Cameron Bruce

Re: Bruce quits club

I was hoping we would lose Bruce and keep Junior. I was also hoping we'd get something for Bruce when he went. So from that perspective, I'm disappointed. Outside of that I see him as no loss whatsoever. The last quarter of the match against Norf was indicative of much of this season and of the future. Don't let the door slap your tracksuit pants on the way out mate.

i think you are right syrus, me thinks that green may be going to vet list next year. Would help our salary cap wouldnt it

What's with all of these flogs crawling out of the woodwork to have a dig at a 10+ year MFC veteran?

Pathetic.

is this aimed at me as well?
If so I am not really coming out of the woodwork.

When the attacks launched on him I defended him, I am pissed because my favourite player has quit the club he played for 10 years to play at a club to apparently win a premiership.

I don't care how big that thought it. It's kind of an annoying thing to do.

Aimed at anyone who would rather be picking fights on here than talking about footy:

Step away from the keyboard.

I've had to go through and clean this thread up a bit because of some posts on here have incited more bickering than a pre-school full of Steven Milnes. We're more than happy to ban people from this forum if their sole purpose is to piss other people off.

i think you are right syrus, me thinks that green may be going to vet list next year. Would help our salary cap wouldnt it

We'll it could come down to a couple of things.

1. My personally thoughts are that he might have been happy with the one year deal but wanted more coin as a retirement nest egg. For me I got paid well when i played footy, but the main reason i played was because i enjoyed it, the money was a bonus. It shits me to see players asking for more money, etc, to me that shows that their heart isn't in it and they are only interested in their wallets.

2. He wanted a guarantee to be in the side. Another thing that shits me. You should earn your position in the side. It is a privelege to put on the Melbourne jumper every week, not a right. If you dont want to compete with 18-23 year olds for a position in the side then you wont compete on the field.

If either of the above two points are true i am happy with the approach the MFC has taken.

Just so it's clear, and as has been posted elsewhere re this, if Bruce gets picked up through the ND he HAS to be given a 2 year deal.

Smart move (if it comes off, which presumably it will.) Whether it's also a cynical move, is perhaps open to debate.

You are without question a TROLL!!!! Your opinion counts for zero on this board. No membership, no optimism for next year, no support for our young players.

Go away!

I called it after his fourth post, nothing has proven otherwise, just confirmed it.

I have not seen a game that has shown me that Morton has 'arrived' or that he will become a future star for the club.

So you don't count these as games that show he has potential?

Rd 7 2009 vs. West Coast Eagles

Kicks: 28
Handballs: 6
Marks: 16 (1 contested)
Efficiency: 76%
Contested possessions: 4
Uncontested Possessions: 27
Assists: 1
TOG: 90%
Inside 50’s: 4

Rd 8 2009 vs. Western Bulldogs

Kicks: 23
Handballs: 14
Marks: 7

Tackles: 3
Free Kicks: 1 for 1 against
Efficiency: 78%
Contested possessions: 6
Uncontested Possessions: 30
Clearances: 1
Clangers: 4
Assists: 1
Inside 50’s: 4

Rd 17 2009 vs. Sydney Swans (Manuka Oval)
Kicks: 10
Handballs: 0
Marks: 5 (1 contested)
Tackles: 0
Free Kicks: 2 for 0 against
Efficiency: 90%
Contested possessions: 4
Uncontested Possessions: 6
Clearances: 0
Clangers: 0
Assists: 0
Inside 50’s: 2
Opponent: Adam Goodes
One Percenters: 7
Rebound 50’s: 3

DT Score: 44 Points
SC Score: 71 Points

Cale moved down back again this week & played a great game on Goodes limiting him to 17 disposals almost all of them outside the 50 meter arc, no goals & a lot of those possessions were gained when he left Morton as a lose man in defense & pushed into the back half of the ground. I think this was a great learning game for Cale & will continue to progress his already impressive development. Cale did not have a huge impact statistics wise but did the small things well, gathering the equal most on percenters on the ground with Rivers, he also had three rebound 50’s for the game.

Pros:

- Efficiency was at 90% & all of his 10 disposals were by foot so only one disposal was off the mark.
- Contested possessions were 4 & most were against Goodes which was a standout for him.
- Played tight on Goodes didn’t allow him to get much of the ball in damaging positions.

Please advise why these games indicate to you that he has no ability or potential?

Yes 2010 was not his best year but he did have a major op before the season started & did have a good couple of games in 2010. 2011 will see really how good he might be but to say he is a hack who never played a good game is a bit tough.

Brucey!!
Can see both sides of the story here, i just wish they could have discussed this earlier and tried to get a pick out of him
hard to say what we would have gotten for him.. if anything. we did get an upgrade out of fetta, therefore logic says it would have to be more than that

Don't let the door slap your tracksuit pants on the way out mate.

I can't abide that sort of attitude. Cam Bruce gave Melbourne great service for 11 years and he deserves to be remembered for that. Unfortunately he's not able to continue with the club but that in no way diminishes what he's done for us. Simple fact is he's a professional footballer signing what will surely be his last contract. We offered him one year, someone else offered him two. Being a pro he'll take the two - and good luck to him.

The hardest thing to swallow is the breaking of the Green/Bruce vibe. If you look at their stats over the past 11 years they are like footballing twins. Strange twist in the tail that Green goes onto captaincy in his Autumn years while Bruce leaves unable to find a contract. Little known fact would be that coming into this 2010 Bruce, while having considerably more possessions and variety of roles, had only kicked 20 goals fewer for his career than Green. Green shone in his role this year but in the less spectacular manner befitting the role required, so did Bruce. Having said that, I would be gutted if Green left as he is superb now.

A shame that they are separating but fair enough for Bruce to recognize his value. And also fair enough for Melbourne to look ahead.

I can't abide that sort of attitude. Cam Bruce gave Melbourne great service for 11 years and he deserves to be remembered for that. Unfortunately he's not able to continue with the club but that in no way diminishes what he's done for us. Simple fact is he's a professional footballer signing what will surely be his last contract. We offered him one year, someone else offered him two. Being a pro he'll take the two - and good luck to him.

I don't like this good luck to him rubbish. He's a traitor and he should be treated like one.

Should Bruce be angry with the club? Probably. Should we be angry with Bruce? Definately, we get very little compensation with him leaving unlike a few others who have left the club allowing us to get Grimes, Gysberts, Jurrah, Moloney and Dunn.

If something similar happened to me at my work would I do a Bruce? Probably but there is something that I wouldn't be doing and that would be asking for a glowing reference from my employer, if your employer still wants you and you jump ship the employer should be pissed off. I hope every Melbourne supporter boo's him all day when we play against him, I know I will.

Personally, I don't think Bruce ever reached his full potential.
He never reached the 'elite' heights that he showed prior to that collarbone injury and as such will be remembered as a very good player and not the champion he could of perhaps been.

I respect his decision to seek the best possible deal for himself and his family but at the same time the club has to look after themselves and I fully support their stand. Football is a business these days whether we like it or not!

Bruce has made his decision to move on and like him I have too.

thats what he gets when a contract offer was on the table before trade week, yet he postponed and ultimately **** us over (the club he had played at for 11 years) by us getting 0 in return :thumbsu:

great servant, but that does piss me off a little

Bruce was played out of position under Bailey, so it will be interesting how he is used if he gets his lifeline. He can play in any third of the ground, but I don't think half back is his best spot.

thats what he gets when a contract offer was on the table before trade week, yet he postponed and ultimately **** us over (the club he had played at for 11 years) by us getting 0 in return :thumbsu:

great servant, but that does piss me off a little
He gave us his best service for 11 years. That's enough I reckon for a low draft pick.

Bruce definitely deserves a :thumbsu:

Just so it's clear, and as has been posted elsewhere re this, if Bruce gets picked up through the ND he HAS to be given a 2 year deal.

Smart move (if it comes off, which presumably it will.) Whether it's also a cynical move, is perhaps open to debate.
Seems like a smart move. But would he get to nominate his contract terms, or would he only get the minimum (~50k) considering he'd be taken in the ND? I know you can determine your contract terms in the PSD.

If you only have to pay the minimum, then just take Bruce back in the ND, he'd be on a lot less coin, enough for you to pay out his contract after 1 season if he's had it. And you'd still be able to put him on the vets list if you've got problems on having enough players on the main list. (but at half his salary it's not worth it if you've got other vets contenders, just take one less in the ND and have a nominated rookie that can play all 22 games)

Two can play the sneaky game

I find this all quite distressing, Cam Bruce is one of my favourite players, he went my high school and used to play for Melbourne High Old Boys as a teenager and I met him a few times. A very quiet guy, but very genuine, respectful, and just a good bloke.

Since then I have followed his career pretty closely. Its been a good career. It could have been better if he avoided 2 or 3 injuries at times when he was really in form and I always thought he could have won a brownlow one year if the cards fell his way.

He won't be remembered as a 'legend' of Melbourne but I hop you guys remember him as a high quality player who played 11 great years, was a good team man and very respectable off the field as well. He wanted to stay at Melbourne.

Personally I would have given him a two year deal, and would also have given McDonald another year, I think it has been poor list management and the loss of these quality players will stunt the progression of your younger players a bit. I would not be surprised if Melbourne actually went slightly backwards next year with the loss of these two players, but at least you have heaps of young guns and in about 5 years you should be right there. Sometimes I think you need these types of players for leadership and to allow greater freedom to the older players. It's the same way I would still want Shane Tuck in our side, not because he is a good player, but because he allows Cotchin, Martin, Deledio...etc to be more damaging.

Anyway good luck Bruce, I've always rated you and I hope you still have some good years left.

Cameron Bruce