Preview Changes: R4 vs Brisbane

Gibbs peak > Lyons peak.

Not sure about this: Lyons is three years younger and is getting better in a more sympathetic system after spending too much time two weeks out of three in the SANFL or in that bloody green vest - meanwhile Gibbs has been on the downhill slide for a year even before he wore a Crows jumper...

You can talk about potential all you like, sadly I don't think Gibbs ever reached his potential peak - or ever will. :(

Murphy wont be dropped when Stengle comes back.
Doesnt deserve to be either.
The hate mob are going to be very disappointed.

At this stage I reckon it's a raffle. The other 2 in it are doing a bit more work up the ground, so that might save them as we historically enjoy the like for like when it suits. I'd be disappointed for Murphy, would love to see him a bit behind the ball and at stoppages. Has the hustle needed and deserves a crack. Still, reckon it's a raffle and it might come down to who's the worst in the game before he returns. None of them have put themselves out if the discussion to make way. Could easily be McAdam or Lynch/Fog as well.

Selection is exciting, watching us is painful. Starting to understand Carlton supporters and trade/draft period. It's all they had to look forward to.

Gibbs peak > Lyons peak.

Lyons gets love and he deserves it due to being a really likable guy, but really, he's a journeyman level AFL player, and plenty of those end up winning Mageries in the SANFL instead. Gibbs at his best is a class above that.

A damn shame we ruined that shot with our own mismanagement.

Lyons was 60 games in, had his peak years ahead of him. Good point, another major point of difference.

Move Lyons on. Not trade for Gibbs

Keep Cameron. Pay him more, with some of the capspace allotted for Gibbs.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Certainly what you'd do with the power of hindsight.

Probably also aggressively move on, or try to renegotiate contracts with 1-2 players as well (cough Lynch, cough).

You can't knock the kids effort, but it just hasn't worked for him. Mind you he has been at the wrong end of the ground.
I do wonder if moving him back would work.

Not just him. You'd think Brown or Laird would relish a crack at a few minutes up forward here and there. A bit of a breather and a change of scenery.

I actually said that last week to a mate before the Suns game - my "batshit crazy Blight move" would be Brad Crouch to back pocket and Brown to forward pocket (or wing).

I don't recall Brown missing too many shots at goal (not that he's had many) and at least he would be accountable for his opponent.

Brad Crouch on the other hand should have a bit more thinking time and a clear field in front to use those elite foot skills we keep hearing about (but rarely see), and as a bonus he may get a bit of respect for defenders having to cover for midfielders who stop running and let their opponents run wild.

Don't gift Thommo a sham 'coaching' year. The obvious move was keep Lyons on the $300k per season less than Gibbs required. Lyons would be in his last year right now. And we’d have about $500k extra for CC. Thing is, you and those like you are looking at Crouch, Crouch & Sloane and saying that we couldn’t use him. It was stupidity then and it’s not gotten any smarter with the benefit of hindsight.

Keays appears to a fit guy who keeps running to the wrong spots... so playing him in a run with role on a ball magnet like Neale could be a great move.

We need to try new things.
Keays seems like a good kid that works hard. Agree with the runs to the wrong spots sentiment though. Maybe a run with role might give him the footy smarts he needs. Plus coming up against his old team might be a reason to play out his skin.

Don't gift Thommo a sham 'coaching' year. The obvious move was keep Lyons on the $300k per season less than Gibbs required. Lyons would be in his last year right now. And we’d have about $500k extra for CC. Thing is, you and those like you are looking at Crouch, Crouch & Sloane and saying that we couldn’t use him. It was stupidity then and it’s not gotten any smarter with the benefit of hindsight.
It really is just moving the deck chairs.

Any combination of Sloane, Gibbs, Crouch, Crouch, Lyons does not improve our midfield

None of the guys in this conversation is a truly elite mid.

That is what we need, and have needed since Danger left. Most good clubs have two, even three.

It really is just moving the deck chairs.

Any combination of Sloane, Gibbs, Crouch, Crouch, Lyons does not improve our midfield

None of the guys in this conversation is a truly elite mid.

That is what we need, and have needed since Danger left. Most good clubs have two, even three.

This is what happens when you look at numbers instead of impact. For example, Lyons, when he played, was often the bloke who would hit a leading forward on the boob out of a stoppage. He was a major source of effective F50 entries for us. When was the last time you saw B Crouch hit a leading forward?

I'd say a mid of Lyons, Greenwood and and 20 games Chayce would be just as effective as what we have now, with upside and $500k in the bank.

Why does ROB get singled out? Thought he has been serviceable, even last week in one of his poorer performances he still showed something.

At worst he is the least of our problems.
I don't think he's having a go at ROB as much as admitting we're not supporting him properly with Tex and Fog as the backup rucks and we need someone serviceable in that spot

This is what happens when you look at numbers instead of impact. For example, Lyons, when he played, was often the bloke who would hit a leading forward on the boob out of a stoppage. He was a major source of effective F50 entries for us. When was the last time you saw B Crouch hit a leading forward?

I'd say a mid of Lyons, Greenwood and and 20 games Chayce would be just as effective as what we have now, with upside and $500k in the bank.
I think you might be remembering JL's kicking with rose coloured glasses

You can't knock the kids effort, but it just hasn't worked for him. Mind you he has been at the wrong end of the ground.
I do wonder if moving him back would work.
1 goal from 3 matches this season averaging 7 disposals a game. 12 goals from last 18 matches if my maths are correct. From CC to this. Moving to defence may help but there's a reason no other club picked him up for 2 drafts. Nothing against the lad but he has no standout feature to make up for his lack of height and needs to learn to play as a small instead of trying to play as a big. Would prefer Stengle, McAdam, Davis, McHenry in our forward line. Forwards need to either create goals or score them themselves.

Why does ROB get singled out? Thought he has been serviceable, even last week in one of his poorer performances he still showed something.

At worst he is the least of our problems.
ROB has been one of our best midfielders and he plays Ruck. He is the least of our problems. His kicking has always been his weakness but he has improved it somewhat.

Matt Crouch is our best mid, come on people he has been horrible this year.

He may get the odd clearance but what he does with the ball and what he doesn't do when he doesn't have the ball is telling.

Lack if hurt - he has achieved 650 metres gained this year compared to ROB at 410 and Walker at 495. When you are mid you need to be better than that. Brouch has been much better but he's kicking the ball rather handballing constantly like Matt

Got this in my Inbox, very happy for the lad

He's 25! Better late than never. Excited to see what he can do.

Importantly, notice how happy the playing group are for him, which is really nice. I don't think the playing group is fractured, I think they know where they're at. Similarly, there seems to be respect for Nicksy, I think they know he's on a hiding to nothing.

Preview Changes: R4 vs Brisbane