Certified Legendary Thread Cam Rayner

look at the final margins. Look at our long injury list we had in those finals.

Straight sets is just a catchy phrase that people use when they don't want to analyse things. Firstly, you cant lose 2 finals unless you finish top 4. We did that. Collingwood didnt even make the finals this year after winning the flag. That's a far bigger choke.

The first final last year, we played the future premiers and were underdogs and not expected to win. Throw in our long injury list on the night and having Brayshaw knocked out 5 mins into the game, then yes a 19 year old future $12 million dollar key position star player of the game would've made the difference.

Once again proving that flags are purely decided by father/son and nga gifts.

Hell the granny was Brisbane vs Syd with a f/s winning the norm. what more evidence do you need.
this is the most delusional BS ive ever heard

quantity. And you got them when you were a top team. We didn't. You haven't had a father/son better than Viney yet. Ashcroft should pass him but not yet.

Melbourne came 16th when we got Viney. Where were you when you got Ashcrofts x 2 and Fletcher? Remind me.
So your F/S player is better than our best F/S player when you won the flag, but our flag doesn't count because we have two 20 year old not yet prime players in our premiership side?
Fletcher is a fringe player, picked every week because of his upside but we have players in the reserves who can come in and play his role at the same level.
Melbourne were shit and collecting better picks when they got Viney who was in his prime in your premiership window as were the players you would have got.
High draft picks AFL handouts. You get rewarded for being bad. No different that priority picks really, just that you get an extra one before you normally would because of how bad you have been.

Nice deflection to avoid acknowledging the lack of integrity of the competition.
Irony being that Melbourne are the ones who pushed for the F/S system so they could get Barassi.
So 55, 56, 57, 59, 60 & 64 were not real premierships and shouldn't count because of an inequity in the competition at the time.

How about players like Scully and Sylvia who you got with a priority pick that due to trades you ended up with Steven May and Salem? Both part of your premiership team.
lol that's a long stretch. You maybe could've mounted that argument if we got a priority pick for finishing top 4, but getting a priority pick means your team is terrible and certainly doesn't come for free. You have to endure a year or 2 of suffering. Brisbane getting Ashcroft x 2 is essentially getting 2 priority picks for making consecutive grand finals. So a huge asterisk on results.

That's the main difference. Where your team was on the ladder when you got multiple afl handouts.

lol that's a long stretch. You maybe could've mounted that argument if we got a priority pick for finishing top 4, but getting a priority pick means your team is terrible and certainly doesn't come for free. You have to endure a year or 2 of suffering. Brisbane getting Ashcroft x 2 is essentially getting 2 priority picks for making consecutive grand finals. So a huge asterisk on results.

That's the main difference. Where your team was on the ladder when you got multiple afl handouts.
The f/s rules are the same for everyone. Yes, you are salty, I get it. So over the last 10 years in your mind how many premierships are legit? Your views are very obtuse and I don’t see many people coming to support you.

But you're the one who said you did it without any AFL assistance in 2021. Your priority picks are the reason you were able to secure two players who were part of your premiership team. Which is not the case.
You had a F/S in the team. For our current premiership window it would have been better to have Ashcroft and Fletcher drafted in 2018 when we were shit. That would mean that we would have two Ashcroft's and Fletcher running around in their prime instead of as 18-20 years old.
All 3 players might have what happened to J Brown who was lucky to achieve team success from 19-22 but after that spend most of his career in a team that never got close to another grand final.

The f/s rules are the same for everyone. Yes, you are salty, I get it. So over the last 10 years in your mind how many premierships are legit? Your views are very obtuse and I don’t see many people coming to support you.
Maybe timing is everything. Will was conceived about the time Marcus was leading up to his 3rd premiership so he would have been up and about.

Yes, the rules are the same for everyone. But the teams benefit differently. Which is based on pure luck. And that's not how a competition should be run. My views regarding the father/son and NGA has been consistent and strong for years. It's only now that Brisbane have reaped some benefits, as well as Gold Coast etc. that fans are now slowly coming around to how unfair it is. The AFL were also about 5 years behind me with their stupid points matching nonsense. So regarding this, I was ahead of the curve by about 8-10 years. At the very very least, they should have scrapped the NGA rules before Ugle-Hagan was allowed to go to the bulldogs when he was clearly the No.1 pick 12 months before the draft.

And I wouldn't say the rules are the same for everyone. Mac Andrew was in our academy, The AFL changed the rules, for 2 seasons, then changed the rules back again, just in time for the dees to miss out on a generational key position player. So not only have the dees been disadvantaged but other teams have been given the advantage. Brisbane and Melbourne are at the opposite ends of the F/S and NGA blessings. Not to mention Tairon Ah-Mu (potential round 1 pick next year) who was in our academy. Now magically unavailable to us. And no, I'm not alone. most dees feels are rightfully salty.

Yes, the rules are the same for everyone. But the teams benefit differently. Which is based on pure luck. And that's not how a competition should be run. My views regarding the father/son and NGA has been consistent and strong for years. It's only now that Brisbane have reaped some benefits, as well as Gold Coast etc. that fans are now slowly coming around to how unfair it is. The AFL were also about 5 years behind me with their stupid points matching nonsense. So regarding this, I was ahead of the curve by about 8-10 years. At the very very least, they should have scrapped the NGA rules before Ugle-Hagan was allowed to go to the bulldogs when he was clearly the No.1 pick 12 months before the draft.

And I wouldn't say the rules are the same for everyone. Mac Andrew was in our academy, The AFL changed the rules, for 2 seasons, then changed the rules back again, just in time for the dees to miss out on a generational key position player. So not only have the dees been disadvantaged but other teams have been given the advantage. Brisbane and Melbourne are at the opposite ends of the F/S and NGA blessings. Not to mention Tairon Ah-Mu (potential round 1 pick next year) who was in our academy. Now magically unavailable to us. And no, I'm not alone. most dees feels are rightfully salty.

Yeah, you guys lucked out. You do get to play the GF on your home ground. We luck out there. We travel more. Not everything is fair.

Talking lucking out and f/s. Spare a thought for the Swans and Josh Dunkley. He is 2-0 up on them

did we? the last time I checked we had to win our Grand Final in Perth. And never played a home final despite finishing top of the ladder.

Plus, the biggest advantage of a home ground isn't the ground itself, it's the fans influencing the umpires with the noise of affirmation. And in Grand Finals it's more neutrals and corporates. But also, when the dees have home games during the year, we literally have no home ground advantage against Carlton, Coll, Essendon, Hawks, Richmond and next to no advantage against North, Dogs, Geelong and Stkilda. Whereas you get a massive advantage in every single home game. Melbourne teams get none when playing each other.

Hi Danny, I’ve been making some of Petraccas recipes from his Instagram page - he seems to do a lot of cooking. No footy training videos on there. Anyway, his ragù recipe is delicious. Have you tried any? Maybe we can swap recipes!

did we? the last time I checked we had to win our Grand Final in Perth. And never played a home final despite finishing top of the ladder.

Plus, the biggest advantage of a home ground isn't the ground itself, it's the fans influencing the umpires with the noise of affirmation. And in Grand Finals it's more neutrals and corporates. But also, when the dees have home games during the year, we literally have no home ground advantage against Carlton, Coll, Essendon, Hawks, Richmond and next to no advantage against North, Dogs, Geelong and Stkilda. Whereas you get a massive advantage in every single home game. Melbourne teams get none when playing each other.
Yes and no. I agree to a point. I was at Richmond vs Giants is 2019. Definitely majority Richmond. I was at Collingwood vs Lions in 2023. Definitely majority Magpies.

I did hear that too. I went to Dees vs Carlton in the 2nd final. 55k Carlton fans I reckon. No advantage at all. I would've gathered play interstate.
I went to 2024 but it was a bit hard to tell. There was a lot of red and white but we obviously made more noise. I would guess close to 50/50 but if pushed I would say Swans may have had slightly more although their colours in the crowd stand out better.

The last real flag winner was Richmond in 2020. 21/22/23/24 all marred by Father Son's, we need to put an asterisk on all those flags.
I have a memory of someone going through the last 50 plus years of finals and disregarding every team who got unfair advantages from F/S, academies, COLA, Covid away premierships, salary cap cheating, unfair zoning, questionable use of IV drips, drug cheats, etc, etc

Turns out there was a reason to asterisk every year. The comp never has been and probably never will be fair and equitable. We all just have to fight and scrape for our own advantages (legit rorts) the best we can while trying to minimise the damage other clubs do with their totally unfair rorts

I have a memory of someone going through the last 50 plus years of finals and disregarding every team who got unfair advantages from F/S, academies, COLA, Covid away premierships, salary cap cheating, unfair zoning, questionable use of IV drips, drug cheats, etc, etc

Turns out there was a reason to asterisk every year. The comp never has been and probably never will be fair and equitable. We all just have to fight and scrape for our own advantages (legit rorts) the best we can while trying to minimise the damage other clubs do with their totally unfair rorts
This is gold

Premiership legend!

Cam Rayner: rated the 18th best lion on Grand Final day.

Definition of fringe player.

luis piedrahita hair GIF by Late Motiv de Andreu Buenafuente

Certified Legendary Thread Cam Rayner