Jan 25, 2008
the heart of darkness
StL Cards, THFC, South Sydney
Good morning Cats fans,

Over the last 5 years, this team has been kind enough to give me 2 things that I questioned I would ever see:

1) A Geelong premiership
2) Geelong being respected and feared as a genuine force of the competition

With those accomplishments out of the way, I was looking for larger goals for our team to accomplish. And as fate would have it, this finals series has shaken out perfectly to allow us to achieve such lofty goals. All things being equal, we have the chance to gain redemption on 3 fronts:

1) Slay the Hawthorn "finals" dragon
2) Redeem the early 90's West Coast nightmare
3) Avenge the 2010 prelim debacle and quieten the Collingwood bandwagon

Now before anyone goes all "don't count your chickens, keep the lid on" on me, let me point out that I am not declaring this as a certainty or boasting that we are going to smash these teams. I am well aware that we are just about to start a new season and that anything can happen from here.

BUT....

I am daring to dream of the glory of accomplishing the 3 outcomes above. This was the top 4 that I have wanted since midseason and it has been delivered. Forget any negativity, let's embrace the opportunity that the club has been given. Redemption shall be ours.

I can't wait - BRING IT ON

Great work mate, your points are all very true.

I'll be there tonight cheering on our boys. :D

Hinkley, and all cats fans, Geelong can fulfill your dream. I believe they can.
Get the Hawks! then eagles and pies!
October 1st, not far away......

I've got a feeling that tonight gonna be a good night, that tonights gonna be a real good night.:thumbsu:

Terrible song/"band"... God I might need done "injunction" to calm the nerves today lol

I have a sick sick feeling about tonight, god I hope they don't beat us

I'm certainly not about to tell you to keep a lid on it and personally I don't see why supporters (particularly ours) should.
Supporters getting carried away with "our" premiership chances is perfectly fine. Just so long as the relevant people (i.e. Players, coaches) do not. Personally I'm not that modest about the Cats' chances tonight, I honestly think they'll win with comfort in the end and I have no problem telling anyone that. Let us all do our small bit by cheering them on as loud as possible!
If the team gets shot down in flames by the Hawks tonight it certainly wont be as a result of over confident supporters.

I'm pumped! I'm ready! I'm keen as mustard! I'll be wet as a shag by the end of the night sitting in the outer but I don't care. It's finals time!!!! Let's get excited

Terrible song/"band"... God I might need done "injunction" to calm the nerves today lol

I have a sick sick feeling about tonight, god I hope they don't beat us

It's funny I was singing that song at work, I then get sent home early, I turn on the radio and low and behold, what song happened to be playing......
You guessed it..... Good omen

Boys will make a big statement tonight and show us how good 4 x 1/4's of our intense best really is. Totally pumped , can't wait..........

I truly believe that I will die a happy footy supporter if we can beat Hawthorn and Collingwood and win the premiership. Everything that happens for the remaining decades would just be gravy.

I'm with you - to see 3 Premierships in 5 years would see me out. And I maintain we deserve to have 3 Premierships given our dominance since 2006.

Given all the hassles around the club at the end of last year - what a great result it would be for the club and its culture.

We lose arguably the best player in the league - and we win a Premiership ? Wow that would be something.

And I reckon if we play our cards right and a few things go our way we can remain seriously competitive for as long as Scarlett is there - so 2 - maybe 3 seasons (I hope).

The rain tonight is not as an advantage people make it out to be for us. WE had a chance to expose their short backline and the wet and wind will negate our taller forward line.

Yes it will slow Buddy, maybe Rioli down - but overall a drier, less windy night might have been better for us overall - like against the Pies.

They might be a bit quicker over the 22 - so maybe that helps us a bit and I would reckon we would have slightly bigger bodies. But as we will rely quite heavily on our younger guys performing well - there is still an edge to this game for me. How well will they handle thier first final in the wet and wind - and a seriously physical footbal game ?

If the young guys stand up I think we will win and reasonably well. There are very few regulars in the team that are not reliable week in week out.

Quietly nervous, quietly confident. But such quietness cannot be held back for long. Just over seven hours remain before fate yet again knocks on the door of our beloved Cats. The ferocious felines. The greatness and glory that comes with being in the hoops for players, a sublime joy that we all love and desire to be a part of.

That it has become such a 'September state of mind' these past five years is still something I find hard to fathom, considering all those trips to Kardinia Park on that old horrid train trip from Spencer St. every second Saturday during the 70s and 80s. With Mossop on fire, 1980 was the first smell of finals victory for me. As would become the rule, it was quickly followed by heartache and misery. No longer.

Time to go. Time to unwind. Time to hurt some Hawks.

Time to win.

The Geelong way.

Again, again and again.

Go our beloved Catters!!!!!

Good morning Cats fans,

Over the last 5 years, this team has been kind enough to give me 2 things that I questioned I would ever see:

1) A Geelong premiership
2) Geelong being respected and feared as a genuine force of the competition

With those accomplishments out of the way, I was looking for larger goals for our team to accomplish. And as fate would have it, this finals series has shaken out perfectly to allow us to achieve such lofty goals. All things being equal, we have the chance to gain redemption on 3 fronts:

1) Slay the Hawthorn "finals" dragon
2) Redeem the early 90's West Coast nightmare
3) Avenge the 2010 prelim debacle and quieten the Collingwood bandwagon

Now before anyone goes all "don't count your chickens, keep the lid on" on me, let me point out that I am not declaring this as a certainty or boasting that we are going to smash these teams. I am well aware that we are just about to start a new season and that anything can happen from here.

BUT....

I am daring to dream of the glory of accomplishing the 3 outcomes above. This was the top 4 that I have wanted since midseason and it has been delivered. Forget any negativity, let's embrace the opportunity that the club has been given. Redemption shall be ours.

I can't wait - BRING IT ON

Well said Hinkley29. I agree completely with your sentiments,

Bring it on, and bring it on emphatically!!

Bring It On