Past Brendan Fevola (2010-2011)

Re: Brendan Fevola

I was wondering whether it is a case of coping with different expectations. At Carlton if he won a game off his own boot he would be a hero, and if he didn't then no big deal. Now, with the Lions having given up a lot to get him, and with the club having expectations of finishing top 4, I'm wondering if he feels he is expected to kick 4+ every week , and he's a bit more worried about missing when he lines up for goal.

3 goals, 7 behinds, 1 out on the full is probably the most inaccurate he's ever been ever. Admittedly a few of them were quite difficult chances.

He got 4 from 13 shots Round 3 last year against Essendon, a game we lost by 4 points. Combine that with that miss against Hawthorn and our season might've been better still. He's normally a lovely kick at goal though and from great distance.

Vossy, let Fev have his say

The Brisbane Lions have erred in electing to maintain a gag on star forward Brendan Fevola ahead of this week's blockbuster clash with his former club Carlton.

Admittedly, Fevola has put his foot in his mouth more times than he'd care to remember over the years when given free rein in front of a camera or microphone, none more so than his boozy antics for The Footy Show's Street Talk segment following last year's Brownlow Medal.

And yes he has been in the headlines for all the wrong reasons again in recent weeks following the publication of THAT nude shower photo of model Lara Bingle, who he had an affair with several years ago.

It is hilariously pathetic watching the media get all het up over this. Get over yourselves.

Vossy, let Fev have his say

It is hilariously pathetic watching the media get all het up over this. Get over yourselves.

I like how they are saying "finally he has let his football do the talking... so why won't the club let us talk to him".

I think the idea of "letting the footy do the talking" is exactly that. It doesn't mean "play a good game then talk yourself up afterwards". The footy IS the talking.

They are just dying to get a controversial headline out of him aren't they. All they want is a 5 minute press conference where he can say "yeah, really happy up here in Brisbane, life hasn't been better" so they can plaster...

BIG MOUTH FEV SAYS LIFE AT CARLTON MISERABLE

...all over the front page.

Stay the course Vossy, you're doing the right thing. It's driving the media hog-wild, always a good sign that you're on the right track.

Fev's arrival, Pirates coup
Griffith Thomas
29th March 2010

The controversial Brisbane Lions recruit made a rare public appearance at Park Ridge Pirates Junior Australian Rules Football Club’s Sportsman’s Night, just three days prior to his successful debut for the Lions against West Coast.

Fevola spent 20 minutes answering questions about getting used to the Brisbane lifestyle, the team’s chances this season and playing alongside Lions captain Jonathan Brown.

fevola.jpg

Good decision by Vossy. The more media outlets whinge about it the better it looks.

I would love it even more if Fev turns it on, kicks a bag, and we continue the media ban after the game. They'll go nuts. :p

Jason Akermanis

You can be sure coach Michael Voss will be picking Fev's brain regarding his former Carlton teammates. I'm not sure what Michael will find in there, but it's worth having a look anyway.

The difference for Fev is he is playing at home, albeit a new home, but it's still Brisbane's ground. Territory is a big thing in life, let alone football, so it does make a massive difference.

fevola.jpg

Time to lighten up and remember -- sport, it's only a game
Nick Smart
March 31st, 2010

The massive reaction was typical of a sport which takes itself too seriously -- just take a look at the Brisbane Lions and Brendan Fevola.

The Fevola situation is the biggest story of the week and every fan, not just the Carlton and Brisbane faithful, has been talking about it since Fevola joined the Lions.

For the Lions to place Fevola on a media ban before his game against Carlton at the Gabba tomorrow night smacks of pure arrogance, thinly veiled behind the old chestnut of having to focus on the game.

The media drag Fevola's name through the mud, calling him every name under the sun, and now they say everyone needs to lighten up?:rolleyes:

Would have expected better from Nick Smart.

What an absolute load of tripe.

As if the lack of a couple of quotes from Fev has "turn it into just another run-of-the-mill game devoid of anything other than the bare facts." instead of "tomorrow night being ramped up to the level the fans expect"

Nick Smart said:
The hysterical bleating, which is indicative of the small bubble the media lives in, would have been amusing if it was not so pathetic.

Fixed.

When Fevola was first traded it was universally accepted that he should focus on letting his football do the talking. Now that this has been put into practice, the realisation that this gives journalists less to write about has angered them.

The problem for Fev is that if he does an interview - 1. they will twist his words to conform with his image of being stupid/immoral etc and 2. they will pester him about off-field incidents.

I presume Nick knows all this, and is just trying to create an angle. This might also be a reflection of his intent to promote rivalry between the Gold Coast and the Lions.

Link

Ratten has not spoken to his former spearhead since the club traded him to Brisbane following his alcohol-fuelled Brownlow Medal antics. Ratten won't address his players about how to deal with Fevola, saying it was "up to individuals".

Ratten said his defensive preparations didn't alter much from when Daniel Bradshaw lined up at full-forward for the Lions. "It maybe went to Brendan a lot more than Bradshaw, they went to him 27 times which was probably more than we did in games," he said.

So you want his footy to do the talking, but banning him from talking publicly is arrogance? I really don't understand the media.

Time to lighten up and remember -- sport, it's only a game
Nick Smart
March 31st, 2010

The media drag Fevola's name through the mud, calling him every name under the sun, and now they say everyone needs to lighten up?:rolleyes:

Sorry to clutter up Roster Watch but I need to relieve myself... :eek:

WOW – Mr Smart has certainly come out swinging his pencil.

I maybe considered by some as ‘an old fart’ living in the past but I can see where Nick is coming from but I don’t totally agree… and I’ll reply [give my opinion] to above article by starting with the question he first asks.

Q: When did sport stop being fun?
A: I’m predominantly a spectator/follower of the game and for me it still is fun. Professional sport as a whole has over the last decade needed to take itself seriously and take on a business like structure/risk management formulas. Even a ‘pie man’ would acknowledge there must have been ‘non-fun work’ and dare I suggest even Eddie and Gary Pert would have had elements of “their own publicity agenda”, to rid the old Vic Park mentality at the pies new east Melbourne base.

I’m of the belief there are currently less AFL registered footballers than accredited AFL journo’s… could this be a contributing element to Nicks lack of fun?

As far as the computer imagery goes, I personally don’t have a problem with it, I see the papers ‘poster’ as the technological evolution of newsprints time honoured ‘artists impression’ or satirical cartoon.

But I must say the additional “just take a look at the Brisbane Lions and Brendan Fevola” being “typical of a sport which takes itself too seriously” maybe a brilliant two veg for the meaty tongue in cheek ‘poster’ for the editor but sadly doesn’t auger well for my stomach as I try to wash it down with my half empty glass of sparkling cynicism… Buuuuuuurp, sorry… I’m not feeling well… can I be excused from the table? I think I’m gunna lighten up.

Fev chafes at Voss media gag

STAR recruit Brendan Fevola is at loggerheads with Brisbane Lions coach Michael Voss over his gag order as tensions rise before tonight's blockbuster at the Gabba.

Fevola's manager Alastair Lynch revealed that his client had "no worries" talking about his first competitive match against the club that sacked him at the end of last year, but had been gagged by Voss.

It contradicts Voss's claims that Fevola had sought the media ban because he was carrying an "emotional load" from the Lara Bingle nude-photo scandal.

Sensationalist BS. Perhaps a more accurate title for the article: Media chafes at Fev gag

So...

- Vossy doesn't want Fev to talk to the media.

- Fev doesn't mind either way.

- Journo concludes that they are at loggerheads?

LMAO. If you give them nothing, they'll just concoct fake drama instead.

What a great case study into the way they operate.

It's showtime for Fevola

THE man who divides opinion like no other in the AFL will be on show tonight. Yes, Brendan Fevola will relish being the centre of attention when he heads to the Gabba goalsquare to take on the team that had been his home for the past 11 seasons. No longer the Carlton identity that he enjoyed so much being, the banished Blue is now trying to win over the Lion faithful.

As he takes up his position there will be plenty of Carlton fans wishing him well, and just as many Brisbane supporters shaking their heads in dismay that coach Michael Voss would bring such a loose cannon into their club.

From the article in post #646

By replacing Bradshaw with Fevola, Voss is continuing to put all his eggs in one basket. But not so at Carlton, now that Fevola is gone. In 2010 the Blues will look to share the scoring. Last year the ball was directed to Fevola in the forward line 350 times. Next highest was Eddie Betts at 50. It was an unhealthy reliance on an individual.

I can see why people might argue getting rid of Fev is a good thing off the field, but this attempt to turn into a positive on the field as well really is drawing a long bow. Robert should try addressing why Carlton continued delivering the ball to Fevola. If sharing the load is so important why not drop Betts too...

From the article in post #646

I can see why people might argue getting rid of Fev is a good thing off the field, but this attempt to turn into a positive on the field as well really is drawing a long bow. Robert should try addressing why Carlton continued delivering the ball to Fevola. If sharing the load is so important why not drop Betts too...

Yeah and it's not like O'hAilpin wasn't there all along. They could have been unpredictable, multi-pronged AND had Fev at the same time.

And why are all our eggs in one basket? I think Staker would be on the same basic level of ability as o'hAilpin. Why is their third tall making them multidimensional but ours isn't?

Link

However, there is evidence to suggest Brown is right in insisting the Lions recruit does not have the yips despite kicking 3.7. He produced a few efforts similar to last week in a Coleman Medal-winning 2009, the most notable his 4.7 against the Bombers in round three and the 1.5 against the Crows in round nine. But, aside from a poor return against the Swans following the Essendon match, it was a rare exception when Fevola did not rebound with a haul of goals.