Bluemour Melting Pot XXVII

We haven’t won a premiership in 25 years.
We have traded pick 8 for a Kade Simpson replacement. Premierships here we come.

Adam Saad was traded 3 years ago for pick 35 while contracted, yet now he is worth pick 8 because he plays for the bombers.
He is worth pick 8 by the way he plays, premierships before draft picks mate.

Not only do we get speed and class.

* get pick 6 7 8 in a draft that is a totally unknown quantity....That is rather amusing.

Major stuff ups guaranteed.

At least one of them will go to the Dogs for Dunkley. Probably two I would have thought.

he convinced two best 22 (best 10) players to join us. SOS never did this, we're too accustomed to cherishing draft picks.

You'd be somewhat happy with a future 2nd, but unhappy with 48. The difference is 20 picks, you want him sacked on a 20 pick slide?

Except, SOS was implementing a full rebuild and we were barely winning games.. bit hard to convince best 22 players to come across wouldn't you say?

Pete Ryan at The Age is reporting that has been done now too! Lachie Fogarty and pick 38 to Carlton for pick 30 and pick 51 to Geelong.

I think this is OK...it's clear we don't really want many draft picks this year...probably only going to draft 2 players and upgrade Gibbons.
Which makes sense given list sizes will be reduced and we have plenty of kids already on the list not in our best 22.
already upgraded Gibbo. Was only expecting us to draft a couple anyway

Pick 48 is gone so that only benefits Geelong.

So We'll take 30, 51 and 78 to the draft and have to take someone with 30 and 50?

Jeez

Pretty clear indication that we either don't rate the draft, or we're confident that some of the kids we like will go late.

Given our areas of need are small forward/ruck/KPD, that's probably a fair assessment.

Picks 38 and 48 - who do we like there, draft experts? Gotta think Henry Walsh is a chance.

Jesus some people have no idea
We haven't brought in 2 players of the class of Saad and Williams since Judd
Draft picks are over rated especially when we don't need more kids
Stop over rated sos he did ok but Austin has done awesome so far in his short time As list manager
Cant wait to see all you flogs to jump on the Saad and Williams bandwagon when they are playing awesome footy for us next yr

he convinced two best 22 (best 10) players to join us. SOS never did this, we're too accustomed to cherishing draft picks.

You'd be somewhat happy with a future 2nd, but unhappy with 48. The difference is 20 picks, you want him sacked on a 20 pick slide?

But paying them both significantly overs in salary

Something SOS was able to do with both McGov and Martin

bent over with Fog as well

the hell
Pete Ryan at The Age is reporting that has been done now too! Lachie Fogarty and pick 38 to Carlton for pick 30 and pick 51 to Geelong.

I think this is OK...it's clear we don't really want many draft picks this year...probably only going to draft 2 players and upgrade Gibbons.
Which makes sense given list sizes will be reduced and we have plenty of kids already on the list not in our best 22.
Wow reamed in both trades

Agreed.
Some of the melts on here are dead set embarrassing.

Are you embarrassed HBF? I'm not. We held tough for a week only to give them exactly what they wanted. What was the point?

Pretty much...we've had multiple top 10 picks over the last 4-5 years...and as a base we're salivating over which beast of a kid we're going to pick up next. Then this year we give up a pick in a year where draft picks have much less certainty of being correct, and pick up a solid player with a skillset of pace which we desperately need. Melts definitely not required on this one.

To all the Nick Austin Haters, if you are going to pay out on him on the Saad trade, you also need to acknowledge him for getting Zac Williams to the club as our biggest Free Agent signing yet.

You cannot have it both ways.