Brad complains about umpires... Brad was wrong... North apologises

Do they have every umpires recording from every minute of the game?
I call BS that they have gone through EVERY second of the game from ALL the umpires during the game, even if they had the recordings.
Even if they did does anyone think that they would have come out and said "yep Brad was right we have an ISSUE with the umpires" LOL.
So.
Option 1. Umpires involved in a conspiracy against a Norths player tell a Norths player this, while miked up, and in front of witnesses. Our hero, Scott, reveals this to the world, so the AFL, in all its awesome power for evil, manage to suppress the audio, and convince (threaten?, Bribe? extort? brainwash?) the Norths player into denying this took place.
Option 2. A player is talking to an umpire about Thomas, a third party overhearing a part of the conversation misunderstands what is being said, and spreads his misunderstanding around. This gets to Scott, who at an emotional time, repeats it without first checking with either the club, or the original source. When this is checked with the player, he says that the reported comment was never made. The AFL, checking the relevant part of the audio (they know the umpire and the time), confirm this and play it for North officials, who are forced to back down.

What on Earth made you think they would need to go through every second of audio for all the umpires. They know which umpire, they know when. Its ****ing 5 minutes work. Second, do you think they then didn't immediately play it for senior Norths officials? Or that North would issue the apology they did without confirmation from both the player and the audio.

You didn't bother to think this through very much did you?

No consiracy. Any team paying over the standard salary cap end up with draft penalties. Just ask Carlton.
Ironically Sydney were given the choice no other team were afforded. Extra salary cap payments to players or join the normal draft process with everyone else.
You guessed it....Sydney decided to go with an increased salary cap.
But you go ahead and act like a victim.
Nah just trying to work out the conspiracy.

Not sure anyone in the AFL has been able to explain the draft ban, but you have clearly shown that there is a conspiracy FOR the Swans.

Thanks for letting us know. We were totally clueless about that.

Have you actually watched/listened to the press conference though? There was no blaming the umpires or anything like that for the result, he was responding to a question about whether Thomas was treated unfairly.
There was a token mention of conversion issues then an onslaught of whinging about umpires. Scott would be awesome on Bigfooty

You don't know what racism is, do you?
Do you honestly think racism has anything to do with this? If it does it sucks - but if it doesn't its a pretty major cheapening of an issue. My main issue is not with any player at North - it's your whinging entitled Anglo Saxon coach

Can someone give cogent evidence racism plays a part here?

Are you going by free kick count or something else? A large amount of our frees were for holding the ball due to our tackling pressure.

When it was 18 to 3 we led the tackles. Every Roo tackle was holding the ball, every Hawk tackle was play on or ball up.

Is that what you meant by tackling pressure?

Saying that it can't be racism because Poppy has darker skin than Thomas is just plain stupid. That was the post I responded to.

I believe that there is a race element to some of this. Not suggesting the umpires are racist, but the framing of LT as the villain week in week out. Bartel, Boomer and others have all milked free kicks in the past, yet are lauded. Selwood, Poppy and others have all perfected drawing high free kicks and do it far better and far more often than LT and they are "smart, and brave". LT has a negligible mrp record, especially when you really look at his bullshit suspension earlier this year. Yet he is framed as a cheap shot thug. Hodge, Judd, Lewis and even Fyfe have done far worse on the field yet they are champions, and bloody good blokes. Commentary from Derm when LT wins a free kick uses language like disgrace, the worst I've seen. Yet he giggles like a school girl when other players do it.
LT does more in the community than probably any player in the AFL, me mentors our younger players, and speaks with passion for his club but more than that his people. He kisses the aboriginal flag tattoo when he kicks goals, and oh by the way he kicks amazing goals, and takes crazy good marks, yet the only thing he is linked to is, diving, ducking, drawing free kicks, rough stuff.

If someone can please explain the decisions he copped on the weekend that would be great.... Clear high free kick not paid, up the other end Sicily (who has won more high frees this year than LT has won the last three years combined) gets two that are converted to goals for the same thing. The 50m penalties, both crazy harsh especially when you watch the entire game and see other incidents.

Again not saying the umpires are racist, just that the general framing of Lindsay as this player that is universally hated has a tone to it. The umpires read papers, watch tv, and listen to the general footy mood. Hell, the good blokes seem to get looked after don't they?

Looks like the fault lays with a north Melbourne official according to brayshaw. This north Melbourne official is not a player or the coach and apparently didn't hear what was supposed to have been said but misinterpreted what was actually said then passed this on to Brad Scott who in the interest of team and trust and believing in each other took this as gospel and went bang bang. So not brads fault not McMillan the mimes fault but some unnamed north Melbourne official. I'm really impressed with this witch hunt of who to best throw under the bus as long as it's not McMillan, Brad Scott or anyone else not the "north Melbourne official"
That sounds about as plausible as the Shane Warne saying the comments were made by the cameraman.

The mental gymnastics performed in this thread are quite impressive.

Pity Brad didn't spend a fraction of a second doing the same before he opened his trap. So too the idiot that made up North's excuse.

There's no conspiracy here. The AFL & the umpires know he made it up so they go confidently at him.

Nah just trying to work out the conspiracy.

Not sure anyone in the AFL has been able to explain the draft ban, but you have clearly shown that there is a conspiracy FOR the Swans.

Thanks for letting us know. We were totally clueless about that.

What's there to work out. Eddie gets what Eddie wants.

Saying that it can't be racism because Poppy has darker skin than Thomas is just plain stupid. That was the post I responded to.

I believe that there is a race element to some of this. Not suggesting the umpires are racist, but the framing of LT as the villain week in week out. Bartel, Boomer and others have all milked free kicks in the past, yet are lauded. Selwood, Poppy and others have all perfected drawing high free kicks and do it far better and far more often than LT and they are "smart, and brave". LT has a negligible mrp record, especially when you really look at his bullshit suspension earlier this year. Yet he is framed as a cheap shot thug. Hodge, Judd, Lewis and even Fyfe have done far worse on the field yet they are champions, and bloody good blokes. Commentary from Derm when LT wins a free kick uses language like disgrace, the worst I've seen. Yet he giggles like a school girl when other players do it.
LT does more in the community than probably any player in the AFL, me mentors our younger players, and speaks with passion for his club but more than that his people. He kisses the aboriginal flag tattoo when he kicks goals, and oh by the way he kicks amazing goals, and takes crazy good marks, yet the only thing he is linked to is, diving, ducking, drawing free kicks, rough stuff.

If someone can please explain the decisions he copped on the weekend that would be great.... Clear high free kick not paid, up the other end Sicily (who has won more high frees this year than LT has won the last three years combined) gets two that are converted to goals for the same thing. The 50m penalties, both crazy harsh especially when you watch the entire game and see other incidents.

Again not saying the umpires are racist, just that the general framing of Lindsay as this player that is universally hated has a tone to it. The umpires read papers, watch tv, and listen to the general footy mood. Hell, the good blokes seem to get looked after don't they?

No. Just no.

It's a small forward thing. It's not a racial conspiracy so dry up.
There's a type of small forward that supporters love to hate; Milne, Ballantyne, Lindsay, Matthew Lappin, Phillip Matera, Schneider- the list goes on. All short ass crafty little bastards that loved to duck and dive to score a goal but could cut you up with their skills. Thomas is one of these. They're like soccer players who dive in the box. Nobody likes them. Deal with it.

But noooo...in your rant, you don't compare Thomas to Milne, Lappin, Matera or Ballantyne. Don't worry about comparing like with like! Because you want to pedal that the reason Thomas isn't regarded as highly as Fyfe and co is because of his race! Of course! That's WAY more likely than the fact that between Hodge, Judd, Fyfe, Lewis and Bartel there are 3 Captains, 12 Premierships, 4 Brownlows, a few Norm Smiths, and a bunch of best and fairests. Boomer has the all time games record. Selwood's CV isn't too bad either. Isn't is funny how when you actually achieve something people respect you.

I'm not familiar with your past work. But based on this post, you must have posted a lot of angry, uninformed drivel in the past, and we can look forward to more.

You are correct. I apologise and retract;

Scott isn't a sook and as such won't sook in the future

Thomas doesn't stage and dive for free kicks and won't in the future

Umpires do have preconceived idea that Thomas ducks and stages for free kicks even though he doesn't

Sorry if I offended you

No. Just no.

There's a type of small forward that supporters love to hate; Milne, Ballantyne, Lindsay, Matthew Lappin, Phillip Matera, Schneider- the list goes on. All short ass crafty little bastards that loved to duck and dive to score a goal but could cut you up with their skills. Thomas is one of these. They're like soccer players who dive in the box. Nobody likes them. Deal with it.

But noooo...in your rant, you don't compare Thomas to Milne, Lappin, Matera or Ballantyne. Don't worry about comparing like with like! Because you want to pedal that the reason Thomas isn't regarded as highly as Fyfe and co is because of his race! Of course! That's WAY more likely than the fact that between Hodge, Judd, Fyfe, Lewis and Bartel there are 3 Captains, 12 Premierships, 4 Brownlows, a few Norm Smiths, and a bunch of best and fairests. Boomer has the all time games record. Selwood's CV isn't too bad either. Isn't is funny how when you actually achieve something people respect you.

Very good post. In this day and age people love to look for racial overtones in everything. I wonder, is that racism? lol

I really really think this is too big of an issue for North to backdown from if it was true.

As I said earlier in the thread, if this was true, it would be an absolute disgrace. And as such, North would have not let it go and apologised imo.

So I'm thinking that there was a miscommunication (the rumours being that Macmillan asked and the umpire laughed it off, or an official misheard) and Scott being upset after a tough loss shot his mouth off before fact-checking. I certainly think with Norths backtrack that nothing of any substance was said.

20k fine for Scott I think. That's the precedent for umpire accusing I think, can't see how he gets less.
For me, the 20k is your garden variety umpire decision criticism post game. This slur is much, much worse. You absolutely cannot do this and be wrong. I'm interested to see what happens. My guess is public apology by Scott at a press conference (should have happened Saturday instead of their pissweak written statement) and a 30-50k fine.

No. Just no.

Well said.
The real problem in society are the types of people you just replied to.

Two excuses Brad Scott could use to get out of trouble:-

A:- "I didn't get the memo that not paying frees to Lindsay Thomas was this week's "Rule Of The Week"".

B:- "I didn't say it. Chris did!"

It's too confronting for people to accept the reality of a corrupt AFL.

You are right on every point.

The proof is Watson. He said he 'heard it' not heard about it. Why would he lie?
Yes if it really happened North would back down with their tails between their legs:rolleyes: They would demand the AFL release the audio and than proceed to take them to the courts.

Two things disturbs me about this whole Brad Scott v umpires saga.

Did NM apologize because they were wrong, or because they were leant on by AFL House?

What if Brad Scott is right?

What if he was told that exact thing, and the AFL threatened North to withdraw the comment or else.

You see, for the longest time, AFL umpires have been untouchable. The clubs, players and coaches can't criticise them. Fair enough. You don't want press conferences like in NRL, where every loss is blamed on umpiring.

But the umpires' department, the AFL and the media never publicly criticise them either. So, if no-one is criticising them, then either (a) they are gods amongst men, who are perfect, or (b) they are a "protected species" who are immune from public scrutiny, and anyone who does comment is threatened and fined.

But what happens when an umpire makes a mistake. It isn't enough for justice to be done, it has to be seen to be done as well.

Do the umpiring fraternity discipline their umpires when needed? Or is any mistake, big or small, by an umpire result in the umpire's boss and the AFL to stick their heads in the sand?

What would happen if an umpire showed up drunk? Or was betting on games he umpired? How would the AFL, who defend umpires to the hilt react then? Would they sack the umpire, or would they quietly just not select him for a while, as a punishment, but not to draw attention? Would they publicly say that they have sacked the umpire in question, or would the story be covered up by the AFL and the footy media, who are in bed with AFL House.

I would love to see which side the AFL would take if an indigineous player accused a field umpire of calling him a racist name. Who would they back, given how the AFL bend over for politically correct causes like Aboriginal Rights, but then won't ever hear a bad word about an umpire.

The fact is, umpires should be pulled into line when necessary by the authorities as well. If an umpire makes a mistake, they need to be told, so as not to make it again. If he keeps doing it, then maybe his position as an umpire should be questioned.

A serious allegation like the one Brad Scott made needs to be investigated. Each side presents its case, and if it turns out North got it wrong, then they get punished. But to dismiss the allegation and not even investigate it, makes me wonder what else the AFL turn a blind eye to, in regards to umpiring performance and behavior.

It isn't the AFL's job to worry about junior umpires in local footy. Besides, it is parents, more than players or coaches who torment umpires, so gagging everyone from even questioning whether an umpire is like the rest of us mere mortals is ridiculous.

This carry-on, telling everyone how to treat umpires is like how the AFL and media told us to treat Adam Goodes. No, everyone is up for scrutiny. No-one, not even umpires, should escape comment on their performance or behaviour.

I don't know if what Brad Scott says is true or not. But we will never know, because AFL House don't want to know. Too bad if the allegation is true. So if you are thinking of being an AFL umpire, get drunk, gamble and do whatever you like. The AFL and media will stick their head in the sand, and just pretend it didn't happen.

Yes if it really happened North would back down with their tails between their legs:rolleyes: They would demand the AFL release the audio and than proceed to take them to the courts.

North probably backed down because they were probably threatened. Maybe they would lose their dividend from the AFL, which they need to survive.

North don't have the financial stroke to not back down to a corrupt AFL House. Comply, or get send packing to Gold Coast or Tassie permanently.

Brad complains about umpires... Brad was wrong... North apologises