Changes v GWS

An excerpt from Ken's latest presser on the PAFC site.

When they watch Port Adelaide play at their best they recognise when we've played at our best but they haven't recognised the change in ball movement at times.

"We have three styles of ball movement that we work with all the time – we don't just live in the one world.

"I'm really strong in the belief of what we do and I'm not going to change from that … I don't care if people think I have to change or the team has to change – the team will get it right."

- See more at: http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2015-08-13/hinkley-has-faith-in-ruck-duo#sthash.9r2ch7pt.dpuf

Hmmm. That's the first time I've actually been completely offside with something he has said.

I assure you, we recognized the change in ball movement. It's made us stink like the devils anus.

You can look at similarities just in sport, and blitz in NFL is a great tactic, but you can't do it all the time, and the opposition can't be ready for it when it comes.
It is a useful gameplan in bursts.
Correct in bursts but not all the time. Thats why we need better structures because Ken's isnt sustainable for 120 minutes against the best sides, but you have it in your back pocket. And I dont reckon its a great main game plan when its wet and the grounds are slippery and or wet.

An excerpt from Ken's latest presser on the PAFC site.

When they watch Port Adelaide play at their best they recognise when we've played at our best but they haven't recognised the change in ball movement at times.

"We have three styles of ball movement that we work with all the time – we don't just live in the one world.

"I'm really strong in the belief of what we do and I'm not going to change from that … I don't care if people think I have to change or the team has to change – the team will get it right."

- See more at: http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2015-08-13/hinkley-has-faith-in-ruck-duo#sthash.9r2ch7pt.dpuf

Interesting comments, clearly Ken believes his game plan will eventually work ( again ), but let's hope it is based on genuine belief, and not a choco type pigheadedness.

Only time will tell. ;)

More bad than good changes. The bad's has a good run in this thread with me as a contributor but I was at least happy with two of the ins : Ah Chee and Krakouer. Felt happy enough for Angus to get a recall. Krakouer's normally a good decision maker and delivers the ball well by hand and foot, two problem areas for the team for most of the year. Ah Chee brings toughness to the contest, and a bit of x-factor with his damaging handball. He's a step-up on Andrew Moore. Ken should play Brendon for the rest of the year even if he spuds it up in a game.

Just about all our team is from interstate. Throwing up Jacobs name as a one off is about as piss week as not drafting darling in the first place. Oh but we do have butcher so no need to worry. ;)

The point being that if we were going to draft a homesick mummy's boy, we should've at least drafted one like Darling who can actually play.

Cant argue with that but I bet Darling came across as a mummy's boy and Jacobs as a highly driven individual who would play anywhere.

I doubt that. Jacobs was a sook from day one.

The W is how you measure game plans success. Our W's say its failed. The fact the opposition adjust their style when they play us counter it doesnt means its a success it means our opposition have worked us out. One could say Blitzkrieg is a successful game plan in war but if someone counters it then you arent going to succeed.

Jake Neade had to beat tall defenders against Hawthorn for half a game in the PF and it didnt work because they are taller, stronger and as fast. If he cant get metres in the clear then he has no chance because they will crunch tackle him. Hes not that good to beat them. Same with Harry Taylor over Sam Gray against Geelong. All Australian KPDs against shrimps or our fringe players are going to win or neutralize the contest 99 out of 100 times. Robbie Gray couldnt beat Harry Taylor the 15 or 20 minutes he had to stand him over a couple of quarters mid season when we didnt play enough talls in our forward line.

You are an evangelist to the game plan. Im not! 2014 was copied in 2015 and it failed because of both personnel and opposition. Maybe the players have come to the conclusion its BS, just like our 2004 team decided the previous 3 years game plan was BS when the opposition brought maximum pressure. Copy 2014 into 2016 and we will fail again. 2014 saw us go 4-7 in the second half of the season which suggested it was unsustainable and doesnt work well when winter sets in. Its not how close you get its the W's that matter.

You have to give it to Ken he has the ability to get our players up mentally for finals. If Freo had kicked straight in the first half of the SF last year we might not have gone on about how great his game plan is. We beat Freo and almost pinched against the Hawks when we played high risk healter skelter footy the opposition wasnt ready for and not fit enough to counter. This year they were ready for it. And they will be ready for the 2014 version in 2016.

Early in the year, in the very first round, we played a possession style gameplan that worked reasonably well and was nothing like the 2014 gameplan. You know why we stopped doing that? Because our idiot fans only think we are playing well when we go all out attack. And our players, who seem to be more concerned about "playing the right way" and feeding off the home crowd then actually winning, kept trying to play the "sexy football" that Hartlett described.

The only part of 2014 that was copied this year was our pitiful attempts to try and run...but only when there was space. No players actually ran to create space. Not a one. Does that mean the gameplan is flawed? Or does it mean that our players are only prepared to work hard and get down and dirty when the camera can pick it up? As for our defence - we are a 10 ppg worse team than last year.

If we had kicked straight against Hawthorn in the PF...that whole argument is a fallacy whenever people bring it up. Repeat forward 50 entries and shots on goal are the direct result of teams struggling to get the ball over the top of a press. You can't point at 5.12 and say "if we had kicked straight we would have won", because the only reason 12 points were kicked is because the team locked the ball in. Besides, Fremantle's misses were shots from 50 on the run and not gimme goals.

I'm an advocate of innovation, not stagnation. Innovation and adaptability. We lost games this year because teams "worked us out" by not allowing us the corridor and flooding players into our forward line to stop the run, but my question is "If there are players back in our forward line waiting for the intercept, why can't we find the free players we have in defence or in the midfield?" The answer is - because they aren't prepared to play for each other.

All playing a third tall has done for us this year is make us regress to a stagnant mess of bail out kicks, lack of run and slow ball movement. If we were breaking down across half forward or getting repeat inside 50 entries then I'd be right on board. But we're not. Now, don't get me wrong - three talls is essential to a premiership. But unless our mids and defence realise that a key forward isn't the panacea to all our problems and that they actually have to put effort in both sides of the ball, we aren't going anywhere. And seriously, if the players thought it was BS they wouldn't keep trying to force our "blitz" instead of moving the ball methodically up the field like they should be doing.

They'll get it right. It's not that hard.

Correct in bursts but not all the time. Thats why we need better structures because Ken's isnt sustainable for 120 minutes against the best sides, but you have it in your back pocket. And I dont reckon its a great main game plan when its wet and the grounds are slippery and or wet.

Absolutely. In the depths of Winter during the Hinkley era we have won 5/8 in 2013, 2/8 in 2014 and 3/7 in 2015.

BUTCHER OUT of the SANFL Squad.

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

I'm an advocate of innovation, not stagnation. Innovation and adaptability. We lost games this year because teams "worked us out" by not allowing us the corridor and flooding players into our forward line to stop the run, but my question is "If there are players back in our forward line waiting for the intercept, why can't we find the free players we have in defence or in the midfield?" The answer is - because they aren't prepared to play for each other.
I am a great advocate for innovation - have been working with inventors for around 15 years. But as my colleague says - who is an inventor himself - you dont have to always re-invent the wheel, sometimes you just need to put quality air in the tyres.

They'll get it right. It's not that hard.
If its that easy it would have been done.

Early in the year, in the very first round, we played a possession style gameplan that worked reasonably well and was nothing like the 2014 gameplan. You know why we stopped doing that? Because our idiot fans only think we are playing well when we go all out attack. And our players, who seem to be more concerned about "playing the right way" and feeding off the home crowd then actually winning, kept trying to play the "sexy football" that Hartlett described.

Surely you don't seriously believe we changed our game plan after one week because the fans didn't like it? The possession game was a horses for courses move and it was for the Freo game only. Ken is not and never will be that type of coach.

Even taking the worst scenario and darling wants to go home after 2 years we are going to get better than pick 36 or whatever it was for Jacobs. Whatever way you cut the cake we got the thin slice.

Changes v GWS