Brett Deledio in 2013

It is still the players call he can accept his original clubs offer or he can then reject it and go into the draft or PSD and be taken by anyone

thats what i mean, once the player accept(signed) an offer from another club, the current club matches it. He has to stay, so no going back and say I am going into the PSD.

at least thats how the NBA does it with restricted free agency.

thats what i mean, once the player accept(signed) an offer from another club, the current club matches it. He has to stay, so no going back and say I am going into the PSD.

at least thats how the NBA does it with restricted free agency.

Negatory.

The player can still leave and enter the draft, he just has no guarantee of getting to his club of choice.

It will be hard to get any player under free trade. The losing club always has a monetary advantage due to the restricted nature in years 8 and 9 plus they can in effect pay $100,000 more in years 10+ thanks to the vets rule. Clubs can circumnavigate the restricted years with a luke ball type deal, but I would not like our club to go down that route. Players do want success but most also are pretty loyal, especially after a minimum of 8 years at the same club.

In other words we would only be open to players who are either disgruntled or have been identified as filling a massive hole, as was the case with Ottens. You can forget about the Deledios of the world, much as he would be a great addition to the team

Sent from my BlackBerry 9780 using Tapatalk

As if! Duncan will go close to a Brownlow one day.

I would not be trading Duncan or Vardy for anyone.

Both will be guns.

Meaning??

Meaning he'd be a walk up start in Geelong 2007-2009 (which in my opinion, was a stronger side than the one we have now). Therefore, he would clearly be a walk up start in the side we'll be rolling with from 2012 onwards.

In those sides, he would have clearly replaced blokes like Shannon Byrnes, Matthew Stokes and David Wojcinski.

In today's side, he would still replace those guys, and also our young players who served us so well in 2011 (i.e. menzel, duncan, christensen, smedts).

Before that sparks outrage - take the patches off our eyes and assume that Brett Deledio was one of us.

Right now, he is a more complete, and better player than our stars of tomorrow. I'm not saying that they won't overtake him when they develop a bit more, but Deledio is better than those blokes right now.

I really can't comprehend anyone questioning whether Brett Deledio would make our best 22 or not.

...And that's coming from someone who bleeds blue and white.

Meaning he'd be a walk up start in Geelong 2007-2009 (which in my opinion, was a stronger side than the one we have now). Therefore, he would clearly be a walk up start in the side we'll be rolling with from 2012 onwards.

In those sides, he would have clearly replaced blokes like Shannon Byrnes, Matthew Stokes and David Wojcinski.

In today's side, he would still replace those guys, and also our young players who served us so well in 2011 (i.e. menzel, duncan, christensen, smedts).

Before that sparks outrage - take the patches off our eyes and assume that Brett Deledio was one of us.

Right now, he is a more complete, and better player than our stars of tomorrow. I'm not saying that they won't overtake him when they develop a bit more, but Deledio is better than those blokes right now.

I really can't comprehend anyone questioning whether Brett Deledio would make our best 22 or not.

I agree with you mate, I think he would be easily in our best dozen. Its really hard to know how good he is, he has spent a lot of time in a pretty average side, and still been capable of having a solid influence. Surrounded by quality, Premiership quality, I think he could easily become a better player than what he already is.

I totally agree with you, just wanted to know if that is what you truly meant.

It seems some people can't see past our talent , which we have a lot of, but Deledio is a super talent, easily would be in our best team, no doubt.

If we decided to spend big money and chase someone I would prefer a Full back replacement for Scarlett or a ruckman to replace Ottens. Surely both positions are more important to us than HBF ?

I also reckon that it is quite possible that Duncan will be as good as player as Delidio in time. I like the cut of his jib !

As also mentioned we have a great recruiting record and culture at the club. We develop young talent well - so I reckon we have a HBF somewhere in our midst. Say Smedts or Guthrie or THunt or Cowan or Stringer. And there maybe others that are possible good mid sized defenders at the Cats right now.

Also we will have a few selections in this years ND that could bring such a player to our team.

Not keen to pay anyone outside the club now $800,000 - even if we do have the salary cap room to pay it.

If we decided to spend big money and chase someone I would prefer a Full back replacement for Scarlett or a ruckman to replace Ottens. Surely both positions are more important to us than HBF ?

I also reckon that it is quite possible that Duncan will be as good as player as Delidio in time. I like the cut of his jib !

As also mentioned we have a great recruiting record and culture at the club. We develop young talent well - so I reckon we have a HBF somewhere in our midst. Say Smedts or Guthrie or THunt or Cowan or Stringer. And there maybe others that are possible good mid sized defenders at the Cats right now.

Also we will have a few selections in this years ND that could bring such a player to our team.

Not keen to pay anyone outside the club now $800,000 - even if we do have the salary cap room to pay it.

We probably have every position that you just mentioned covered. Ottens will be replaced by who we have, and Scarlett will probably be replaced by Mackie, and Walker/ Bathie look promising. What got us to be super elite surely must be the array of vesatile , skilled, tough mids, who can play in a variety of roles. Ottens spent most of 09 watching, yet we made it to a GF again.
Deledio would be a great replacement for Enright, who has been a critical and unique player.To be able to mark, run, carry, and kick is pretty important. To have the best exponent of that is a worthwhile chase if he is available and the timing is right.

Duncan does look good. Time will tell. While you think we probably have the stocks to cover our potential departures as mids, hbf, I feel the same about tall defenders and rucks.

As far as our recruiting success, over a 2-3 year period, we picked up Ling, Corey, Enright, Chapman, Rooke, Bartel, Ablett, Kelly, and SJ, and virtually all have played as onballers. Amazing, and the basis for our current success. That is a tough act to follow. Throw in Mooney and Ottens for good measure.

Yeah we will just have to disagree on this. I reckon our weakest link at present seems to be a number one big ruckman. We will be relying the Big O a fair bit this season (so we will know more by seasons end) - but he has never played AFL footy !

Don't like the sound of Simpson's injury - and although I think he maybe an ok player for us going forward - it is anknown as he has played do few games in the seniors.

Vardy and West are not number 1 ruckman - they are number 2 ruckman - and could be very good for us in this position and going forward.

As Big Brad did perform in the finals for us and made a significant contribution - we have no one yet capable of filling his role. Time will tell us more. But it loks awfully thin to me re a number 1 ruckman who can influence games and finals this season - and maybe next.

Scarlett is irreplaceable - but he will need to be replaced. Harry, who I seriously like, is a bit light for CHB on monster CHFs. Lonergan is a good negator but does not get enough ball to be a Scarlett replacement IMO.

Another good running strong tall backman is needed. Maybe Hamling is a good thing but orobably years away yet.

Bathie and Walker maybe looking good but see them more in a Lonergan/Egan role - not a Scarlett role.

So whom plays FB in big games ? I do not think Lonergan or Taylor - and Gillies is yet to seriously impress.

Given we have a heap of talented kids around the mid 180 cms - we will find a HBF for sure IMO.

Delidio does add pace - and I like that fact. But for the touted $800,000 - I think we can do better spending less and getting a key backman closer to the Scarlett role.

THunt did look god for a while, and the word out on Guthrie and Smedts makes them quite likely to play senior games this season. They are not big enough to take a Scarlett role so BP or HBF are likely positions for them to start their career off from (or sub).

I have not seen enough of Cowan but quite a few here think he may make it. Again, from his size, a HBF or BP player.

We probably have every position that you just mentioned covered. Ottens will be replaced by who we have, and Scarlett will probably be replaced by Mackie, and Walker/ Bathie look promising. What got us to be super elite surely must be the array of vesatile , skilled, tough mids, who can play in a variety of roles. Ottens spent most of 09 watching, yet we made it to a GF again.
Deledio would be a great replacement for Enright, who has been a critical and unique player.To be able to mark, run, carry, and kick is pretty important. To have the best exponent of that is a worthwhile chase if he is available and the timing is right.

Duncan does look good. Time will tell. While you think we probably have the stocks to cover our potential departures as mids, hbf, I feel the same about tall defenders and rucks.

As far as our recruiting success, over a 2-3 year period, we picked up Ling, Corey, Enright, Chapman, Rooke, Bartel, Ablett, Kelly, and SJ, and virtually all have played as onballers. Amazing, and the basis for our current success. That is a tough act to follow. Throw in Mooney and Ottens for good measure.

Mackie is 28 I know he has that baby faced look but he isn't getting any younger.

Hopefully Hamblin can learn a lot off of Scarlo and Taylor over the next few years while he adds some bulk to his frame because we need to have a few options up our sleeve for when Scarlo, Boris, Mack and Lonners finally hang them up in a few years time

Mackie is 28 I know he has that baby faced look but he isn't getting any younger.

Hopefully Hamblin can learn a lot off of Scarlo and Taylor over the next few years while he adds some bulk to his frame because we need to have a few options up our sleeve for when Scarlo, Boris, Mack and Lonners finally hang them up in a few years time

Mackie turned 27 in Aug 2011, so sure, he'll be 28 when Scarlett goes, but he will replace Scarlett's role, which I add is not strictly FB, as we all know. Other players will fill defensive roles, inevitably. And, we can not buy a ready made Scarlett/ Ottens replacement from where we finish on the ladder, and other teams have more pressing needs for these types than we do.

Mackie should be around for a good 3-4 more seasons, and Talor5-6, Lonergan
2-3, so can we really prepare for much ahead of that NEXT year? And it is next year we are discussing regarding Deledio

Yeah we will just have to disagree on this. I reckon our weakest link at present seems to be a number one big ruckman. We will be relying the Big O a fair bit this season (so we will know more by seasons end) - but he has never played AFL footy !

Don't like the sound of Simpson's injury - and although I think he maybe an ok player for us going forward - it is anknown as he has played do few games in the seniors.

Vardy and West are not number 1 ruckman - they are number 2 ruckman - and could be very good for us in this position and going forward.

As Big Brad did perform in the finals for us and made a significant contribution - we have no one yet capable of filling his role. Time will tell us more. But it loks awfully thin to me re a number 1 ruckman who can influence games and finals this season - and maybe next.

Scarlett is irreplaceable - but he will need to be replaced. Harry, who I seriously like, is a bit light for CHB on monster CHFs. Lonergan is a good negator but does not get enough ball to be a Scarlett replacement IMO.

Another good running strong tall backman is needed. Maybe Hamling is a good thing but orobably years away yet.

Bathie and Walker maybe looking good but see them more in a Lonergan/Egan role - not a Scarlett role.

So whom plays FB in big games ? I do not think Lonergan or Taylor - and Gillies is yet to seriously impress.

Given we have a heap of talented kids around the mid 180 cms - we will find a HBF for sure IMO.

Delidio does add pace - and I like that fact. But for the touted $800,000 - I think we can do better spending less and getting a key backman closer to the Scarlett role.

THunt did look god for a while, and the word out on Guthrie and Smedts makes them quite likely to play senior games this season. They are not big enough to take a Scarlett role so BP or HBF are likely positions for them to start their career off from (or sub).

I have not seen enough of Cowan but quite a few here think he may make it. Again, from his size, a HBF or BP player.

You have some great points re ruck stocks. I guess the thing about Deledio is he is going to be available, who do you see as a number 1 ruck option who will be ready through free agency, or even trade, next year? I think when great players are up for grabs, and the club thinks they will fit into the plan for maintained success (and who knows if the club will even consider him), you have to strike while the iron is hot so to speak.

The thought of losing some elite mid sized players, and replacing them with someone who has the potential to be elite appeals more to me than reaching for a number 1 ruckman, who may not even be available.

You have some great points re ruck stocks. I guess the thing about Deledio is he is going to be available, who do you see as a number 1 ruck option who will be ready through free agency, or even trade, next year? I think when great players are up for grabs, and the club thinks they will fit into the plan for maintained success (and who knows if the club will even consider him), you have to strike while the iron is hot so to speak.

The thought of losing some elite mid sized players, and replacing them with someone who has the potential to be elite appeals more to me than reaching for a number 1 ruckman, who may not even be available.

That's what I was trying to say. Thank you. It is all about what is available at the end of this season, and where we are at. If Deledio is in fact available, there will likely be 17 interested teams, if not 18.

Jamar is going to be available at the end of the year but he is almost as old a Orren

Article in the Age today all about this....
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/no-freedom-yet-for-loyal-tiger-deledio-20120128-1qn9t.html

It basically says - at the end of 2012 Deledio becomes a restricted free agent. Thus if Richmond can match any offer mad by another cub he has to stay at Richmond.

At the end of 2014 he becomes (if out of contract) a un-restricted free agent and he can go anywhere he likes and Richmond cannot stop him.

So the best thing for him (according to the Age) is to sign a 2 year contract now. If Richmond have not improved he can go to any club that can fit him into the salary cap. Of course the downside for any club wanted him then is he is a couple of years older.

I get that, but **** 10 years at a club without any finals success!... Hard to stomach. Plus there is a big difference between playing finals and pressing for a flag, just look at the Swans.

Article in the Age today all about this....
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/no-freedom-yet-for-loyal-tiger-deledio-20120128-1qn9t.html

It basically says - at the end of 2012 Deledio becomes a restricted free agent. Thus if Richmond can match any offer mad by another cub he has to stay at Richmond.

At the end of 2014 he becomes (if out of contract) a un-restricted free agent and he can go anywhere he likes and Richmond cannot stop him.

So the best thing for him (according to the Age) is to sign a 2 year contract now. If Richmond have not improved he can go to any club that can fit him into the salary cap. Of course the downside for any club wanted him then is he is a couple of years older.

He does have the option if he really wants to leave Richmond to not sign their contract offer and go into the Draft/PSD where anyone can pick him up

That's what I was trying to say. Thank you. It is all about what is available at the end of this season, and where we are at. If Deledio is in fact available, there will likely be 17 interested teams, if not 18.

Maybe on the outer on this one - particularly as I do not think (from the outside) that we chase players from other clubs quite enough.

But if the reported figure of $800,000 is about right - then would he not be one of the highest paid players at the club ? Just does not sit well with me when probably quite a few very loyal Cats players have forgone a better salary they could have got elsewhere.

Building a good club and culture takes time and good consistent decisions. I suspect that bringing in an outsider who earns as much as a legend as Scarlett might be a little unsettleing with the player group.

If he came at a reasonable price then maybe.

I still maintain if we pay $800,000 a year say for 3 years to get Delideo - we could find in the next 2-3 seasons a few other players at lesser cost who want to play in finals - which Geelong surely will for the foreseeable future. Ones that might be as good and fit more what we see as a more desirable role - like a first ruckman. These guys seem to take ages to get them playing good footy consistently.

Like our forward line presently and we have quite a few newish recruitswho may add to that line. Mids seem ok for now and the backline is a bit more older and therefore circumspect. So I see where many are coming from with looking at a quick, attacking and skillful HBF.

Still think one of the young crew will become a very good HBF - but yes in a few seasons time to get to Delideo's level.

No rush as it seems that Scott will play quite a few of these guys this season before we need to look at Delideo. Smedts and Guthrie in particular.

Maybe on the outer on this one - particularly as I do not think (from the outside) that we chase players from other clubs quite enough.

But if the reported figure of $800,000 is about right - then would he not be one of the highest paid players at the club ? Just does not sit well with me when probably quite a few very loyal Cats players have forgone a better salary they could have got elsewhere.

Building a good club and culture takes time and good consistent decisions. I suspect that bringing in an outsider who earns as much as a legend as Scarlett might be a little unsettleing with the player group.

If he came at a reasonable price then maybe.

I still maintain if we pay $800,000 a year say for 3 years to get Delideo - we could find in the next 2-3 seasons a few other players at lesser cost who want to play in finals - which Geelong surely will for the foreseeable future. Ones that might be as good and fit more what we see as a more desirable role - like a first ruckman. These guys seem to take ages to get them playing good footy consistently.

Like our forward line presently and we have quite a few newish recruitswho may add to that line. Mids seem ok for now and the backline is a bit more older and therefore circumspect. So I see where many are coming from with looking at a quick, attacking and skillful HBF.

Still think one of the young crew will become a very good HBF - but yes in a few seasons time to get to Delideo's level.

No rush as it seems that Scott will play quite a few of these guys this season before we need to look at Delideo. Smedts and Guthrie in particular.

Spot on here, the best result for Geelong is that 2012 sees an unearthing of 2 or 3 new players that can become obvious A grade, if not elite potential, young players. It happened this year I think with Bundy, Menzel, Duncan etc and if Smedts, Guthrie etc can perform then Deledio ( and other big money medium recruits) wont probably be needed. But if we get to end of year, and the youngsters look a long way off, I think it is worth while paying to get someone who comes in as an elite level player straight away, rather than hoping one of the youngsters gets real good real quick.

Brett Deledio in 2013