Bluemour Melting Pot XXVI

As per the Bluemour File OP, this is a thread for discussing Carlton related rumours.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/bluemour-file.1085141/

Rumour posters should post their rumours in both threads for those that like just to read rumours and for those that like to have get lost in their rumour files.

Remember ... #Bluemour

Continued from here ...

Continued here:

Last edited by a moderator:
I may be over-valuing what we have in Setterfield, but I did say at the start of the year, that he could be the mid that makes all the difference for us.
I know not many of us value ECurnow, but he does a lot of work that if he were a little cleaner, we'd have him in the Viney, Menegola, Rockcliff category.

A starting midfield of Cripps, Williams, Walsh, Setterfield and ECurnow isn't too bad at all.
The trick will now be for one/two/three of our younger guys to elevate themselves beyond what we thought possible and it's not hard to see where they may come from. Kemp & Stocker were MIA this year. Dow was injured. SPS played out of position. Fisher played out of his natural position etc.

I want to be surprised and will be disappointed if not, given what I saw of Setterfield and Stocker pre-season.

I have high hopes for Samo if he gets the opportunity to consistently play in the midfiled. Setters and Ed are great warriors, who could even be better with the instant inclusion of an A Grade mid.
I regularly chat to an ex Carlton player I know (100 game player) and he has a firm belief that at the start of a game, when everything is equal, talent and speed generally holds sway. As the game progresses and fatigue occurs, then determination, willpower and desire start to close the gap on pure talent and speed.
It sort of makes sense when you see how many times we were blown away early, only to fight back in the later stages.
Williams and Saad will address much of the outside speed, but another A GRADE talented mid would be good.
Kemp, Stocker could be that in a few seasons... but we need to strike sooner.

Hey guys spoke to Saad’s close relative today, apparently Teague spoke to him before he nominated Carlton and promised him you guys have a A-grade midfielder joining the blues this season at around 600k a year? Any news on who this might be?
What a load of crap...

As if our coach is going to promise as part of negotiations a month out from trade week
that we are guaranteeing him we are getting an A grade mid..
Then go onto to tell him how much this so called A grade mid was going to earn...

Piss off and take your crap back to the Essendon board

Treloar is on a horrible contract. And is a limited player (cannot hit a target by foot for love nor money)

Think there has to be reasons with regards to his attitude as to why the Pies are keen to offload him too.

Horrible contract yes. Limited player yes. Attitude problems you’ve got to be f***n kidding me. Think you’ll find the reason the scum want to offload him is he’s replaceable and moreso financial with their cap squeeze. He’s no Dane Beams

People are making it sound like Danger went in with a flying clothesline off the top turnbuckle. He punched the ball then protected himself first and foremost.

Bottom line is if it was Patrick Cripps, then absolutely no one here would be demanding he gets 12 weeks. End of story!

Yeah not sure but IF we were going to pick up a purely depth ruck in case of an injury crisis, i'd be thinking someone like these 2 on a really cheap contract and pick up as DFA or something. 1 year contract, see what transpires end of 2021.

Otherwise i'd be prepared to go with just Pitto/TDK/Cas. It's not that out of the ordinary to other clubs...we're used to an injury prone Kreuzer meaning we needed lots of ruck depth but if you have a durable ruck should be OK.
If we needed cover we could look at someone like Majak Daw who would be a dfa and gives you cover in multiple positions including ruck, back and forward and we could give him a rookie slot so wouldn’t cost bugger all, that would be my thinking as it gives you cover in multiple areas.

Dunkley is Essendon's problem, not ours. It's not Austin's job to secure Dunkley for them.

Those of us who follow U18 footy have seen Kemp in action. I'd be surprised if he didn't play Round 1. Think of him as our version of Tomlinson (or thereabouts). Nearly as big as Cripps, but quicker.

You obviously haven't seen Campbell in action. Arguably the best kid in this draft IMO and higher ceiling than Heeney. Even more "bust-proof" than Walsh if that's possible. Vanilla with tricks.

Only if you believe the media. Do you really think we're going to be paying Saad $650k/yr and Williams 900k/yr???

.......then again, if our CEO has had liddle fiddle with the List Management Dept, then.......

I suspect their going to be left "high-and-dry" during trade week. I think they'll be totally unrealistic with what they want for Brown & Higgins.
I agree about Dunkley being their problem. Issue as I see it is that dodo may only accept a 1st. As they need to bring one in to be able to trade theirs.

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

There can't be too many mature aged players for that purpose though? Shaun McKernan? Ryan Abbott?
Id rather bring back Corey than take on Shaun Mckernan.

Horrible contract yes. Limited player yes. Attitude problems you’ve got to be f***n kidding me. Think you’ll find the reason the scum want to offload him is he’s replaceable and moreso financial with their cap squeeze. He’s no Dane Beams

Treloar has always struck me as bit of a FIGJAM flog myself (esp since he made that infamous comment that Collingwood have a better list than Richmond)

He won't be at Carlton next year anyway, so it's all academic.

Reckon it would be hard to pinch anyone of note like Payne when we can't offer first team opportunities anytime soon.

Jones is only 29...if his form holds he should still be around for a few years. He's been solid for us with his intensity and effort. Weitering is a lock. And I don't think the club even wants to play 3 big KPDs...happy for the third tall to be Plowman who is flexible. Then have the smaller guys for some run.

For now, in case of injury Cas can play defence, or give Marchy/Macreadie the call up to cover for a while.

I reckon next year's trade period is more likely to bring in a KPD...when Jones is 30 and Cas likely retiring. A better idea of whether Marchy/Macreadie will make it or not. More opportunity which would make us more attractive for a Payne/B McKay type.
Jones for a few years is well and good. If we are to draft his replacement, then we'd want to do it this year. Give him some time to develop.

Unless we are going for a mature type.

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I would still target a KPD, even with Macreadie if he comes on, as he is mobile/agile enough to also play as a 3rd tall

If we keep pick 7, I would draft Cox, otherwise I would try and target a Payne, Ballenden type this trade period
I would be surprised if the club wasn’t looking for another KPD unless our LM thinking has changed since bringing in Goddard as that extra, with both he and BSOS going out there is a definite need for another whether short term, or better imo long term, Ballenden, Payne or B McKay would be ideal whether plausible who knows, as I said I think the club will bring one in before all is said and done this year.