Bluemour Melting Pot XXVI

As per the Bluemour File OP, this is a thread for discussing Carlton related rumours.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/bluemour-file.1085141/

Rumour posters should post their rumours in both threads for those that like just to read rumours and for those that like to have get lost in their rumour files.

Remember ... #Bluemour

Continued from here ...

Continued here:

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't.

We'll never get anything out of McGovern. Teague is too soft on him and he'll continue to be gifted games.

Kemp can play 3rd tall forward and do a far better job.

If people don't want to bring in anymore draftees, Treloar is the perfect solution. Gives us running power to suit Teague's game style and would be a substantial upgrade on what we've currently got.

The only way we should take on Treloar is if Collingwood are going to pay 40 - 50% of his contract value for the remainder of his deal. I doubt that would happen.

Such hypocrisy too, Sheedy claimed not that long ago, we were trying to buy a list.. but them trying to buy Dunkley, Caldwell, etc isn't buying a list?

No-one outside of Tulla gives a crap what crazy Sheeds says.

Treloar has always struck me as bit of a FIGJAM flog myself (esp since he made that infamous comment that Collingwood have a better list than Richmond)

He won't be at Carlton next year anyway, so it's all academic.

Did you think the comment was FIGJAM before or after Richmond won the premiership, not many people here would have thought Richmond had the better lost when he moved.
How is a player saying he chose Collingwood over Richmond because he thought their list was better, being FIGJAM?

Last edited by a moderator:
Appears as though Glen Barlett (Melb Chairman) has stated Clarry will not be traded...Have to take that on face value that he is NOT coming to us under any circumstance..

Yeah nah

You can take it on face value

He even said it himself... It's a matter for list management

Did you think the comment was FIGJAM before or after Richmond won the premiership, not many people here would have thought Richmond had the better lost when he moved.
How is a player saying he chose Collingwood over Richmond because he thought their list was better, being FIGJAM?

May not be a figjam comment per se, but still an arrogant and disrespectful comment to say the least.

Yeah but to pull off that kind of game style you need players who are really fit and are good runners to be able to swarm and overlap run. If you look at their recruiting over the last 5 or so years, I think it's clear they've put an emphasis on these traits when drafting players. It's well known they have a stack of half forward running types...so much so they are getting the job done even without Butler/Caddy/Higgins. They ensure their lower picks who are lesser skilled, are at least good runners so they can just play a role (eg Lambert/McIntosh). Even all their KPDs are agile like Balta/Grimes/Broad who aren't typical big, slow KPD's.

Put it this way, i'm not so sure the likes of Castagna/Lambert/Pickett/McIntosh/Broad would be any good or make much difference to another team. I highly doubt they would have developed into the players they are now at least. They are the type of players who have just really benefited from a great system and play a role.

Bringing it back to Carlton, this is why I get a little concerned when we hear of players like Stocker having poor endurance...as a mid could he really keep up with Richmond's mids? Could he apply that intense defensive pressure they do and also surge forward when we have the ball? Probably not. Basically, I wouldn't mind seeing us essentially ruling out drafting any player with poor endurance...in the modern game it's a serious weakness. Have a few in your team and you'll get badly exposed by teams like Richmond who will run you into the ground...and no game plan will work if your players are simply unable to keep up, meaning the opposition has loose players everywhere.

Your exactly right and this is why Russell noted that we have a lack of hybrid type players on our list, ie endurance and speed which is almost a necessity in modern footy, any players we bring in need to have these attributes in abundance.

Also Teague needs to be more open to our half forwards pushing up and getting used in general play and not just when we are behind because then it’s to late, most sides that hurt us this year and kicked the dreaded 5 goal runs it was due to there half backs pushing up through the middle while our half forwards were hesitant to go with them due to Teague wanting them high for the forward press, he needs to back them to be able to get up the ground and get used on the way back again as it makes us a much more dangerous team.

Appears as though Glen Barlett (Melb Chairman) has stated Clarry will not be traded...Have to take that on face value that he is NOT coming to us under any circumstance..

Clown has also said they have a top four list then extended the coaching contract of the guy that cannot even get them into the eight. Genius level stuff

Treloar has always struck me as bit of a FIGJAM flog myself (esp since he made that infamous comment that Collingwood have a better list than Richmond)

He won't be at Carlton next year anyway, so it's all academic.
quite the opposite

watch this interview, he’s an incredible guy