Brownlow Medal 2010 (Part 3)

My gut is that Hayes will drop off and not win the Saints votes this year. Top 10 probably but not a medal show IMO. I agree that he is a 'bit of value' for the team votes, but not really sure why so much faith is being shown in him, especially with Goddard having an outstanding year (still polled 14 votes last year), NDS a traditional poller and Joey having a number of stand-out games. There is no reliable cover for him.

How important is round 1 going to be?

Geel v Ess - How will Ablett go? 3 votes or miss out altogether?
BL v WCE - Will JB poll the 3 and ease the pressure on the anchors?
Syd v StK - Could someone like Montagna steal the 3 from Riewoldt?
WB v Coll - Is Swan up to taking the 3 or could Boyd steal the 2 or 3 in an upset? Is Pendles a show?
Fre v Adel - Barlow, Sandilands, Pav, who's is going to get the head start?

I just hope I'm not too drunk by that stage, huge interest. Especially the Dogs Pies game, I just rewatched it. Such a contrast from the final, high quality footy especially in the first half. Boyd clearly BOG for me in a loss, Swan's last quarter was exceptional and Pendles may even outpoll Harry O or Shaw for the 1. Please hurry up Brownmas night.

I'm beginning to think that this is the Brownlow betting help desk.

This was a great forum all through the year where good info was exchanged between all of the regulars who watch games, run tally's and are qualified to comment big time.

We hit the end of R22 and everyone wants to lob on here and ask us all the basic questions, get the right info in an attempt to capitalise on the punt.

It would be good if we could have a closed session in 2011 with only the true Brownlow regulars involved.

Thinking of chucking a $50 on Hayes, Boyd, Hodge, Watson, Brown, Thompson, Boak, Riewoldt @ $132.

Thoughts??

There is bucket loads of material on this forum to help make YOUR OWN informed decisions about what bet(s) to put down.

You the guy that was looking for Brownlow King's 'best bets' the other day too?? Pfft.. Stop asking stupid questions champ, don't be lazy... do some research.

There is bucket loads of material on this forum to help make YOUR OWN informed decisions about what bet(s) to put down.

It might take a couple of hours to do, but reading the entire Brownlow medal 2010 series will put you in great stead.

I thank those who have contributed throughout these threads.

Next year my focus will change from watching for BOG to watching who the umps think will be BOG. A huge change of mindset.

This was a great forum all through the year where good info was exchanged between all of the regulars who watch games, run tally's and are qualified to comment big time.

We hit the end of R22 and everyone wants to lob on here and ask us all the basic questions, get the right info in an attempt to capitalise on the punt.

It would be good if we could have a closed session in 2011 with only the true Brownlow regulars involved.

:thumbsu:

There are a few select posters (seems to be mainly from the punting board) that have just come on and typed away without thinking. As many have said, re-read the threads, I haven't seen a question asked lately that hasn't already been answered 3-4 times already.

its annoying me that people are saying thompson is a lock. hes not a lock. FFS.

1.35 is to short, agh.

take hodge instead.

I have been reading this thread 4 or 5 times a day over the past month so feel free to tear me a new one if this has been asked, but just curious as to everyones rundown regarding Cooney v Boyd.

Most of my multis contain Watson Hodge Brown Thompson Boak and one of Deledio/Riewodlt Green/Sylvia and the Boyd. The Boyd leg being the one I am least confident about.

He is the definition of mr consistent am I just hoping he has done enough to out poll the the more 'flashy' type of player in cooney.

Thoughts would be much appreciated

I have been reading this thread 4 or 5 times a day over the past month so feel free to tear me a new one if this has been asked, but just curious as to everyones rundown regarding Cooney v Boyd.

Most of my multis contain Watson Hodge Brown Thompson Boak and one of Deledio/Riewodlt Green/Sylvia and the Boyd. The Boyd leg being the one I am least confident about.

He is the definition of mr consistent am I just hoping he has done enough to out poll the the more 'flashy' type of player in cooney.

Thoughts would be much appreciated

I think Boyd is home and was way way way over the odds at 4.50. I have Cooney polling close to him, but all through threes basically. Gia/Cross/Griffen etc would have to poll their maximums and Boyd/Cooney to flop pretty hard for an upset.

Boyd
Rd 1: 2
Rd 3: 3
Rd 8: 3
Rd 9: 1
Rd 11: 2
Rd 15: 2
Rd 16: 1
Rd 18: 3

Coons
Rd 2: 3
Rd 9: 3
Rd 12: 2
Rd 15: 3
Rd 17: 3

Boyd now has a good relationship with the umpires and is noticed a lot more by the media. I noticed watching replays that the umps just call him "Boydy." Good sign I reckon.

I think Boyd is home and was way way way over the odds at 4.50. I have Cooney polling close to him, but all through threes basically. Gia/Cross/Griffen etc would have to poll their maximums and Boyd/Cooney to flop pretty hard for an upset.

Boyd
Rd 1: 2
Rd 3: 3
Rd 8: 3
Rd 9: 1
Rd 11: 2
Rd 15: 2
Rd 16: 1
Rd 18: 3

Coons
Rd 2: 3
Rd 9: 3
Rd 12: 2
Rd 15: 3
Rd 17: 3

Boyd now has a good relationship with the umpires and is noticed a lot more by the media. I noticed watching replays that the umps just call him "Boydy." Good sign I reckon.

Couldn't agree more, Cooney is relying on 3 votes in 4 games for mine, my breakdown is as follows:

Boyd

rd 3: 3
rd 9: 1
rd11: 2
rd 14: 1
rd 15: 3
rd 16: 2
rd 18: 3

Chance in rd 1, 12 and 22

Cooney

rd 2: 3
rd 9: 3
rd 12: 3
rd 17: 3

Chance in rd 11, 15

Although i still do feel if Boyd / Cooney poll subpar to the consensus, Giansiracusa has a chance of tieing or just stealing.

Agreed. I've come on here 3-4 times a day for months and the info has been top notch, great to see everyone bouncing ideas off each other, comparing tallies etc. Now its not nearly as effective, having to sift through all the rubbish posters and the abusive arguments, to try and find some thought provoking discussion.

Boak 9 ( 12 votes ) - 2 x 3, 2 x 2, 2 x 1
Cassissi 6.4 ( 8 votes ) - 1 x 3, 2 x 2, 1 x 1

Rodan ( any other ) the danger IMO. Rodan 6.75 ( 8 votes ).

Boak is my selection but no good thing. Good price still though. ;)

Cheers mate, really appreciated! :)

My total votes for both players are actually quite similar to yours, which has instilled me with a little confidence. I also have Rodan on 8. :thumbsu:

Boak - 14 votes:
Round 22 - 3 Votes
Round 21 - 3 Votes
Round 17 - 1 Vote
Round 11 - 1 Vote
Round 9 - 1 Vote
Round 2 - 3 Votes
Round 1 - 2 Votes

Cassisi - 9 Votes:
Round 21 - 1 Vote
Round 20 - 2 Votes
Round 17 - 3 Votes
Round 6 - 2 Votes
Round 5 - 1 Vote

You guys might consider using a private forum or something similar next year. It would stop bookmakers from accessing your posts and you wouldn't have the influx of noob questions after round 22.

You could use a site like this:
http://private-forums.com/

I'm guilty of being a lurker on this thread for the past few months (working weekends + organising volunteer group = not much time for footy), but I'd be happy to contribute to the costs of running a private forum.

You guys might consider using a private forum or something similar next year. It would stop bookmakers from accessing your posts and you wouldn't have the influx of noob questions after round 22.

You could use a site like this:
http://private-forums.com/

I'm guilty of being a lurker on this thread for the past few months (working weekends + organising volunteer group = not much time for footy), but I'd be happy to contribute to the costs of running a private forum.

Agreed. As a fellow lurker it will suck to lose this thread, but it is probably the best option for you guys. And if people are willing to contribute, that money would be made back in September.

This is a PM I sent to another active poster on this board. Thought I may as well share it:

Have a rather unique voting poll in relation to Port Adelaide.

Overall:

12 - Boak
11 - Pearce
8 - Kornes
6 -Rodan
5 - Cassisi

I will admit that I do have Pearce too high. Probably due to the fact I have given him 3 BOG's when in reality he will probably just 1.

It would also appear to many I have Cassisi too low but in all honesty I would be suprised if he polled more than 8 votes. He hasn't had any standout performances and usually he gets around the 25-28 possesion mark in winning games and his 1st half of the season was shocking (maybe 1 polling oppurtunity). I cant see him having any BOG's either, thus I would be very suprised to see him win Ports most votes.

Kornes has had just another old year, same as his last 5 or so years. I expect him to have a better year polling wise but I still don't think it will be enough to win. He will need to poll in the Rd 12 and Rd 16 losses to have any chance of him getting up. I've been relatively optimistic as well given his past polling history. Next best chance behind Boak but will be 2-3 votes behind.

Boak has always been a good player and will no doubt be a star in the making and potentially a future brownlow medallist. Been relatively consistent all year and is a polling chance in atleast 7/10 of Ports wins. If he can poll atleast a 2 in Rd 9 in a losing against Melbourne then I think he has Ports in the bag.

Going to be interesting too watch. Out of Boak and Kornes for me. Let's hope for all of us on the stats board that Boak gets up.

I agree that a private board is the way to go in future.

I don't post through the season as I am wary of too many people using the information. If we can seperate the discussion from public eyes it will be to the benefit of everyone who takes it seriously.

I think you only have to look at how the market has moved since it opened. The only guys shortening are the ones being touted as 'locks' or 'value' on this thread.

I'm scared that this is the last year multis will be allowed. We'll need a lot of mug money thrown at the TAB this year for them to continue with this.

All it takes is the mugs doing a little online research, and they'll realise that maybe they should choose Boak and Green/Sylvia instead of K Cornes and Frawley. And if they do this our cash cow will stop existing.

There are far too many people taking advantage of this opportunity, and the bookies are wisening up. For us to continue to have an advantage we need to be more careful.

Also I should point out that if the board consensus is correct and say the following get up: Thompson Watson Brown Riewoldt Hayes Boak Green/Sylvia And to a lesser extent Pendlebury Selwood Jack Pavlich Now if all those get up, which isn't unrealistic, then I'd say the serious guys on this board will have TAB to the tune of 5m-10m. If you go on to say Judd wins with a big-3 premiership, then it'll be $millions more. Point being I hope everyone wins enough so we aren't to upset when Brownlow betting ceases to exist.