BOOO-ing Goodes

The crowd booed goodes because he's a flog? Hope you'd expect opposition crowds to do the same to JD.

I was somewhate bewildered by the crowd's constant reaction. It's not like he stabbed the club in the back, called one of our players a drug cheat, punched Coxy/Staker in the face, committed several dog acts behind play, or openly admitted to using performance enhancing drugs.

Jordan Lewis is a bit of a twat. Is he going to get booed constantly next home game?
Spot on.
You have to ask the questions.

Did the Booing do anything for the club?

Did it Impress the coach?

Did it impress the players?

Did it take the gloss off one of our best wins in recent years?

Did it take the attention away from this win in a negative fashion?

We won a heap of credits for our reaction to the Phil Walsh tragedy and pissed it all down the shooter with this stupidity.

Time for some to grow up.

If he continues to dive, continues to remonstrate with the umpires when things don't go his way and continues to get the favour of the umpires then he'll continually get booed.
So why didn't Steve Johnson and Joel Selwood get booed against us? They're far worse.

Long time lurker but feel compelled to make a first post.

There are two categories of people who boo Goodes;

1) Racists.

2) People who don't believe they are racist but don't mind identifying themselves with the racist portion as they believe he is a 'flog' so is therefore deserving of being booed. They believe that playing for free kicks is a much more serious concern to them than supporting an aboriginal icon who has done an immeasurable amount of good for the aboriginal and wider Australian community both on and off the field. The health, education and crime rates of the aboriginal community far, far lag behind white Australians and Adam Goodes has devoted a large portion of his life to help address this gap (i.e. co-founded the Go Foundation which provides support for aboriginal kids to go to school).

Quite obviously the majority of the posters who support the booing place themselves in the second category. I just hope next time they stop and think that while they themselves might not be racist they are unwillingly identifying themselves and giving a voice to the racist minority.

You've got it the wrong way around sunshine and your simplification for political purposes are beyond the point of the discussion. Racial undercurrent is just that, it's an undercurrent. It's smaller than football and it's a hell of a lot smaller than the public image issues that Goodes has on and off the field.

Goodes is first and foremost in the publics eyes a footballer and is measured as such. The media build up around his booing has made him worse.

Those who racialise his treatment are essentialising and reducing him to his ethnic heritage alone. Which is counter productive Americanism in which all things are perceived through identity and particular racial identity. It's lazy reductionism.

Sent from my iPhone 6 using Tapatalk

If he continues to dive, continues to remonstrate with the umpires when things don't go his way and continues to get the favour of the umpires then he'll continually get boo'd and the more people complain and shout racism and claim that he's beyond reproach then the more the the mob will have its say.

Aboriginal? Check.
Diver? Check.
Remonstrates with umpires? Check.

Sounds like you're describing Lindsay Thomas, or if you take out the Aboriginal part, Steve Johnson. They don't cop it nearly as much from our crowd. So lets look at the differences:

There's a perception that Goodes is favoured by the umpires, and he's outspoken off-field about issues that affect the treatment of his race. If it's the former that gets your goat, then you're probably OK with Naitanui being booed. If it's the latter, then there's some truth to the media harping on about racism. I think it's a combinbation of all of the above, which some people just translate logically into a good reason to boo the man, and the rest are just sheep.

To put it simply...

Goodes got upset at a small minority of the crowd who were being racist. Instead of making a statement against these particular people, and applauding the action of others to not sink to such low levels, he instead decided to declare that anyone who was booing was a racist.

Many people took that as a personal attack and since then have put the microscope on his on-field actions and media statements. He does not hold himself well on-field or in the media and that has added fuel to the fire, as people now truly believe that he is a flog.

A large portion of the crowds now dislike him and are voicing this through booing. You cannot stop free-speech and as such the booing will continue. There is only one way that this will stop, and that is for Goodes to put an end to it. Whether that is the right or wrong thing no longer matters, it is up to Goodes to be the better man.

To particular individuals there would be and because of that there is this notion that you can't boo him. But to the vast majority the booing of Goodes is merely sporting.

If he continues to dive, continues to remonstrate with the umpires when things don't go his way and continues to get the favour of the umpires then he'll continually get boo'd and the more people complain and shout racism and claim that he's beyond reproach then the more the the mob will have its say.

Like it or not the booing of Goodes is the open expression of egalitarianism. Goodes irrespective of his ethnic heritage is perceived as an entitled golden boy.

I don't think there's anything sporting about booing Goodes. It's either racist or just piling on because others are doing it. Goodes hasn't done anything against the Eagles on the sporting field to justify the response he gets.

I think the booing got worse because that filthy campaigner Razor Ray didn't pay an obvious free kick against Goodes that led to the first goal. That led to a lot of booing (at Ray) that I think emboldened the boo-ers (as opposed to Boo-urns).

EDIT - And I'll add to that - there are elements in our crowd who are just plain morons. There was actually a guy around me giving it to the boundary umpire who hurt his ankle.

Long time lurker but feel compelled to make a first post.

There are two categories of people who boo Goodes;

1) Racists.

2) People who don't believe they are racist but don't mind identifying themselves with the racist portion as they believe he is a 'flog' so is therefore deserving of being booed. They believe that playing for free kicks is a much more serious concern to them than supporting an aboriginal icon who has done an immeasurable amount of good for the aboriginal and wider Australian community both on and off the field. The health, education and crime rates of the aboriginal community far, far lag behind white Australians and Adam Goodes has devoted a large portion of his life to help address this gap (i.e. co-founded the Go Foundation which provides support for aboriginal kids to go to school).

Quite obviously the majority of the posters who support the booing place themselves in the second category. I just hope next time they stop and think that while they themselves might not be racist they are unwillingly identifying themselves and giving a voice to the racist minority.
**** off!

I have immense respect for what Adam has dedicated a large portion of his life to, the betterment of humanity yadda yadda.
But to put me in the 'identifying' with racists basket because I treat him as a footy villian (Barry Hall, Rhys Jones etc..) and choose to Boo him is just absurd.

I Boo Boomer Harvey as well. Because I ****ing hate white people.

Get of the drugs tumtum.

I don't think there's anything sporting about booing Goodes. It's either racist or just piling on because others are doing it. Goodes hasn't done anything against the Eagles on the sporting field to justify the response he gets.

Still blame him for stealing Judd's Brownlow in 2006.
Was devastated.

So why didn't Steve Johnson and Joel Selwood get booed against us? They're far worse.

Because Steve Johnson knows he dives and because he knows people see him as having some semblance of self awareness of his on field actions. Eg: it's a performance or a show.

Joel Selwood is known for his diving? Perhaps his ducking. He's gets boo'd regularly when he's paid nonsense free kicks.

But finally and more importantly because the issue hasn't been made of them being boo'd in the past. The nature of the social discourse around Goodes has been of detriment to him and as such the Booing has perpetuated because his so called allies do him the disservice of radicalising it and suggesting he's someone unique in his exceptionalism.

In the end the crowd boo'd more ass Goodes became more agitated on field and showed his displeasure. Why he was displease given his favourable treatment at the hands of the umpire I don't know. But the crowd are within their rights to boo him when he's on the end of dud free kicks or cheap goals.

The more he got beaten the more the crowd cheered. The crowed positively enjoyed watching our medium defenders trounce him. Rather than booing him they ended up having more opportunities to watch him lose contests.

Had Sydney won Goodes as he's done in the past would have gotten stuck into the crowd in his usual ugly way. It's that type of misunderstanding of the crowds nature that give him his bad reputation. He comes across as too precious, like one of those skinny clowns in high school that could dish out the verbal but turn to nasty when it comes back the other way.

Ryan Crowley is also a terrific bloke off the field as well - does amazing amounts of unheralded work

He gets mercilessly booed as well
Nowhere near as much as Goodes has this year.

The people who do it are just sheep. Yeah, you may think he's a flog. So why is no one booing Mitchell, who has spent this year injuring players with cowardly knees? Or Hodge, who has a record of doing the same?

If you boo Goodes, you're just outing yourself as an idiot.

Nowhere near as much as Goodes has this year.

The people who do it are just sheep. Yeah, you may think he's a flog. So why is no one booing Mitchell, who has spent this year injuring players with cowardly knees? Or Hodge, who has a record of doing the same?

If you boo Goodes, you're just outing yourself as an idiot.
How about we wait and see how the crowd reacts to Hodge and Mitchell in two weeks before calling people out?

http://m.sydneyswans.com.au/news/2015-07-27/jetta-calls-for-respect

Just have a listen to the interview.

You can see that the booing is hurting Adam on a human level.

Great leadership by Lewis Jetta who is the much younger man.

If the Eagles were to pick up Jetta, then he will be a great addition to your club from a leadership perspective as well.

Does Goodes lack a particular level of emotional intelligence and maturity?

Perhaps there is some history there?

You've got it the wrong way around sunshine and your simplification for political purposes are beyond the point of the discussion. Racial undercurrent is just that, it's an undercurrent. It's smaller than football and it's a hell of a lot smaller than the public image issues that Goodes has on and off the field.

Goodes is first and foremost in the publics eyes a footballer and is measured as such. The media build up around his booing has made him worse.

Those who racialise his treatment are essentialising and reducing him to his ethnic heritage alone. Which is counter productive Americanism in which all things are perceived through identity and particular racial identity. It's lazy reductionism.

Glad to see I am another ray of sunshine in your already wonderful world where racism is a smaller issue in Australia than football and Goodes' public image issue.

I don't disagree that it is more of a racial undercurrent then blatant, 'he is aboriginal, therefore boo'. However there is an obvious racial undercurrent there so why would you in any way defend it?

I'm very interested in your views to my post. Do you disagree that there are racists in the crowd who were booing him as he is an active and outspoken champion of aboriginal rights willing to challenge the status quo? If yes, well then I have nothing more to say to you. If no then I think any decent person would not want to be associated with them and be the bigger person and not boo despite how much of a 'flog' they believe him to be.

Was really hoping to not have to wade back into this but Francis Leach just published one of the most misguided, off point articles on the topic I've ever read in the Age. How people can get paid to label entire waves of people racist is beyond me. Absolute moron. His points would have a little validity if he were more moderate about it, but he's decided to go for the 'every person booing Goodes is a racist' angle. He must have been absent the day they taught about the validity of broad strokes in journalism. Taking the holier than thou position and labelling footy fans across the country, such a ridiculous generalised article.

http://m.theage.com.au/comment/adam...ome-a-redneck-wonderland-20150727-gil6e2.html

The media is to blame . If they didn't constantly make a big deal about it other fan bases wouldn't do the same . It wouldn't be the thing to do . The crowd does it to get a reaction and put goodes off his game . Jobe Watson received the same treatment a couple of years ago and ty vickery last year . Neither of those were racially motivated and received the same level of Booooooo !
Goodes doesn't help himself by the throwing back of his hands and head playing for free kick and having a big sook to the umpire when he is not rewarded .
Hawthorne booed this shit out of him earlier in the year yet they didnt get slammed by the media the same way our crowd does .
Just the eastern states media trying to take the gloss of our great season to date and trying to make us the villains .

Because Steve Johnson knows he dives and because he knows people see him as having some semblance of self awareness of his on field actions. Eg: it's a performance or a show.

But finally and more importantly because the issue hasn't been made of them being boo'd in the past. The nature of the social discourse around Goodes has been of detriment to him and as such the Booing has perpetuated because his so called allies do him the disservice of radicalising it and suggesting he's someone unique in his exceptionalism.

In the end the crowd boo'd more ass Goodes became more agitated on field and showed his displeasure. Why he was displease given his favourable treatment at the hands of the umpire I don't know. But the crowd are within their rights to boo him when he's on the end of dud free kicks or cheap goals.

The more he got beaten the more the crowd cheered. The crowed positively enjoyed watching our medium defenders trounce him. Rather than booing him they ended up having more opportunities to watch him lose contests.

Had Sydney won Goodes as he's done in the past would have gotten stuck into the crowd in his usual ugly way. It's that type of misunderstanding of the crowds nature that give him his bad reputation. He comes across as too precious, like one of those skinny clowns in high school that could dish out the verbal but turn to nasty when it comes back the other way.

He wan booed from the very start, don't try and say it was because he got easy free kicks or because he was getting agitated, it is incorrect.