• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

C Section C Season 2011

Well from what i saw was a very youthful fitzroy side compared to werribee which is exactly what i said is it not? Did i say that fitzroy would win? I just said that i thought the young talent at fitzroy was better

How old do you think werribee are? Not many over the age of 25

Now T T its an amazing journey that your tiges are on can you please give the reasons you think how the transformation at Werribee has taken place just seems such a rapid rise over the last 4 or so years. I no youre not involved so as a follower whats your take.

Kirk Norton.

Club has banded Junior and Senior Club together.

Keeping under 18's that we used to lose. Capitalising on the strong junior program that has always been in place.

Success has brought back players from strong sides to be apart of their home club's success.

From what I can see, the players are all good mates.

Kirk Norton and the Committee have done a great job pulling all that together. In saying that, there is still a long way to go for where they want the club to be. onwards and upwards, and hopefully our club continues on the same path

Well it certainly is an amazing turnaround. And i know Kirk a fair bit he wont rest untill he reaches the goals he would have in place in his head. Fantastic effort by all involved and hopefully all continues to move in the right direction. The recruiting has been amazing Black,morrow,morrow,riosa,huxtable,schibecki, an dfrom what i have been told the improvement in players once in the system is unreal.

Not sure about Riosa, rest as far as I know are Former Werribee juniors.

Fitzroy had 14 players that are 21 or under playing on sat. 21 is less then 25

So the average age of both sides is extremely comparable, would you say?

So how is your argument that the youth of Fitzroy is better than Werribee when they won by 14 goals?

So the average age of both sides is extremely comparable, would you say?

So how is your argument that the youth of Fitzroy is better than Werribee when they won by 14 goals?

How can you compare 21 to 25??? Four years is a lot of growth and development and how much do you learn in each year of playing footy. They also had 5 players who were playing in there first year of senior football. You tell me that in 4 years they wont be better players? How many players did werribee have playing on the weekend 21 or under? I saying that in 3-4 years when these 14 players have played there senior football just like the werribee list that fitzroy will be better then werribee.

harrington, panai , huxtable, mcllellan, johnson,schibeeci all 18, matty dean, brent morrow, troy anderson, natan black, Matty Taylor, all under 21, Cam lee, steph callea, matt palmington,Aaron Taylor,Daniel riosa, Tate Mcutheon, Tristian angelini all under 23 you are just a complete tosser they will be even better in 5 years you dill.

Ohhhh... is this an argument? I thought it was a Chris Lilley skit :confused:

Chris lilley is funny, something none of us, including yourself have achieved on this forum! Lol

TT... just couldn't believe you were giving the nuffy any oxygen! Fish in a barrel.
But on the bright side we've all had a maths lesson: 21 is less than 25, who knew.

I'm with BlackWhite, anything else of interest?

Need to rename this thread the Werribee AFC thread.

Anyone else have something other than whose U/25 players are better?

YAWN!

Agree B & W. It’s just turning into a pi$$ing competition. In fairness to the Fitzroy poster he was asked for his opinion, gave it, was condemned for that opinion and then the person who asked for it answered his own question anyway. Unquestionably Werribee are a very well run, powerful club that are on the rise. Massive growth area, plenty of juniors and they seem to recruit well. Might find themselves the first district club in ‘A’ grade since Ormond (was that the mid to late 80s /early 90s?)

Reckon it ‘s a good thing such a strong progressive suburban club is in the VAFA but a bit of grace and humility would not astray. Still a few mountains to climb yet. There is less chest beating from Old Xavs people and they have won 10 ‘A’ section flags in 15 years!!

TT... just couldn't believe you were giving the nuffy any oxygen! Fish in a barrel.
But on the bright side we've all had a maths lesson: 21 is less than 25, who knew.

You will soon learn that if a pot is to be stirred, I will not be far away!

Lol, Yeah i see this as a big laugh. People keep coming back here if people are talking about something - good bad or indifferent, so its a bit of fun to watch people get excited on here. And the fish in the barrel is my thing. lol.

Its very boring website if we didnt have nuffies on here. I would consider myself one of these!

just making sure you knew you are from werribee I'm mean the IQ is quite low around that area. Well see how werribee go on the finals the club does have a habit of choking in the finals so anything can happen

Agree B & W. It’s just turning into a pi$$ing competition. In fairness to the Fitzroy poster he was asked for his opinion, gave it, was condemned for that opinion and then the person who asked for it answered his own question anyway. Unquestionably Werribee are a very well run, powerful club that are on the rise. Massive growth area, plenty of juniors and they seem to recruit well. Might find themselves the first district club in ‘A’ grade since Ormond (was that the mid to late 80s /early 90s?)

Reckon it ‘s a good thing such a strong progressive suburban club is in the VAFA but a bit of grace and humility would not astray. Still a few mountains to climb yet. There is less chest beating from Old Xavs people and they have won 10 ‘A’ section flags in 15 years!!

Point Noted.

But seriously, if you won 10 grannies in 15 years, and not beat your chest where is the fun in that.

just making sure you knew you are from werribee I'm mean the IQ is quite low around that area. Well see how werribee go on the finals the club does have a habit of choking in the finals so anything can happen

As opposed to the rocket scientists from the commission towers. Lol. Muppett

I used to be an avid Wafc watcher 5 or so years ago my son was playing.
Heard Sean Rusling was playing so went to Soldiers to have a look and OMG. I just couldnt beleive what i was witnessing no slow blokes, no fat blokes no old blokes what a complete turnaround. The skills and discipline of the Wbee boys was a delight to watch. I went out to the huddles at half and three Quarter time the youth in the side was very evident and the commitment of the players to adhere to the coaches instuctions was full of complete respect. Im not sure who has turned the place around so much but whoever it is cudnt be more complimentary of there efforts. well done was a pleasure to watch and i will be back again. PS watched the reserves and they would have beaten the sides i used to watch by plenty. Very strong and committed bunch and plenty of talent couldnt beleive it was the ressies.

God you've learnt alot about Werribee in one week, you might be Kirk's mum!!!!

Nothing gets past you kb!

I think distrcts cover has been blown.

Thanks TT it's likeiknow it all. Some very funny threads and you can't help but love the passion. I wish could spruik more about Rupppo but we are 0-2 with what we think is a pretty good side. We have some good youngsters too, the reality is amateur footy is full of exciting youngsters, it is a great comp to be in.

CarnThe Roys you seem to be unbiased in your opinion what was you take on the result out of Saturday couldnt make it myself but the scores indicate a pretty one sided affair were do you think the roys are at after Saturday.

Not unbiased at all mate. I'm just well adjusted to my Fitzroy bias.

Sadly I didn't get down to the game but my sources tell me the big difference was Werribees ability to capitalise on mistakes and to make us pay for them on the scoreboard.

We've had a couple of tough games to start the year, we're evidently a long way from where we need to be to be challanging for finals. But it's very early days so from the outside looking in it's hard to say exactly where the boys are at just yet.

Re: Season 2011

Interesting discussion about the "suburban clubs". I've followed the Roys / Reds for a few years now, and wondered why it is that they cannot seem to take that well worn footy cliche of the next step. Winning flags in D3, D2 and D1 is good, but your reputation is made from C grade up. Oakleigh have gone well past us and so have Beaumaris. Hampton are in B grade as well, and the likes of Ormond, Ajax and even Monash to a lesser extent seem to fair better at C Grade level. In 2011, Werribee seem to be well on their way to success in C Grade.
Ironically, Fitzroy would be less affected by surrounding footy clubs with money than all of those sides. Northcote Park would probably be the closest club that could lure players away and they'd be the only one for a reasonable distance.