Central Highlands

But the highlight of the day was the news that 'Wokker" may be taking up a part time trainer role for the Waubra boys. This is fantastic news as Wokker's agility and knowledge out on the ground when a player is down is a valuable asset that any club would want. We should all know Wokker, cause as he said over the bus PA system: "G'day im Wokker, you probably already know me..."

Wokker for PM.

The 'Wok Daddy'...definitely Waubra's best signing in the last 10 years.

Stock your canteen waubra as he will be sadly missed at Alfredton, a famous quote of Wokkers that he said to me one day "You know what, Bacchus Marsh's Hot dogs just don't cut it for me, but the roadhouse on the way out of there have pretty damn good ones" How was i to argue with the man! Keep fat wokker!

From what I understand is it will definantly start on time, as it should. Games can be played Sat & Sun and there are enough grounds avail at this stage. Grounds that are avail from my knowledge are L'Month, D'Dord, Clunes, D'Town, Ballan, Bungaree, Springbank, Beaufort??.

Ballan ordinary at the moment, council still havent got bore up and running yet. Not scheduled there til rd 4 though so hopefully will be ok by then

Dunnstown played a practice game against Carnham/Linton 2 weeks back. Dunnstown won easily as did the U15's and U18's. C/L didn't look too fit and Simon Eason made mention of that, so it wasn't a real good hit out for them. The Dunnstown ground is in beautiful condition with the travelling irrigator pumping plenty of water on to it. This coming week they are playing a practice match against Anakie at Dunnstown.

Is that James Molesworth your talking about here..??? Used to be a gun junior, but your right in that he hasnt played footy in years..?
Matt Green struggled the other week against Buninyong, and will need to improve a lot to be in the best 10, and to make any impact.
Helmut can you explain to us why salesi uhi doesnt train, I know he is a personal trainer in Melbourne, but if your a paid player, you would expect him to train atleast once a week, and attend functions...???

Works until 10pm. Paid or not you would like all your players to train twice a week but we all know that can't happen, work is more important than footy.
Learmonth is the Jonathon Cantwell you have signed the monster from the Roosters? I notice he is still on the list up there but wasn't named in either team in the vfl on the weekend. What's the go there?

Works until 10pm. Paid or not you would like all your players to train twice a week but we all know that can't happen, work is more important than footy.
Learmonth is the Jonathon Cantwell you have signed the monster from the Roosters? I notice he is still on the list up there but wasn't named in either team in the vfl on the weekend. What's the go there?

From what i hear Cantwell has signed with Learmonth and will play at least the first few games as he hasn't had a very big pre-season with the roosters due to injury. Should be 1 of the premier ruckman in the CHFL you would think being that tall. Maybe this could be Learmonth's year.

Yes that is him, Big guy, that we met through our Nhill recruits.

I believe Waubra have a practice match this weekend do you know who they are playing and where it is at

Waubra play at learmonth starting at 6pm after the Redan V North Shore game. Am not sure who they are playing though.

Gordon & L'Month play in the Ballarat Lightning premiership this Sunday at the eastern oval

With only 10 days to go before the season opener, It should be getting pretty exciting around all clubs, with only 3 training sessions left.

Not too many more recruits coming in, and still plenty in progress that may need to go to appeal to get cleared, so you could possibly see a few sides not at full strength rnd 1 due to this.

Waubra play at learmonth starting at 6pm after the Redan V North Shore game. Am not sure who they are playing though.

Gordon & L'Month play in the Ballarat Lightning premiership this Sunday at the eastern oval

With only 10 days to go before the season opener, It should be getting pretty exciting around all clubs, with only 3 training sessions left.

Not too many more recruits coming in, and still plenty in progress that may need to go to appeal to get cleared, so you could possibly see a few sides not at full strength rnd 1 due to this.

Learmonth is the added burden of being a father going to hinder your performance this year mate. Hows lockett going, still a *******? When he is playing in the twos against us ill make sure i put pothole on him to give the kid some confidence. Is McGuigan goning to play this weekend or is he scared that his former east team mates will get into him. He will be a marked man this year so he better perform or you will be looking quite the fool.

Plugger is still doing foolish ga y things, U should know that Crusader, but has been excellent on the track and in our practice matches. Pothole will probably play on him in the seniors if reports are correct, and he has got a bit of his old mans mongrel in him, in giving a few elbows and fists out! Ha McGuigan, no pressure on him, as he has come back to Learmonth for certain reasons and he will be a standout player with his speed and ability. He performance will speak for itself.
Heard star backman Goofy Rahile wont be back, as he has a bus driving job in Afghanastan..???

Any news at Hepburn, was up there for Easter, and saw them watering their ground which is in good condition compared to the Dford oval... Any chance you guys having it ready to go!
Also heard that the two's coach was caught in the shower having a tug over the easter weekend.......Any truth!!!! BANG!

Plugger is still doing foolish ga y things, U should know that Crusader, but has been excellent on the track and in our practice matches. Pothole will probably play on him in the seniors if reports are correct, and he has got a bit of his old mans mongrel in him, in giving a few elbows and fists out! Ha McGuigan, no pressure on him, as he has come back to Learmonth for certain reasons and he will be a standout player with his speed and ability. He performance will speak for itself.
Heard star backman Goofy Rahile wont be back, as he has a bus driving job in Afghanastan..???

Any news at Hepburn, was up there for Easter, and saw them watering their ground which is in good condition compared to the Dford oval... Any chance you guys having it ready to go!
Also heard that the two's coach was caught in the shower having a tug over the easter weekend.......Any truth!!!! BANG!

Yeah will be back maybe after july, not sure yet, got immigration on the job. Our ovals fine. Havent been down to hepburn to have a look yet but i know they have been watering it so it should be fine. Twos coach from what i saw was to drunk for any of that caper on the weekend. Hasnt been to training for the last 3 weeks and has gone awol, but turned up to do half a session last night. Heard on the grapevine that he might be getting the ass for the father son combo of harry and dwayne. your future wife is a committee member at dford so she should be able to tell you more mate. Hepburn are going to be there abouts again. Have heard that granty and raak are playing twos and have been training, but they will get tempted back into the thick of things. I know that a few of their younger kids who havent been training are keen to come up to daylesford as well due to their 18s coach, with one of their best juniors keen to leave.

Early call I know with the CHFL season still '3 training sessions away', but looking at recruits can't see Waubra being beaten this year. They have lost very few of any note and added Landry, Nicholson, Phil McDonald, Gilmore & Other Brown from Donald, and a few other clearances pending will make them tough to beat. Other clubs may aswell save some cash and look ahead to 2008.

Yes they will be very hard to beat, and are favorites in a BIG way, but in my time in footy, I have seen better sides then Waubra be beaten. Sides need to plan hard, and try to get them to play on their terms rather then Waubras which Sconna is very good at doing.
No side is unbeatable, all you need is to believe in yourself and yoursides game plan, do that little bit extra and your a show. Aslong as their is 18 on 18 you are a show, and any decent side or individual will not have that thought in their head, but doing the hard yards to ensure that when the opportunity comes they will grab it.
Will be interesting to see how Waubra will fit all these recruits in, especially the talls. Landry, Nicholson, Brown X 2, Naylon, Oliver, Clark X 2, Coleman, Sordello, Russell, Moran, Pellissier, Kinna, Not all these guys can play ones, good depth, but their may be some disappointed tall guys at Waubra playing 2's this season.

Very good point you make Learmonth, they wont be able to fit all in but should help them cover any injuries for the year, good luxury to have I guess. Landry & Nicholson are athletic and will play as smaller forwards/flankers, Pellissier & Sordello down back and the rest can fight for a spot up forward/ruck. Do Learmonth have the talls to go with them? It would seem your strength is your running players...

Yes they will be very hard to beat, and are favorites in a BIG way, but in my time in footy, I have seen better sides then Waubra be beaten. Sides need to plan hard, and try to get them to play on their terms rather then Waubras which Sconna is very good at doing.
No side is unbeatable, all you need is to believe in yourself and yoursides game plan, do that little bit extra and your a show. Aslong as their is 18 on 18 you are a show, and any decent side or individual will not have that thought in their head, but doing the hard yards to ensure that when the opportunity comes they will grab it.

I wouldn't expect too much Learmonth. You were a long way behind them last year and they've topped up just as well as you guys. Probably the wrong time to start splashing the cash. Just let Waubra, Hepburn and Daylesford have their crack at it instead of wasting your time. And don't start talking about how you beat Waubra last year. We both know how many they had out that day.:cool:

Very good point you make Learmonth, they wont be able to fit all in but should help them cover any injuries for the year, good luxury to have I guess. Landry & Nicholson are athletic and will play as smaller forwards/flankers, Pellissier & Sordello down back and the rest can fight for a spot up forward/ruck. Do Learmonth have the talls to go with them? It would seem your strength is your running players...

They will be hard to match up on, but people kid themselves when they say sides are unbeatable, we beat Waubra with what they had out there, and thats all you can do. Im not saying we were better then them, but it only takes a few injuries, inclement weather (hot/Cold/windy), complacenceny and the whole ball game changes.
Our strength is our running players no question, but we do have Veldhuis, Gudgeon, Sachse, Madigan, Davey, and duffy who can play tall down back. We also have numerous forwards who are mobile and over 6ft in Sobey, J Basham, and smalls who are good over head.

If you dont know by now, Yes I show confidence in my players and believe in their ability, which all coaches should do...
Im not out their to lose, but on occassions you get beaten by better sides.

They will be hard to match up on, but people kid themselves when they say sides are unbeatable, we beat Waubra with what they had out there, and thats all you can do. Im not saying we were better then them, but it only takes a few injuries, inclement weather (hot/Cold/windy), complacenceny and the whole ball game changes.
Our strength is our running players no question, but we do have Veldhuis, Gudgeon, Sachse, Madigan, Davey, and duffy who can play tall down back. We also have numerous forwards who are mobile and over 6ft in Sobey, J Basham, and smalls who are good over head.

If you dont know by now, Yes I show confidence in my players and believe in their ability, which all coaches should do...
Im not out their to lose, but on occassions you get beaten by better sides.

Agree NO side is unbeatable. I believe any of the top 6 sides can beat one another on their day. Another factor is the draw, some sides r 6 goals better side at home. Also playing a sides coming off tough games leaves them vulnerable.

Anyone heard of the bloke that used to play ones for Ballarat who goes by the name of Roaring Moose. Some say he is a gun and can play others say he did well to put away Learmonths' future wife that day back in 2005 out behind the kitchen at the hallowed VIC park in D'ford. Any comments?

JH

LOLZ

Has anyone herd what Dunnstown has been up to, herd a rumour that they have picked up a heap of uni students and one of them is Aaron Sawers... played amo's last year, and goes very well i have been told.