Betstar Champions Cup Boag's Pre-season cup - Help us rank the sides and win a double pass

Sports_Support

Sports Support
Dec 30, 2010
Bundoora
FOR YOUR CHANCE TO WIN A DOUBLE PASS TO THE DAY IN THE BIG FOOTY MARQUEE, RANK THE SIDES IN ORDER BELOW, 3 LUCKY CONTRIBUTORS WILL BE SELECTED AT RANDOM TO WIN!!! PLEASE LET US KNOW ON YOUR POST IF YOU CANNOT ATTEND THE DAY

To generate some direction for league officials to seed the team’s competing in the pre-season cup it has been agreed to put a forum to the public and let everyone get the ball rolling.

The draw will be available Friday the 18th of Feb and will be decided on by one official from each league competing. The majority will determine rank and will also allow Alan Eskander to frame a market where actual odds and wagers will be available on BetStar... more details at www.sportssupport.com.au

The teams are as follows;

VAFA - Old Carey FC (Smashed the VAFA B Grade Comp in 2010 & now in A grade will represent the VAFA. Old Xav's declined to participate)
...NFL - West Preston FC (Ran all over the Heidelberg FC in the GF & are physical).

EDFL - Marby Park FC (The Back to Back Premiers will try and stamp its name as the strongest Metro Football team in the Country boasting a ton of talent)

WRFL - Albion FC (Stunned the WRFL with a Flag and with some new recruits - straight-line toughness)

GFL - South Barwon FC (One of the favourites from a power house comp. Will have the entire town of Geelong behind them).

EFL - Mulgrave FC (Represent one of the strongest Melbourne Comps & this year in Div. 1. Have recruited quality Ex AFL & VFL players. Noble Park declined to participate).

RDFL - Riddell FC (Strong club with a massive following and will be keen to keep momentum from their 2010 Premiership win)

SFL - Clayton FC (The club has been a powerhouse in the Div. 1 Comp for a long time & has recruited strongly for 2011. Unfortunately with some small concerns at St Kilda City they could not confirm.)

Look forward to hearing your thoughts...

Boag's Draft Pre-Season Invitational - March 6, 2011
Barling Reserve, Plenty Road, Reservoir

http://www.sportssupport.com.au/

Re: Boag's Pre-season cup - Help us rank the sides

I'll have a crack.

1. South Barwon
2. Marby Park
3. West Preston
4. Mulgrave
5. Old Carey
6. Albion
7. Riddell
8. Clayton

South Barwon a clear first, Not much between 2nd & 3rd, same with 4th & 5th. Albion a clear 6th. Riddell in 7th & Clayton 8th.

EFL & VAFA only ranked 4th & 5th because their 2nd division/B section premiers are playing. Same goes for SFL ranking of 8th.
Noble Park & Old Xavs would have been ranked in the top 3 with South Barwon. I would have had St Kilda City 7th.

Marby Park & West Preston will be way too strong for sides like Old Carey & Riddell.

If Albion were a horse I would say: Always gives good sight but up in class and this might be too tough

Can't really comment on the other sides as I haven't seem them play lately.

I wouldn't rate St.K City ahead of West Preston.

West Preston's effort to beat Heidelberg last year was nothing short of exceptional

I think the quality and depth of the Northern, Essendon District and EFL is a lot higher than that of the SFL.

To generate some direction for league officials to seed the team’s competing in the pre-season cup it has been agreed to put a forum to the public and let everyone get the ball rolling. The draw will be available Friday the 18th of Feb and will be decided on by one official from each league competing. The majority will determine rank and will also allow Alan Eskander to frame a market where actual odds and wagers will be available on BetStar... more details at www.sportssupport.com.au

VAFA - Old Carey FC (Smashed the VAFA B Grade Comp in 2010 & now in A grade will represent the VAFA. Old Xav's declined to participate)
NFL - West Preston FC (Ran all over the Heidelberg FC in the GF & are physical).
EDFL - Marby Park FC (The Back to Back Premiers will try and stamp its name as the strongest Metro Football team in the Country boasting a ton of talent)
WRFL - Albion FC (Stunned the WRFL with a Flag and with some new recruits - straight-line toughness)
GFL - South Barwon FC (One of the favourites from a power house comp. Will have the entire town of Geelong behind them).
EFL - Mulgrave FC (Represent one of the strongest Melbourne Comps & this year in Div. 1. Have recruited quality Ex AFL & VFL players. Noble Park declined to participate).
RDFL - Riddell FC (Strong club with a massive following and will be keen to keep momentum from their 2010 Premiership win)
SFL - Clayton FC (The club has been a powerhouse in the Div. 1 Comp for a long time & has recruited strongly for 2011. Unfortunately with some small concerns at St Kilda City they could not confirm.)
Look forward to hearing your thoughts...

marby park
south barwon
west preston
old carey
mulgrave
riddell
albion
clayton (would love to have them higher )

Agreed but City of the past few years is way and above the rest of the SFL field.
Fair call, St Kilda City maybe higher then Albion but not West Preston.

What do you think of the ranking of the sides playing though?

Marby Park & West Preston will be way too strong for sides like Old Carey & Riddell.

If Albion were a horse I would say: Always gives good sight but up in class and this might be too tough

Can't really comment on the other sides as I haven't seem them play lately.

I guess that is what happens when you ask B section premiers instead of A section runners-up!

www.sportssupport.com.au[/FONT][/COLOR]

VAFA - Old Carey FC (Smashed the VAFA B Grade Comp in 2010 & now in A grade will represent the VAFA. Old Xav's declined to participate - don't blame them, obviously didn't want to get their players injured in a Mickey Mouse pre-season comp)
NFL - West Preston FC (Ran all over the Heidelberg FC in the GF & are physical-gee, a physical football side, what a discovery, WOW!, should pull a massive crowd).
EDFL - Marby Park FC (The Back to Back Premiers will try and stamp its name as the strongest Metro Football team in the Country boasting a ton of talent - Never heard of them, however with a ton of talent I'm sure they want to take the mantle as the strongest team in Metro, pity they are not aiming to be the best)
WRFL - Albion FC (Stunned the WRFL with a Flag and with some new recruits - straight-line toughnessstraight line toughness, WOW!, must mean they go in a straight line, congratulations Albion)
GFL - South Barwon FC (One of the favourites from a power house comp. Will have the entire town of Geelong behind them - the entire town of Geelong, oh please, give me a break - I know a few guys in Geelong and they couldn't give a toss about South Barwon FC ).
EFL - Mulgrave FC (Represent one of the strongest Melbourne Comps & this year in Div. 1. Have recruited quality Ex AFL & VFL players. Noble Park declined to participate love it that the organisers are mentioning the powerhouse clubs that have Snubbed this mickey mouse competition, smacks of envy).
RDFL - Riddell FC (Strong club with a massive following and will be keen to keep momentum from their 2010 Premiership win whatever)
SFL - Clayton FC (The club has been a powerhouse in the Div. 1 Comp for a long time & has recruited strongly for 2011. Unfortunately with some small concerns at St Kilda City they could not confirm.again, couldn't pull the powerhouse side in the SFL. Main concern is that there is no jurisdiction in regards to reports and tribunals)

Look forward to hearing your thoughts..hope these thoughts help, cheers.[/QUOTE]

As Rex Hunt says, ''I couldn't give a fat's rats clacker''. Old Carey ''Smashed B Grade'', haha, what a bogan write up.

I guess that is what happens when you ask B section premiers instead of A section runners-up!
G'Day smudger... Collegians, Scoresby and Chelsea Heights we're all asked but had plans for their pre-season... Would have been great for the local footy public to have the best teams but we can't expect everyone to have availability for a start-up project... Still should be a great day and i can only hope the teams competing will benefit from the exposure. Thanks for your input bud and maybe I’ll see ya at the game... I'll shout ya a Boag's

www.sportssupport.com.au[/font][/color]

VAFA - Old Carey FC (Smashed the VAFA B Grade Comp in 2010 & now in A grade will represent the VAFA. Old Xav's declined to participate - don't blame them, obviously didn't want to get their players injured in a Mickey Mouse pre-season comp)
NFL - West Preston FC (Ran all over the Heidelberg FC in the GF & are physical-gee, a physical football side, what a discovery, WOW!, should pull a massive crowd).
EDFL - Marby Park FC (The Back to Back Premiers will try and stamp its name as the strongest Metro Football team in the Country boasting a ton of talent - Never heard of them, however with a ton of talent I'm sure they want to take the mantle as the strongest team in Metro, pity they are not aiming to be the best)
WRFL - Albion FC (Stunned the WRFL with a Flag and with some new recruits - straight-line toughnessstraight line toughness, WOW!, must mean they go in a straight line, congratulations Albion)
GFL - South Barwon FC (One of the favourites from a power house comp. Will have the entire town of Geelong behind them - the entire town of Geelong, oh please, give me a break - I know a few guys in Geelong and they couldn't give a toss about South Barwon FC ).
EFL - Mulgrave FC (Represent one of the strongest Melbourne Comps & this year in Div. 1. Have recruited quality Ex AFL & VFL players. Noble Park declined to participate love it that the organisers are mentioning the powerhouse clubs that have Snubbed this mickey mouse competition, smacks of envy).
RDFL - Riddell FC (Strong club with a massive following and will be keen to keep momentum from their 2010 Premiership win whatever)
SFL - Clayton FC (The club has been a powerhouse in the Div. 1 Comp for a long time & has recruited strongly for 2011. Unfortunately with some small concerns at St Kilda City they could not confirm.again, couldn't pull the powerhouse side in the SFL. Main concern is that there is no jurisdiction in regards to reports and tribunals)
Look forward to hearing your thoughts..hope these thoughts help, cheers.
[/quote]

These thoughts have helped, i can only thank you for the updates... without this valuable advice i just might have thought it was a Donald duck competition... Mickey Mouse was what we were aiming for so glad we have ticked the box.... Lighten up son, why the angst...??? It's just an organized pracy match format bringing local footy together, no need to worry about who's not there. Just explaining so people know why certain teams are involved. Hope to see ya there... We might even have a few more Disney characters in costume to have your photo with...?!?

...nah, its ok, I will be happy to have photo's with the organisers in their Clown suits, cheers.

Maybe some poster are just sick of your ambush marketing on a public blog site (saturation posts at 4am by different posters) - I hope you guy's have paid the Big Footy Chiefs some $$$ to promote the event on here, surely your marketing budget is not as small as Boags market share in Victoria. (however going by the SS website and its attempt to provide links down the bottom is hilarious, especially the hand icon)

...nah, its ok, I will be happy to have photo's with the organisers in their Clown suits, cheers.

Maybe some poster are just sick of your ambush marketing on a public blog site (saturation posts at 4am by different posters)

Ah, fair point... that was my bad, sorry bud. Was just new to the big footy forum and was trying to get my replys up so i could post my own threads... (the rules for newbies like me, 4am i have been in Bali... we have come to an agreement with BigFooty admin for promos now so no need to join a convo... good point) If your at the games mate come up and say hello bud, i'll be the bloke with the big red nose... ha ha.

1 Marby Park
2 South Barwon
3 West Preston
4 Mulgrave
5 Albion
6 Old Carey
7 Clayton
8 Riddell

Marby and Sth Barwon absolute standouts. Big gap between 2 and 3 ranked IMO.

Cardio, what happened to the bit in your post about Boags being a shite low selling beer? Best part of your post!
Have to agree with this concept, doomed to fail and someone else other than the organisers will lose out on cash, I hear Matt Pillios and his pill press is involved, enough said.

Yeah, reinstated, took off as a mate PM and reminded me of the support they a providing to clubs, however after your Pillios comment it would seem insignificant

CC is your job to deride and belittle everyone and everything? I struggle to find a positive post from you anywhere.

I think this is a great concept and something people have consistently asked for. I do think they should have asked runners up or finalists from the comps where premiers declined, however it will still be some good watching. I think Mulgrave and Old Carey may surprise a few with some quality recruits adding to strong sides already.

My ranking
Marby Park FC
South Barwon FC
West Preston FC
Albion FC
Riddell FC
Old Carey FC
Mulgrave FC
Clayton FC

My tip

South Barwon FC
Marby Park FC
Old Carey FC
West Preston FC
Mulgrave FC
Riddell FC
Albion FC
Clayton FC

CC is your job to deride and belittle everyone and everything? I struggle to find a positive post from you anywhere.

I think this is a great concept and something people have consistently asked for. I do think they should have asked runners up or finalists from the comps where premiers declined, however it will still be some good watching. I think Mulgrave and Old Carey may surprise a few with some quality recruits adding to strong sides already.

My ranking
Marby Park FC
South Barwon FC
West Preston FC
Albion FC
Riddell FC
Old Carey FC
Mulgrave FC
Clayton FC

My tip

South Barwon FC
Marby Park FC
Old Carey FC
West Preston FC
Mulgrave FC
Riddell FC
Albion FC
Clayton FC

:thumbsu:Great post, well researched with strong personal opinion:)

and quite frankly I don't mind the concept and wish them the best, where they got myself and others off-side is the under cover of darkness pumping their message across every single post across ever single League board treating the good people that run Big Footy and its posters poorly.

:thumbsu:Great post, well researched with strong personal opinion:)

and quite frankly I don't mind the concept and wish them the best, where they got myself and others off-side is the under cover of darkness pumping their message across every single post across ever single League board treating the good people that run Big Footy and its posters poorly.
Yeah ok- you made me laugh!!!
Fair enough on the second bit too

The Problem you have with ranking the sides, is it's based on 2010 & even then it's subjective. It doesn't take into account arrivals/departures & players who are unavailable for this particular day. Don't get me wrong, it's the only way to do it though.
So upsets are quite likely, if teams field a understrength side or have lost a few over the summer and with the short games, a middle ranked side could upset a higher one.

Maybe some poster are just sick of your ambush marketing on a public blog site (saturation posts at 4am by different posters) - I hope you guy's have paid the Big Footy Chiefs some $$$ to promote the event on here, surely your marketing budget is not as small as Boags market share in Victoria. (however going by the SS website and its attempt to provide links down the bottom is hilarious, especially the hand icon)

G’day Mr.Cadio, We certainly have paid the good people at BigFooty some $$$ and provided some avenues for them to be part of the day, i think they are running a competition as we speak... The pure water of Tasmania are running smoothly and I’m glad you are taking an interest in the product... thanks for checking out the www.sportssupport.com.au site, it would seem the event direction is working and your click is appreciated. If you did get a chance to go through the site you'll notice that we have programs available for all clubs where the can have a paid volunteer program targeted at getting long term unemployed people back into the community through sporting clubs. This is funded by sports support and valued at $4500 for each employee, clubs can have up to 4 staff members. There is cost effective performance training for clubs to utilize and many other benefits in regards to communication and operations... we are still working on development but your input has been invaluable. Without it i would not have even know about the hand icon... (Hilarious, especially the hand icon... you have to get out more, this is far from hilarious...?!?) Thanks for you interest carl, and again thank you for your input.

Both A Grade Premiers and then Runners - Up (in EFL and VAFA) were asked and both declined.
We spoke to Scoresby FC coach, after Noble Park FC had declined due to "not over using their playing list" and he had all his preseason games & camps committed around that time. So Mulgrave FC were 3rd in line for the call up and have been pretty pumped.

It would of been perfect to see Noble Park FC and Old Xav's compete.
Hopefully in next years BOAGS INVITATIONAL the Div 1 Premiers come into it.
What a great day for local footy!