Autopsy Canny Crows take a giant dump on dopey dogs from up high. 63-62.

Is it possible we over performed to reach it both times?
If you mean performed better than our season average. Yes. "I don't think. I know."

However overperformance itself is a type of performance. By that I mean we showed we were capable of it. If we did it a little more consistently it wouldn't be overperformance. We just didn't do it very often.

So why can't we do that regularly? I mean finishing top 4 would be great, eh?

I don't want to hear BS from anyone about our best is so high-octane that it can't be produced every week or consistently throughout a long season. I just don't believe that.

Bevo says he's not using it as an excuse but I'd be surprised if it didn't bring a significant weight on the performance.

So it may be a reason ... but it shouldn't be an excuse.
They still needed to be - and should have been - a whole lot better than they were.

This maybe partly what was going on with the dogs losing today. Not to blow over how well the crows played or the other problems at the club but the team is pretty close knit and mentality plays a big role in anything. The recent departures, Horror injuries, the leaks, etc... are piling on the team and it's caused the team to perform poorly. The team is currently wounded.

No worries. I'm just dirty AS. What a goddamn waste.
A one point loss. Any loss is depressing but it's not waste, cleanout or sack the coach. All that was needed was another forward who could kick more than one goal, Hannon for Ugle-Hagan, we'd have won and you'd be dusting off your old latin grammar.

It gets a little tiresome watching on as our mids hunt the ball en masse only to see it squirt out wide and into the arms of an opponent not sucked into the contest. Its what happened in the Grand Final and its what regularly happens when we lose.
Even two of them against four of us they would end up with the clearance 😟

A one point loss. Any loss is depressing but it's not waste, cleanout or sack the coach. All that was needed was another forward who could kick more than one goal, Hannon for Ugle-Hagan, we'd have won and you'd be dusting off your old latin grammar.

All so simple. Forgive my ignorance troll.

This maybe partly what was going on with the dogs losing today. Not to blow over how well the crows played or the other problems at the club but the team is pretty close knit and mentality plays a big role in anything. The recent departures, Horror injuries, the leaks, etc... are piling on the team and it's caused the team to perform poorly. The team is currently wounded.
Completely agree. Just a small dip in the mood around the club can have a ripple effect on everyone and everything. We have all gone through times when stuff happening around us has affected our concentration or performance, no matter how hard we try to put it out of our minds. I feel differently about today’s game now, knowing what’s been happening behind the scenes. There’s no way it didn’t affect the boys. 😟

You are actually pathetic.

Is there any thought of putting blokes like Smith and Treloar (or even Bont) on the wing? I get that role-structure running etc. is part of the game. But we had McComb, Scott and McNeil, all who are very much VFL standard players play in critical positions while we win clearances and have blokes without attacking skill or spread have an influence. What good is Dunkley and Libba having 30 touches and 20 tackles to help us when the blokes outside of the coalface just aren't up to the standard? Scott was the best of the lot with 14 touches but you wouldn't say he had a "good" game. McComb 11 at 36% efficiency (eek) and McNeil 10 touches. They had 6 marks between them as well, which showed the difficult in getting any value out of Dale's kicking.

Dunkley has his issues and we all had a go after the Richmond loss but he was a bull inside and then provided more in transition than blokes who simply can't because they're all 180cm so small in modern footy who can't stand up in the lead.

If our fringe 180cm blokes aren't helping us value from the clearance spread, are too small to be transitional lead up targets on the wing following an intercept, and can't use the ball in congestion, what good are they filling the role? I'd much rather Smith get 25 on the wing even if he turns it over 10 times, or Treloar break the lines on the wing even if his defensive running isn't there. It can be worse than having 3 blokes average 12 touches with no marking influence with less than 50% efficiency, even if they listen to coaches' orders and hold the "structure". Hell, play Jamarra on the wing for something different. At least he'll learn something new.

Weightman - 4 dispoals, 1 effective disposal, 2 turnovers, a million times out of position, getting in the way of the key forwards, thinks he's a key forward in a 178cm body. He's a genuine liability in the team.
Think your eyes a liability mate - not sure where you get your stats from but probably have another look. Weightman is a young developing small forward with a bit to work on but **** sake a liability? He’s the only one who provides any pressure and the only small with any skill in that forward line

We definitely missed Hunter because if he plays McComb doesn’t (not a dig at McComb, but he isn’t best 22, Lachie is). But our absolutely putrid and pitiful delivery into F50 is not improved even 1% with Lachie playing.

I just don’t understand how we can go from so good to so crap this quickly.

I mean look at Melbourne, they win the flag and look just as hungry for more. They have great structure and method along with the fitness and skills. Whereas us both in 2017 and again in 2022 are significantly worse the year after being in a GF. Why can’t we build on what we did last year instead of going backwards.

Even our ability to pressure the opposition has gone off and is not at a standard with the top teams. Even Freo has gone passed us if you ask me. Our style of football is not good. When you watch the better teams they are on a different level to us and yet we played in a GF just last year.

What happened? Surely it’s not a couple of assistant coaches? Surely Bevo sets the strategic direction and game style. That stupid decision to pull back 5m from the mark, whoever is responsible for that has some explaining to do because that is costing us every week in my opinion.

But overall, I just don’t understand how we can go from a GF to not even being capable of making the finals again the following season and that’s what I expect will happen. We will finish somewhere just outside the 8. And that’s about what we deserve based on what we have served up this season. It’s just not good enough and so frustrating.

1 more goal may have painted over some cracks but you must be delusional to think the performance was that of a top 8 side.
Either the Crows are a really a good side, our skills aren’t up to it or their game plan out did ours. I’m backing the later after spending a lot of the game watching the off ball set ups and running.

All the best for Mitch, Travis and their families. And to Lachie and his family for whatever they may be facing.

There were many reasons we lost, but all that is horrific and obviously going to impact the group. And the mental edge/preparation can be all the difference at the highest level.

It was a shit year already for the team in terms of injuries. This just feels like critical mass. It feels like the universe is trying to force us into a 1 year rebuild. No problem with calling the year now, and I hope Bev does.

Expected Score / Actual Score (Expected Accuracy / Actual Accuracy)
WB: 58 / 62 (45% / 50%)
AD: 87 / 63 (45% / 29%)

Expected Margin / Actual Margin: -29 / -1

Centre Bounce Attendance
14 - Martin
13 - Liberatore
11 - Macrae, B. Smith
10 - Bontempelli, Dunkley
9 - Treloar
6 - Cordty

Ruck Contests (Hitouts / To Advantage)
63 - Martin (22/7)
37 - Cordy (6/2)
3 - Naughton (1/0)
1 - Dunkley (0/0)
1 - Macrae (0/0)

Hitouts To Advantage
WB: 9
AD: 13

First Possessions
WB: 48
AD: 44

Clearances / Effective Clearances
WB: 45 / 35
AD: 38 / 28

Tackle Efficiency
WB: 61%
AD: 64%

Spoil Efficiency
WB: 63%
AD: 78%

Smothers
WB: 12
AD: 5

Forward Half Kicking Efficiency
WB: 61%
AD: 47%

Defensive Half Kicking Efficiency
WB: 76%
AD: 78%

Forward Half Contested Marks
WB: 3
AD: 6

Defensive Half Contested Marks
WB: 9
AD: 10

Score Launches
4 - Dunkley
2 - Bontempelli, Scott
1 - Dale, Daniel, Duryea, Macrae, Martin, O’Brien, Richards, Treloar, Williams

Shots At Goal
WB: 18 (50% - Expected Accuracy: 45%)
AD: 28 (29% - Expected Accuracy: 45%)

Scoring Profile (Western Bulldogs / Adelaide)
Set Shot: 3.0 / 5.5
Snap: 4.3 / 2.4
On Run: 1.2 / 1.3
Mark Play On: 0.0 / 0.0
Ground Kick: 1.0 / 0.0

0M-15M: 1.0 / 2.0
15M-30M: 4.2 / 3.1
31M-40M: 3.2 / 2.5
41M-50M: 0.0 / 1.4
51M+: 1.1 / 0.2

Scores Directly From FK/50MP: 0.0 / 1.0
Scores In Time-On: 4.4 / 1.4

Targets Inside 50

18 - No target
5 - Naughton
4 - Ugle-Hagan
3 - Weightman
1 - Bontempelli, Cordy, Duryea, Dunkley, Macrae, McComb, Schache, B. Smith, Treloar

Kick In / Kick In Play On
8 / 8 - Dale
5 / 5 - Daniel
1 / 1 - Richards
1 / 0 - Schache

Defensive 50 Marks
WB: 28
AD: 28

Defensive 50 Intercept Marks
WB: 8
AD: 8

Defensive Half Turnovers
WB: 28
AD: 18

Forward Half Turnovers
WB: 49
AD: 49

Unforced Turnovers
WB: 17
AD: 13

Unforced Turnovers By Player
2 - Dale, Daniel, Gardner, McComb, McNeil
1 - Cordy, Dunkley, Liberatore, O’Brien, B. Smith, Ugle-Hagan, Weightman

Dropped Marks (Uncontested Only)
WB: 4

AD: 3

No Pressure Errors
WB: 5

AD: 7

Turnovers/Frees/50M Penalties Punished By Goals
2 - Dunkley
1 - Daniel, Macrae, Williams

Champion Data Ranking Points (Supercoach)
142 - Dunkley
138 - Liberatore
122 - Dale
103 - Treloar
92 - Macrae
83 - Bontempelli
80 - B. Smith
80 - Naughton
79 - Richards
77 - Gardner
74 - O’Brien
72 - Martin
71 - Duryea
67 - Daniel
66 - Schache
56 - Williams
49 - Corey
46 - Scott
40 - McNeil
40 - Weightman
38 - McComb
26 - Ugle-Hagan
DNP - West

AFL Player Rating Points
18.6 - Treloar
16.5 - Dunkley
16.0 - Dale
14.5 - Bontempelli
14.3 - Liberatore
13.9 - B. Smith
13.4 - T. O’Brien
13.1 - Richards
12.0 - Gardner
10.0 - Schache
10.0 - Naughton
9.5 - Macrae
9.3 - Williams
9.2 - Martin
8.9 - Daniel
6.9 - Duryea
4.7 - Cordy
3.1 - Ugle-Hagan
2.9 - Scott
2.9 - McNeil
0.7 - McComb
0.5 - Weightman
DNP - West

Time In Forward Half
Q1

WB: 52%
AD: 48%

Q2
WB: 36%
AD: 64%

Q3
WB: 47%
AD: 53%

Q4
WB: 42%
AD: 58%

Match
WB: 44%
AD: 56%

Pressure Gauge
Q1

WB: 192 (Above Average)
AD: 166 (Poor)

Q2
WB: 187 (Average)
AD: 184 (Average)

Q3
WB: 213 (Elite)
AD: 197 (Above Average)

Q4
WB: 203 (Elite)
AD: 210 (Elite)

Match
WB: 199 (Above Average)
AD: 187 (Average)

Free Kick Summary
View attachment 1381602

Score Sources
View attachment 1381603
Love that we have the best forward in the comp and we target him 5 times inside 50 in a whole game. What a waste

We definitely missed Hunter because if he plays McComb doesn’t (not a dig at McComb, but he isn’t best 22, Lachie is). But our absolutely putrid and pitiful delivery into F50 is not improved even 1% with Lachie playing.
Agree it’s not his disposal but he certainly provides the link to speed up entries inside 50. . We seemed scared to bring the ball down the outer wing all game and we’re disjointed when we did

Think your eyes a liability mate - not sure where you get your stats from but probably have another look. Weightman is a young developing small forward with a bit to work on but fu** sake a liability? He’s the only one who provides any pressure and the only small with any skill in that forward line
Maybe I could rephrase it - for someone who has the ability to be so much more he plays with a lack of intelligence, creating an element of inconsistent output that people tend to overstate.

I'm not really sure I read too much into thumping the bottom team who are specifically poor above and beyond how terrible they are anyway against opposition small forwards. Weightman had 40% disposal efficiency from his 10 touches today, and 4 efffective disposals and 4 turnovers despite having a 3/7 contested uncontested split is bad. He presents far too often as a marking target in a forward line that already has marking target and looks to attack the ball rather than manipulate space at the feet of bigget blokes or behind a contest than any 178cm bloke in the forward line should. Jack Higgins is nobody's idea of a more talented footballer than Weightman, but has kicked 9 goals in 2 games against better opposition playing a role to perfection. And Weightman simply doesn't win enough of the ball for someone who leads at it, flies at it, seeks it enough. He's had something like 17 effective kicks all season and that includes directly the 8 goals he's kicked. Less than 2 non-shot-at-goal effective kicks per game is just not good enough.

This is a tragic thing to happen and I don’t mean any disrespect.

But, the thing that shits me is that Bevo and the coaches should’ve made sure the team were ready to go regardless of what happened during the week.

It shouldn’t have been an emotional week. They should’ve just gotten in with things, and done what was needed.

It’s a constant with Bevo. Everything has to be heartfelt, and meaningful and soulful and so on. The emotional energy for the team/players must be exhausting at times surely?

My one true pet hate with Bevo. Who else takes issue with this? Or is it just me???

Let me guess, supporters ignoring the woeful player performance and blaming the coaches being out coached? 😂😂😂

FMD, it’s a genuine exercise in mind numbing nuffy football analysis.

Give us something different for once!!
You can't sack the players.
If the coaches can't get them to give effort or to perform adequately then they are the problem.

How dense do you have to be not to get this at this point?

Beaten by a side who were more desperate than us, simple as that.
But…this man on the mark sh*t. In deep defence I get it but 60 metres out why would you run back 5 metres so the opposition can just stab a pass to someone 40 out. Just like plain dumb.
Martin gets the tap on the shoulder and you take the best big man at the mid season draft.

Autopsy Canny Crows take a giant dump on dopey dogs from up high. 63-62.