Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

Yes. Based on what Barham has said as well as Brasher.

Reviews cannot just be about a senior coach. It needs to be a collective look.

Look at the business side.
Look at the community engagement side.

In terms of on-field, why are we constantly getting injuries and those injuries constantly reoccuring?
Read the tea leaves, Paz.

Barham as a reflex said Xavier’s position was safe because he’s under contract. Then refused to do the same when it was pointed out that Rutten is also under contract.

He’s anything but safe.

In terms of on-field, why are we constantly getting injuries and those injuries constantly reoccuring?

I think the press conference is what made me believe that Rutten is going to be sacked tomorrow.

And if Harvey is a Hird man as has been suggested, it doesn’t take a whole lot of imagination to guess what some of the bloated coterie types are railing for behind the scenes.
I mean, those bloated coterie types are extremely likely to never have accepted the realities of the saga and that Hird had to go. They've probably been ready for the first opportunity to get him back and look, literally within a year of Hird returning to the professional football world, we're gutting a coach like we gutted Knights and there's rumours flying around....

On know it's Ch7 , but I noticed last night they mentioned Brad Scott could be an outside the box candidate for our job.
Would of thought he was very happy at AFL house.

He had a relatively healthy win % didn't he ?

What are the knocks on Brad as a coach ?

On know it's Ch7 , but I noticed last night they mentioned Brad Scott could be an outside the box candidate for our job.

I know someone who worked with him a bit at North. Lovely bloke apparently (was hard for me to believe given my feelings from the Scott's playing days), and very well liked at the club. A bit
old school in his approach. Probably pretty well suited to North at the time.

I am very wary of new posters when things are bad but giving you the benefit of the doubt, I am basically the same. I actually havent decided if I will watch Saturday's game because there will be 100 comments made about the difficult week and Truck etc etc. Following this club has become emotionally draining for too little return. I cant get my kids into it because we arent all that successful (they watched the end of the Pies game with me and there was just silence after it) and the players I tried to get them to really follow were Joe, Fanta and then Walla. Oops.

I never watch pre game or post game stuff as i dont care what the commentators have to say after all these years, i dont watch any of the footy shows as they are all nuffies that change with the breeze or have an agenda.

After whatever is to happen on Sunday, I think i will try and take a AFL detox and check back in at the end of trade week as I dont think i would make it through the ebbs and flows of it otherwise.
Mate, I totally get the apprehension re: new posters.
As I said, long long long time reader of BF, and keep my mouth shut mainly for my own sanity… don’t want to engage in heated debates online.
I just felt sadness - more than anything I guess - at the current state of the runnings of the EFC.
I truly hope this our line-in-the-sand moment, and that the club starts looking to the future, while respecting the past.
Ditto on the footy detox btw…
I’m just footy’d-out…

Hirdy is the boys club pick.
He's the choice of those inside the club who feel entitled through association, time served, birth right to be there - because that's an assurance that the status quo, and their security will be here to stay. I wish Hird nothing but the best but I want him to succeed elsewhere.

I tend to believe that, as has been suggested, there is a section of the board that straight up wants to poach the Giants all Essendon senior coaching line-up, if that push succeeds then we are just irreparably ****ed, for another decade at least. That type of nepotism soils society at every level, especially football clubs, and it needs to be stomped out. It's no surprise to me at all that Essendon's quasi-deep state is constantly falling out with the people who come in from outside the club, and think they're out to get them.

An exhaustive external review, board reset, new CEO, list manager, footy boss are all needed - and a transformative, experienced coach.
I really wanted Rutten to succeed, and I reckon his coaching abilities aren't properly represented by the last 3 years - but the truth of the matter is that his appointment was always going to be a poisoned well - being a captain's pick by the CEO/Pres without a process meant he'd forever be 'their guy' - indebted to them, tied up in whatever politics would unfold, never a chance to leave a mark on the club.

Say what you will about Ross Lyon, whether he's a weirdo, an arse, overly defensive, whatever - he's got a proven record of taking pretender clubs onto the big stage, reshaping culture, getting the best out of his players...

Could do much worse than look in his direction if it comes to that.

He got an ordinary North side to two prelims.

When this story broke, I thought there was no way it was a last ditch effort. Inexplicable. They must have been having words for months behind the scenes.

What's come out is that it was last ditch. How on earth could they have reasonably thought that was a good idea?

About as dumb, unprofessional, disconnected from the modern world as you can get

The scary bit is Barham may be the best operator there. Currently mediocre at best. Sheedy on radio was shambolic. I dred to hear anyone else.

Deep,deep cuts are needed.

If it was a last ditch effort to go after Clarkson, then the question is… WHO made that decision?

If it was Barham, and Barham alone, then he has to go. Immediately. Because if that’s an indication of how he operates, then the guy’s clearly clueless… on a number of levels.

However, if Sheedy knew Barham was going to do what he did, and allowed (and indeed enabled) it to happen, then that’s what raises questions IMO. Sheedy (as crazy as he is) is a shrewd operator. He would have known damn well from the start that we would never get Clarkson so late in the piece.

Which raises the question - what exactly does Sheedy want?

To me, it points clearly towards getting Hird back.

And for the record, I’m not against it.

Anybody who has really read about what happened during the supplements saga would know that it was Dank who single-handedly sunk us. (there’s a reason the guy got banned for life) I mean, the guy was deliberately keeping everyone (right down to Dr Bruce Reid) out of the loop as to what was going on, and indeed continued to do what he was doing after the footy department ordered him to stop. (that’s why he was sacked before the scandal even became public) Bomber brought Dank and Robinson to the club. And Hird (being a first time coach) brought Bomber to support him. (a wise move… as everybody thought at the time) Hird trusted Bomber (why wouldn’t he? He was “the Clarkson” of that time) and was unfortunately let down by all involved.

As a result, Hird would no doubt have unfinished business. And he’s clearly still respected in footy circles. If he wasn’t, he wouldn’t have gotten the GWS gig.

I don’t see why it’s such a stretch to think he could come back to Essendon to finish the job he started. (and IMO, there has only been one time since Sheedy was sacked as coach that we’ve had stability both on and off the field… and that was when Hird was coaching.)

Of course, if Hird was to be appointed before any review, then it would make a mockery of any such review.

But then, appointing Clarkson after a 4 day last-effort pitch would have done exactly the same thing anyway. 🤷‍♂️

Will be fascinating to see what happens.

If Brad Scott coaches essendon I’m almost done with this club

I want know why all the media tipped clarko to sign at essendon.
When everyone knows he needs a lot of time to do due diligence and that he was almost ready to sign at north.
What made them think he was suddenly going to make a rash decision and sign with essendon 😂

Sounds like they deliberately pumped essendon as up as a sure thing, so they could rip into the club when clarko inevitably signed with north Melbourne.

I want know why all the media tipped clarko to sign at essendon.
When everyone knows he needs a lot of time to do due diligence and that he was almost ready to sign at north.
What made them think he was suddenly going to make a rash decision and sign with essendon 😂

Sounds like they deliberately pumped essendon as up as a sure thing, so they could rip into the club when clarko inevitably signed with north Melbourne.
Someone at Essendon or aligned to the push to get Clarkson (i.e. coteries) was dropping hints/leaking to a bunch of them that Clarkson liked the list, was interested in coaching Essendon, and they had apparently been talking to him like two months ago. That has been swirling in the media for a while.

If you're a journo and you hear those sorts of rumours and predictions from people who are usually on the money, and then they're telling you Rutten's gone, Gia is coaching R23, and the president is stepping down – some of which you can see with your own eyes as the board meetings are happening – why would you not believe what you've been told is actually happening?

They, like everyone else, assumed there was some sort of in-principle agreement that if an offer came he would be ready to accept it, and it's enough information to be convincing for a couple of days when the word is that an official offer was being made. Even Essendon can't be that crazy to roll the president and leak all this stuff only for it to be a Hail Mary roll of the dice, two days before Clarkson is supposed to give North his answer, surely?

There weren't many people cynical enough to believe that something as ridiculous as that could or would have happened. But sure enough...

No he is not on the board. He is the coterie liaison and opposition club scout.

It looks odd that Essendon has a coterie or supporter facing role combined with a recruitment role, as it could potentially create a conflict between fans jumping on a player's bangwagon and recruiting for the club's on-field needs.

Someone at Essendon or aligned to the push to get Clarkson (i.e. coteries) was dropping hints/leaking to a bunch of them that Clarkson liked the list, was interested in coaching Essendon, and they had apparently been talking to him like two months ago. That has been swirling in the media for a while.

If you're a journo and you hear those sorts of rumours and predictions from people who are usually on the money, and then they're telling you Rutten's gone, Gia is coaching R23, and the president is stepping down – some of which you can see with your own eyes as the board meetings are happening – why would you not believe what you've been told is actually happening?

They, like everyone else, assumed there was some sort of in-principle agreement that if an offer came he would be ready to accept it, and it's enough information to be convincing for a couple of days when the word is that an official offer was being made. Even Essendon can't be that crazy to roll the president and leak all this stuff only for it to be a Hail Mary roll of the dice, two days before Clarkson is supposed to give North his answer, surely?

There weren't many people cynical enough to believe that something as ridiculous as that could or would have happened. But sure enough...
Yeah I know all that, but plenty were just saying clarko for essendon for the sake of it. With little to zero insight and almost going against who clarko is as a person. I was told last week by someone clarko was almost a done deal they were just working out the contract. I would find it hard to believe he would suddenly just walk away from that, even though he had enquired about essendon a while back.

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham