Brownlow Medal 2010 (Part 2)

jeez.
so many randoms posters coming on and giving their "thoughts" and in the meantime having a dig at the regular posters.

if it wasnt for the regular contributers who share their thoughts each week than you newbies would have no reason to come here and basically copy the ideas.

be civil and appreciate the cheap few bucks you might get

judd doesnt have to be in the best 3 on the ground to poll votes, someone like Goddard or Chapman need to usually be in the best 2 clearly to have a chance to poll, so Judd quite easily could snare the 1.

fwiw

Hill
Johnson
Sandilands/Judd/Murphy
will watch the replay to determine the final vote

Risky watching the replay of games. You often look for the players you want to poll the votes and end up giving it to them. The umpires don't watch the game twice, so I'd just go with your gut feel after watching the game once.

I'm assuming you've already watched the whole game already. Or have you watched bits and pieces and you want to watch it for the first time?

At the end of the day mate we can all form our own opinions about each other and the medal, but lets not bag each other out. In the end this forum should be about reinforcing your own opinions made using your own analysis and using the analyses of others on this board to enhance your judgments on specific games, stats etc. Let's not get ahead of ourselves and write off other posters, come the night every single on of us will be drastically wrong in some area. That's the nature and the beauty of the brownlow. Do your research, do your counts, get the bets on, get a tie on and the crownies out, get your mates around and have a bloody great night.

Hopefully win some cash aswell :thumbsu:

well said steve also twarby

gee this thread has gone ballastic havent looked all week now i have over 400 posts to read to catch up

fwiw havent done the votes yet but yoy would think hill and sandi will poll
judd mundy and pav might fight for the other

with a close one usually the best loser gets 2 so judd with he's history might not be enough to win though...

oh and to the guy asking about watson he should do it easily but ive had something concerning me with him all year it semms everyone will anchor him i just have a concern something tells me he'll get half the votes we think he will but that could still be enough

Polling history is slightly overrated as an excuse not to give votes imo.

I saw some guy said it about Kieren Jack. Jack was a tagger who had played a handful of good games before this season. Now he is a top class midfielder who has had plenty of eye catching displays.

Likewise Sandilands has improved a lot this year, so while you might be right that Sandilands might not poll well, I think you have to consider that he is a much better player and that Freo are a much better team compared to previous years.

He could do a Swan from last year though and only poll a handful of votes, so there is no right or wrong approach but I think you need to be cautious when looking at previous seasons votes.

I saw some guy said it about Kieren Jack. Jack was a tagger who had played a handful of good games before this season. Now he is a top class midfielder who has had plenty of eye catching displays.

Likewise Sandilands has improved a lot this year, so while you might be right that Sandilands might not poll well, I think you have to consider that he is a much better player and that Freo are a much better team compared to previous years.

He could do a Swan from last year though and only poll a handful of votes, so there is no right or wrong approach but I think you need to be cautious when looking at previous seasons votes.

Of Course.
It was more the fact that the other blokes were slightly more eye catching IMO.

Sandilands

2008 - 10 votes (Fremantle won 6 games and in the bottom 4)
2009 - 10 votes (Fremantle won 6 games and in the bottom 4)

Considering the circumstances he hasn't polled that badly. What AG said was correct as well, 2010 has easily been Sandilands best season, just seems to be getting better and better with age.

somewhat agree, at the end of the day you need to give the best 3 players the votes no matter who they are, but if it comes down to player x verses player y for the 2 and 3 or who gets the 1 i think voting history and other factors like the type of person, a midfeilder a captain ect can outway the other.

its just a consideration that can sometimes find us out

this is a rubbish comment, everyone knows you didn't win millions last year and with the amount of punters that didn't do their research on the medal last year they would have gone close to making a profit on the event. I respect that you take the evening seriously, and that you've done well on it in the past and probably will continue to do so, but a high bankroll and a brownlow related username on a chat forum does not mean that betting agencies fear you or are seriously effected by you.
My comment was a half joke. You obviously don't know much about betting. All of the major betting agencies got absolutely hammered on last year's medal with Ablett winning plus the Ablett-Geel double. The multi bets on the team votes etc hurt them as well but nowhere near as much as Ablett / Geel winning.
I chose my name on here as a bit of a joke a couple of years ago and treat all of this forum as a bit of fun plus a good way to exchange information with others who enjoy the Brownlow aspect of AFL footy and a chance to make some cash. Some bet big like me and others bet small and some in between. None of the regulars care about who bets bigger than anyone else and we all appreciate and respect each other's opinions. Our opinions vary at times but we don't bag each other.
In relation to your comment that betting agencies don't fear me and aren't affected by me I really don't care.
However, I reckon that they won't be too thrilled to lose $500k or so if either Pendlebury, Selwood, Judd, Hodge or Hayes come in or $200k on Swan.
I also wonder why every time I have a bet at Centrebet or Sportingbet that they turn the dial in big time. Pendlebury was $13 into $10 at Sportingbet 30 mins b4 last night's match for example. They may not fear the bets but they sure do respect them. Also, why do you think that none of the corporates are offering team vote multis this year ? Why do you reckon that Centrebet for example stopped them ? Because I and others on here hit them pretty hard last year and they don't like losing.
The main play will be all of the exotic betting options that will come up during next week and that is where we will see how we all go vs the corporates.
Good luck if you are having a punt but no need to whack others for expressing opinions or having a bit of light hearted humour.

J. Selwood a late withdrawal.

Chances of Ablett having a poor game just dropped.

However, I have heard that he had hand injury of some description last week, anyone know anything? Gonna be an almighty shelacking, let's hope they give Gaz plenty of rest...

Gary is going to go nuts, calling it now. Will collect the 3, be hard to ignore for Geelong votes and become a real threat for the medal. :thumbsdown: