Votes: 2 5.7%

Historical Rape Allegation Against Fmr AG Christian Porter
The Alexander Matters matters

Just a reminder, this is the crime board and we need to be aware that there will be victims of crime either watching this thread or engaging in here from time to time. A degree of respect in all discussions is expected.

LINK TO TIMELINE
CJS INQUIRY
FINAL REPORT – BOARD OF INQUIRY – CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM
Joint media statement – Chief Minister and Attorney-General

LINK TO FEDERAL COURT DEFAMATION PROCEEDINGS

Can’t stress enough seriously to educate young girls to not expose themselves to a night out like that unless they are in numbers or know them very, very well.
It’s sad but true.

Slightly off topic but 90% of people in government jobs are grifters who would never stand a chance in the corporate world so would most likely be more unprofessional and have less standards.

Lehrmann got to his current gig by working his way up as a volunteer... so you have an uneducated p.o.s who dedicates his life to brown nosing and is now working on our national security buying submarines lol... no wonder he has this sense of entitlement to be able to do what he does and expects to get away with it.

Slightly off topic but 90% of people in government jobs are grifters who would never stand a chance in the corporate world so would most likely be more unprofessional and have less standards.
You mean like the corporate world professionals with high standards who worked for PWC advisory division?

Seriously this government sector workers=bad /private sector workers=good stuff is simplistic binary nonsense.

And has nothing at all to do with those working in political advisor positions - many of whom have come from or end up in private sector positions anyway and are required to work long hours with zero long term job security.

Asking as a matter of getting timelines straight and not in any way to suggest anything about BH - was she not with David as a couple when meeting Nick From Bumble (NFB)? Id always thought she was part of a couple at the time of the alleged incident.

Nah, she was single at the time.

She has set back women's rights a decade.

She hasn't actually, she's paving the way for women and bringing men forward.

Before this, I reckon 3/4 of the men engaging in this thread didn't even know what 'consent' was. She's done them a favour.

She hasn't actually, she's paving the way for women and bringing men forward.

Before this, I reckon 3/4 of the men engaging in this thread didn't even know what 'consent' was. She's done them a favour.

i think that's a stretch.......

i mean i can't confirm the exact numbers but i'd say most men on this forum know that sticking your penis inside an unconscious woman (as alleged) doesn't tick the box of giving consent.

Honestly why would you report a rape when you get this treatment, personally I would prefer getting my own justice
Ms Higgins is appearing as a witness voluntarily and she indicated that 'justice' and telling her story is why.

I'm sure she was prepared for a gruelling cross examination given Channel Ten is relying on the truth defence and given Lehrmann's lawyer in this defamation action is the same barrister who grilled her in Lehrmann's rape trial.

But I think none of us were expecting the micro detail of questions and the manner in which they were asked through the past week.

We all know that the job of Whybrow the lead barrister for Lehrmann, is to rip down the credibility of witnesses to maximise his client's chance of winning his defamation action. Especially given the huge financial and reputational stakes involved.

But reckon a large number of people who have viewed the streaming of this trial would be shocked to see an alleged victim of rape enduring over a week of hostile questioning while the person who brought the action was in the dock for less than a third of that time.

IMHO it says something about Ms Higgins character and inner anger that she has not just said 'feck this, I'm not putting up with this sht anymore' and walked out - as would be her right as a witness in a civil trial.

Her response to one of Whybrow’s speculations on her motives for being there was a proverbial kick in the balls to his client.

“I would not let my rapist become a millionaire by being a rapist”

Ms Higgins is appearing as a witness voluntarily and she indicated that 'justice' and telling her story is why.

I'm sure she was prepared for a gruelling cross examination given Channel Ten is relying on the truth defence and given Lehrmann's lawyer in this defamation action is the same barrister who grilled her in Lehrmann's rape trial.

But I think none of us were expecting the micro detail of questions and the manner in which they were asked through the past week.

We all know that the job of Whybrow the lead barrister for Lehrmann, is to rip down the credibility of witnesses to maximise his client's chance of winning his defamation action. Especially given the huge financial and reputational stakes involved.

But reckon a large number of people who have viewed the streaming of this trial would be shocked to see an alleged victim of rape enduring over a week of hostile questioning while the person who brought the action was in the dock for less than a third of that time.

IMHO it says something about Ms Higgins character and inner anger that she has not just said 'feck this, I'm not putting up with this sht anymore' and walked out - as would be her right as a witness in a civil trial.

Pretty grim really, and people wonder why victims are reticent to come forward or speak out, then use their hesitation as further evidence against them.

She is one tough determined "hombre" to have some sort of justice

Honestly why would you report a rape when you get this treatment, personally I would prefer getting my own justice
Pretty grim really, and people wonder why victims are reticent to come forward or speak out, then use their hesitation as further evidence against them.
Victims have the right to full confidentiality and anonymity under the law from a criminal perspective, but ultimately the alleged victim in this case went to the press as their primary course of action (Festerz, see my post from a couple of pages back if you're going to sook!) and has immediately ruined this confidential and anonymous situation and by way of their direct actions and with the aid of some shonky media operators, opened the whole thing to a civil trial.

Another thing that helps victims, is that whilst under the security of the full confidentiality and anonymity under the law, to actually get their story straight that doesn't permit 15,000 questions from a top-shelf barrister and maybe not delete stuff from your phone that you think others might consider might form an opinion of you on, because you simply shouldn't ****ing care what opinion people have of you unless you are clearly chasing something else other than natural justice.

Even the best barristers have a hard time cracking those on the stand, for any reason whatsoever, who's testimony is consistent and 100% truthful. But you give them rope and they will destroy you.

So why are you both whinging like this is a common occurrence that rape victims usually endure?

I think Lehrmann has serious (criminally serious) issues with consent and sexual assault.
So do I, but what's that got to do with this being a generally common occurrence that rape victims go through?

Higgins has made her bed with the resultant public criminal and civil trials, none of which need ever happened. Some of you need to separate the probable assault from the definite stupidity behind using the media (and the media using them!) as a primary port of call.

So do I, but what's that got to do with this being a generally common occurrence that rape victims go through?

Higgins has made her bed with the resultant public criminal and civil trials, none of which need ever happened. Some of you need to separate the probable assault from the definite stupidity behind using the media (and the media using them!) as a primary port of call.
The concern of media outlets and indeed individual journalists for their subjects generally runs a poor second to their own ego and ambition, sad to say. Not to mention commercial interests. These people should really be getting better advice.

I think Lehrmann has serious (criminally serious) issues with consent and sexual assault.
Of course he has. But don't you get it?

Team Bruce reckons the victim has bought on all the grief on herself by dropping asking them to drop their investigation and then going to the media two years later before asking ACT police to restart their investigation. i.e. she deserves what she gets.

Even though, as former Australian if the Year and sexual assault survivor Grace Tame told Australia. The sad fact is that victims of rape, sexual assault and domestic violence - overwhelmingly committed by men against women by someone they know or work with - is rarely found through the criminal justice system.

Knowing that, little wonder that the bravest of them choose to go to the media rather than the Police for justice against their perpetrator - even though it will make them a target for derision and attack.

And the the stats show us that the ACT criminal justice system has the worst success rate of any jurisdiction in Australia in terms of investigating and prosecuting rape cases against women.

And the head of the ACT sexual assault and child abuse division admitted to the Independent Inquiry into the Lehrmann rape trial that young inexperienced police officers in the ACT are using the sexual assault and child abuse division as a “training ground”, an independent inquiry has been told.

But yeah - victims of rape in Canberra follow the advice of the BF sages - always report your assault to the ACT police where probationary constable plod, frech out of the academy will take down your details and get back to you.

Oh not forgetting that in doing so 'the security of the full confidentiality and anonymity under the law' will be yours. Except of course if the ACT Police or those associated with the defence team of the alleged rapist leak your private details from your phone to a handy journo for publication.

At the trial today, there was mention of a Security Guard at Parliament House whom BH had previously dated. Does anyone remember his name? I think it was Alex?

Can’t stress enough seriously to educate young girls to not expose themselves to a night out like that unless they are in numbers or know them very, very well.
It’s sad but true.

'Educate young girls' FMD.

One of the outcomes of Ms Higgins going public with her allegations is that it led to then Prime Minister Scott Morrison establishing the Independent Inquiry into Parliamentary Workplaces - the Jenkins Report that documented an accepted culture of bullying, harassment and assault.

Jenkins most staggering finding was that 'one in three parliamentary staffers say they have experienced sexual harassment' and some "individuals responsible for misconduct are an 'open secret' that 'everyone knows' about, but nobody does anything to address".

ONE in Three.
Think about that. This is Parliament House we are talking about.

Ask yourself if you would be happy for your daughters (or sons) to work in a place like that?

But yeah - the lesson learned is to educate the young victims and potential victims of sexual assault to be better.

**** off.

'Educate young girls' FMD.

One of the outcomes of Ms Higgins going public with her allegations is that it led to then Prime Minister Scott Morrison establishing the Independent Inquiry into Parliamentary Workplaces - the Jenkins Report that documented an accepted culture of bullying, harassment and assault.

Jenkins most staggering finding was that 'one in three parliamentary staffers say they have experienced sexual harassment' and some "individuals responsible for misconduct are an 'open secret' that 'everyone knows' about, but nobody does anything to address".

ONE in Three.
Think about that. This is Parliament House we are talking about.

Ask yourself if you would be happy for your daughters (or sons) to work in a place like that?

But yeah - the lesson learned is to educate the young victims and potential victims of sexual assault to be better.

* off.
Festerz what do you think should be done to reduce or even eradicate sexual assaults occurring?

Just for the record PH is not only place it happens...

The other interesting evidence today was in regards to "Bruce got her drunk".

Bruce bought her one or two drinks. She bought two. Blue T-shirt bought her three. Bumble Date bought her two. One she skulled and two others were left on the table.

The other interesting evidence today was in regards to "Bruce got her drunk".

Bruce bought her one or two drinks. She bought two. Blue T-shirt bought her three. Bumble Date bought her two. One she skulled and two others were left on the table.
Yeah but it was Bruce who encouraged her to finish a drink/s and Bruce who r*ped her when she was too drunk to consent (regardless of who bought how many drinks - the other people didn't rape her).

Festerz what do you think should be done to reduce or even eradicate sexual assaults occurring?

Just for the record PH is not only place it happens...
Maybe we could educate the boys not to rape then it wouldn't matter if the girls had a drink 💡