Central Highlands

It's probably a bit late i would have thought. Personally I enjoyed reading his opinions/thoughts, but considering he is actually a coach in the league i would've thought his players/committee would be disappointed that he's given oppostion teams/players enough extra incentive to want to smash Learmonth (the team) every time they play for the next 5 years.

I could see it being true if his club banned him as there was that problem with Creswick and he has taken a few shots at various players and clubs.

But... I liked the fact that he was actually a person that is in the know hat his club.

That would be true , however hepburn, Waubra, Daylesford are clearly spending more than the rest.
Its the bottom end players picked up. Why do think people all of sudden go to a club that hasnt had success. they draw players with money and then get a taste for success and believe it is just aorund the corner, so they keep the inital players that costs a fair bit then top up the bottom, however still having to spend more again so what starts out at $40K, ends up like $60K to $80K. Yes Hepburn in the higher end.
Learmonth is trying the same now...increase the spending because he thinks he is close. but realy he is a long way off, when compared the 3 clubs above. dont worry he wont reead this as he is not allowed back on here.
He decided on continuin the self impose media ban (under tag of learmonth)..although did notice he made best players, most coaches dont put there own names in. so this his way of getting in the media.

dont be so sure mate, i can tell ya for certain we (daylesford) are spending much less than hepburn and waubra, credit of out strong local and loyal talent

Waubra are not spending that much. All paid players r on about 1/2 what they could get at another club.. & plenty on nothing.I would be very surprised if they were spending as much as Daylesford. However I am not the treasurer of either of the clubs so we will never know.
Local talent.. A place with the population of Daylesford should have more local talent.

I could see it being true if his club banned him as there was that problem with Creswick and he has taken a few shots at various players and clubs.

But... I liked the fact that he was actually a person that is in the know hat his club.

What was the problem with Creswick? I was aware of a few pot shots, but what was the specific problem with Creswick?

Waubra are not spending that much. All paid players r on about 1/2 what they could get at another club.. & plenty on nothing.I would be very surprised if they were spending as much as Daylesford. However I am not the treasurer of either of the clubs so we will never know.
Local talent.. A place with the population of Daylesford should have more local talent.

We could argue all day about who is spending the most, but unless ur in the absolute inner sanctum it's all a guessing game.

The point I was trying to get across is that the discrepancy between say the bottom 4-5 teams and the top 4-5 teams is massive. It appears that in future it'll only get bigger unless the league finds a way implement a salary cap and monitor it effectively.

I acknowledge monitoring it will be a hard thing but if country footy (not just the CHFL) continues to be a free-for-all it will force the hand of many clubs to either merge, fold or try to get into lower leagues. Call me an alarmist, but that's my opinion...

I see your all playing the guessing game.... let's have some guesses on how much 2 CHFL coach's earn/Get...

1. Skontra - Premiership coach, has his side up and running again.

&

2. Reid - BFL Premiership player, but by results, it doesn't look good.

&

3.Simon Avery (Buninyong) - Thrown in the deep end but have won some games.

Here's my guess...

1. 5 Grand
2. 20 Grand
3. Free

Have a look at daylesfords local talent and compare it to the other lists in the chfl. Our top 15-20 local players are miles above other clubs. Local players that is!!!! Both Daylesford and hepburn have a combined population of 3500 and to get that many quality footy players into two sides is a good effort i would have thought

Gotta agree with you here. They have a great list. I reckon that they will definately play in the Grand Final and possibliy win it against Waubra this year.

I see your all playing the guessing game.... let's have some guesses on how much 2 CHFL coach's earn/Get...

1. Skontra - Premiership coach, has his side up and running again.

&

2. Reid - BFL Premiership player, but by results, it doesn't look good.

&

3.Simon Avery (Buninyong) - Thrown in the deep end but have won some games.

Here's my guess...

1. 5 Grand
2. 20 Grand
3. Free

i wouldn't no but i think that you might be pretty close to the money .Its not how much u pay its what u get, as u can see

i herd he went ok kicked 2 goals in his first game for the year.Might find the chfl a little harder than the lfl as he's not very tall and not real Quick

I know for a fact North Ballarat Roosters were knocking on his door every single preseason when he was a bit younger.

The guy has serious talent and I don't think he'd have trouble playing in almost any league. There would definetly be a spot for him in BFL teams.

What was the problem with Creswick? I was aware of a few pot shots, but what was the specific problem with Creswick?

Didn't it have something to do with their president signing on here and setting a few facts straight?

I also heard the pres rang him after he read a couple of his comments about that club in particular on this site.

your on the money there Dr evil. Who do you feel the playeras to watch are?
i am interested to see if sawers gets back this week for dunnstown. herd some very positive things about him.. and what about knowles for bunga? they could be the players to watch....

knowles i here is over weight but he can get away with it ,be cause he did last year.reid may be the key if he a nicolson can kick a few wood make it hard for Dunnstown as they dont have a big forward.

I know for a fact North Ballarat Roosters were knocking on his door every single preseason when he was a bit younger.

The guy has serious talent and I don't think he'd have trouble playing in almost any league. There would definetly be a spot for him in BFL teams.

i herd sawers is Dunnstowns best player by a long way.Dridan i think won 2 league medals so is no doubt a very good player i will keep my eye out for him

Fair enough I thought Dford was larger, but 3500 is still 3490 more then Waubra.

Didn't it have something to do with their president signing on here and setting a few facts straight?

I also heard the pres rang him after he read a couple of his comments about that club in particular on this site.

Yeah I remember reading that a while ago, wasn't aware it involved phone calls as well.

The point I was trying to get across is that the discrepancy between say the bottom 4-5 teams and the top 4-5 teams is massive. It appears that in future it'll only get bigger unless the league finds a way implement a salary cap and monitor it effectively.

I acknowledge monitoring it will be a hard thing but if country footy (not just the CHFL) continues to be a free-for-all it will force the hand of many clubs to either merge, fold or try to get into lower leagues. Call me an alarmist, but that's my opinion...
I agree with what u say 100% off season. The BFL, CHFL & LPFL look like they will be dominated for some time by the same two or three teams and by no coincidence these are the teams with the bigger budgets. The gap Between Waubra, Hepburn,Daylesford and Gordon, Creswick,Clunes is so far im afraid it would take years or about 75,000 to close in. In the LPFL only about three teams can win it this year and there the same 3 as every other year. Im only backing up what ur saying & not giving a solution cos i cant come up with one. Call me negative but i think unless the vcfl steps in it will spell the end for 3 chfl & 2 lpfl teams. This is the never ending discussion but let me know what u think. Make local footy LOCAL again.
BALLARAT FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION.
Premier League.
Ballarat
Redan
Sebas
East Point
Lakers
Hepburn
Daylesford
Learmonth
Bungaree
Dunnstown
Nth City

Division One
C/Linton
Springbank/Gordon
Waubra/Lexton
Beaufort
Creswick
Clunes
Buninyong
Ballan
Newlyn
Rokewood
Illabarook

Skipton,Navarre,Natte,Ararat,Darley,Marsh,Melton,M South,Sunbury all geographically unsuited.
Gordon,Lexton to merge or fold soon.
And Waubra in division 1 even tho they'll probably go back 2 back on the basis that i think they'll come back to the pack real quick after this season.

Make local footy LOCAL again.

SNAIL, this is quite a good view.
Unfortunately Daylesford and Hepburn maybe a merger (in the next 3-5 Years) as the local talent will dry up due to work opportunities in the smaller towns, money helps but isnt the issue its having locals in helping club. which is easy when winning. Ask creswick and gordon how tough it is to keep people coming.
Reality is not all clubs will survive,money is not the only issue players are simply not enough to go around. My view is below.

This is happening all over victoria with different divisions etc.
Premier League. (10 Teams all within 40mins of ballarat)
Ballarat
Redan
Sebas
East Point
Lakers
Hepburn / Daylesford
Learmonth /Waubra
Bungaree / Dunnstown
Nth City ??? 1 goal 3 on the weekend, not sure but they will improve.
C/Linton / Skipton

Division One (all within 30 mins of ballarat)
Springbank/Gordon
Beaufort
Creswick/Newlyn
Clunes
Buninyong
Ballan
Rokewood
Illabarook

The other clubs you mentioned could tack onto the neighbouring leagues Maryborough, Riddle and Arrarat shold have one team stay in horsham.

The money mentioned early is way off, Hepburn Spend, Daylesford Spend, Waubra Spend and Learmonth Spend, we all speak to similar players and have a rough idea what your own club offers a player etc, then they go elsewhere...rarely for less. most dont realise how much everyone gets after you skim the gate taking, bar, canteen and raffles there is a lot of cash that is never seen...that is the system and it wont stop.

I agree with what u say 100% off season. The BFL, CHFL & LPFL look like they will be dominated for some time by the same two or three teams and by no coincidence these are the teams with the bigger budgets. The gap Between Waubra, Hepburn,Daylesford and Gordon, Creswick,Clunes is so far im afraid it would take years or about 75,000 to close in. In the LPFL only about three teams can win it this year and there the same 3 as every other year. Im only backing up what ur saying & not giving a solution cos i cant come up with one. Call me negative but i think unless the vcfl steps in it will spell the end for 3 chfl & 2 lpfl teams. This is the never ending discussion but let me know what u think. Make local footy LOCAL again.
Premier League.
Ballarat
Redan
Sebas
East Point
Lakers
Hepburn
Daylesford
Learmonth
Bungaree
Dunnstown
Nth City

Division One
C/Linton
Springbank/Gordon
Waubra/Lexton
Beaufort
Creswick
Clunes
Buninyong
Ballan
Newlyn
Rokewood
Illabarook

Skipton,Navarre,Natte,Ararat,Darley,Marsh,Melton,M South,Sunbury all geographically unsuited.
And Waubra in division 1 even tho they'll probably go back 2 back on the basis that i think they'll come back to the pack real quick after this season.

Send Lexton and Natte to the MCDFL. They would be better suited there. Money wise, they would be in the top end in that comp and Natte would be close to top team and Lexton would play finals.

Pretty good there Snail. The Sunbury's and Meltons are killing the BFL as Gisborne is the Bendigo League.

Have you thought about putting Maryborough in the Division 1. They are struggling in the Bendigo League at the moment. Most Maryborough people go to Ballarat before Bendigo for most things, Uni, shopping and etc. I personally think Maryborough would be better off going in the Ballarat League.

Can anyone tell me what the situation with the umpires and sunday games is??? Had heard that there may be a few sunday fixtures due to lack of umpires, when will it all be announced?????

Premier League.
Ballarat
Redan
Sebas
East Point
Lakers
Hepburn
Daylesford
Learmonth
Bungaree
Dunnstown
Nth City

Division One
C/Linton
Springbank/Gordon
Waubra/Lexton
Beaufort
Creswick
Clunes
Buninyong
Ballan
Newlyn
Rokewood
Illabarook

Snail this was brought up at regional VCFL meeting 4 years ago was was put into the to hard basket by the leagues and clubs. You are spot on until this happens clubs will continue to fold.
A junior structure similar to geelong's junior football is the way to go as well have 1 league "football ballarat" with division 1 - 2 - 3 in age groups that cater for numbers. Dont force clubs to have teams they in age groups that dont suit let the club decide what age groups they wish to enter this will ensure the country clubs will be around in years to come.

Snail this was brought up at regional VCFL meeting 4 years ago was was put into the to hard basket by the leagues and clubs. You are spot on until this happens clubs will continue to fold.
A junior structure similar to geelong's junior football is the way to go as well have 1 league "football ballarat" with division 1 - 2 - 3 in age groups that cater for numbers. Dont force clubs to have teams they in age groups that dont suit let the club decide what age groups they wish to enter this will ensure the country clubs will be around in years to come.

After experiencing the CHFL and GFL set-up for juniors I would prefer the CHFL arrangement.

Kids at the CHFL get to see and be associated with the Senior guys which means you get a bit of loyalty whereas in Geelong the juniors and seniors are nearly seperate clubs.

Dont stuff with the CHFL until it is really broken and dont forget the past. In the 80's Hepburn was strong but during the 90's the dropped back and have again surged now. During the 90's it was Beafourt and Dunstown now it is Waubra who were crap during the 90's.

The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974