Cameron Ling: The Commentator

I've refrained from posting here but can't help myself.

I don't understand the hate. He is asked a question, and he answers it.
Hint: it's in the answer bit.

The problem isn't what Ling says, the problem is our (Geelong fans') unrealistic expectations of him.

We still see him as the premiership captain and mayor of Geelong and expect that he will always take the club's side. This may be his private position, but in his public broadcasting gig that is never going to fly. So he has to be measured and pick his spots where he can fly the cats flag (like he did last night with Dangerfield).

He is doing a pretty good job in my opinion, but I reckon he has so much more to offer the game than being a media performer. I hope his media gig is just his way of taking a break from the stresses of the game for a few years before coming back to the cats in a coaching or (more likely in my opinion) footy ops capacity. That is where he would shine.

The problem isn't what Ling says, the problem is our (Geelong fans') unrealistic expectations of him.

We still see him as the premiership captain and mayor of Geelong and expect that he will always take the club's side. This may be his private position, but in his public broadcasting gig that is never going to fly. So he has to be measured and pick his spots where he can fly the cats flag (like he did last night with Dangerfield).

He is doing a pretty good job in my opinion, but I reckon he has so much more to offer the game than being a media performer. I hope his media gig is just his way of taking a break from the stresses of the game for a few years before coming back to the cats in a coaching or (more likely in my opinion) footy ops capacity. That is where he would shine.
Couldn't disagree more. We all just want him to be measured. Not after a Geelong cheerleader.

You may not. But most Geelong fans do.

He is measured, he is balanced. If you can't see that then your expectations of him are different than that of other commentators.
Wow. If you actually believe that I feel sorry for you.

You may not. But most Geelong fans do.

He is measured, he is balanced. If you can't see that then your expectations of him are different than that of other commentators.

I don't agree.

I think his commentary is tarnished, and driven, by a desperate need to avoid any possible allegation of bias towards the Cats, and he's over-corrected.

Commentary is an individual taste though. It's funny how we can take a liking, or dislike, to a commentator - sometimes almost instantly. I've not said a word but listened with interest when others in my social circles have discussed the commentators in footy, and noted that Ling isn't liked by the majority. They can't put a finger on it; they describe him as 'just annoying'.

I don't agree.

I think his commentary is tarnished, and driven, by a desperate need to avoid any possible allegation of bias towards the Cats, and he's over-corrected.

Commentary is an individual taste though. It's funny how we can take a liking, or dislike, to a commentator - sometimes almost instantly. I've not said a word but listened with interest when others in my social circles have discussed the commentators in footy, and noted that Ling isn't liked by the majority. They can't put a finger on it; they describe him as 'just annoying'.
Fair point. You are right, it is individual preference. I think he is a decent (not great) commentator who is in a "no-win" situation when he talks about Geelong. To each their own.

Last edited by a moderator:
Fair point. You are right, it is individual preference. I think he is a decent (not great) commentator who is in a "no-win" situation when he talks about Geelong. To each their own.

Btw, well done on communicating a contrary point of view without trying to score points or being a condescending flog. Perhaps a mod who has frequented this thread for 2 years should be taking notes.

He probably is on a hiding to nothing....

People will instinctively look for bias in his commentary, and I think he's become a victim of his awareness of that fact.

I'd just like to hear him commentate naturally, without tailoring it to his perception of the listeners analysis.

Seemed like someone told channel 7cats fans were displeased with him. Other commentators were laying it on thick, saying stuff along the lines of 'lingys a real cats man'. I think deep down he loves the cats. He grew up barracking for them. But he's sold his soul for the media gigs. He's on TV or radio all weekend. Acts like a complete clown on the Saturday night pregame. It's funny that guys like him, Darcy and richo are absolutely loaded but can't resist being everywhere in the media too.

Hear him on 3AW when the club was getting ripped into by fellow commentators and listeners calling in about the Richmond in geelong thing, got fired up and really defended the club and the supporters.

I don't agree.

? the open shirt
? the head that only a mum could love
? the red

I like it that he is annoying- means people listen to him

Hear him on 3AW when the club was getting ripped into by fellow commentators and listeners calling in about the Richmond in geelong thing, got fired up and really defended the club and the supporters.
Good local lad you see. You'll never take the city of Geelong out of his veins.

Cameron Ling: The Commentator

Write your reply...