brisbane13

Nov 27, 2012
Cricket Australia contracts:

Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle and Matthew Wade

Cricket Victoria contracts:

Fawad Ahmed, Scott Boland, Daniel Christian, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, John Hastings, Jayde Herrick, Michael Hill, Jon Holland, David Hussey, Alex Keath, James Muirhead, Rob Quiney, Chris Rogers, Will Sheridan, Ryan Sidebottom, Marcus Stoinis and Cameron White

Cricket Victoria rookie contracts:

Louis Cameron, Ian Holland, Matt Short and Guy Walker

Former Test all-rounder Andrew McDonald of to SA
Victorian Under-19 skipper Meyrick Buchanan have been released, while Ryan Carters, Darren Pattinson and rookie Steven Reid have not had their deals renewed.

they have finally given Ryan carters the boot, & after a few years of showing nothing

Daniel Christian
tumblr_m4tl5wIxV31qj9xud.jpg

Disappointing that Buchanan has chosen to leave. Can only assume he's found the greater opportunities in the footy world too tempting.

Forcing Finch to stay and letting McDonald go bewilders me.Really hurts to see McDonald go, been a great player for a long time.

Getting Christian is an embarrassment on Cricket Victoria. Especially when we could have just kept Macca. Christian is ordinary with the bat, predictably useless with the ball. There's also that small factor of him being a rubbish bloke with an over inflated ego. I can accept that from decent players, but not from the Dan Chrisian quality player.

Carters has gone to NSW, not been given the sack FWIW.

This season will be a poor one IMO. With the possibility of Rogers now playing with Aus, it leaves our top three weaker than ever. Wade may possibly be back for more of the season which would bring some badly needed stability to the batting order.

Handscomb really needs to step up by consistently putting runs on the board.

Boland getting another contract is frustrating.

My team when everyone is available:
Rogers
Quiney
Handscomb
White
Wade
Maxwell
Hussey
Siddle
Patto
McKay (assuming he's going to have a better preseason than Hastings, due to the Duke's surgery. Only way I could split them).
Ahmed

When the Ashes start (going by who I think will be in the Aus team):
Quiney
Russ
Handscomb
White
Wade
Maxwell
Hussey
Hastings
Sidey
Ahmed

Obviously Christian will get games, I just refuse to put him in my side. I'll list my OD team later.

So Buchanan is finished in Cricket? Wow

CA are in some serious trouble. Not only can they not develop young players but they're having serious trouble getting young sportsmen to their sport and to stick to it.

I don't know how the bigs at CA get to sleep everynight. They're in some serious sh*t and surely they know it.

Cricket Australia contracts:

Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle and Matthew Wade

Fawad Ahmed, Scott Boland, Daniel Christian, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, John Hastings, Jayde Herrick, Michael Hill, Jon Holland, David Hussey, Alex Keath, James Muirhead, Rob Quiney, Chris Rogers, Will Sheridan, Ryan Sidebottom, Marcus Stoinis and Cameron White

Cricket Victoria rookie contracts:

Louis Cameron, Ian Holland, Matt Short and Guy Walker

Former Test all-rounder Andrew McDonald of to SA
Victorian Under-19 skipper Meyrick Buchanan have been released, while Ryan Carters, Darren Pattinson and rookie Steven Reid have not had their deals renewed.

they have finally given Ryan carters the boot, & after a few years of showing nothing

Pretty ordinary squad to be honest, it is going to be a bleak time for the Bushrangers soon. Really need to inject some youth into this squad on the batting front. Apart from Keath and Handscomb, no one else is under 25 on the batting front (in the senior list there anyways).

Really, bitterly disappointed to see my mate Clive Rose was offered a 12 month contract with Tasmania and opted to have that guaranteed time in the FC scene rather than waiting and biding his time with Casey.

Pretty ordinary squad to be honest, it is going to be a bleak time for the Bushrangers soon. Really need to inject some youth into this squad on the batting front. Apart from Keath and Handscomb, no one else is under 25 on the batting front (in the senior list there anyways).

Really, bitterly disappointed to see my mate Clive Rose was offered a 12 month contract with Tasmania and opted to have that guaranteed time in the FC scene rather than waiting and biding his time with Casey.
Michael Hill is 24, Marcus Stoinis 23.

I don't blame him, Ahmed, Holland both ahead and Muirhead more likely to play for Vic

No Hill Simp? and that second team only has 10 players
I'm starting to lose some patience with Hill. I love his attitude and technique but he just doesn't show enough consistency. In saying that, he did have his best patch last year (as you would know) so I wouldn't be against him getting a few more opportunities. McKay into my second team. Sorry about he late reply mate, haven't checked this thread for a while.

Hill is frustrating much like Gumbleton for dons fans. He has the talent, everybody's seen it, but injury has been frustrating as it means we can't see the best of him. McKay is the best bowler we have, he hasn't played a bad game for Victoria in 5 years or so. No worries mate

McKay is the best bowler we have, he hasn't played a bad game for Victoria in 5 years or so.
He's an absolute ripper no doubt. Honestly just forgot about him in the second team(by second team I mean the team I listed for when the Ashes start, not the Vic 2nds). McKay and Hastings are both ideal hird pacemen when Patto and Siddle are around, I find it impossible to split them. Tough jobs for the selectors, I think Ahmed is a must pick. He provides us a change up we haven't had since McGain was playing well.

I agree; no clue for either. I like C-Mac as he's an opening bowler whereas Hastings is more of a first change bowler

So less than a year on from the 2012 Under 19 World Cup Australia has already lost one player and will probably lose another in Sam Hain when England poach him from that team. Not to mention another Australian under 19 player from this year Victorian rookie player Guy Walker has declared his allegiance to England.

So not only do CA suck at developing young players or attracting young sportsmen to their sport, they're also developing players for their opposition. They're beyond a rabble at this point.

Yet after years of being incompetent what's going to happen to CA? They're going to get rewarded with a massive pay day from the next TV deal. Cricket's fu*ked in Australia. Get out while you can people.

My First XI:

Rogers (Stoinis)
Quiney
Hill
Handscomb
White (c)
Wade (+)
Maxwell
Siddle (Hastings)
Pattinson (Sidebottom)
McKay
Ahmed (Holland)

I would almost have Stoinis ahead of Bobby, because Quiney has had half a good season. I'd also like Keath to make some ****ing runs and take some wickets to force himself in the side

Would Keath even be in the Bushrangers squad if he was just another run - of - the - mill cricketer and not involved in the ongoing footy v cricket war?

I doubt it

There's no doubting Keath's talent. He isn't another run-of-the-mill cricketer

bushrangers 2013/14 squad