Bluemour Melting Pot XXIX

It's clearly a Straw Man. You are implying I think "everyone" who volunteers their time is for self interest.

I'm clearly not saying I think that about "everyone".
Ok. I’m going to leave it be 😀. With the quote about the “not being paid, you are the product“ I thought you actually were saying that, as i took it as an implication that people don’t give their time without a selfish motivation. Maybe that’s not what you meant and maybe that is my mistake in inferring that was what you were saying.

All good mate. Differences of opinion are good. Many blessings to you. 😀

Oh really?

You know Richmond made finals in the 3 years prior to 2016 right?

(Those) Carlton supporters drawing the same parallels is really just to comfort their poor little heads that if we keep doing nothing, things will miraculously turn around.

Here's the hot tip, they won't.

FFS we have a football review going on and the football director didn't even show up to Thursday's board meeting where the review was discussed. How can anybody be ok with this??

Governance of this club is in total paralysis, and there must be upheaval for us to move forward
How do you know he did not turn up to the meeting cm ?

Seems to me CJ seems to escape any scrutiny re our on-field performance. What exactly is his accountability as Footy director ?

Once the season ends Judd is stepping down from the board, that's a week from now. If Thursday's meeting was about the review and formulating a plan on how to proceed then there really would be no reason for him to be present. I don't know whether he was there or not but can't see how it means anything right now.

Given the review is about the Footy department i would have thought he would have some insight and direction for the Board.

As i said i am really not sure what the Footy director role is responsible for.

My scenario isn't really a matter of the club turfing Cripps, more one where he chooses to leave because of a different club direction, new coach etc. Fresh start for all type vibe.

Agree that a strong coach is needed to get him back on track though, really don't understand the shift in his game in the last two years.

Reckon he still has a big part to play, but has to take a back seat.

Done a commendable job as captain given the circumstances, but hasn’t got the maturity to continue. Also still too much of the ‘old regime’ and from the outside has been afforded way too much influence in on field matters and needs to get back to focusing on his own game which is in desperate need of re-tooling.

Should not be looked at as ‘the man’ at the stoppages anymore, but a good compliment to the mids around him. I’m not completely writing off him returning to form, I just think we have stupidly played through him to the extreme when he was carrying injuries or supremely out of touch.

I have said it before, but he’d benefit from a change in coach more than anyone. Needs a real career makeover, because it has been flagging for almost 2 years.

Done a commendable job as captain given the circumstances, but hasn’t got the maturity to continue. Also still too much of the ‘old regime’ and from the outside has been afforded way too much influence in on field matters and needs to get back to focusing on his own game which is in desperate need of re-tooling.

Should not be looked at as ‘the man’ at the stoppages anymore, but a good compliment to the mids around him. I’m not completely writing off him returning to form, I just think we have stupidly played through him to the extreme when he was carrying injuries or supremely out of touch.

I have said it before, but he’d benefit from a change in coach more than anyone. Needs a real career makeover, because it has been flagging for almost 2 years.
Well said. I am much more comfortable with Kennedy in there at the moment, is playing a much more rounded game and is a better mark and better finisher.

Kennedy will be an interesting one, I can definitely seem him exploring his options as a DFA if another club has been impressed with his finish to the year. Was given very few chances despite dominating the VFL and is probably entitled to be pissed about it.

A lot of that will depend on what coach we have anyway. If Clarko comes in, I dare say we stand a lot better chance of getting players onboard.

I get the feeling we are going to end up with Lyon, and Cerra knows this.

If Freo were a better team I’d be less confident, but they are in the same general area on the ladder and this season is being hailed a success.

There were comments a week ago from a poster that knows the family that interstate players have hardly seen their families in 2 years and can’t visit when the players get to Melbourne.

I think we are hitting the sweet spot with this one.

On one of the footy shows (radio/tv) they said Judd basically left at the beginning of the year..very minor input as he was to busy is they way they put it.

If he left at the beginning of the year he should have been replaced immediately.

Oh really?

(Those) Carlton supporters drawing the same parallels is really just to comfort their poor little heads that if we keep doing nothing, things will miraculously turn around.

FFS we have a football review going on and the football director didn't even show up to Thursday's board meeting where the review was discussed. How can anybody be ok with this??

Governance of this club is in total paralysis, and there must be upheaval for us to move forward

Oh really?

You know you weren't supposed to take my post seriously, right?

Here's the hot tip, read the last sentence of my post again...

:p

I have a different take - I think he should be wholly treated as 'the man' at stoppages and not worry about the rest of it so much ... Purely be 'see ball, get ball', draw a couple of opponents and dish off a handball, or create space for a teammate.

The thing that has concerned me is that his handballs have seriously deteriorated in quality - they used to be elite, super creative and this was evident from his very earliest games. These past couple of years they're soft/floaters, miss targets, poor decisions, spin badly etc... On the flip side, it's one thing that makes me hope that it might be as much about what's going on 'upstairs' because you don't just lose your handballing ability. If it is largely 'upstairs', it could partially explain other aspects that have deteriorated, like his inability to break tackles the way he used to.

In the case that he can't return to a clearance beast, I don't know what value he will hold long term, because his pace is a real issue. I love him, so I hope for nothing but success.

You've been on the sauce all night again haven't you Ferris?

I'm amazed after all this time that anyone takes me seriously :)

Also, I'm not much of a drinker. But after yesterday's match, I might rethink that...

Credible source says Lyon will be our next coach.

Was certainly very coy about it on Triple M today, he's clearly interested in coaching again and it really sounded like he's going to be back in the game next year. But he gave nothing away which you would think would be the case being respectful.

Would not be surprised to see him at Carlton, think he seems keen to coach again. Clarkson sounds like he may not be fully committed if he is truly pondering whether or not to have a break. Perhaps Lyon has a soft spot for Carlton growing up supporting the club and spending some time there as an assistant coach which he has spoken glowingly about.

Oh really?

Judd isn’t part of the future, and part of the problem, of course he shouldn’t be attending the board meeting.

They do need to nail his replacement though. Key to any revival from top down is strong leadership.