Central Highlands

can someone give me an update on how 'dazzlin' dale sidebottom is going at dunnstown this year?

staring to run into some form is the yapper from dunnstown..started the season off a bit slow but his last couple of weeks have been impressive. Kid has skills like no other. Needs to keep playing well, along with others, if Dunnstown are a chance!

thanks mate:thumbsu:

he talks himself up to me at uni all the time, sounds as though his bite is as big as his bark!

Managed to catch the Bungaree v Dunnstown game on the w/e. Was very impressed with sidebottom. Has a knack to find the footy and do something with it. Also Ben Kick from Bungaree played good footy.

Your mail on this is better than mine cos it's the first I've heard. I heard that Owen has recently got injured over there and that Harry was playing magoo's, but certainly wasn't aware he was returning.

I assume he'd probably have mates in Maryborough having been brought up in the area.

I think you're being very harsh saying "at worse returning to Clunes". That's simply a front-running attitude :mad:
Was not being harsh toward Clunes simply stating that the CHFL standard would be surely as low as he'd go, not MCDFL which is a long way behind. Yes harris will be at the Brook as the other couple of teams chasing him can't get close to the coin

As a long time reader of CHFL thread i cant help but notice it's lacking the input of Learmonth. Talks his club up yes but also gives points on opposition sides. All thats been mentioned this week is clunes being belted and Harris going to the Brook. Nothing about any other games or anything with much intrest. There must be some big games being played or coming up ???
Daylesford flying seem to be the team to beat waubra unbeaten must be in the mix again. Hepburn always there about. Learmonth seem ok but have two bad losses beside them, lack consistency. Springbank have another test to show what they are made of this week 2 goals down to hepburn seems to me they must be in the running. Ballan Dunnstown Bungaree Buninyong all perform at times but not enough at this stage to sugest they will be threats.Newyln will be top of the bottom Creswick Clunes Beaufort and Gordon.

Top 5 2007
1 Daylesford
2 Waubra
3 Hepburn
4 Springbank
5 Learmonth

4 and 5 could be 2 of 6 teams . Think the top 3 are there to stay.

Hey Slasher, from some of your previous messages sounds like your in the know over at d/ford is there any truth they have got a new major sponsor and are prepared to tip in alot of $$$$$ if they name themselfs the "CLUB Q BULLDOGS".........

haha news to me mate

Any one tell me how ryan knowles is going for bungaree this year??

havent seen him play yet tige, but i have herd some good things about him, and he has featured in the best players for bunga.
so i would say he is going alright mate.

Hey Slasher, from some of your previous messages sounds like your in the know over at d/ford is there any truth they have got a new major sponsor and are prepared to tip in alot of $$$$$ if they name themselfs the "CLUB Q BULLDOGS".........

I reckon the "Pet Stock Bulldogs" has a better ring to it

just wondering how tim cromb for newlyn is goin i have heard he is a very tough nuggety player who is very discipline, sounds like a good pick up for newlyn

From all accounts Newlyn are very pleased with the pick up. Winner of several b & f's in his junior days and was noticed by Fitzroy but family commitments and moving interstate had an affect on this. One of the hardest footballers going around and easily the number one hard ball getter on any saturday.

Big call , has some wraps on him now sure to be tested every week. Don't know the man but will stay tuned. Every side has hard ball winners and receivers all part of the thing called TEAM.

If you helped create him McGyver i have not doubt he will be fantastic. You could build a bomb out of shoe laces once upon a time!

As a long time reader of CHFL thread i cant help but notice it's lacking the input of Learmonth. Talks his club up yes but also gives points on opposition sides. All thats been mentioned this week is clunes being belted and Harris going to the Brook. Nothing about any other games or anything with much intrest. There must be some big games being played or coming up ???
Agree with you 100% was thinking about sayin that exact thing. What has happened to this forum, shouldn't this be the time when ppl are starting to see how the leagues taking shape? who the suprise packets are the dissapointments, for me the suprise is Springbank, their early season scores against lowly team weren't impressive but they sure do seem to be going well ATM against quality teams, another big one for them this week tho. Dissapointment bungaree - just not doing the job like most ppl thought - and learmonth to a certain extent, their 2 loses have been large and to quality teams who i'm sure they thought they would have been competitive with.
On the lack of posts from learmonth (AJ) i can honeslty say this forum is lacking his input, he goes on the front foot and then you get a page or two of people having a go at him, makes for good reading!!!:D
But he also provokes discussion and gets people intersted........ just my thoughts

Agree with you 100% was thinking about sayin that exact thing. What has happened to this forum, shouldn't this be the time when ppl are starting to see how the leagues taking shape? who the suprise packets are the dissapointments, for me the suprise is Springbank, their early season scores against lowly team weren't impressive but they sure do seem to be going well ATM against quality teams, another big one for them this week tho. Dissapointment bungaree - just not doing the job like most ppl thought - and learmonth to a certain extent, their 2 loses have been large and to quality teams who i'm sure they thought they would have been competitive with.
On the lack of posts from learmonth (AJ) i can honeslty say this forum is lacking his input, he goes on the front foot and then you get a page or two of people having a go at him, makes for good reading!!!:D
But he also provokes discussion and gets people intersted........ just my thoughts

IM BACK! There exactly the same comments that Michael Jordan made when he came out of retirement!, No there wasnt a media ban, or though it may have seemed like it. Was good to sit back and see what everyone saw. As for Learmonths two big defeats, we as a club would rather lose by 10 goals and try and win, then shut the game down and have an honorable defeat. Yes both sides in Hepburn and Waubra have been way to good for us over the whole game, but on a different surface at a different time, im sure we could cause an upset. U must remember we did lead Waubra at 1/2 time before they blew us away. Landry is a real find, and probably the best in the competition from what i have seen, though Nicholls from Springbank must be able to play the game. He can only play when the Northern Knights play on Sunday as he is asst Coach.
Dford flying along and from talking to a few of there players, are very happy in their recruits which they believe will be the difference this season. The bulldogs are a demolition side, but as stated, have not played anyone.
Also reporting that the L'Month ground is starting to chop up with the amount of use, so we will be looking at transferring our games to Creswick in the near future, unless this alnimo disappears.

Also just on team selections- What a joke, all clubs have a duty to supporters and the general public to name their exact side rather then false sides or whats the use of putting them in the paper. 22 players + 3 emergencies MUST be named and if anyone plays outside those 25 they should be fined $100 per player, but I guess the CHFL board are too spineless to enforce this as they are dictated by a a certain side who continues to make a mockery of this system. If any coach wouldnt plan for the oppositions best side.
And for the salary cap, this has already been spoken about. Go to the points system..5 for an AFL, 4 for VFL, 3 For major League, 2 for same league and 1 for local. Every year the player is at the club they lose a point to reward loyality. Every club is only allowed 40 points per game.... But as stated, that impotent board doesnt want to make hard decisions which will benefit the competion in becomming more even..And what about a final 6... Some sides will miss out due to the draw, and thats over all grades of footy and netball.....

Learmonth your back , about time fresh after a few weeks off you should be able to spark this thread up .
How do you rate Hepburn and Waubra as compared to last year having been well beaten by both?

And for the salary cap, this has already been spoken about. Go to the points system..5 for an AFL, 4 for VFL, 3 For major League, 2 for same league and 1 for local. Every year the player is at the club they lose a point to reward loyality. Every club is only allowed 40 points per game

I'm dead against this one Learmonth. I look at a team like North City and all these guys are worth 3 points on the proposed scheme. Yet I would take Justin Porter from CL over all of these guys and he is either worth a 1 or 2.

We both know there are some pretty poor VFL reserves players out there too. It makes it very hard for them if they want to come back to country footy when a team has to use 10% of their points to put them on the field.

This is a system to help look after the major league teams as they can be hunting grounds for district leagues and it will screw the smaller leagues.

Learmonth your back , about time fresh after a few weeks off you should be able to spark this thread up .
How do you rate Hepburn and Waubra as compared to last year having been well beaten by both?

Going on paper, Hepburn look weaker then last season, but there not!! They have gained leg speed through the middle with the inclusion of Jarrod James who is a gun and Abbot. They are very well drilled, and play to their game plan. McKay alway starts in the middle and just drifts forward after each ball up, meaning he loses his opponent and a HFF moves onto the ball. They are undersized down back, which may cause a hassle against Big Gun forwards in Thompson, Brown, Nichols. Brown and Nichols have already kicked big tallys against them.

Waubra, are better then last year, due to all having a year under each other. No matter how far your in front they will always believe they are a chance. They have excellent self belief. Their midfield is electrfying, though they do miss a genuine ruckman but George is good around the ground. Backline runs hard, but they are very reliant on Browny up forward, they do isolate him well, and why not, he is the best FF in the comp by a mile, and doesnt miss.

In my opinion, Waubra are about a 5 goal better side, and if they meet on a bigger oval, there about 7-10 goals better.

Waubra, are better then last year, due to all having a year under each other. No matter how far your in front they will always believe they are a chance. They have excellent self belief. Their midfield is electrfying, though they do miss a genuine ruckman but George is good around the ground. Backline runs hard, but they are very reliant on Browny up forward, they do isolate him well, and why not, he is the best FF in the comp by a mile, and doesnt miss.

In my opinion, Waubra are about a 5 goal better side, and if they meet on a bigger oval, there about 7-10 goals better.

Good post there Learmonth. Very accurate as I went out and had a look at the game and I reckon you've done a good wrap there.

Brown is an excellent player and IMO is head and shoulders above the leagues other FF's. The delivery helps, but I think he'd still be excellent in a poor team.

Good post there Learmonth. Very accurate as I went out and had a look at the game and I reckon you've done a good wrap there.

Brown is an excellent player and IMO is head and shoulders above the leagues other FF's. The delivery helps, but I think he'd still be excellent in a poor team.

Your thoughts on McIntyre & Archibald? Both boys were offered $500 per game to go back home to St A, and both declined.

$500 I cant believe that... We spoke to Browny last year before he decided on Waubra and he wasnt even asking for that, so I would believe they are no where near that. McIntyre played 2's on the weekend, but I believe that is due to him not training and Archibald, didnt see too much of him, but is a good footballer. I think if St A have that type of $$$ they could make a real play at a premiership if they recruit wisely.

Going on paper, Hepburn look weaker then last season, but there not!! They have gained leg speed through the middle with the inclusion of Jarrod James who is a gun and Abbot. They are very well drilled, and play to their game plan. McKay alway starts in the middle and just drifts forward after each ball up, meaning he loses his opponent and a HFF moves onto the ball. They are undersized down back, which may cause a hassle against Big Gun forwards in Thompson, Brown, Nichols. Brown and Nichols have already kicked big tallys against them.

Dont you think that if Hepburn have improved on their leg speed, they will be able to use the space to their advantage on the bigger ground?
In your opinion do you think Waubra have recruited to tall. Up forward they have Brown x2, CLark, Nicholson, Coleman and Naylan to come in. Looks like they have too many to fit in.

Dont you think that if Hepburn have improved on their leg speed, they will be able to use the space to their advantage on the bigger ground?
In your opinion do you think Waubra have recruited to tall. Up forward they have Brown x2, CLark, Nicholson, Coleman and Naylan to come in. Looks like they have too many to fit in.

I would think Hepburn have closed the gap on Waubra with a vast improvement in the leg speed department. As far as tall forwards go injuries happen and waubra look to have depth to cover injuries, Kinna is another to come in to that squad.

This weeks games only three of interest unless an upset occurs.

Ballan at home to Hepburn will show what Ballan are made of always hard to beat at home. The key for ballan is to shut down McKay and Carr to kick a bag. ( Took a lot to come up with that !! ) Hepburn by 7 goals.

Learmonth v Bungaree should be a cracker both have plenty to play for a win for Learmonth gives them a crack at the 5 if Hepburn get over Ballan. Bungaree lose and I'd say season over. Learmonth play there home ground very well and this may be enough to get them over the line. Bungaree need Reid and Nicholson to start firing and the big Learmonth oval may provide the perfect place. Be interesting to see weather Bungaree have got over the mental scars they will surely have following last years loss to learmonth in the finals. Learmonth by 20 points.

Springbank V Waubra will prove weather or not Springbank are the real deal . Can't question Waubra and Springbank can stamp there name on the competition with a win . Waubra would love to put them back in there box so everything to play for in this one. Tranquilli will have his hands full shutting down waubras running brigade and forwards as well as trying to kick a bag himself. Cook will be missed in the middle, Brown has form an must be due for a big bag this could be the difference. His brother must go alright after last weeks reports. R Brown and Florence could another deciding factor. Waubra by 5 Goals.

Daylesford over Beaufort . Dunnstown over Clunes . Newlyn over Creswick. Buninyong over Gordon.