Sep 30, 2007
Australia
Arsenal FC
Hey fellas. Just wondering if any of you have tips on bulking up :cool:

I'm 17 atm and am fairly active cardio-wise (run every second day, usually 5-6km but building it up to around 8km of late) however am looking to bulk up my upper body - mainly biceps, triceps and shoulders I guess. Obviously don't want to stunt my growth (I'm not that tall). All I own is dumbells but I plan on becoming a member of a gym in the summer.

Any tips on the most efficient ways to bulk up?

Obviously don't want to stunt my growth (I'm not that tall).

The thing about lifting weights and stunting your growth is a bit of a myth as long as you have the correct technique. I'm not an expert but I think going for long distance runs would be more likely to stunt your growth, especially on hard surfaces, due to the pressure on your knees/growth plates.

Also, I've heard it is pretty hard to bulk up if you are doing so much cardio. But once again, I'm not an expert.

i take it ur not tryna b a bodybuilder. just get some size for footy. flog ur tris chest n back. do squats n deads to boost testosterone. eat shitloads of protein!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

steroids-710079.bmp

Hey fellas. Just wondering if any of you have tips on bulking up :cool:

I'm 17 atm and am fairly active cardio-wise (run every second day, usually 5-6km but building it up to around 8km of late) however am looking to bulk up my upper body - mainly biceps, triceps and shoulders I guess. Obviously don't want to stunt my growth (I'm not that tall). All I own is dumbells but I plan on becoming a member of a gym in the summer.

Any tips on the most efficient ways to bulk up?

what is your primary goal for 'bulking up'? sport? summer? ego?

Well I run to keep my fitness up for sport - for the soccer season mainly which doesn't start until next year but I've decided to get in early. I'd like to bulk up for a combination of the reasons you mentioned. Obviously it'd be handy to be strong as well as fit for sport, but yeah summer/ego is also part of it as well.

Make sure you keep a good diet, I would adive you to buy a bodybuilding book and do some research if you are really serious about getting bigger. The main thing you need to remember is that it takes time, unless you wanna get on the juice

Well I run to keep my fitness up for sport - for the soccer season mainly which doesn't start until next year but I've decided to get in early. I'd like to bulk up for a combination of the reasons you mentioned. Obviously it'd be handy to be strong as well as fit for sport, but yeah summer/ego is also part of it as well.

what i'd recommend is that you adopt a balanced approach to your lifting from the beginning. think of the body as one whole being, rather than several individual parts. most beginners go into the weight room and immediately rush to the bench press or bicep curls and will do this on every visit to the weght room. the former is a weapon in your lifting arsenal, but the latter is cannon-fodder. dont get sucked into doing pointless isolation exercises at this stage. curls, extensions, shoulder raises, cable crossovers, flys, etc............they might appear easy, and fun, but they're really a waste of time and energy. concentrate on compound, multi-joint exercises.

you should base your program around 3 lifts:
1. squat
2. deadlift
3. bench press

everything else is secondary to the big 3. learn how to execute these with proper technique. form is more important than weight. focus on each rep. leave the swinging dick comp for the tryhards.

incorporate these into your program too.
4. Shoulder Press
5. Pendlay Row

Shoulder presses should be done with a bar, and standing. Remember form again. Each rep must be performed with good technique and look identical.

Try to do as many exercises as possible on your feet. It will develop overall strength. Brace your mid-section to activate your core. With the exception of bench press, all the exercises above are on your feet.

As you become more proficient in your lifting, you can then add:
6. Power Clean

You will need a coach or experienced lifter to monitor how you do these initially. You dont see many people cleaning the bar in 'gyms' and 'health clubs'............in fact, you dont see many people squatting, deadlifting, standing shoulder pressing or pendlay rowing either, but these should be core lifts for anyone wanting to become strong, and hence, bulkup.

Power Cleans are fantastic lift. It will develop explosiveness, will improve your squat and deadlift, will improve grip and forearm strength, will develop your traps, and will ultimately improve your athletic performance on the soccer pitch.

find a decent weight room with a platform which will provide you with a better deadlifting and cleaning area and equipment.......power racks, olympic bars, 45lbs plates, etc. and be inspired by real lifters. dont be fooled into idolising the 'gym'/'healthclub' dude with the chicken legs who ripped his program out of a bodybuilding mag or website. your 'fitness firsts' just dont cut it, IMO. if only we had something like the facilities below in australia.

Facility_thumb_3.jpg

look at all those beautiful platforms for some serious lifting. this weightroom is for one of texas' famous highschool football teams - the odessa permian panthers. probably better than most AFL clubs........and you'll find stronger 15-18yr olds in here than most of the men in a 'gym' or 'healthclub'.

EQQCRDXCEOXQKBM.20060825213259.JPG

electronic touch controlled platforms/power racks! these belong to the nebraska cornhuskers college football team. some of us can dream i guess.

if you live nearby a uni, check out their weight room. they generally have facilities for serious lifters and athletes. e.g., sydney uni and uts up here in sydney are good.

obviously, the lifting is just one part of it. you need to factor in sleep, recovery and proper nutrition too. without these, then any lifitng program will be useless. e.g., if you utilise the above exercises, always allow one day recovery in between sessions.

i'd recommend cutting back on your runs initially. if bulking up is your goal, then you want to focus and save your energies for this purpose. too much running will reduce much needed recovery and energy for growing. if you get stuck into a lifting program now, you can then re-introduce running gradually in the new year in preparation for the new soccer season.

Because skinny people either look like heroin addicts or they have aids.

Plus barrel rolls aren't as effective when you're slight of build.

A golfer called John Daly would be the perfect guy to ask, although it's just my personal choice that I do not follow his ways.

I would watch out for doing too much too soon, I did mass amounts of weights around your age and I swear im shorter as a result also you can get stretch marks from your skin around your arms expanding too quickly too early.

Id stick with exercises involving your own body rather than weights such as chin ups ect.. as it will improve your core strength and give you a lean muscle look rather than weights which will bulk you up quicker but also the muscle will fade to fat the quicker you put it on and it can give you stretch marks.

what i'd recommend is that you adopt a balanced approach to your lifting from the beginning. think of the body as one whole being, rather than several individual parts. most beginners go into the weight room and immediately rush to the bench press or bicep curls and will do this on every visit to the weght room. the former is a weapon in your lifting arsenal, but the latter is cannon-fodder. dont get sucked into doing pointless isolation exercises at this stage. curls, extensions, shoulder raises, cable crossovers, flys, etc............they might appear easy, and fun, but they're really a waste of time and energy. concentrate on compound, multi-joint exercises.

1. squat
2. deadlift
3. bench press

everything else is secondary to the big 3. learn how to execute these with proper technique. form is more important than weight. focus on each rep. leave the swinging dick comp for the tryhards.

incorporate these into your program too.
4. Shoulder Press
5. Pendlay Row

Shoulder presses should be done with a bar, and standing. Remember form again. Each rep must be performed with good technique and look identical.

Try to do as many exercises as possible on your feet. It will develop overall strength. Brace your mid-section to activate your core. With the exception of bench press, all the exercises above are on your feet.

As you become more proficient in your lifting, you can then add:
6. Power Clean

You will need a coach or experienced lifter to monitor how you do these initially. You dont see many people cleaning the bar in 'gyms' and 'health clubs'............in fact, you dont see many people squatting, deadlifting, standing shoulder pressing or pendlay rowing either, but these should be core lifts for anyone wanting to become strong, and hence, bulkup.

Power Cleans are fantastic lift. It will develop explosiveness, will improve your squat and deadlift, will improve grip and forearm strength, will develop your traps, and will ultimately improve your athletic performance on the soccer pitch.

find a decent weight room with a platform which will provide you with a better deadlifting and cleaning area and equipment.......power racks, olympic bars, 45lbs plates, etc. and be inspired by real lifters. dont be fooled into idolising the 'gym'/'healthclub' dude with the chicken legs who ripped his program out of a bodybuilding mag or website. your 'fitness firsts' just dont cut it, IMO. if only we had something like the facilities below in australia.

Facility_thumb_3.jpg

look at all those beautiful platforms for some serious lifting. this weightroom is for one of texas' famous highschool football teams - the odessa permian panthers. probably better than most AFL clubs........and you'll find stronger 15-18yr olds in here than most of the men in a 'gym' or 'healthclub'.

EQQCRDXCEOXQKBM.20060825213259.JPG

electronic touch controlled platforms/power racks! these belong to the nebraska cornhuskers college football team. some of us can dream i guess.

if you live nearby a uni, check out their weight room. they generally have facilities for serious lifters and athletes. e.g., sydney uni and uts up here in sydney are good.

obviously, the lifting is just one part of it. you need to factor in sleep, recovery and proper nutrition too. without these, then any lifitng program will be useless. e.g., if you utilise the above exercises, always allow one day recovery in between sessions.

i'd recommend cutting back on your runs initially. if bulking up is your goal, then you want to focus and save your energies for this purpose. too much running will reduce much needed recovery and energy for growing. if you get stuck into a lifting program now, you can then re-introduce running gradually in the new year in preparation for the new soccer season.

x2... + chin-ups

I would watch out for doing too much too soon, I did mass amounts of weights around your age and I swear im shorter as a result also you can get stretch marks from your skin around your arms expanding too quickly too early.

Id stick with exercises involving your own body rather than weights such as chin ups ect.. as it will improve your core strength and give you a lean muscle look rather than weights which will bulk you up quicker but also the muscle will fade to fat the quicker you put it on and it can give you stretch marks.

a lot of the meat heads in this forum are the ones who will be fat 40 years lamenting about how buff they used to be. give me the functional stuff any day.

1. squat
2. deadlift
3. bench press

...obviously, the lifting is just one part of it. you need to factor in sleep, recovery and proper nutrition too. without these, then any lifitng program will be useless. e.g., if you utilise the above exercises, always allow one day recovery in between sessions.

:thumbsu: Cheers heaps for all that

By the sounds of it I can't have it both ways. I'll probably have to cut down on the running a bit over the summer if I want to bulk up.

Bulking Up