just want the best decision to propel our great club back into greatness
Clarkson will give the club an answer in next few days.
I was also 10 rows back 15m to the right. The wildest day at the footy I've experienced.
This made me think he wasn't the only one - or am I reading this incorrectly?I also found the retirement announcement curious.
Confirmed for game 300 and immediately retiring.. after saying earlier in the year he'd maybe consider playing on. Makes me wonder if he/the players have received some news..
His last game as well as his 300th game I think.This made me think he wasn't the only one - or am I reading this incorrectly?
"I announced earlier to the boys and the whole playing group that this week would be my last game as well," Murphy said on Tuesday.
A reference to the coming of the Messiah in Revelations apparently on a white horse....
If he needs that much convincing, we don't need himIf Sayers has the same “sh*t” in him as George Harris he’ll have Clarkson on the phone until he says yes.
I think maybe because the question was surrounding his 300 and I believe he was saying he announced it will be his last game as well as his 300th.This made me think he wasn't the only one - or am I reading this incorrectly?
"I announced earlier to the boys and the whole playing group that this week would be my last game as well," Murphy said on Tuesday.