Central Highlands

Brace yourself everyone..... the mail is Learmonth has lifted his self imposed media ban.

They are back on track after beating the disappointing Bunnies.

Springbank are the real deal they will finish in Top 5....fifth spot looks like might go to team with softest draw....hmmmmm maybe Learmonth.
Bunga improved, but the pot is boiling over there.
The other clubs outside the top 5, are wasting money. Sack what you have got and save it for next year, might sound tough, but to compete you need to double your budget and start shopping now. good luck.

Looking Like
Waubra
Hepburn
Daylesford
Springbank
??????

No player would go to a club who sacks players half way through season if they cannot make the finals.

Thanks for the update on Mayor and magic. Can you tell me if Phil Morrish or Will Casey are still playing for Clunes. That Casey turned the 97 grand final aroung for Clunes i think?

Na netiher of those boys are still at Clunes. I haven't seen Morrish around the club for years, unsure about Casey. If i remember correctly, Clunes were about 8 goals down at half-time of the 97 granny and somehow came back to record an unbelievable victory - casey played a major part.

Springbank are the real deal they will finish in Top 5....fifth spot looks like might go to team with softest draw....hmmmmm maybe Learmonth.

Looking Like
Waubra
Hepburn
Daylesford
Springbank
??????

Looking at the results, Springbank obviously put up a good fight against Hepburn, but "the real deal" maybe a bit premature. I watched them in round 1 and they did have a few good players running around, but do they have the depth to consistently challenge the better sides?

The other clubs outside the top 5, are wasting money. Sack what you have got and save it for next year, might sound tough, but to compete you need to double your budget and start shopping now. good luck.

Sacking players mid-season isn't going to help the reputation of the club, which in turn won't help in attracting players in the future. IMO mid-season sackings could only be justified if the player is totally uncommitted to the cause.

I agree that it is highly likely that 7-8 teams have little (or no) chance of making finals this year, which is unfortunate. IMO this is a direct result of the discrepancy between the amount clubs are spending on total player payments.

Can someone please inform me what the official salary cap is in the CHFL? Is there somewhere on CHFL website that has the official policy in writing? How strictly is it monitored?

Seems you weren't far off the mark there Archie.
Unlucky to not come away with the win from all reports. Who was the best on ground for the Bankers

Yeah the game easily have gone our way. Jarrod James was probably the difference. Nichol, Tranquilli & Florance were good all day for Springbank.

Sacking players mid-season isn't going to help the reputation of the club, which in turn won't help in attracting players in the future. IMO mid-season sackings could only be justified if the player is totally uncommitted to the cause.

I agree that it is highly likely that 7-8 teams have little (or no) chance of making finals this year, which is unfortunate. IMO this is a direct result of the discrepancy between the amount clubs are spending on total player payments.

Can someone please inform me what the official salary cap is in the CHFL? Is there somewhere on CHFL website that has the official policy in writing? How strictly is it monitored?

Salary cap was scrapped years ago mate, it is open slather now.

[/b]

Salary cap was scrapped years ago mate, it is open slather now.

Fair dinkum, i reckon that's a joke.

What's other people's opinion on this? I think there certainly should be a cap - something around 50k excluding coach??

As i've said previously in this thread, if it continues to be open slather, it's only a matter of time (3-5 years i reckon) before 2-3 CHFL clubs fold IMO.

Fair dinkum, i reckon that's a joke.

What's other people's opinion on this? I think there certainly should be a cap - something around 50k excluding coach??

As i've said previously in this thread, if it continues to be open slather, it's only a matter of time (3-5 years i reckon) before 2-3 CHFL clubs fold IMO.

I would have thought most CHFL clubs were spending 50K +.
If u have the cash why not spend it??

U hear plenty of rumors of the coin getting thrown around but IMO alot of it is exaggerated.

Looking at the results, Springbank obviously put up a good fight against Hepburn, but "the real deal" maybe a bit premature. I watched them in round 1 and they did have a few good players running around, but do they have the depth to consistently challenge the better sides?

They put up more than a good fight. was a great contest all day. No one likes to make up excuses but their were a few umpiring decisions at cruicial times in the game that cost springbank a couple of goals.Hepburn kicked two quick goals late to grab the win. Didn't help that their was only one umpire either due to the other ump getting carried from the feild with what looked to be a rolled ankle. But over all it is great for the club and the players to give themselves the confidence to know that they can match it with the better sides in the comp. As for Sheppard deffinetly not in the best top 10 players as most people have said he is. He is big, huge in fact but nothing like a Adams or Tranquili. Likes to pick off people smaller than him but from what I saw on saturday not intersested if the person is bigger.

What are people's views on the push in the back rule during a marking contest? P.T the ump thinks he is central umpire at the MCG I wreckon.

I would have thought most CHFL clubs were spending 50K +.
If u have the cash why not spend it??

U hear plenty of rumors of the coin getting thrown around but IMO alot of it is exaggerated.

That's my point. Some clubs might have the resources to throw around say $100k whereas others might only have the resources to outlay $30k.

Surely there has to be a median somewhere so that those who lack resources are not completely hindered in their attempts to compete, whereas those clubs who have the resources are given enough room to throw some cash around, but not ridiculous amounts.

Although I'm not privvy to the player payments at Clunes, I would be 99.99% certain that we would be not even close to 50k. The foundation of this year's senior team is 4-5 club stalwarts, 10-15 juniors & a few from uni, mates of players, etc...

That's my point. Some clubs might have the resources to throw around say $100k whereas others might only have the resources to outlay $30k.

Surely there has to be a median somewhere so that those who lack resources are not completely hindered in their attempts to compete, whereas those clubs who have the resources are given enough room to throw some cash around, but not ridiculous amounts.

Although I'm not privvy to the player payments at Clunes, I would be 99.99% certain that we would be not even close to 50k. The foundation of this year's senior team is 4-5 club stalwarts, 10-15 juniors & a few from uni, mates of players, etc...

Cap used to be $35k. Was scrapped because it is impossible to police. Most player payments are payed in cash to avoid the prying eye of the tax man and a lot of clubs have wealthy backers who pitch in plenty. This money doesn't even go through the club books so how could a league enforce a salary cap. I agree that weaker clubs in all leagues will find it tougher to compete with the rich clubs, not just the CHFL.

Brace yourself everyone..... the mail is Learmonth has lifted his self imposed media ban.

They are back on track after beating the disappointing Bunnies.

Looking Like
Waubra
Hepburn
Daylesford
Springbank
??????

Big call! Springbank have beat clunes beaufort and creswick and you have them pencilled in for a finals spot? Might be better to wait and see how they go over the next month.

Thats why they Clunes are will not make the finals you need to spend money on players. Its great they have a good junior structre in place and are getting senior players out of the junior sides.
No cap is great if clubs have the money then spend it. Smart recruiting is good recruiting

They put up more than a good fight. was a great contest all day. No one likes to make up excuses but their were a few umpiring decisions at cruicial times in the game that cost springbank a couple of goals.Hepburn kicked two quick goals late to grab the win. Didn't help that their was only one umpire either due to the other ump getting carried from the feild with what looked to be a rolled ankle. But over all it is great for the club and the players to give themselves the confidence to know that they can match it with the better sides in the comp. As for Sheppard deffinetly not in the best top 10 players as most people have said he is. He is big, huge in fact but nothing like a Adams or Tranquili. Likes to pick off people smaller than him but from what I saw on saturday not intersested if the person is bigger.

What are people's views on the push in the back rule during a marking contest? P.T the ump thinks he is central umpire at the MCG I wreckon.

Sounds like I may have underestimated the Bankers..
I heard ur FF is a gun, what VFL club is he from??

A reliable source told me that Clunes spent around 40K last year. There are plenty of teams in the CHFL that are wasting money on playing that aren't worth it. Some of the teams with small budgets have dug themselves bigger holes by wasting the little money that they do have.

Clubs need to invest both time and money when recruiting. The more time you spend researching, speaking to players and shopping around, the less money you have to spend.

A reliable source told me that Clunes spent around 40K last year. There are plenty of teams in the CHFL that are wasting money on playing that aren't worth it. Some of the teams with small budgets have dug themselves bigger holes by wasting the little money that they do have.

Clubs need to invest both time and money when recruiting. The more time you spend researching, speaking to players and shopping around, the less money you have to spend.

That would be true , however hepburn, Waubra, Daylesford are clearly spending more than the rest.
Its the bottom end players picked up. Why do think people all of sudden go to a club that hasnt had success. they draw players with money and then get a taste for success and believe it is just aorund the corner, so they keep the inital players that costs a fair bit then top up the bottom, however still having to spend more again so what starts out at $40K, ends up like $60K to $80K. Yes Hepburn in the higher end.
Learmonth is trying the same now...increase the spending because he thinks he is close. but realy he is a long way off, when compared the 3 clubs above. dont worry he wont reead this as he is not allowed back on here.
He decided on continuin the self impose media ban (under tag of learmonth)..although did notice he made best players, most coaches dont put there own names in. so this his way of getting in the media.

Dunnstown v Bungaree

Its do or die for these to its only early in the year i no but its only a final 5 so if either of these to hope to snatch fifth spot they nead to win this one.It will take a lot of charracter for Dunnstown to turn around from what was a big defeat .they wont be the last side to go to Daylesford and get thrashed.
As for bungaree there confidence must be at an all time low,after expecting big thing pre season there season will be all but over if they loose this one .Im exspecting a close game as it usually is between these to

Dunnstown v Bungaree

Its do or die for these to its only early in the year i no but its only a final 5 so if either of these to hope to snatch fifth spot they nead to win this one.It will take a lot of charracter for Dunnstown to turn around from what was a big defeat .they wont be the last side to go to Daylesford and get thrashed.
As for bungaree there confidence must be at an all time low,after expecting big thing pre season there season will be all but over if they loose this one .Im exspecting a close game as it usually is between these to

your on the money there Dr evil. Who do you feel the playeras to watch are?
i am interested to see if sawers gets back this week for dunnstown. herd some very positive things about him.. and what about knowles for bunga? they could be the players to watch....

Learmonth is trying the same now...increase the spending because he thinks he is close. but realy he is a long way off, when compared the 3 clubs above. dont worry he wont reead this as he is not allowed back on here.
He decided on continuin the self impose media ban (under tag of learmonth)..although did notice he made best players, most coaches dont put there own names in. so this his way of getting in the media.

It's probably a bit late i would have thought. Personally I enjoyed reading his opinions/thoughts, but considering he is actually a coach in the league i would've thought his players/committee would be disappointed that he's given oppostion teams/players enough extra incentive to want to smash Learmonth (the team) every time they play for the next 5 years.