Brad complains about umpires... Brad was wrong... North apologises

Umps shouldn't be whispering this stuff, they should be shouting it from the hilltops.
'If we see you, player X, constantly trying to trick us into giving you undeserving frees, we are going to look very hard and be very convinced before we give you anything'

If player X or his coach doesn't like it, tough t***ies, start playing the game honestly and you'll find you'll be treated like everyone else.

(not aimed at LT here, there are plenty of player Xs in the league)

Something must of been said...whether it was what they say it was is debatable.

North come off looking bad out of all this

I actually do think umpires have pre conceived ideas about players and while Brad might have had to back peddle I think his statement will make umpires accountable going forward

Our umpire are not up to standard ....I watch the NBA FINALS and man these umpires are well trained and they get nearly very call right ....our muppets are a joke ...dead set our umpires are worse than most other international sports I watch ....

Something must of been said...whether it was what they say it was is debatable.

North come off looking bad out of all this

I really really think this is too big of an issue for North to backdown from if it was true.

As I said earlier in the thread, if this was true, it would be an absolute disgrace. And as such, North would have not let it go and apologised imo.

So I'm thinking that there was a miscommunication (the rumours being that Macmillan asked and the umpire laughed it off, or an official misheard) and Scott being upset after a tough loss shot his mouth off before fact-checking. I certainly think with Norths backtrack that nothing of any substance was said.

20k fine for Scott I think. That's the precedent for umpire accusing I think, can't see how he gets less.

I actually do think umpires have pre conceived ideas about players and while Brad might have had to back peddle I think his statement will make umpires accountable going forward

Our umpire are not up to standard ....I watch the NBA FINALS and man these umpires are well trained and they get nearly very call right ....our muppets are a joke ...dead set our umpires are worse than most other international sports I watch ....
Our game is far harder to
Umpire than most international sports

Our game is far harder to
Umpire than most international sports

No it isn't ...NFL IS FAR HARDER TO UMPIRE ......sorry that's a cop out

Are umps are terrible ....we have two or three good ones and some muppets ...

I've umpired the game at country level and the reason why many good umps don't make it is because the best bouncers or the ball get chosen ...do away with the bounce and pick the best decision makers

Our umpires are shockingly terrible ...I'm sorry I watch NFL, NBA AND EPL AND other sport .......and dead set there not much chatter about calls ....our umps make far too many simple errors also

I really really think this is too big of an issue for North to backdown from if it was true.

As I said earlier in the thread, if this was true, it would be an absolute disgrace. And as such, North would have not let it go and apologised imo.

So I'm thinking that there was a miscommunication (the rumours being that Macmillan asked and the umpire laughed it off, or an official misheard) and Scott being upset after a tough loss shot his mouth off before fact-checking. I certainly think with Norths backtrack that nothing of any substance was said.

20k fine for Scott I think. That's the precedent for umpire accusing I think, can't see how he gets less.

I agree. This was huge last night...which made the accusations and then the backflip today even more unbelievable.

It is one costly piece of misconstrued information for Brad Scott and North

NBA is one of the worst officiated leagues going around unfortunately. They are actually having the same discussion right now funnily enough, but claims that LeBron gets preferential treatment, with Steph Curry's wife playing the brad Scott role and amusing the nba of being rigged.

Also, Steve Kerr, coach of golden state, was fined for criticising the poor officiating of the last game- lots of parallels with Friday night!

Never forget they are on of the few leagues going around that have had a referee actually fired and sent to prison for match fixing in Tim Donaghy.

As bad as our umps may be, we at least beat out the NBA.

Agree, or maybe even the ump

NBA is one of the worst officiated leagues going around unfortunately. They are actually having the same discussion right now funnily enough, but claims that LeBron gets preferential treatment, with Steph Curry's wife playing the brad Scott role and amusing the nba of being rigged.

Also, Steve Kerr, coach of golden state, was fined for criticising the poor officiating of the last game- lots of parallels with Friday night!

Never forget they are on of the few leagues going around that have had a referee actually fired and sent to prison for match fixing in Tim Donaghy.

As bad as our umps may be, we at least beat out the NBA.

You must be watching a different NBA to me

He do criticise them and was rightly fined and hey I was cheering for golden state but he was wrong ....He was fired up about one or two calls ....our umps make countless errors in games

Oh I believe we've had umpires cheat ...the one that paid 15 frees to dogs v Adelaide .....hmm he cheated

Sorry the NBA and NFL are umpired a lot better than our game .....the problem is the best bouncers get picked not the best decision makers ....our gamers umpiring is the only one where umps must perfect a skill like bouncing ....or they dint get picked

I've said this for years ...do away with the bounce and we will get better umpires ..simple

What about Tim Watson? He heard the same thing

Best predictor of future behaviour is past behaviour ie

Brad Scott massive sook in past continues to be massive sook in the present. Highly likely to be a massive sook in the future

Lindsay Thomas has staged and dived for free kicks in the past and continues to stage and dive for free kicks in the present . Highly likely to stage and dive for free kicks in the future.

Not sure you need preconceived idea of what's going to happen in the future. A leopard does not change its spots. Best way to solve the issue is to stop sooking like a weak campaigner and to stop diving and staging for free kicks.

....I watch the NBA FINALS and man these umpires are well trained and they get nearly very call right ....

While I'd agree about NBA refs in most cases, the fact you used this years Finals as an example is curious. They've been abysmal.

On a larger scale though I think all this negativity towards umpires is media driven and seems to be a largely Australian thing. Watching the Rugby tonight on Fox and all the commentators harped on about was the officiating. Having watched the New Zealand game earlier there was no such whinging. They would make a passing comment on whether a decision was harsh or not, but they certainly didn't dwell on it. Same with the Euros where the officiating has been hit and miss. Comment on it and move on.

All Australian commentators, in every sport, go on and on about umpiring errors. This just adds fuel to the fire.

You must be watching a different NBA to me

He do criticise them and was rightly fined and hey I was cheering for golden state but he was wrong ....He was fired up about one or two calls ....our umps make countless errors in games

Oh I believe we've had umpires cheat ...the one that paid 15 frees to dogs v Adelaide .....hmm he cheated

Sorry the NBA and NFL are umpired a lot better than our game .....the problem is the best bouncers get picked not the best decision makers ....our gamers umpiring is the only one where umps must perfect a skill like bouncing ....or they dint get picked

I've said this for years ...do away with the bounce and we will get better umpires ..simple

Nah I'm not. It's world renowned that the NBA refs are amongst the worst. And a lot of the commentary throughout the very finals series you're discussing is in relation to the very poor standard.

Paying 15 frees to adelaide isn't cheating. It may be questionable however. But donaghy went to prison for betting on matches and refereeing to further his bets! Hardly the symbol of purity you're making it out to be.

Caroline Wilson has close sources at the AFL and North and will get to the bottom of this. I'm sure she will present a thorough and objective account of Friday night's events on this week's edition of Footy Classified.

Best predictor of future behaviour is past behaviour ie

Brad Scott massive sook in past continues to be massive sook in the present. Highly likely to be a massive sook in the future

Lindsay Thomas has staged and dived for free kicks in the past and continues to stage and dive for free kicks in the present . Highly likely to stage and dive for free kicks in the future.

Not sure you need preconceived idea of what's going to happen in the future. A leopard does not change its spots. Best way to solve the issue is to stop sooking like a weak campaigner and to stop diving and staging for free kicks.
I'm not familiar with your past work. But based on this post, you must have posted a lot of angry, uninformed drivel in the past, and we can look forward to more.

The AFL loves to manipulate outcomes and it wouldn't surprise me at all if they were manipulating this particular outcome but I tend to agree that what likely happened was something innocuous was said on the field and taken out of context and then in the retelling it bloomed from something slightly on the nose into a nice lil turd sanger with a bit of mayo on it.

What will be interesting is seeing what sort of slap on the wrist the AFL musters up for the sultan of salt B Scott. You'd think they'd need to be a bit heavy handed here but if they go lightly or even not at all then it could be viewed as being a bit suss on their part because that would point towards some kind of collusion/damage control to maintain the image of 'the brand'.

Brad complains about umpires... Brad was wrong... North apologises