Cairns AFL

Can anyone tell me how Cairns Saints are travelling this year? Recruits? Saw Matt Walsh running the esplande the other day looks as though he has been in the gym and bulked up!!! Also saw cutters look as though they have recruited well? Any other big name signings from any other clubs?

Cairns Saints have lost few big names, but have landed a big signing in Luke Parsons from Redan - will be one to watch! Have heard that Centrals have recruited well from Darwin, don't know any names.

Can anyone tell me how Cairns Saints are travelling this year? Recruits? Saw Matt Walsh running the esplande the other day looks as though he has been in the gym and bulked up!!! Also saw cutters look as though they have recruited well? Any other big name signings from any other clubs?

Massive unit!

muscle14.jpg

Yeah walshy still playing for south. kicked 5 on weekend. his hammy is finally right so plenty of bags to come.

Best forward in the league by a mile!
Superstar!

I see Matt Walsh back with 6 goals on weekend on top of 5 from last weekend.

The boots are back on, look out everyone!

Didnt Matt Walsh from Saints win it last year as well as kicking 100 goals?

Kennedy won previous year i believe.

Matt Walsh again amongst the goals.

Must be one the best forwards to ever play in Cairns surelly?

saints would have to be the ones to beat this year wouldnt they again along with hawks?

walsh to kick 100+, and the new ballarat recruits will only strengthen a very formidable team.

is angwin going around again anyone?

Knackers22 have you got a soft spot for Matty Walsh?????????????????

Cairns Saints have lost few big names, but have landed a big signing in Luke Parsons from Redan - will be one to watch! Have heard that Centrals have recruited well from Darwin, don't know any names.

Thanks DCdog haven't heard of him but will keep my eye out. Saints have lost some big names... Who? Will they be able to cover these losses?

Saints have lost Josh Dicketts, Craig Nunn and Charlie Dixon - All 3 played in the ruck and up forward. Dicketts and Nunn were excellent players for the Saints last year. Not sure if they can cover this height, but will still have a good bunch of medium running type players. Will be interesting to see if they will be as good as last year.

I was just wondering if anyone could give me an idea of the standard of the Mackay league? I was hoping someone on this site might know a little about it. I know the Cairns League is a pretty strong comp, but if someone could give me a comparison that would be great.
I may be moving there for work from Melbourne- I currently play 1's in SFL Division 1 comp, just curious to how good (or bad) the comp is in Mackay to help me with my decision.

Cheers.

Back in the days when southern had 5 divisions, I would say the mackay league was about div 5 standard. In respect to sourthern div 1 which I saw last year and was not that impressed with I would say it is very low div two southern on todays standards probably even lower. Each side will have 2-3 good players but most would be reserve grade standard to what you are used to. Hope your move goes well. What I will say is that Mackay is a great place. Top beaches etc and a good place to bring up a family or even create one. All the best and u the way who did you play for in southern.:)

Was told Saints signed Nick Preston, key position forward and very good player. Not sure of the other recruits but he will certainly make them stronger.

I hear that Cairns Saints look a lot like a Ballarat A grade team this year. Heaps of recruits but have lost a heap. Saints have choked the last few yrs when they were favoured.
City's & Norths will fight out last. Citys have a new coach who is recruiting hard says the local paper. They have lost a few from 2007 to South Cairns
Centrals will make the 4 this year. lots of Darwin players. Sounds like $$$
South Cairns from what I read in the Cairns Post look the team to beat. Awesome. They have raided City's & North Cairns and picked up some guns. They have already played a practice game.
Port Douglas have spent a fortune and will be top 2. Port seem to spalsh out the cash every few yrs dont they.
Manunda have lost a lot of players with no recruits mentioned. Might be hard for them in 2008. Dont write them off.

Any one have any thoughts on a ladder

I hear that Cairns Saints look a lot like a Ballarat A grade team this year. Heaps of recruits but have lost a heap. Saints have choked the last few yrs when they were favoured.
City's & Norths will fight out last. Citys have a new coach who is recruiting hard says the local paper. They have lost a few from 2007 to South Cairns
Centrals will make the 4 this year. lots of Darwin players. Sounds like $$$
South Cairns from what I read in the Cairns Post look the team to beat. Awesome. They have raided City's & North Cairns and picked up some guns. They have already played a practice game.
Port Douglas have spent a fortune and will be top 2. Port seem to spalsh out the cash every few yrs dont they.
Manunda have lost a lot of players with no recruits mentioned. Might be hard for them in 2008. Dont write them off.

Any one have any thoughts on a ladder

Port Douglas / Picked up Shaw and Smith both over 6,4 and more
South Cairns / Recruited well lost sharp and Bailey
Cairns Saints / Done well with Ballarat recruits , lost Dickets and Nunn
Manunda Hawks / lost heaps but will go out and buy up

Cetrals / will pick a few up but cant see them in the 4
Cobras / lost some good players and cant see them any higher
North Cairns / love to see them win a few games

Was told Saints signed Nick Preston, key position forward and very good player. Not sure of the other recruits but he will certainly make them stronger.

Saints are recruiting very well indeed , and keeping there cards very close too there chest . Might have to change my ladder and put Saints top????

Mate , Saints could be the dark horse , talking to Coxy[ coach of Port ]:thumbsu: the other night and he thinks Saints will be Ports big danger this year.

forget about all the other teams, theres only one ''SOUTH CAIRNS'' with the qld state coach and budget that is at least double any other club, they would have to be clearly on top as early favourites, steve daniels knows what it takes to win, and after spending a season finding his feet,anything bar a premiership would be a failure.SJ is a very astute coach and recruiter.

Yes a very good coach is SJ, but how much of their budget did he give you to post this testimonial (or are you sleeping with him)?:eek:

mmmmm.good comeback duffman,i guess you owe me that one,though SJ does'nt do that much for me,he's not my type,and i doubt that they would be wasting any of the budget on having there tyres pumped up,what's left of the budget would be going towards the players that'll be coming up before mid season clearances close, just to add to there already''STAR'' list. though if there is anything left and they need a bit mid-season motivating, i would be available for a very heavy FEE$$$ i dont come cheap... so i would fit in down at ''SOUTH CAIRNS'' very nicely.

In terms of match payments, do all the clubs pay their players per game or are most incentive based payments

i was down Roberts Rd last week and popped in and saw Souths train. Very impressive. Long way advanced than Manunda who i saw the other day. The coach has them very fit and I would expect them to win the preseason cup. Thats always a very good lead in to the season proper.

so how are clubs going with training numbers this yr considering the wet we are having. I saw Souths have about 40 and hear Manunda 20 & Saints 30. What about Port, City's & Norths. The preseason cup is only a week away.

Na just having fun champ , SJ is a great mate and I hate seeing people pump the fat bald headed #$@%^ up , we are hoping on the bye down here [Seymour ]to come up to Cairns and watch South Cairns play and catch up with the great Man.:)

Let me know if you guys are heading North during your bye. Will arrange luncheon etc if it is our home game. Also go to www.southcairnsafl.com.au to keep up to date with what is happening at the Cutters. Hope to hear soon.:thumbsu:

Cheers ftb...I might just take you up on that offer. Checked out the website and will need a pair of the dress shorts and club shirt. SJ Fatty-Boomba will cover the cost and also know my size, but no need for the training top as I don't want to scare anyone away with my white chicken arms.

A couple of requests when I arrive:-

a) make sure Lippy is there cause I want to chalk up all my VB's on his slate
b) give Billy from Piccones a bit of notice as he cooks the best burgers
c) be good if Meat-Tray, Shawry & Sheepy all play deep in the forward line that day
d) be great if McMillan can turn it on.....I've seen him play before but SJ cok smoker is very keen for him to have a big year.

After match function can be at the members bar.......you know the address;)
Happy to let Pete Cheners come along if he's got rid of that silly beard:D

i was down Roberts Rd last week and popped in and saw Souths train. Very impressive. Long way advanced than Manunda who i saw the other day. The coach has them very fit and I would expect them to win the preseason cup. Thats always a very good lead in to the season proper.

so how are clubs going with training numbers this yr considering the wet we are having. I saw Souths have about 40 and hear Manunda 20 & Saints 30. What about Port, City's & Norths. The preseason cup is only a week away.

Can someone from each club do an ins and outs for season 2008?

Have heard that Centrals have been shopping with some success in Darwin. They have apparently picked up about 5 definite players and there are about 3 or 4 others that are highly probable.

Berg is also returning to play for the Bulldogs again. This guy is a jet.

If any Central supporters have names and details of the players that they have picked up and lost from last season it would be appreciated if you could post some details. They were not that far off the money last year. Assuming they have not lost many players from last years list, they might be there abouts this year.

Are Benny Chalmers :D and Heath Barnett :thumbsu: having another run this year?

Is the Yack still at the helm? :cool:

Really itching for some footy this weekend! anybody know if XXXX pre-season cup is going ahead this weekend?:)