Toast Bob Skilton Medal 2017 - Luke Parker

Who is your B&F tip?

Mine cut out

Did they explain the context around his shithouse 2017 semi final? Was he hurt again?

Give it a rest mate. You don't like him, that's fine, we all know that but you don't rate any of our players or coaches because at some point of the season you don't miss any of them.
For the record & having watched the game live & replay twice, Buddy was SHIT & Kennedy got smashed against Geelong. Apart from Jack the rest of the team were terrible & Parker was part of that poor team effort.
As far as Parker not standing up in "finals" is concerned, you are wrong. His GF last season was amazing considering most other players wouldn't have played with his knee.

But let's just leave it at that & I am looking forward to the next few years where you develop a dislike for another one of our young players because they may make you feel angry in a particular match.
Finally, last night was about celebrating our season as a whole & some performances of our players.
Wrong time to discredit any of their achievements.

Give it a rest mate. You don't like him, that's fine, we all know that but you don't rate any of our players or coaches because at some point of the season you don't miss any of them.
For the record & having watched the game live & replay twice, Buddy was SHIT & Kennedy got smashed against Geelong. Apart from Jack the rest of the team were terrible & Parker was part of that poor team effort.
As far as Parker not standing up in "finals" is concerned, you are wrong. His GF last season was amazing considering most other players wouldn't have played with his knee.

But let's just leave it at that & I am looking forward to the next few years where you develop a dislike for another one of our young players because they may make you feel angry in a particular match.
Finally, last night was about celebrating our season as a whole & some performances of our players.
Yep last night was not the time for recriminations. However I think we are all capable of making balanced assessments of where our players stand.

I really hope out fitness/conditioning staff have a long hard think about preparation in the off season. We need a mix of gut and sprint runners who are prepared well enough to avoid too many soft tissue injuries. I think the training emphasis on Hanners and Nosey Parker should be less on slow as treacle gut running.

Last edited by a moderator:

Don't like him ? It's not school

I pay my membership I watch every game I watched last night quite frankly I'll say what I want

He is a front runner too often to be rated as highly as some rate him

Great club player I actually do like watching him play

If he played injured last year stiff shit he was awful and this club shouldn't keep picking unfit players

Support the club how you want but quit sulking about how others do

Last night shouldn't be celebrating much at all this club needs to chase flags not mediocrity

Last edited by a moderator:
Awesome to see some kids stepping up, in particular I was super impressed with Lloydy & Hewy. Melican quite fairly got a nod too.

Reckon Bud had too many down games (for him they were down games anyway)... Always difficult for a forward/Back to win the thing. They rely too much on constant supply whereas the mids are in it the whole game.

Good on Parks for another solid season. No matter what you think of him you have to admire his willingness to work hard & put his body on the line for our club. He deserved it I reckon.

Macca had the worst stats or lack of them, so no comparison to Parker. I also hear that him and Papley were cooked in the Semi.

Just watching the game, one could see that Buddy was done as he just stood in the one spot not long after the first quarter was well in.
Papley lacked his zip & again was hardly himself.
Whether they should be named? Who knows the answer what is the right way to go about it. Would an underdone Mitch McGovern had given a better effort than a fit Josh Jenkins gave in the GF?

The jury is still out on the right approach. Our Bloods of 2005 got the job done playing through many an injury.
But that was those blokes.

either

giphy.gif
https://giphy.com/gifs/fDO2Nk0ImzvvW
https://giphy.com/gifs/season-7-the-simpsons-7x21-3orifgJFrbzrfQjx1S

Wish bigfooty could embed this shit

I reckon Spenser is a flog, or a dickhead and what about the shit music when the award winners come up
I don't mind him. He's bloody passionate and has used his radio show a number of times to attack the likes of McGuire and the AFL when they have gone us.

As for the music, some of the players ones were chosen due to lyrics and relevance to nicknames and moments etc. The music in the breaks is bloody woeful and doesn't get any better year after year.

Mine cut out

Did they explain the context around his shithouse 2017 semi final? Was he hurt again?

If they did, I hope they also explained why most of the shithouse Semi Fina performances from most of team team including JPK and Buddy.

Now, I'm hopeful we have finally dispelled this myth that Parker was terrible in the 2016 Grand Final, and that solely leaves the 2014 Grand Final... when he was 21 years old.

Doesn't make a difference what so ever

You declare yourself fit you cop it regardless of the the last name

Which player outside the best 22 would have played a better 2016 Grand Final than Parker?

Don't really see why there would be anything negative in this thread. It's the Skilton Medal it's one of the highest honours a Swans player can win, so anyone who takes it out is obviously going to be worthy, and obviously deserves a heap of praise rather than casting assertions about what he can or can't do. I personally would have loved to have seen Lloyd win it, but Parker is just an absolute gun.

What an effort by Georgie Hewett as well - top 5 in just his second season. Slight man crush on he and Lloydy

Which player outside the best 22 would have played a better 2016 Grand Final than Parker?
With our depth on our be but again it's not the point
He should never declared himself for if he thought he could become a lilability

Blokes like Libba were cruising away from him in the centre clearance

Marsh should of played before Macca , Parker and mills
Nank before Tippett etc

With our depth on our be but again it's not the point
He should never declared himself for if he thought he could become a lilability

Blokes like Libba were cruising away from him in the centre clearance

Marsh should of played before Macca , Parker and mills
Nank before Tippett etc

How on earth was Parker a liability? Second most tackles, second most clearances. A goal. Sure, he was quieter than usual, and was far from great, but he provided more than anyone else would have.

So Marsh would have had the second most tackles, clearances, and nabbed us a goal? Yeah, he probably would have provided more than Macca and Mills. Easy to say that in hindsight though, and I doubt Macca and Mills put their hands up to play without seriously thinking they could contribute. Same goes for Tippett.

The 2016 Grand Final was unfortunate. Buddy doesn't get injured early, Hanners doesn't get injured in the third, heck, a couple more decisions go our way and we win and we would never even be having these discussions about Parker was a liability.

Don't really see why there would be anything negative in this thread. It's the Skilton Medal it's one of the highest honours a Swans player can win, so anyone who takes it out is obviously going to be worthy, and obviously deserves a heap of praise rather than casting assertions about what he can or can't do. I personally would have loved to have seen Lloyd win it, but Parker is just an absolute gun.

What an effort by Georgie Hewett as well - top 5 in just his second season. Slight man crush on he and Lloydy

It seems pretty systematic of this board, and I must admit I wonder how much joy certain posters get out of following this club. There seems to be a constant need to be negative about the club, or at least certain players, and quite often that seems to involve actually turning a positive into a negative.

Guess we all have our own ways of supporting the club though.

I beginning to think you two are actually bots on auto-repeat with the Parker hate spam :rolleyes:

In fairness to these fellows they are merely pointing out how poor a final series Parker had compared to what Tommy Mitchell would have had IF
he helped get the Hawks into the finals this year.

They may be hypothetically right.

In fairness to these fellows they are merely pointing out how poor a final series Parker had compared to what Tommy Mitchell would have had IF
he helped get the Hawks into the finals this year.

They may be hypothetically right.
True, but the shear volume of their hypotheses just makes it seem more like Trump-like propaganda .... if I say it often enough they will all believe me

Toast Bob Skilton Medal 2017 - Luke Parker