Central Highlands

I was there at Learmonth watching and saw Lee Brown take an absolute screamer! According to the umpire your not allowed to do this anymore. He's explanation was that putting your knee's on someones shoulders and taking a hanger was simply too dangerous. What a joke! Then minutes later Brown was absolutely crunched illegally and the same umpire called play on! It was a disgrace to say the least! This particular umpire needs to go umpire the under 15's. Or on second thoughts never again. Ruined what was a good game of footy to watch.:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
I agree wholeheartedly Harry HP, what an absolute screamer it was for Brown to take and then to be not allowed the mark because it was too dangerous was ludicrous.. Both the Brown incident and Bourke incident was witnessed in full view of an umpire. The league certainly needs to take a good hard look at themselves in the forthcoming weeks if they continue to allow these umpires to umpire the finals. I could only imagine what would happen if these umpires were to umpire a Daylesford vs. Hepburn Grand Final!!!!

I think what we have to realise is that players are simply not protected by the umpires in the CHFL. There quite possibly could have been three incidents at the Learmonth game on the weekend where players could have been seriously injured and a further two at Sundays game. Players simply have no confidence in umpires to protect them. Unfortunately it will probably take someone to get seriously injured for them to do something about it.

I did not see the game or incidents but perhaps the umpires did not report because it is a waste of time going to the tribunal. Both players deny everything and the report gets throw out, like McKay from Skipton in Lexton League. No one wants to see a player miss a GF through suspension. Tough job umpiring - damned if you do and damned if you dont. Lets just hope that we get some consistancy for the rest of the finals and the players decide the winner not umpires.

Shocking conditions, but thats football. Hepburn are a very disciplined in the way they play football. They were just too good for us in the 2nd quarter when we had the win, and should have made in roads. We blazed away, and without Tim we certainly struggled in the conditions to kick a winning score. Dillion was best for Hepburn in my opinion, played a great game as a defensive wingman running the lines. Hepburn are certainly beatable, especially on the BIG northern oval but it will take a good side playing 100mins which we were unable to do. Brought the margin down by 10 goals and if we are lucky enough to get another chance we have certainly learnt new things about hepburn.
As for Shepherd, just low in what he did, who kicks someone when their not watching thats not football and shows the mentality of the person, not very smart. Could easily cost hepburn a premiership if he has another brain faze.
As for front on contact I think that has gone out of the game as on the weekend if it was AFL there would have been some massive suspensions handed out. 2 X Hepburn players 1 X Learmonth player and the front on contact to D Liston in yesterdays game. Atleast they were consistent.

We get another chance to play in a grand final so its up to us and dford will be a great challenge for us, as to beat them you need to beat their midfield which is a lot easier said then done...

Game is at Dunnstown...
Nice of you to stay positive there Learmonth, the facts do say that you bought the margin down by 10 goals, but 20 scoring shots to only 8, also suggest that if Hepburn had of kicked straight you would have lost by a huge margin again. Im sure you would have learnt a little more about Hepburn, but im sure the Burras know a whole lot more about the Lakers after watching them in the last couple of weeks. Also having the oppertunity to watch on again this Saturday if you happen to win.
But what astounds me Learmonth is that are happy to name a Hepburn player involved in an incident, but steer clear of naming your own players or your former team mate who was also involved in and incident on Sunday.
Let me get this straight, you had a crack at Shep early last year, obviously a ploy to make the umpire's aware of the way he plays. This year he hasn't put a foot wrong, except recieving a weeks suspension for tripping a Newlyn opponent with his hand. Hardly a dirty act....30 seconds before the incident you are talking about, Shep was punched in the back of the head by Nick Bone after he had taken a mark, he let Bone know in no uncertain terms that he wasn't going to take that sort of behavior from him . It was right in front of the goal umpire who saw it, and he didn't even bother moving from his position standing on the goal line. Bone obviously got the message because he didn't antagonise Shep for the remainder of the game.
But his effort later in the match in lining up the smallest player on the field in Dan O'Haloran with his head over the ball, had supporters from both sides scratching their head why there was no send off or even report.
Also everyone in attendance is flaggergasted after watching Luke Adams collide with Chris Bourke, then moments later the same umpire decided to send Danny Liston off the field for swearing!
Lee Brown's grab was a ripper and what we all love to see. Not only was the ball taken off him, where he would have had a set shot at goal, but Daylesford went forward and kicked a goal themselves .. possibly a two goal turnaround ... very harsh in a close scoring game.
Having said that the game itself was one of the best i have seen

I did not see the game or incidents but perhaps the umpires did not report because it is a waste of time going to the tribunal. Both players deny everything and the report gets throw out, like McKay from Skipton in Lexton League. No one wants to see a player miss a GF through suspension. Tough job umpiring - damned if you do and damned if you dont. Lets just hope that we get some consistancy for the rest of the finals and the players decide the winner not umpires.

They should get rubbed out. Luke Adams broke Bourkes jaw in 2 places.
Umpiring on Sunday was disgusting to say the least. He should have been reported and sent from the field on 2 occasions. How Lee Browns mark was not given is beyond me. To send Danny Liston off for swearing when it had been going on all day is unbelievable, I thought Waubra battled hard all day but things just didn't go there way.

Nice of you to stay positive there Learmonth, the facts do say that you bought the margin down by 10 goals, but 20 scoring shots to only 8, also suggest that if Hepburn had of kicked straight you would have lost by a huge margin again. Im sure you would have learnt a little more about Hepburn, but im sure the Burras know a whole lot more about the Lakers after watching them in the last couple of weeks. Also having the oppertunity to watch on again this Saturday if you happen to win.
But what astounds me Learmonth is that are happy to name a Hepburn player involved in an incident, but steer clear of naming your own players or your former team mate who was also involved in and incident on Sunday.
Let me get this straight, you had a crack at Shep early last year, obviously a ploy to make the umpire's aware of the way he plays. This year he hasn't put a foot wrong, except recieving a weeks suspension for tripping a Newlyn opponent with his hand. Hardly a dirty act....30 seconds before the incident you are talking about, Shep was punched in the back of the head by Nick Bone after he had taken a mark, he let Bone know in no uncertain terms that he wasn't going to take that sort of behavior from him . It was right in front of the goal umpire who saw it, and he didn't even bother moving from his position standing on the goal line. Bone obviously got the message because he didn't antagonise Shep for the remainder of the game.
But his effort later in the match in lining up the smallest player on the field in Dan O'Haloran with his head over the ball, had supporters from both sides scratching their head why there was no send off or even report.
Also everyone in attendance is flaggergasted after watching Luke Adams collide with Chris Bourke, then moments later the same umpire decided to send Danny Liston off the field for swearing!
Lee Brown's grab was a ripper and what we all love to see. Not only was the ball taken off him, where he would have had a set shot at goal, but Daylesford went forward and kicked a goal themselves .. possibly a two goal turnaround ... very harsh in a close scoring game.

Well shep does have an alleged history of kicking people in the head. Also i didnt realise grabbing your testicles and shaking them to the crowd was good football behavior.

IF Nick Bone did punch shep in the back of the head im sure kicking him is not the best option to get your payback.

Didnt name anyone that committed front on contacts (i.e 2 X hepburn, 1 X L'Month and 1 X Dford), but from what I understand yes all three should have been reported. I only named Shepherd because what he did was low, and the goal umpire somehow didnt see it, as thats why I approached them at 1/2 time if you saw. I find that hard to believe as stated on here it was one of the lowest acts that can be done on a footy field and ive been involved a long time.

Also good to see the crazy Hepburn supporters back in full swing, I missed it since we last played them last time, they must be really uneducated the way that they constantly use inappropriate language to abuse opposition players. No wonder why Hepburn have such a bad name, its the supporters and with grandparents and parents behaving in this manner, the grand children and children have no hope to be decent citizens or people in a community other than Hepburn.

As stated Hepburn were too good, havent made any excuses on that but with three umpires in the grand final, ill be a little worried with a way a few of your players behave behind the line as the 3rd umpire might just spot what happens...

I agree with you on everything which you said about the Dford/Waubra game....

They should get rubbed out. Luke Adams broke Bourkes jaw in 2 places.
Umpiring on Sunday was disgusting to say the least. He should have been reported and sent from the field on 2 occasions. How Lee Browns mark was not given is beyond me. To send Danny Liston off for swearing when it had been going on all day is unbelievable, I thought Waubra battled hard all day but things just didn't go there way.

If a brendan shepard would have got someone like luke adams did it would be called a fair hit by the hepburn supporters. Not as much in it as everyone says. But i guess each to their own. And with everyone saying the waubra fellas were hard done by, i think the free kick count told a different story. 39-22 waubras way. Maybe they were first at the footy a lot more. Doubt it, but a possibility. Was probably one of the most entertaining games i have seen this year though. Learmonth, you are still pretty quiet on your brother. Will be a major factor on the result. Should be a ripper on saturday.
Will be hard to stop all of Daylesfords tall forwards if they fire. Most looked very dangerous, with cronin probably going to better for the last two weeks. Savige would have to be the best centre half forward in the league, bar his kicking at times. So will Veldhuis take him again.
Lets hope the umpires let this game flow a bit more this week instead of over umpiring. Ruins a good contest.

If a brendan shepard would have got someone like luke adams did it would be called a fair hit by the hepburn supporters. Not as much in it as everyone says. But i guess each to their own. And with everyone saying the waubra fellas were hard done by, i think the free kick count told a different story. 39-22 waubras way. Maybe they were first at the footy a lot more. Doubt it, but a possibility. Was probably one of the most entertaining games i have seen this year though. Learmonth, you are still pretty quiet on your brother. Will be a major factor on the result. Should be a ripper on saturday.
Will be hard to stop all of Daylesfords tall forwards if they fire. Most looked very dangerous, with cronin probably going to better for the last two weeks. Savige would have to be the best centre half forward in the league, bar his kicking at times. So will Veldhuis take him again.
Lets hope the umpires let this game flow a bit more this week instead of over umpiring. Ruins a good contest.

So im guessing your a Dford player as I was speaking with two the other night and they gave me the same stat as you have just mentioned in frees.
Davis will play as he can still do his DJ work on a Sunday. With Dford playing in the twos before hand it will be easy to work out any changes. Tim will play, mark my word on that and he will be fit, expect a couple of other players who havent played over the finals series to come in as well. I think Learmonth are a taller side than Dford but wouldnt rate Saviage a better player than Tim who also plays CHF plus Rhy Carr. Big call that one.
Learmonth Tall forwards, Tim, Sobey, Davey, Gudgeon, Cantwell, Miller, J Basham so it might be can Dford man the Learmonth tall forwards...
Am looking forward to a great contest, wth te game being won from who can get 1st use in the middle...

So im guessing your a Dford player as I was speaking with two the other night and they gave me the same stat as you have just mentioned in frees.
Davis will play as he can still do his DJ work on a Sunday. With Dford playing in the twos before hand it will be easy to work out any changes. Tim will play, mark my word on that and he will be fit, expect a couple of other players who havent played over the finals series to come in as well. I think Learmonth are a taller side than Dford but wouldnt rate Saviage a better player than Tim who also plays CHF plus Rhy Carr. Big call that one.
Learmonth Tall forwards, Tim, Sobey, Davey, Gudgeon, Cantwell, Miller, J Basham so it might be can Dford man the Learmonth tall forwards...
Am looking forward to a great contest, wth te game being won from who can get 1st use in the middle...
You are on the ball today anthony. Yes Davis will be back, raring to go. Word is that tim is gone and dusted. Hope not because to be the best you have to beat them, and i honestly rate tim very highly as a footballer. Wouldn't think he works as hard as savige at CHF, but more versatile that he can play deeper in the fwd line and through the middle. Gudgeon is nearly dead isn't he, so that wont be an issue and from what i have seen of miller so far, one word. CAT. But sobey is a gun and j basham is also a danger. Should be a very interesting battle though. Good luck to both teams and may the best team win. There may be a couple of interesting players lining up in the twos and seniors this week also if the rumors up at vic park are true.

With the bit of rain and sunny days should see Dunstown come up a treat this week, but of course it will be cold on Saturday as it always, hopefully the CHFL exec committee wont lock everybody out of the club rooms again. Dford Ressies did not look that impressive and from all reports Dford snrs were pretty impressesive so cant see to many changes being made. Unless Dford have some more Imports such as Button up there sleave, I heard $500 a game and training was optonial, Is he a gun for hire? Does he train? If that is true i wonder how the other Dford players feel about it?

I'm just wondering if anyone knows how long the junoirs should take to have a shower and get changed after the game. It seems to me some of the Hepburn junoirs may need there Mums to come in after the game to put their jeans on and tie up their shoe laces. It was 1:15 and there was kids still walking around piss farting around in their towels that doesn't leave much time to get ready for a game. I think Hepburn were doing it on purpose to unsettle Daylesford before the match. It's unreal what they'll do to try and get their own way. After one of the daylesford player asked if they could hurry up some westy looking rat comes in trying to start blues and making personal threats to a certain player. Oh well it seemed to work in our favour anyway getting the side G'd up before the game nicely. Can we get another westy hepburn bloke come into the rooms next week? cos it makes for great inspiration.

i think i future you might find that the league will be making some rule after what happened last Sunday where you made an ass of yourself, it's not the only time your club has tried to take over the changerooms straight after the previous game has finished. How about showing a little respect towards whichever club is already occupying the rooms you are about to use, every other club in the league shows respect in this regard and never have a problem with it.( sometimes it can get annoying, but thats just the way it is when you have to share the rooms with a variety of other clubs ) It was still only the first quarter of the Reserves when you tried to bully a bunch of u/15s, some still naked out of the changerooms. You were very lucky that your ruckman had the sense to defuse the situation otherwise, the rat you are referring to, as i have been told was about to make it very hard for yourself to play football a couple of hours later. One of our juniors fathers recieved a verbal apology from the person who initially tried to remove the players, later on during Sunday night.( he even said that he was out of line ) Apology was accepted and all was forgotten.
So hopefully this Saturday, you show whichever u/18s side ( Hep or Byong ) some respect in this regard as every other club in the CHFL does. You are barking up the wrong tree here mate and completly in the wrong!

Situation could have been handled better by both parties, but it was nearly half time of the reserves timmy 32. But as soon as the arguement was finished that should have been it between the two men, but with some idiot supporter outside the change rooms, james walsh, carrying on like a pork chop, didn't really help it to finish. His brother should have landed a few on that stupid head of his and shut him up. All done with now though. Actually thought tom reeves did a vey good job of breaking up the incident. smart head on that kids shoulders, and brave standing in between those two men during a verbal scuffle. Would have been lights out if he caught on from either of the men.
Interesting article on page 3 of the courier today. Any thoughts how this would affect a teams performance and an individuals game this close to a preliminary final???

If you have a private message or problem speak to me in person, dont read everything you read...Now if you want to continue this conversation see me in person you gutless wimp!!! You know who I am..now delete your thread...
You should show a little respect to a former Henderson Medalist, Senior Football coach of your club... If the older players who are very good mates with Tim heard you speaking about this out of line, they would be the 1st to knock your head off...
Somethings are left best unsaid....

Didnt name anyone that committed front on contacts (i.e 2 X hepburn, 1 X L'Month and 1 X Dford), but from what I understand yes all three should have been reported. I only named Shepherd because what he did was low, and the goal umpire somehow didnt see it, as thats why I approached them at 1/2 time if you saw. I find that hard to believe as stated on here it was one of the lowest acts that can be done on a footy field and ive been involved a long time.

Also good to see the crazy Hepburn supporters back in full swing, I missed it since we last played them last time, they must be really uneducated the way that they constantly use inappropriate language to abuse opposition players. No wonder why Hepburn have such a bad name, its the supporters and with grandparents and parents behaving in this manner, the grand children and children have "no hope to be decent citizens or people in a community" other than Hepburn.

As stated Hepburn were too good, havent made any excuses on that but with three umpires in the grand final, ill be a little worried with a way a few of your players behave behind the line as the 3rd umpire might just spot what happens...

I agree with you on everything which you said about the Dford/Waubra game....

Suggest someone Reads todays Ballarat Courier before making these cheap shots!

If you have a private message or problem speak to me in person, dont read everything you read...Now if you want to continue this conversation see me in person you gutless wimp!!! You know who I am..now delete your thread...
You should show a little respect to a former Henderson Medalist, Senior Football coach of your club... If the older players who are very good mates with Tim heard you speaking about this out of line, they would be the 1st to knock your head off...
Somethings are left best unsaid....
Done. Wasn't trying to have a cheap shot at tim

i think i future you might find that the league will be making some rule after what happened last Sunday where you made an ass of yourself, it's not the only time your club has tried to take over the changerooms straight after the previous game has finished. How about showing a little respect towards whichever club is already occupying the rooms you are about to use, every other club in the league shows respect in this regard and never have a problem with it.( sometimes it can get annoying, but thats just the way it is when you have to share the rooms with a variety of other clubs ) It was still only the first quarter of the Reserves when you tried to bully a bunch of u/15s, some still naked out of the changerooms. You were very lucky that your ruckman had the sense to defuse the situation otherwise, the rat you are referring to, as i have been told was about to make it very hard for yourself to play football a couple of hours later. One of our juniors fathers recieved a verbal apology from the person who initially tried to remove the players, later on during Sunday night.( he even said that he was out of line ) Apology was accepted and all was forgotten.
So hopefully this Saturday, you show whichever u/18s side ( Hep or Byong ) some respect in this regard as every other club in the CHFL does. You are barking up the wrong tree here mate and completly in the wrong!

So I'm in the wrong and the bloke sending out the threats was completely in the right then ay? I was mearly asking the bloke how long it takes for them to get changed (because they were obviously taking there time) I never bullied any of the kids at all. Then the bloke just snapped and was about to start a punch on with me I never started to puff out my chest and stand over him. I'm not a person that likes to start fights obviously your mate does. At the same time i don't take threats too well and he threatened me a few times before i started to get angry myself. I doubt whatever he was able to dish out would have affected my footy too much i would have defended myself.

as a junior footballer for learmonth i'd just like to say how good this weeks game will be i've trained with the seniors and with senior clubs in the bfl and when this club is focused they are much stronger than plenty of people give them credit for aj will have the boys that revved up that i find it hard to see daylesford even gettin a look in the game my prediction at dunstown in the wet would be learmonth 9.4.59 to daylesford 4.2.26

Young Learmonth. 9 goals 4 is 58 mate.
Easy to see Bam Bam doesnt do the Learmonth scoreboard.

But thinking you might be right on the money with the result.

Raring to go or not I'm not quite sure that I can tip the lakies to beat Daylesford without the page 3 courier boy. However if he is playing and is fully fit? :eek: I would think that he'll have to be as good as he was against Waubra 2 weeks ago for them to win. Should be a cracker of a game either way. My Tip Daylesford by less than a kick. good luck

pretty silly thing to say mate ridiculous actually one thing your a complete dropkick if u believe everythin u hear mate and its a completely out of line thing to say learmonth have a very strong side and rely on 22 players every week not just one sure he is a great inclusion but they are just as strong without him same goes for any player because they are a close unit and silly remarks like that will make the win tomoro all the more sweeter