Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

No idea what the fuss is with thr Ibiza trip. I'm glad the lads get along so well. They're a team, when you're friends you want to fight for each other. You often see 4-5 lads going to America or Europe together. There's not much evidence of exclusion going on.

The issue is the timing of the trip, if it was taken in October then it would make sense but to time it for the end of August smacks of not being serious about their footy.

With respect, bullshit it does.

It was clear from a very long way out that we wouldn't be playing finals this year. If they want to go on a trip, then why not go as soon as practical?

If you wanted to really go glass half full, you might even argue August is better than October as it means they have a longer pre-season.

But aside even from an academic thing like pre-season length, there are many, many more important things about the playing group at Essendon that smack of them not having the hunger required than the timing of a pre-season trip.

Their absolute point blank refusal to defend when a coach wants them to do so, for example.

No Draper on the 200+ pod this week but they did a little section about the footy trip and had Ivan Soldo as a guest — from what he was saying the Richmond blokes are booked to go away too, 35 odd players to “somewhere in Asia” in October 😂🤪

And apparently they have a couple of chaperones, usually it’s the welfare manager who goes as well. Or at least Richmond has them, with Covid cuts who knows if Essendon does.

Apparently they got doorstopped at the airport and Heppell had to answer a couple of questions so I guess if we can find the clip that might make some more sense instead of speculating.

Kane Cornes lives to create the cheap likes and outrage lines. It’s his sole point as a person in the media.
he is just "the vegan teacher" of the AFL sports media landscape..

Doesn't actually give great insight, just goes after easy targets with outlandish statements and people, lo and behold, get outraged and blows them up and appreciate the popularity so do it again.

One of the easiest ways to 'get noticed' despite how cringe it looks

I agree with Kane Cornes or Chad or whoever, 35 of them going away together to Ibiza is ridiculous.

they’re not all going to fit on the Venga Bus, which I assume is his issue? i don’t read his stuff.

I agree with Kane Cornes or Chad or whoever, 35 of them going away together to Ibiza is ridiculous.

they’re not all going to fit on the Venga Bus, which I assume is his issue? i don’t read his stuff.
Who goes to Ibiza? Just go to St Kilda Beach. Drink enough you'll think you're in Ibiza.

oh gosh no! steer well clear of St Kilda, in fact a good rule to remember is that nothing good ever happens south of the Yarra

I think we’ve clearly got to the point where the compromise is they all go to a beach on the north bank of the Yarra only.

And apparently they have a couple of chaperones, usually it’s the welfare manager who goes as well. Or at least Richmond has them, with Covid cuts who knows if Essendon does.

I don't know about current day, but certainly going back to the Hird & Lloyd era there was end of season trips with the majority of the playing group that had some club chaperones - usually board members were able to opt-in if they were willing to pay their own way, similar for club doctors or support staff.

Having a playing group go away for a week to somewhere then head off on their own separate holidays isn't a new, nor uniquely Essendon thing. Kane is just a flog looking for attention, as usual.

I don't know about current day, but certainly going back to the Hird & Lloyd era there was end of season trips with the majority of the playing group that had some club chaperones - usually board members were able to opt-in if they were willing to pay their own way, similar for club doctors or support staff.

Having a playing group go away for a week to somewhere then head off on their own separate holidays isn't a new, nor uniquely Essendon thing. Kane is just a flog looking for attention, as usual.
Yep. And until phones with cameras became a thing, probably the chaperones weren’t needed either.

I believe the chaperones were an optional requirement, if no one opted in then it's not like people were forced to go, or the trip cancelled, but I don't think they ever had an issue finding opt-in chaperones.

Maybe they’re following the example from the 2000 team when they were all lifting weights on the footy trip in Spain to return in the best shape. Parish isn’t there though as he’s in Fiji.

that’s because he’s a loser and no one likes him. and he smells.

Kane Cornes lives to create the cheap likes and outrage lines. It’s his sole point as a person in the media.

Yep sounds like the sort of douche that gets into leadership at schools or is an assistant coach at VFL level ... or a copper.

No idea what the fuss is with thr Ibiza trip. I'm glad the lads get along so well. They're a team, when you're friends you want to fight for each other. You often see 4-5 lads going to America or Europe together. There's not much evidence of exclusion going on.
A trip to Europe sounds heaps better than having to put up with Joey Derp on a camping trip like the poor campaigners had to do at the end of 2020.
They haven’t been able to travel overseas for 3 years which is why they are probably going away in such a large group.
Good luck to them, sounds like fun.

In my experience, the inexperienced / underperforming want a lot of guidance and usually need it. I sure as hell wanted it and would have killed for more at a number of different points.

Uh huh.

214AC7F4-1D55-40C1-BC61-AAA169F7D3AA.jpeg Apparently we’re sounding out Andrew Welsh for the football director role

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham