Bluemour Melting Pot XXVII

Geez Louise... Some absolute nuff central stuff going on in this thread...

Our best 22 is now a finals team. Get excited you miserable lot.

That about sums it up. And the bonus is we just took one of *'s clear Top 3 players off them in his prime.

Hilarious hysterical reading on here the last few weeks. This was always the projected deal on our behalf, it's just that fans here completely imagined something different.

We wanted a 2nd back for a 3rd. Instead we got a 3rd back and kept our 3rd.

Pick 8 will be pushed out to pick 10 and given the lack of development and not being able to see the top VIC prospects play this year, it's going to be much harder than usual to nail draft picks. I really do think that has come into the negotiations and thought process.

I mean, it's been a couple of years and guys like O'Brien/Dow/Stocker still aren't in our best 22 and they were drafted in normal years. Saad will immediately improve us and help us reach finals - and reaching finals could help entice a FA like Merrett next year.
Pick 48 will become 55-60 also

Calm the f down you lot. Pick 8 which will be Pick 10-12 at draft night for a premier half back flanker and a kid with a pick upgrade is fair. Why is everyone so hellbent on winning every trade. We got the player we needed.
its not a pick upgrade it’s a third rounder and a significant pick upgrade for a guy who won’t be in our best 25

Not that I’m super pumped about the specifics of the Saad deal, but we have to realise that draft picks outside the top five this year are worth much less than a usual year.

There are literally 5 proven talents in the draft this year plus JUH. The rest will be speccy picks based on potential. The draft prospects from Victoria didn’t get to play and will not be ready to make an impact at AFL level next year without a complete top-age season.

Too bad for * they won’t get access to the top rung and will probably blow their picks on the next Francis or Laverde.

Jesus some people have no idea
We haven't brought in 2 players of the class of Saad and Williams since Judd
Draft picks are over rated especially when we don't need more kids
Stop over rated sos he did ok but Austin has done awesome so far in his short time As list manager
Cant wait to see all you flogs to jump on the Saad and Williams bandwagon when they are playing awesome footy for us next yr

Yep who cares about pick 8 when we now have Saad & Williams in our team? Fogarty could be an astute pick up...we've clearly targeted speed.

Will be hard to pick winners in this year's draft given most didn't play at all...and we already have LOB/Stocker/Dow/Kemp/Philp etc to come into the team so it's not like we're lacking youth. AND could still pick up a player with 38 and/or 48.

Saad & Williams propel us into finals, we look even more attractive and next year it helps more guns to nominate us. Pick 8 doesn't come on and becomes a bust for Essendon ;)

This might not bode well for us in future at all...

Look at GC giving up *2 for Weller...

Tried to change their presence when dealing with us over Martin... didn't happen...

now they're reduced to letting go of a 24 yr old KPF for a 4th rounder whilst also paying for him to play against them.

Imagine what Melbourne are going to ask for Oliver... and even more scary... imagine what we'll end up giving them...

Just checked AFL trade tracker page and the saad trade isn’t official.
It is only reported this is the deal and should be settled this arvo on saad.
Fogerty is gotten by using picks we own.

Just a gut feel a reporter may have gone early. ????

Lachlan Fogarty is one of the most underrated players in the 2017 draft crop. At 179cm and limited exposure due to a few injuries this year, the pocket rocket from the Western Jets has not been mentioned in the same breath as some of the top liners despite having all the tools to succeed at the elite level. Fogarty has elite agility and his trademark sidestep is eye-catching, while he has that breakaway speed and a touch of class to go with his offensive game. He has no trouble finding the pill and even more impressively averaged eight tackles per game from seven matches in the TAC Cup, showing he has a strong defensive mindset as well. Fogarty has a really good all-round game and the two improvements that could be added to further enhance his game is consistency in his disposal and his one-on-one marking. As a whole it is expected Fogarty will feature somewhere in the top 30 on draft night.

STRENGTHS

• Agility
  • Accumulation
  • Speed
  • Class
  • Tackling
Lachlan Fogarty has a number of athletic traits which would appeal to recruiters. His agility is as good as anyone’s and while he was unable to test himself at the National Combine due to illness, it is expected he would have been among the top finishers in the agility test. His speed is another attribute that assists him in gliding around the field. He wins his fair share of contested ball but he can breakaway from packs and move seamlessly through opponents transitioning the ball from midfield to the forward 50. In 2017 he averaged six inside 50s per game and 10 handball receives. While this points to more of an outside player, Fogarty won 44 per cent of his possessions at the coal face and averaged 16 kicks per game, meaning almost one in three of his kicks were penetrating the forward 50.

His other strengths include accumulation – he averaged 25 disposals – and tackling, where he laid eight tackles per game to be ranked number one of all National Combine invites, ahead of Murray Bushrangers’ Harry Jones and known tackling machines James Worpel and Hunter Clark. His defensive efforts speak of his leadership and ability to stand up when required. He has a great awareness out on the field and his offensive and defensive movements impact the match.

Pretty clear indication that we either don't rate the draft, or we're confident that some of the kids we like will go late.

Given our areas of need are small forward/ruck/KPD, that's probably a fair assessment.

Picks 38 and 48 - who do we like there, draft experts? Gotta think Henry Walsh is a chance.
Agree Henry is a must has good genes and secure Sam with CFC would be an astute move not a bad footballer either and we need a good tall.

I could respect our silent routine if in fact it had purpose...damn, I could even come to admire it...

Austin has advocated for Dodoro here much more strongly than SOS has been accused of through the week.

Pete Ryan at The Age is reporting that has been done now too! Lachie Fogarty and pick 38 to Carlton for pick 30 and pick 51 to Geelong.

I think this is OK...it's clear we don't really want many draft picks this year...probably only going to draft 2 players and upgrade Gibbons.
Which makes sense given list sizes will be reduced and we have plenty of kids already on the list not in our best 22.

Equivalent of #41 which is late 2nd/early 3rd territory. Even trade.

How good is it to be able to actually get our targets through the door unlike previous years - hell, it's even nice that our targets are nominating us!

So what that we don't have a first-round pick in a compromised draft? We've held onto all of our future picks and we've been going to the draft for the past several years. Our strategy was always to trade away this year's first and for that, we've locked in a potential All Australian + received Williams for basically nothing.

Cheer up guys and enjoy the next few seasons.

he convinced two best 22 (best 10) players to join us. SOS never did this, we're too accustomed to cherishing draft picks.

You'd be somewhat happy with a future 2nd, but unhappy with 48. The difference is 20 picks, you want him sacked on a 20 pick slide?
He convinced Williams by over paying him, I hope he becomes a gun but $800k for 6 years for an unproven midfielder is a massive risk.

Next years second will be worth twice as much compared to pick 48 this year.