Ethicals are the natural enemy to cops as cops are to crooks and both operate in a similar culture. imo. No speakies.
Tony Mokbel's doing his time quietly, there's been no talk of him trying to cut any deals.
When I was working at Barwon, there were three (3) crooks you didn't upset, well two (2) crooks and a group of (at that stage, alleged) crooks.
1. Benbrika and his crew. They were only on remand and the case was the first of it's type ever tried in Australia, we had to walk on eggshells when dealing with them. They were in Acacia so were only ever moved individually by two (2) officers and they would be in security chubb cuffs. The would carry around a little note book and a pencil. They would write down everything you said to try and use against you in getting their conditions / regime improved.
One example of their treatment was drug testing. Any other crook would be grabbed with no notice, placed in a cell that is set aside specifically for doing urines and told to buzz up when they were ready to provide a sample. They would be strip searched and watched as the sample was provided.
Benbrika and his crew. Hey Nacer, we need a urine sample, there's 4 hours before lock-up, give us a buzz whenever you're ready to go and we'll give you a bottle to piss in. Just left to return to his cell or roam the day room until ready.
**When Benbrika and his crew were at the remand stage, during prisoner counts, they didn't have to stand by their open cell doors like the prisoners did in the rest of the prison (with the exception of Banksia management unit and Melaleuca high security unit). They were allowed to just sit on chairs in their cells.
Before I left the prison, I transitioned from working fulltime to casual. To do that, you aren't allowed to work there for 4 weeks so they can make sure all of your entitlements are paid out to you. It was during this 4 week period that Benbrika was convicted and sentenced. When I eventually started back at the prison as a casual, my first shift was in Hoya where Benbrika was now being housed with the pedo's and rapists and kiddie killers. During the first proper count at 08:30, I was walking around the wings marking them off when I came up to Benbrika's cell. He was sitting there on his chair looking at me. I told him to get up, he refused and said that he didn't have to, he didn't recognise us and he had permission to be seated during counts. I told him not anymore, he's a convicted crook like the rest of them. Get up. No. I kicked him off the chair, he started complaining so I told him to stand up and shut the **** up.
Once I had finished my count, I took my board back to the console and the supervisor asked me what had happened. I told her and her and the other staff started laughing. I asked them what was so funny and they told me that he still had permission to sit during counts. When the all clear was given and they were told to break off, Benbrika came straight up to the console to complain, the supervisor told him to piss off and write that one down in his little book.
2. Carl. The cops were trying to mine him for info. He basically got what he wanted within the constraints of a maximum security prison, including the much heralded trip to Lorne with George and their girlfriends.
** With regards to Carl's girlfriend / fiancé. She was a lot younger than him, pretty nice looking and as far as the staff were concerned a nice person. She used to come in quite a bit, in the latter stages sporting a huge rock on her finger. While she was visiting him in prison it was all hunky dory, a peck on the cheek, hold hands, talk sweet to each other. Once they'd been down to Lorne, she didn't come in for months. Staff speculated that spending the night with him was a whole different kettle of fish, she would have had to get physical with him, and obviously didn't like it..
She came in about 3 months later, I processed her in. It was mentioned that we hadn't seen her for quite a while. She quietly said that she was only coming in because Roberta had threatened her, told she had to come in and break it off officially and the ring had to be returned. It was Roberta that gave the press her name.
Roberta was / is a nasty piece of work. In contrast Carl was a model prisoner. The only time he got cranky was when the authorities, according to him, reneged on their deal not to lock George up. George ended up in Barwon with Carl, sharing a unit together. It was they only time in the 4 years that I was there that Johnson wasn't in with Carl. Once George was released, they put Johnson back in with Carl. Johnson was shitty about the separation. I guess being housed with Carl, some of the extra privileges flowed over to him.
3. Mokbel, same as Carl, early days the cops were trying to get information out of him so we had to treat him with kids gloves. He was an arrogant ****, he and Goussis had a whole unit within Acacia to themselves. Big cells, good exercise equipment, big day room and a nice patch of lawn to do what they wanted on.
**Unlike mainsteam, units like Acacia had their own visitor centre and to have a visit, the time had to be booked in advance due to limited visitor rooms and staff availability. Mokbel's son who was about 18 and daughter who was about 15 or 16, used to have a standing visit of around 1pm on a Sunday and they used to show up like clockwork. One Sunday they've shown up at 10am and we were flat out. They moved up to the counter and the officer next to me was processing them in. He commented that he was early and that he'd just have to call up the unit to make sure there was room in the visit centre to accommodate them and that they had enough staff available to make it happen, to which the son replied "We come in, you process us, we go and do the visit, that's how things are done around here", to which my colleague hung up the phone without making the call and said to Mokbel Jnr that his visit was booked in for 1pm and he's have to go and wait in the visitor centre outside until 1pm. The son and daughter have both protested and were told to leave.
They left and went outside to the visitor centre (staffed by volunteers from a church group). Once they got out there, the son has obviously called daddy's lawyer who has in turn called VicPol who have in turn called Corrections Victoria hierarchy. Within 10 minutes all hell had broken loose. After a lot of name calling and finger pointing, the visit was allowed to go ahead early.
In the afternoon while locking everything up after visits had finished for the day, I was locking up the visit centre outside so was doing the usual checks of it. In the toilets was a lot of nice fresh, expletive laden grafitti aimed at prison staff. It was in both the men's and women's toilets.
The apple certainly didn't fall far from the tree in that family.
Haven't heard anything there or not paying attention. Same as he was using before?
There's a series of suppression orders so large and nasty I'm not going to go anywhere near them even here.
But Mokbel's trial was an absolute sham.
Yes, heard about these crazy suppression orders. These are the ones with no sunset or expiry?
From the bits I know about that, agree.
Yep on the suppression orders and the investigation, as shown in the linked, sits in a locked box down at IBAC never to see the light of day.
If the details came out there'd have to be a Royal Commission so far reaching it would cause the legal system to grind to a halt.
Could Tony have already done a deal covered in the locked box and will be quietly released? I don't get it ... why he plead guilty?
Can we talk about Nicola Gobbo now?
This page has been left blank intentionally
Popped over to ibac to have a look see at what y'all talking about. The report opens up ominously with the following words:
Just because we're taxpayers, doesn't make us saps. Spill the beans ya plonkers. This aint Dallas!
Popped over to ibac to have a look see at what y'all talking about. The report opens up ominously with the following words:
Just because we're taxpayers, doesn't make us saps. Spill the beans ya plonkers. This aint Dallas!
Suppression orders probably seemed like a good idea at the time. Absolute rort the way their powers are being abused these days.
How much are we as citizens to blame? We seem more preoccupied with the Hillary shenanigans and The Don's favourite adult actress than we are with what is happening in our own backyard.
Exactly, anything could be hiding behind these suppression orders and probably is. That it took a judge to complain about them to get the right attention is quite damning imo.
I recall a prominent female journalist on The Drum saying the public would be absolutely horrified if we knew even half the stuff they weren't allowed to report on.
Heaps of people won't to sign the sorry book in there I hear .Who'd want to hang with Johnson after he staved Carl's head in?
Or the full list of Benbrika's preferred targets. One in particular was deemed too inflammatory to be made public as it would have prejudiced the defence.
Have to say that if it came out, I have a feeling he wouldn't be with us any more.
Or the full list of Benbrika's preferred targets. One in particular was deemed too inflammatory to be made public as it would have prejudiced the defence.
Have to say that if it came out, I have a feeling he wouldn't be with us any more.
Do suppression orders not have an expiry date?Exactly, anything could be hiding behind these suppression orders and probably is. That it took a judge to complain about them to get the right attention is quite damning imo.
I recall a prominent female journalist on The Drum saying the public would be absolutely horrified if we knew even half the stuff they weren't allowed to report on.