Captain Juddy

ONE EYE

Mar 3, 2001
PERTH,WA,AUSTRALIA
The Package now has a 100% winning record as Captain.

His game last night was chock full of leadership qualities. Those who have seen him on Ch9 News would have noticed his growing confidence with Public Speaking.

The question is when should he be offered the Captaincy.

Certainly it could be used as a reward for staying with the Eagles at the end of 2005. In 2006 he will be going on 22. By this time I think he will be ready.

This is no disrespect to Ben Cousins as he has been a great example of how to prepare for AFL Football and is an inspirational leader on Match Day.

However, Judd could be in the leadership mould of Voss, Stevens, Buckley and Riccuto. Steely characters indeed who others follow by example. AFL leadership is about mental and physical toughness and I see Judd heading that way. With his brilliance he could also lead by example.

What do you think?

GO EAGLES!

"Steely characters indeed who others follow by example. AFL leadership is about mental and physical toughness and I see Judd heading that way."

You won't get any more steely than Cousins. Judd does not have the same toughness of character in Cuz. Judd is a brilliant player, fast, flashy and silky skilled, but Cuz has all the attributes of a great capt.

Cuz will always be a better Capt than Judd.

Originally posted by Goldenblue
You won't get any more steely than Cousins. Judd does not have the same toughness of character in Cuz. Judd is a brilliant player, fast, flashy and silky skilled, but Cuz has all the attributes of a great capt.

Cuz will always be a better Capt than Judd.

I can't agree, although I doubt that Cuz will lose the captaincy.

IMHO Cuz leads by example (not so much this year) but is not a natural leader. For the last few years the defacto leader has been Jako. He revved and pumped the side up.The best capatain that never was!!!!

Juddy has the attributes of leadership naturaly and by example. However, my gut feel is that he will be gone at the end of next season no matter what. The Vic media mant him to badly.

as i said on EFH:
I think a cousins/judd co-captaincy would work. It's an insult to Ben's hard work over the last few years to demote him from captain, but at the same time, I think Judd would make an excellent captain at it would give him more incentive to stay with the WCE

Originally posted by Frodo
However, my gut feel is that he will be gone at the end of next season no matter what. The Vic media mant him to badly.

What does the Vic media have to do with anything? He doesn't even read the papers.

I reckon Judd will either be sole captain next year or co-captain with cousins. I'd be surprised if it didn't happen. Who knows, cuz may even welcome giving up the head leadership role for a while.

I don't think dumping Cousins would be smart.

Making one star happy just to get another upset.

A co captaincy thing could work well though.

Cousins has done nothing to get demoted, and Judd has done everything to be given the captaincy.

Jumping the gun a bit I reckon Judd would be an excellent captain in seasons to come but theres none better at our club than Cuzzy.

He's led from the front & by example for yrs. I wouldn't be surprised if he gave Woosha's record as captain a run.

Originally posted by Weagle8
I reckon Judd will either be sole captain next year or co-captain with cousins. I'd be surprised if it didn't happen. Who knows, cuz may even welcome giving up the head leadership role for a while.

Grow a brain mate, co-captains will never happen and the eagles would/will not take the captaincy off Cuz. Plus Judd being the type of person you can see he is would never agree to it, so for you and the rest of you ( not just picking on you Weagle8 ) get your hand off it!!:confused:

Originally posted by coasting
What does the Vic media have to do with anything? He doesn't even read the papers.

The Vic media is the newspapers are most importantly the TV people. They know he is out of contract, that he is a Victorian, and a champion and that combined force will put enormous pressure on Juddy to go home. Pressure we in WA can not even envisage. Even $500K a year is probably not enough with what sponsoes, media driven will offer him in addition to salary. Judd is the next Carey...a Victorian God...and they will do anything to get him. The nett effect is that we will probably get offered a very good trade.

IMHO our only chance is if we make top 4 next season..and that could happen. The prospect of a medal in the short term may persuade him into another 2 year contract at say $400K. Get that far and at contact end Cuz will be 29 and we can offer the captaincy then to Judd.

And I respect your opinion.

But tell me, when was the last time you talked with Juddy?

And the last time you talked with him and he told you he was going back to Victoria, was?

You spout some incredible shizen Frodo.

For the last few years the defacto leader has been Jako. He revved and pumped the side up.The best capatain that never was!!!!
This is what you/we see, but this is not really what happens.

Jako thinks and acts like a leader, but my mail is that he is far from it. Jako may assume the role, but most of the players take him with a pinch of salt.

How many times do you need this pointed out to you before you get it? John Todd has come out and said it, and Chis Mainwaring has come out and said it. There was a reason why Jako wasn't given the captaincy ahead of McKenna, Kemp, and Cousins.

My gut feeling is that Cousins is the man for the job. Offering the job to Judd as part of a package to keep him at the Eagles would be foolish - unless it was clearly apparent that he would be a much better captain that Cousins. And there is absolutely no evidence to suggest that so far.

From an impartial point of view I reckon give Juddy the captaincy now.

This may be upset a few but I reckon the WCE looked better without Ben coughing it up and doing his little one-two gives that inflate his stats (although Fletch tried to take up his slack).

Overall they looked far more dangerous as they were far more direct.

Cheers

Originally posted by WestCoastJonny
Grow a brain mate, co-captains will never happen and the eagles would/will not take the captaincy off Cuz. Plus Judd being the type of person you can see he is would never agree to it, so for you and the rest of you ( not just picking on you Weagle8 ) get your hand off it!!:confused:

For a start, "mate", unless you are an insider at the club, you're response is no less an opinion than mine. I didn't say it would definitely happen, I said I would be surprised if Judd wasn't at least offered a co- captaincy. How do you know it will never happen? The club will be doing anything they can to keep him here when he comes out of contract at the end of next season and he does seem like leadership material so why is it so impossible? I think you're the one who needs to "get your hand off it". (BTW I dont have one to get my hand off, so there.)

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
From an impartial point of view I reckon give Juddy the captaincy now.

This may be upset a few but I reckon the WCE looked better without Ben coughing it up and doing his little one-two gives that inflate his stats (although Fletch tried to take up his slack).

Cheers

Turn it up.

I'd say that's more to do with the much improved performance of our KPPs (particularly in last 2 weeks) and hence confidence in going straight down the middle to contests. We actually have some players now that can take a grab. I don't think we can read to much into Judd's one week of captaincy except that he handled it well. If Cousins played, I'm sure the Eagles would have played with the same confidence and the more direct style.

This may be upset a few but I reckon the WCE looked better without Ben coughing it up and doing his little one-two gives that inflate his stats

I think that may be too ridiculous to upset anyone.

I would not have thought it either , but who can honestly say that he was missed last night?

Just because they did a great job of covering for him, doesn't mean that he's a liability. As was already said, our KPPs are finally rising to the challenge which enables us to play more directly, that's why we looked more dangerous.

Originally posted by Milkman
Just because they did a great job of covering for him, doesn't mean that he's a liability. As was already said, our KPPs are finally rising to the challenge, so we're able to play much more directly, that's why we looked more dangerous.

I didn't mean to give the impression that he was a liability (although Whoosh needs to tell Cuz to be more direct).
Ben tries to do too much himself sometimes (probably a legacy of 2001)

It is just that the players looked to put in more, and have cleaner clearances with Juddy in charge.

Just a better structure all round.

Cheers.

Captain Juddy