Expansion Can't all the codes just get along??

I just don't like how a lot of people who don't like football, will pull you up when you call football the Australian game and say, How can you call it the Australian game when it's not the most popular sport in 2 states that represent over 1/2 the country? And are at the same time are happy to claim soccer as the world sport where 'X' countries that represent over 1/2 the worlds population show less interest per a capital in soccer than Football does in Qld and NSW.

One reason is because when you say "the Australian game" you are implying that other brands of football are somehow "unAustralian" or "not the Australian game".

No it's not. There are five big leagues.

i've noticed Serie-A's Crowds have dropped dramatically to something like 19,000.

And how long can fans of england clubs other than the big 4 continue going through the motions every year of watching the same 4 teams win every year. BORING.

One reason is because when you say "the Australian game" you are implying that other brands of football are somehow "unAustralian" or "not the Australian game".

Historically, factually and spiritually the Australian game is the one the AFL governs. Don't like it? Tough luck.

Claiming ownership of a game, in this case the English-invented rugby union and rugby league -- like the majority of Qlders and NSWers like to do -- does not dissolve the fact that it is an English invention.

Nothing "unAustralian" about pointing out these facts at all.

It is the code that officially calls itself Australian Football and the League is about to launch a history book of the game called "The Australian Game of Football". No other code does that. No one would dispute the Americans for calling their indigeneous game the American game or "American Football".

I hope the book is a sign that the League will more market itself as the Australian Game; it's worked for soccer as "the World Game". If other codes (derived from England) don't like it, that is bad luck. It is our invention and our only unique major contribution to this planet's rich tapestry of sports.

You should learn to read. "As I said before, soccer is much more popular than football, and in most countries, far more popular than any other sport." Just because because a sport is the most popular doesn't mean it unites the country. Australian football is the most popular sport in Australia, but for every one person who watches the grand final, there are 6 people who don't. It doesn't unite Australia.

As for world domination, there are 1.5 billion Indians who don't care, and who love cricket. That is the population of Europe and Africa combined. There is some interest in China, but from what I've seen there is more interest in basketball. So between these two countries, you have around three billion people not represented at the world cup, and really don't care that much about not being represented.

Then we can go to countries like Brazil with a population of 180 million or so, but can't find enough fans to average more than 10,000 to club games. So I have to question how much Brazilians even care about it. Yes it is more popular than any other sport in Brazil, but really how much do they care if they refuse to attend games.

I don't what know your point is. It's unreasonable in the extreme to expect all 6 billion plus individuals that inhabit this planet to be equally passionate about soccer. But it doesn't negate the fact that it's by far and away the most watched, important and Greatest Show On Earth bar none and yes that includes the Olympics which the World Cup dwarfs it by a significant margin. If you want true world recognition and standing then winning the World Cup would be the best way to go about it.

Andyzany, by saying soccer's not huge across Asia you are feeding into Genghis and Hoops' argument. About 60% of all the world's population is in Asia.

I would say that at least 50% (30% of the world population according to your figures) of asia is as passionate about soccer as others are around the world. The other half to varying degrees but soccer would still be among the top 3 sports in those nations. All in all soccer has no peers when it comes to international appeal, IT IS THE ONLY SPORT THAT CAN TRULY CLAIM TO BE A WORLD SPORT.

Neither the Knights nor the Jets home and games crowds demand a 40k stadium you're right, but the 3 main reasons why an upgrade to 40k is an issue are:
1. When you make the NRL Finals you can now earn a home final for all except the Grand Final, and they are all guaranteed sellouts.
2. Ditto for the A-League, except you can even host a Grand Final.
3. It's a perfect venue for 2018 World Cup Football pool games.

Which explain why it's a waste of resources. Your first event would be lucky to happen once a year (and given there are 6 such games in the whole NRL and 16 clubs, it would average 1 per 2.66 years). Your second event would only happen once every 8 (soon to be 10) years, and the 3rd is about a 1 in 1000 chance of happening.

It's pretty bloody obvious that they need a 40k stadium like Perth needs a 120k stadium. Sure it'd be nice, but it'd hardly ever get filled.

Which explain why it's a waste of resources. Your first event would be lucky to happen once a year (and given there are 6 such games in the whole NRL and 16 clubs, it would average 1 per 2.66 years). Your second event would only happen once every 8 (soon to be 10) years, and the 3rd is about a 1 in 1000 chance of happening.

It's pretty bloody obvious that they need a 40k stadium like Perth needs a 120k stadium. Sure it'd be nice, but it'd hardly ever get filled.

Newcastles Football Stadium has undergone extensive renovation in recent years to accomodate fans in the comfort which they have come to demand and expect. I think that is the most important thing for Newcastle and their loyal fans, not significantly increasing capacity.

I don't what know your point is. It's unreasonable in the extreme to expect all 6 billion plus individuals that inhabit this planet to be equally passionate about soccer. But it doesn't negate the fact that it's by far and away the most watched, important and Greatest Show On Earth bar none and yes that includes the Olympics which the World Cup dwarfs it by a significant margin. If you want true world recognition and standing then winning the World Cup would be the best way to go about it.

I would say that at least 50% (30% of the world population according to your figures) of asia is as passionate about soccer as others are around the world. The other half to varying degrees but soccer would still be among the top 3 sports in those nations. All in all soccer has no peers when it comes to international appeal, IT IS THE ONLY SPORT THAT CAN TRULY CLAIM TO BE A WORLD SPORT.

The only sport that can be called a world sport?

Tennis anyone? Perhaps Athletics, gymnastics and basketball?

What is this world domination thing with soccer?

Motor racing has a few fans around the world as well.

Let's all chill out. If you want to continue go have a spelling bee offline.

it's a great day. Great future ahead for the great game of world football.

Read the headlines:

Hosting World Cup worth billions to Australia
By Tom Smithies
February 29, 2008 12:00am

THE full magnitude of what hosting the 2018 World Cup could bring to Australia can be revealed today as a government report highlights the billions of dollars of economic benefits.

Just days after Prime Minister Kevin Rudd pledged his Government's backing, the report revealed the financial boost Japan and Korea enjoyed after hosting the 2002 World Cup - a staggering $27 billion.

And one for the regional cities of this geat country:

Proposed funding would lift facilities to international class
By Teo Pellizzeri

A synthetic pitch and an international standard training facility are two projects Shepparton's soccer community could receive as part of a major funding upgrade....

Rural areas such as Shepparton, Geelong, Bendigo, Ballarat and Gippsland would be part of the proposed upgrade. ...

The World Cup is GOOD.

So who are the clowns that don't want the world cup??? Speak up and show yourself now you unhelpful, unAustralian swine.

Yeah, and America can let a Canadian baseball team join their league and suddenly it is "the world series". Global domination is a useful marketing trick, even if it has no basis in reality. Some people are easily fooled.

Let's all chill out. If you want to continue go have a spelling bee offline.

it's a great day. Great future ahead for the great game of world football.

Read the headlines:

Hosting World Cup worth billions to Australia
By Tom Smithies
February 29, 2008 12:00am

THE full magnitude of what hosting the 2018 World Cup could bring to Australia can be revealed today as a government report highlights the billions of dollars of economic benefits.

Just days after Prime Minister Kevin Rudd pledged his Government's backing, the report revealed the financial boost Japan and Korea enjoyed after hosting the 2002 World Cup - a staggering $27 billion.

And one for the regional cities of this geat country:

Proposed funding would lift facilities to international class
By Teo Pellizzeri

A synthetic pitch and an international standard training facility are two projects Shepparton's soccer community could receive as part of a major funding upgrade....

Rural areas such as Shepparton, Geelong, Bendigo, Ballarat and Gippsland would be part of the proposed upgrade. ...

The World Cup is GOOD.

So who are the clowns that don't want the world cup??? Speak up and show yourself now you unhelpful, unAustralian swine.

I find it strange that if a world cup can bring $27 billion to a country, Brazil was the only bidder for the 2014 world cup. Even if some informal deal was made to give it to South America, why did not other South American countries bid?

Sounds like the federal government is trying to justify giving all this money to soccer in the face of public criticism about what it is doing.

I find it strange that if a world cup can bring $27 billion to a country, Brazil was the only bidder for the 2014 world cup. Even if some informal deal was made to give it to South America, why did not other South American countries bid?

Sounds like the federal government is trying to justify giving all this money to soccer in the face of public criticism about what it is doing.

Would you be complaining if the government was spending this money on the AFL? Why are you so worried?

I am against government intereference in industries. Government funding is messing with the natural balance of the sporting market.

It particularly bothers me with soccer because so many of the clubs are privately owned. It bothers me a little with rugby league because the competition is half privately owned and many of the clubs are privately owned. I don't really like rugby union, but government aid for the code wouldn't bother me so much because it is not privately owned. Likewise, football is community owned. Even so, I'm not keen on the government giving it any money.

It also bothers me because all this money is spent on upgrading these stadiums that rugby league and soccer will never use or never fill. Admitedly, soccer is now using some of those stadiums that were built for rugby league so the damage isn't so bad, but it is only a matter of time before Australian soccer goes the way of South American soccer and the stadiums will become white elephants.

You have gotta be joking. Mate, you're in denial if you seriously believe all the crap you've just posted. In the Americas it's only in Canada and the US that the beautiful game isn't numero uno. In Africa and Europe the same thing no other game can hold a handle to soccer, it's by far and away the most popular sport. It's only in Asia where soccer popularity differs from country to country but it's guaranteed to be among the top 3 in any given asian country. Don't let your hatred or disdain of soccer blind you from the truth or you risk coming across as a deluded fool.

In the Americas its only in Canada & US that soccer isn't No.1?

Have you been to Venezuela? Cuba? Dominican Republic? Have you heard of something called baseball?

Kicks Soccer's arse all over the floor in these places, and venture a little east, to the West Indies, and you might want to tell the locals that cricket and basketball are marginal sports in these countries!

What crap!

Check your facts before you spout off falsehoods!

Are you happier that the Vic State Government spends $38 million on the Grand Prix instead? That runs for 3 days, in only one city. and has bugger all benefit.

Soccer $30million world cup cost is spread among all states (let's assume its $4.2mln per state), lasts 2 weeks and may have a little more benefit you'd reckon.

Are you happier that the Vic State Government spends $38 million on the Grand Prix instead? That runs for 3 days, in only one city. and has bugger all benefit.

Soccer $30million world cup cost is spread among all states (let's assume its $4.2mln per state), lasts 2 weeks and may have a little more benefit you'd reckon.

$30 million for about 8 new stadiums you reckon?

You and your mates going to whack together a few bits of chipboard from Bunnings on the cheap?

The recently-scrapped rotation policy was in place during the 2014 bidding process, meaning only South American countries were eligible to apply. Columbia also expressed interest, but was discouraged late in the piece by the South American confederation. Out of the rest of the continent, probably only Argentina possesses the necessary resources to host an event as big as what the World Cup is nowadays.

As for all the discussion about soccer's popularity in Asia, fact is it is still the continent's most popular sport even if it isn't the most popular sport in every country. It leaves the competition for dead in the Middle East and South East Asia (Phillipines aside), and, depending on the country, is number one or two in East Asia, (China, Japan, South Korea etc).

Even on the sub-continent it is still widely played - if they're not picking up a cricket bat in Mumbai or Columbo, chances are they're kicking a soccer ball instead (India/Pakistan's glorious hockey history is unfortunately an incresingly distant memory)

$30 million for about 8 new stadiums you reckon?

You and your mates going to whack together a few bits of chipboard from Bunnings on the cheap?

You might be on the money there. Soccer will have to start saving money to pay the ridiculous amounts its starting to pay its A-league players.

The $1.4 million that John Aliosi is getting at Sydney FC is a discgrace - its more than Judd or any other AFL footballer FFS.

You might be on the money there. Soccer will have to start saving money to pay the ridiculous amounts its starting to pay its A-league players.

The $1.4 million that John Aliosi is getting at Sydney FC is a discgrace - its more than Judd or any other AFL footballer FFS.

What are all the other A-league players on?

60,000 a year on average?

$1.4m for a 32 year old ageing socceroo hack with bad knees who was playing 2nd division in spain. What a waste of money.

What's the point of having these markee players when only one club can afford the wod. Who's perth Glory's markee player, some suburban hack?

The A-league are desperate to get rid of the salary cap to get better players but doing so would bleed the weaker teams and Melbourne and Sydney would play in the GF every year. So they'll have to do with the same old shit players for now.:thumbsu:

What's the point of having these markee players when only one club can afford the wod. Who's perth Glory's markee player, some suburban hack?

The A-league are desperate to get rid of the salary cap to get better players but doing so would bleed the weaker teams and Melbourne and Sydney would play in the GF every year. So they'll have to do with the same old shit players for now.:thumbsu:

Although the salary cap is good for the NRL and AFL, I actually think soccer would be better off without it. It would allow Sydney and Melbourne to dominate every year, and perhaps have some of this markee players. Soccer especially seems to need them. Also, a lot of soccer fans around the world from loser teams don't actually care that much about winning. For them, holding a glamour team to a draw is very satisfying for them. Also, its possible in soccer because ability is not always reflected on the scoreboard. All they really need is hope that they can win, and in soccer that hope is always there.

That said, a big part of soccer's strategy in Australia seems to be to undermine rugby league in regional areas, so it probably does need this salary cap to achieve that objective.

The $1.4 million that John Aloisi is getting at Sydney FC is a discgrace - its more than Judd or any other AFL footballer FFS.

A breakdown of Aloisi’s $1.4 million annual salary would probably be

$500,000 for his skill in front of goal
$400,000 for the continuing marketing potential of his goal against Uruguay
$500,000 for the marketing potential of his good looks.

As the clubs come of age, they will start to onsell players to other leagues. The recent sale of Queensland Roar's Brazilian Reinaldo to the Korean club Pusan for almost a million dollars is a sign of things to come.

Expansion Can't all the codes just get along??