Central Highlands Part 2

My tips for the upcoming year
Top 6 - Same five as last year and Beaufort and Bungaree pushing to be the sixth team.
Learmonth to be the pace setters with the other clubs all pushing hard behind them.
Hepburn will be once again a powerhuse, but Uhi will be a massive loss to fill.
Daylesford will be a totally different team with plenty of new young kids coming through and also big experienced players arriving.
Waubra, no idea but always tough
Buninyong will take another step forward. Premierships are built over three years but who knows this year with them.
Beaufort are the dark horse and if they have recruited well will cause some massive upsets.
And bungaree are talked up every year and have always dissapointed but james brick is a gun and will be one of the best midfielders in the league. As will justin Rumble, can win a match off of his own boot.
Coxy to win the goal kicking and no idea on the league B&F
Hopefully this gets everyone back onto talking footy and not bagging each others teams because it makes the league and its clubs look like bickering fools.

Top 3: Hepburn, Daylesford, Waubra. (Still a class above the rest)

Next 3: Learmonth, Dunnstown, Buninyong. (Making up the numbers in 6)

Next 4: Bungaree, Beaufort, Ballan, Newlyn. (Miles away)

Bottom 4: Clunes, Creswick, Springbank, Gordon. (Will struggle)

Brown for the goalkicking, Adams for the B&F - polls votes because of who he is not how well he plays, Hepburn for premiers. (Is Uhi going or staying???)

Rumble definately 1 to watch, Brick coming off a poor year at the bottom team in the BFL - not convinced.

KEVIN BRUCE is right. Daylesford should give all the proceeds of their stealth fundraiser to the bushfire appeal.[/quote]

There are so many angry people on this site, I wonder what would have happened if you were alive in the 60's when there was so much free loving.

As for news at Learmonth, We will be playing Gordon underlights round 1, Newlyn underlights round 3 and will be discussing with Hepburn to have our round 8 game played under lights as well.
This week we play some side from the Loddon Valley at Learmonth (All grades) after Hamilton Imperials pulled out due to a lack of numbers. The following week we play St Arnaud at Learmonth in all grades as well. Majority of the senior players will be playing except the ones with niggling injuries and cricket finals. New players to the club that are playing seniors on the weekend are Philpots X 2 (Nth City), Dyson George (Nth City), Wilbur Lionjelm (Nhill), David Box (Dunnstown), Luke Kennelly (Ballarat-Assistant coach). All these players are vying for a spot from our prelim side that was beaten from Dford so we should see an improvement this year which all sides will expect. Unavail this week T & AJ Beacham cricket, B Powell wedding, Tiny Cantwell (Darwin), S Quiddington (Inj) L Davey (Bowls final), so some pressure on the guys who are playing to perform and keep these guys unavailable out of the senior side for round 1.

Looks like the competition is evening up which is good, RYANG I would like to ask why you still dont rate Learmonth? Its your opinion, but we have been very competitive with both Dford and Waubra and boast good records against both in the past 3 years. Yes Hepburn has had our measure, but the other 2 I would have classed us in the same area. Beaufort to be the BIG improvers, have picked up some classy midfielders, but do they ahve enough fire power up forward and down back to close the gap on the top sides? Time will tell? Buninyong will be there abouts, hard midfield led bt coultard & Gilbert with good running power and carry from Morgan. Need another key forward to help Tranquilli, and have recruited a good backman in Bowen Harvey but probably need one more key down there. Looking good! Bungaree?? Question mark still out on Bungaree- Long way of teh pace last year and need J Reid to play forward as they will struggle to kick a winning score with Nicholson gone. Dunnstown, not sure about, haven heard anything, but are always competitive. BAllan, have picked up BIG steve James former premiership ruckman at Melton, and a premiership rover from Melton as well (Name alludes me). Also picked up Jenkins from Redan though it will be intersting to see how his body holds up. Hard at it and will be a big bonus in the coaching box, they will be hard to beat at home,,,,,

Well lets see if we can stick to footy................and all are welcome to come and watch the Mighty Red caps this week in teh cricket at the Western Oval as we strive for 3 premierships in a row!!! Pity I cant win a footy one...

OK Crusader. 1, i havnt told any lies and 2, your Daylesford mates are the foul mouthed ones who continually get on here and bag out Hepburns coach, president and others, topped off by your premiership coach now at Newlyn. So if you want to be the great crusader, clean up your own mates first. Also, on the raffle. come on. Does anyone read the whole board when buying a raffle ticket? No. Especially when it is for the bushfire victims. Daylesford simply saw a quick way to make a buck out of someone elses tragedy. Do the right thing, and give all the money to the victims.

You have it wrong. Daylesford were always planning the raffle, in fact it was planned well before the bushfires even happened. So the decision was made POST fires to give half the proceeds to the appeal. How does that make the club in the wrong? The raffle was always being run, originally with all proceeds going to Dford. Then it was decided to donate half the proceeds to the appeal. So your saying that makes us wrong?
As for Hepburn raising all that money for the appeal, i applaud them and they so they should be for using their obviously well organised fund raising team to do this for people in need. Their club is in a position to be able to do this where other clubs just cant, and thats in every league through australia. Some clubs struggle raising money and can only give what they can (every little bit counts right?). If Daylesford could only afford to give half the proceeds then good on them for that. Are you going to bag out a low income earner for donating $10 as apposed to a corporate exec donating $10,000?? I didnt think so, so why bag Daylesford? They made a decision to chop into their yearly fund raising targets so they could contribute to the appeal.

So, as crusader said, get your facts straight. Its obvious you dont like daylesford and thats fine, we are in a competitive game. But by you coming on here and trying to bury the integrity of the daylesford club and using the bushfires as your ammunition then your the one that really needs to check your morals.

Heres how i think the ladder will look at seasons end.

1. Hepburn - Still the best
2. Learmonth - Could get even closer this year.
3. Waubra - Havnt heard much about... but are always up there.
4. Daylesford - Their list is getting older and will lose a few more they didnt use too.
5. Buninyong - One key forward short of being top 2
6. Bungaree - Have recruited an entire midfield plus more.

7. Beaufort - Have gained some top quality players
8. Dunnstown - Have lost alot but were able to keep sawyers.
9. Ballan - same as last year
10. Newlyn - same as last year
11. Creswick - just not good enough
12. Clunes - havnt heard a thing about.
13. Springbank - gained a fair few uni students.
14. Gordon - meh...

Newlyn will knock on the door this year will improve from last year out of sight under new coach funny how everyone talks about a club when they get a new coach. Would be good if half the shit was true

To be quite honest, i heard about it on the weekend but dismissed it as just beer talk. After all, Daylesford couldnt be that stupid, insesitive, callous, rude, or just plain dumb, could they? Well aparantly they have. Everyone talking about it in Ballarat and one fella i know said he saw it with his own eyes. Unfortunately i never did, so i cant confirm 100 per cent. Your previous post sounded like a guilty plea though.

Not a guilty plea at all given I know nothing about the situation, just saying its probably best not to get abusive if you don't really know the whole story.

Like I said, I know nothing of the situation.

Brown for the goalkicking, Adams for the B&F - polls votes because of who he is not how well he plays, Hepburn for premiers. (Is Uhi going or staying???)

Rumble definately 1 to watch, Brick coming off a poor year at the bottom team in the BFL - not convinced.

KEVIN BRUCE is right. Daylesford should give all the proceeds of their stealth fundraiser to the bushfire appeal.
[/I][/I]

Just a question here for you: How do u place Beaufort in the Miles away category, when last season they had 2 draws in DUnnstown and they should have won at least 1 of them. And considering dunnstown have got a fair few new faces in their crew. Also that they nearly beat Learmonth?

KEVIN BRUCE is right. Daylesford should give all the proceeds of their stealth fundraiser to the bushfire appeal. [/i][/i]

Just a question here for you: How do u place Beaufort in the Miles away category, when last season they had 2 draws in DUnnstown and they should have won at least 1 of them. And considering dunnstown have got a fair few new faces in their crew. Also that they nearly beat Learmonth?

'Nearly' and 'should have'?? Darley SHOULD HAVE and NEARLY won the BFL flag last year but they didn't. Geelong SHOULD HAVE won the AFL flag but they didn't. Nearly should've could've would've might've are all things you won't here around successful football clubs. All that counts is CAN WILL & DID. How did Beaufort go against Hepburn? You've already stated that they dropped games that you say they SHOULD HAVE or NEARLY won. Beaufort will improve, I have no doubt about that, but in my opinion they will still be miles away from challenging the top sides. Yes they have picked up some good players but don't forget one of the best players in the league in Andrew Burchell has been lost.

Learmonth I probably have been a little unkind to your mob. I do rate your side higher than Dunnstown and Buninyong and you do have the capacity to roll the other three, BUT, and I reckon you will acknowledge this, Learmonth have a tendency to drop games against sides lower than them on the ladder, something that rarely happens at Hep/Wau/Day. I'll admit that I don't know a lot about your recruits apart from Kennelly and Box, but I just think you are a little way off Hepburn Waubra & Daylesford when they & you are all at full strength. You've surprised me during the last few finals series and you may well do it again. Time will tell.

i wasn't putting beaufort up with Hepburn neway but alright. as for the other parts i was just justifying why Beaufort isn't way off the likes dunnstown and learmonth.

i don't want to make a big deal of this so u don't have to reply. petty squables are what make forums suck.

im slightly amused at this thread.
those who have left the burras this year have done so for personal reasons so how is that all robbos fault?? no one's perfect but most people at hepburn maintain that he is the best coach we've seen and i'm one of them. just ask if you want to know why i left this year...
and sorry timmy, i did manage to bag a b&f in the 18s in 2005. haha no love lost i hope.
its so easy to hate on those on top and pick out their faults but why bother?? if youre not there shouldn't you be more worried about your own backyard and catching up??

and sorry timmy, i did manage to bag a b&f in the 18s in 2005. haha no love lost i hope..N.Walsh

just a simple sorry will do timmy!!

Daylesford..give the raffle money to the Fire victims you leeches :(

You have it wrong. Daylesford were always planning the raffle, in fact it was planned well before the bushfires even happened. So the decision was made POST fires to give half the proceeds to the appeal. How does that make the club in the wrong? The raffle was always being run, originally with all proceeds going to Dford. Then it was decided to donate half the proceeds to the appeal. So your saying that makes us wrong?
As for Hepburn raising all that money for the appeal, i applaud them and they so they should be for using their obviously well organised fund raising team to do this for people in need. Their club is in a position to be able to do this where other clubs just cant, and thats in every league through australia. Some clubs struggle raising money and can only give what they can (every little bit counts right?). If Daylesford could only afford to give half the proceeds then good on them for that. Are you going to bag out a low income earner for donating $10 as apposed to a corporate exec donating $10,000?? I didnt think so, so why bag Daylesford? They made a decision to chop into their yearly fund raising targets so they could contribute to the appeal.

So, as crusader said, get your facts straight. Its obvious you dont like daylesford and thats fine, we are in a competitive game. But by you coming on here and trying to bury the integrity of the daylesford club and using the bushfires as your ammunition then your the one that really needs to check your morals.
I'd rather talk about footy, but this seems to be the topic at the moment. First this thread seems to be dominated by Hepburn / Daylesford talk. Daylesford saying something, then us replying, causing a sh.t fight.
dford dog you say that we have well organised fund raising team. Don't worry we would have loved to have kept the money we raised. The fact is even if we had no helpers, were on the bottom, and were broke, we still would have ran exactly the same event. We felt it was the least we could do for the CFA. And we still will raise the money we require to run the club this season. And we loved doing it., a lot of fun and pleasure out of helping those who saved a lot of our houses....( i might add that some Daylesford people generously donated items for the night so thank you)
But you mentioned that the raffle was already organised, and you inferred that you don't have the manpower to raise huge amounts of money. You would know better than me about this.
My observation, and its mine not the clubs, is that you are always running a different raffle in the main st of Daylesford. ( almost weekly) with numerous people manning the tables. Some i havn't seen before. So im wondering how it was organised well in advance? Im happy to buy a ticket, or a last man standing ticket, as most of you's do in return.... Its only when i walk past the same raffle two days later and there is a different person manning the table who looks at me thinking ( Hepburn prick for not buying a ticket) which pisses me off.

Maybe its only when you play us or finals, but to me you have a huge following.... So get your fans to help out a bit, if their not pulling their weight.
We have a running joke that if you go on our committee , the only way to get off is to die! It's always the same people.. and its the same right throughout the CHFL... travel to Clunes for a game and you will always see Laurie & Arno. Go to Bungaree, and Webby and Simon Prendergast and Co are there. Its the same with every club, and thats what makes the CHFL so bloody good. Club loyalty by the men in charge of their clubs.

Your club entered this league because it was hard to raise the funds to compete in the BFL and fair enough. Needed it a bit easier , take the pressure off and stableize the club. No doubt you have added a lot of interest to the league and a healthy rivalry with us. JUST an example though since you joined in 2006 - only three years ago ,you have had 6 Presidents of the Club and 4 different coaches. ... We have had the same Pres and coach since 2004.

What i'm saying is if you stuck with it and not changed the men at the top so often, the club would have a plan for the next 3-4 years. As it seems, new leaders come in want to do it their way and you change direction. You have a lot of good people at your club with their heart and soul in it. But does this outway the ones who are only there for the short term and their little bit of glory.
I reckon the fair dinkum Daylesford people would have wrote in bold letters what the raffle was going to, and i reckon the true Daylesford people would want to give all the profits to the fire victims.... what's it matter you will run another raffle in the Main st next week and make up for it.

And sorry Walshy 15, i was positive Toby Hughes won that years B&F. Thanks for your comments ,at least your reply might have sorted a few people out.

Timmy. Bloody brilliant. Hit the nail smack on the head.
My predictions. Hepburn. A class act
Learmonth. Has the hunger and maybe the players.
Daylesford. quality throughout and experience. Hard draw though.
Waubra. The unknown factor.
Beaufort. Surprise packet.
Newlyn. Big improver. Injuries hurt last year.
Buninyong. Could be anything
Bungaree. Not yet
Dunnstown. Too many lost players
Ballan. Will always be a danger game on thier turf
Springbank. What happened to the Adams coaching rumour
Gordon. Playing for the footy trip
Clunes. No news is not good news
Creswick. Why cant the seniors duplicate thier juniors

im slightly amused at this thread.
those who have left the burras this year have done so for personal reasons so how is that all robbos fault?? no one's perfect but most people at hepburn maintain that he is the best coach we've seen and i'm one of them. just ask if you want to know why i left this year...
and sorry timmy, i did manage to bag a b&f in the 18s in 2005. haha no love lost i hope.
its so easy to hate on those on top and pick out their faults but why bother?? if youre not there shouldn't you be more worried about your own backyard and catching up??

who beat u for the 2006 b&f walshy?

Timmy. Bloody brilliant. Hit the nail smack on the head.
My predictions. Hepburn. A class act
Learmonth. Has the hunger and maybe the players.
Daylesford. quality throughout and experience. Hard draw though.
Waubra. The unknown factor.
Beaufort. Surprise packet.
Newlyn. Big improver. Injuries hurt last year.
Buninyong. Could be anything
Bungaree. Not yet
Dunnstown. Too many lost players
Ballan. Will always be a danger game on thier turf
Springbank. What happened to the Adams coaching rumour
Gordon. Playing for the footy trip
Clunes. No news is not good news
Creswick. Why cant the seniors duplicate thier juniors
I think you may have started that one up yourself about Adams!
Kevin is this your predicted ladder and if so can i ask how Newlyn will jump above Bunninyong, as they have recruited well to date and still have an excellent list from last year. Newlyn from what i have seen and heard have picked up Briggsy, although a great bloke, won't win a game for you off his own back, Smith, who also will bring experience to your club, but in his 40's or late 30's would seem a bit past it even with his experience, and Stott, ok footballer but not great. Same goes with Chew as he can be hot one week and missing the next. If Dignan is back at Bunninyong in time for the season he would better than all four of these blokes on a bad day at CHFL level. Not a newlyn hater as you are to Daylesford but i really hope your not expecting anything big from them this year. Expecations have been set, lets see how they handle the pressure

I think you may have started that one up yourself about Adams!
Kevin is this your predicted ladder and if so can i ask how Newlyn will jump above Bunninyong, as they have recruited well to date and still have an excellent list from last year. Newlyn from what i have seen and heard have picked up Briggsy, although a great bloke, won't win a game for you off his own back, Smith, who also will bring experience to your club, but in his 40's or late 30's would seem a bit past it even with his experience, and Stott, ok footballer but not great. Same goes with Chew as he can be hot one week and missing the next. If Dignan is back at Bunninyong in time for the season he would better than all four of these blokes on a bad day at CHFL level. Not a newlyn hater as you are to Daylesford but i really hope your not expecting anything big from them this year. Expecations have been set, lets see how they handle the pressure
The Adams rumour filtered through the whole league late last year, and most clubs were talking about it. Definately not a made up one. I just rate Newlyn a bit higher than most, and as i said, they got smashed with injuries last year, so that is where i think the improvement will come from. The Bunnies will be ok, but need to improve a hell of a lot on the effort they put in against you blokes in last years final. Positions will be very close between Waubra, Bunnies, Newlyn, Bunga,Beaufort, for last 3 final spots. But that is just my opinion. By the way. Can anyone explain why Bungaree hasnt improved immensly, despite winning the last 4 under 18 grand finals. They should be really on the up by now i would have thought.

What is Waubra shaping up like this year? Apparently lost a few from what i've heard, most notably Liston but have they gained much?? Key Losses/Recruits??

A lot of talk of Beaufort being big improvers too, who exactly have they picked up? To what degree have Newlyn recruited as well?

Have any sides played practice matches yet and if so how did they go, both scoreboard-wise and in general play?
Liston in my mind is a huge loss, as big a loss as Sam Newton is for us. Burchell another, you cant replace players like that.
Our prac match with Buninyong on Friday night was cancelled due to their light towers not being ready. Everyone saying they are a one man forward line. The loss of Den Ouden for most of the year wont help either. Way back in Oct- Nov we were trying to track down a bloke by the name of Brian Harrison, but we couldn't get his number. Joey Gilbert beat us to it, and i'm telling you this bloke will tear a lot of opposition backlines apart this season. Buninyong willl be good, don't worry about that, round 1 v Daylesford will be a ripper.
Only a rumour this one, but its going around town at the moment, that 3 players from our closest rivals were talking to a Bendigo league club on Friday night. One of which would be very hard to replace if he left.

Liston in my mind is a huge loss, as big a loss as Sam Newton is for us. Burchell another, you cant replace players like that.
Our prac match with Buninyong on Friday night was cancelled due to their light towers not being ready. Everyone saying they are a one man forward line. The loss of Den Ouden for most of the year wont help either. Way back in Oct- Nov we were trying to track down a bloke by the name of Brian Harrison, but we couldn't get his number. Joey Gilbert beat us to it, and i'm telling you this bloke will tear a lot of opposition backlines apart this season. Buninyong willl be good, don't worry about that, round 1 v Daylesford will be a ripper.
Only a rumour this one, but its going around town at the moment, that 3 players from our closest rivals were talking to a Bendigo league club on Friday night. One of which would be very hard to replace if he left.

Harrison is a young indigenous player from around horsham he's tasted alot of success in his short career HOWEVER this league is a step up from the Horsham District league. He will not tear opposition backlines apart thats what Cox and Brown do and he is a different type of player quick,agile and is always dangerous inside 50. He will be getting paid big money because he chases it. He will certainly be good at A.T's feet with all the marks he's dropping nowadays. Brian is more dangerous on the run than with a set shot. Easy to shut down at my club, Ty Veldhuis will give him a bath. Ty has too much expierence,agility,determination and football smarts to be outdone by a small scrapping forward like Harrison.

looks as though it could be the tightest the competition has been this year i think, with hepburn and learmonth a slight level above the rest but still susceptible to an upset.
Buninyong, Bunga, Daylesford and Beaufort to make up the rest of the 6 and Waubra and Newlyn missing out narrowly.
interesting about daylesford timmy, who do these rumors centre around???

looks as though it could be the tightest the competition has been this year i think, with hepburn and learmonth a slight level above the rest but still susceptible to an upset.
Buninyong, Bunga, Daylesford and Beaufort to make up the rest of the 6 and Waubra and Newlyn missing out narrowly.
interesting about daylesford timmy, who do these rumors centre around???

These rumors centre around the small minded people who talk about them. In this case Timmy (Hepburn). Its just another case of trying to unsettle our club.

what are the reports from all the praccy games on the weekend?

i know it was the first hit out for most clubs, but which recruites played well and who are the players to watch out for in 2009?

These rumors centre around the small minded people who talk about them. In this case Timmy (Hepburn). Its just another case of trying to unsettle our club.
But its ok for your club to get on here and hang it on us and Robbo. Not a rumour anymore.... i'd be very worried if three of our Grand Final players were talking to Kyneton this late in pre season. Kane Trimble, Kenny Cummings & Mick Cummings. My tip is they will stay, but it may cost you some $$$ .

How many have you guys lost from your grand final side?

what are the reports from all the praccy games on the weekend?

i know it was the first hit out for most clubs, but which recruites played well and who are the players to watch out for in 2009?

Not too sure on the details of the match as I wasnt there and havent spoken to my assiatnts but Learmonth got beaten on the weekend by a couple of goals. We did have about 7 more scoring shots. Windy and hot conditions and our players didnt handle it well. Had around 8 new players in teh side, and they didnt gel overly well and may take time to learn the game plan etc. A lot of work to do for our club so all these reports at this current satge may have to be changed!!!
A lot of work between now and round 1 required at Learmonth to get us all heading in the same direction-
Best Players from hearing from a few were Dave Wright Ty Veldhuis & Wilbur Lionjem. Sam Basham kicked 1 .6 supposedly but thats all teh details i have....

who did you play again learmonth??
Bungaree played Spotswood in a six quarter match and after leading after the first two quarters got a fair lesson in the 3rd and 4th quarters evenually going down by 59 points. Plenty of good signs and plenty of new faces into the senior lineup, i think the club is fairly happy with the performance for a first hitout.
Josh Quinlan and Jackson Murphy best for Bungaree for mine.