Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

That's why you hire Hird before you initiate the external review, duh

That said, probably a media beat up. They might want him but he'd have to be completely daft to accept the job.
Appointing Hird would mean there is no external review, because we haven't gone through a proper process and haven't learnt a damn thing.

I reckon he'll enjoy another few years in peace at the Giants. If he is a head coach again, it'll be somewhere other than the Bombers. I feel like that'd be best for both him and Essendon, from a PR/pressure standpoint.

Surely it's media beat up. There's no way this external review can end in a recommendation of "well, how about Hird again?"
Never, ever underestimate the ability of Essendon to pull the completely inexplicable out of its arse.

AFL making the Tasmania call in August.
Clarko signs with North in August.
All signs point to Tassie Roos. Clarko knows.

I'm starting to actually consider North a rival at the moment, a thought that hasn't crossed my mind since 1999. This must mean they don't view us as rivals now, because they're the big club, not us.

Never, ever underestimate the ability of Essendon to pull the completely inexplicable out of its arse.

I'm almost feeling bad, what the hell is going on?!

So, no presser and we're just gonna hang Truck out to dry at 11:30? :drunk::drunk:

Was that actually announced by the Bombers, or was that just reported by that 1 Fox Footy host? I wasn't clear on that. No way he'd just ghost the presser, right?

I seriously want to hear from Heppell and the players on their thoughts of this shemozzle.
“Yeah, look it’s not ideal but it is what it is. We still get paid though don’t we? Speaking off which, any news on that contract extension. Need stability at all…’

These bunch of self entitled so and so’s are the last people I want to hear from.

AFL making the Tasmania call in August.
Clarko signs with North in August.
All signs point to Tassie Roos. Clarko knows.

If I was a Tasmanian...I'd be totally pissed off with this.

As if you want some minnow, hand me down club with North. Tassie fans deserve a new franchise. Maybe they'll just delete North and spin up something completely new in Tassie...now that'd be smart.

Was that actually announced by the Bombers, or was that just reported by that 1 Fox Footy host? I wasn't clear on that. No way he'd just ghost the presser, right?
Not sure, but even if it wasn't announced in the first place - why not? Surely as a board you'd feel like you need to clear the air before Truck is thrown to the wolves

If I was a Tasmanian...I'd be totally pissed off with this.

As if you want some minnow, hand me down club with North. Tassie fans deserve a new franchise. Maybe they'll just delete North and spin up something completely new in Tassie...now that'd be smart.
Well it's the difference between me not being a Bombers fan anymore and going for Tassie.
Or hating the Tasmanian team.

Not sure, but even if it wasn't announced in the first place - why not? Surely as a board you'd feel like you need to clear the air before Truck is thrown to the wolves

Given Rutten's managers' comments, I reckon Truck might throw Essendon to the wolves in his presser lol

Sheeds doesn’t make jibes at other clubs unless he knows something. As soon as he bagged North about Clarko taking them to Tassie it was a given that we weren’t getting him.

When Robbo mentioned earlier this year that we shouldn’t be surprised if Hird returned I was gobsmacked that such narrative would arise at all.

You do wonder about the machinations going on behind the scenes. At this point, from an optics perspective, we are so far gone that a Hird return is almost the shot in the arm I need to even care about our direction. Something irresistibly against the grain sort of gets my juices flowing, unlike the sense of ‘meh’ I’ve had about this club since Damien Cupido left.
Yep - Sheedy is no fool despite whatever Caro says. Hird back would be just the us vs the rest that Sheedy has always brought to the table. He hates the fact we bowed before the AFL overlords and maybe his final act of sporting greatness is masterminding the return to the days where we were difficult to predict, difficult to play against, and difficult to ignore.

If his name wasn't Hird, would he be allowed near the joint?

It's an 80's VFL mindset in a professional national competition. It's the mindset that has gotten us in this mess, and the man who helped it along the way.

There's not much more to say really. I don't begrudge the romantics, but the world has moved on.

Yep just give him a cheque and show him the door.

Lets no pretend like Rutten has been a good coach. Just because he's had a crappy week why should we all suddenly feel sorry for him...us supporters have had a crappy year...a crappy 20 years.

No one is bigger than the club...get rid of him.
Good bloke is one thing - and yes he's held himself well - but he hasn't;t been able to sort out the main issue he was brought to the club for... even if our list isn't great enough then there needed to be far more effort put into building a sustained defensive style - and if players don't buy into it then drop them and not just drop them in the media, make them the medi-sub and then bring them back in as cover.

Is it possible the players threw their support behind truck?

This would be a contributing factor to getting rid of him. The players are soft, just like Truck. Change means that they may have to pull their fingers out and start earning their pay cheques. They'd much rather prefer to keep coasting, liking each other instagram stories.

“Yeah, look it’s not ideal but it is what it is. We still get paid though don’t we? Speaking off which, any news on that contract extension. Need stability at all…’

These bunch of self entitled so and so’s are the last people I want to hear from.
All said with a huge smile on his face.

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham