Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

They seem to be getting back - they certainly have increased their Australian craft beer supply - likely from supply issues - but they have a decent range of UK beers now which is good. I’m an ale person, and the UK do them better than most others. I confess to drinking a bit of coopers pretty regularly at home, but I reckon the sparkling ale is better in the bottle - pale is better on tap. It’s only through reading this thread that I discovered that Coopers was a bit bogan. I always thought I was kind of refined.
Yeah I never thought it was bogan beer. I’m with you, I thought it was kind of refined too.

Appreciate the tip.

I never pour my stubbies into a glass, perhaps I’m a Neanderthal.

You need to get on to eating chocolate bars with a knife and fork too.

I tend to think everything is better in a glass, like decanting wine, but the difference with a larger is negligible, for example. CUB, everything in the range, Japanese beers, Dutch and even the lighter German beers, the less malty Italian beers too. It makes little difference.

It's the richer beers that need to breathe. Anything dark or with a high alcohol content. Its not really the done thing but hoppy pales should be in a glass too. It's almost like mixing the flavour through the liquid evenly

Sorry, not sure if it’s been raised here or elsewhere. But am I the only one who agrees with Kane Cornes about the footy trip?

Are our players really going overseas rather than staying to watch teams who made finals?

If that’s the case it’s hard not to question the commitment to this current group.

Sorry, not sure if it’s been raised here or elsewhere. But am I the only one who agrees with Kane Cornes about the footy trip?

Are our players really going overseas rather than staying to watch teams who made finals?

If that’s the case it’s hard not to question the commitment to this current group.
Yes. These guys work 5 days in a week for 10 months a year. Going on a trip after their footy season is done.

Players don't really need to analyse what the finals teams do. That's the job for the coaches and analysts at the club.

The fact that 2/3 of the list are there is actually a promising sign rather than a negative sign

Yes. These guys work 5 days in a week for 10 months a year. Going on a trip after their footy season is done.

Players don't really need to analyse what the finals teams do. That's the job for the coaches and analysts at the club.

The fact that 2/3 of the list are there is actually a promising sign rather than a negative sign
Fair points, I was more thinking in terms of prompting motivation for next year. For example, didn’t sheedy make the 1999 prelim team go and watch the 1999 grand final?

That’s more what I was thinking. But perhaps I am a dinosaur.

Yep.

Carl Cox would be to their musical taste what Ross Lyon would be to their careers...instant recognition of the error in their ways.

Fair points, I was more thinking in terms of prompting motivation for next year. For example, didn’t sheedy make the 1999 prelim team go and watch the 1999 grand final?

They've just endured a shocking season. It's better for them to be relaxing and taking a load off than anything else.

Is Kane correct that no other club does this? If an extremely unsuccessful club does something completely unique in the off season it would make me question if it was a symptom.

Most players once their season is done leave on a trip. The fact we're doing it all together pretty much means nothing apart from the guys doing it together.

Fair enough. I hope you’re right.

To me though, it seems odd odd that a team whose commitment was questioned during the year is now being told to go on a trip to Spain rather than staying to watch the opposition battle it out in september.

But as I said, I am probably a dinosaur in their regard.

Never had it.
Worth a try.

It’s only 3.5% but flavour wise it’s always just seemed like a slightly less yeasty Coopers Pale to me.

It still has a fair bit of the characteristic cloudiness.

There will be a video in the news of one of the players dancing on a table with a gram bag of white powder tomorrow, and Kane Cornes saying I told you so. 😆

I'm all for them going away as a group though. The club is a mess, hopefully by the time they get back they will have a little bit more of an idea of what their return to the club looks like.

Difference being, we should have been playing that day in 99. It was the right tactic then and would have no issue with it happening again in similar circumstances.

We are a long way off being serious finals contenders, so not sure if forcing the players go to watch finals matches would serve as any sort of motivating factor at this stage.

Plenty of clubs go away in groups as there good mates and all ther eother mates are busy working/studying

The hawks are currently away overseas in groups

Im surprised its 30-35, but to be honest....in a good way. I thought they mightve been sick of eachother after the year its been. Wouldve been a lot of negativity and similar speak for a while. Good to see they still like each others company and no divisions after such a horrid season

Its the best thing for them right now. Speaking from my perspective sometimes holidays make you more motivated to get back into it

Fair enough. I hope you’re right.

To me though, it seems odd odd that a team whose commitment was questioned during the year is now being told to go on a trip to Spain rather than staying to watch the opposition battle it out in september.

But as I said, I am probably a dinosaur in their regard.
I don’t think they were told to. It’s not a club directive, it’s just what they chose to do with their time off.

You’re right, bad choice of words. Deciding to go on the trip would be more accurate.

People raise some good points here but I guess I think it’s important for supporters and members to see at least an iota of commitment to winning after the horror season we’ve all just witnessed. I thought it was a legitimate criticism by cornes that was pretty much dismissed as negativity.

You’re right, bad choice of words. Deciding to go on the trip would be more accurate.

People raise some good points here but I guess I think it’s important for supporters and members to see at least an iota of commitment to winning after the horror season we’ve all just witnessed. I thought it was a legitimate criticism by cornes that was pretty much dismissed as negativity.
If Cornes didn’t play devils advocate his kids would go hungry.

The players don’t owe us visible acts of commitment, and there’s no way to know they aren’t watching it, since they’d likely be watching it on TV regardless of their location.

Beyond that they’ve all rocked up early for preseason the last few years so I don’t think you can really say they’re not committed just because they used their leave to do things all of us would be doing now too if we could.

Cornes likes getting upset at trivial things so Fox can run a headline "AFL great says blah blah blah"
He really offers little other than being a good player in his day lending legitimacy to the "great" tag. tbh, i'd be fine if Fox just lied and referred to some 2 gamer as a great.

Anyhoo, without a coach, program, and a whole bunch of stuff really not lined up. Probably best they do get away as a group until the club sorts itself out

Just make sure you bring McKenna back home with you.

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham