FTA-TV Channel 7 GF Coverage bitch thread

TV Guide has established that they'll be cutting their GF coverage at 6pm to show us the news, followed by "Australia Smashes Guinness World Records"

Let the abuse begin.

Oh, and from 9am-12pm they're showing a 3 hour version of Game Day. Brace yourselves for 3 hours of Hamish McLachlan and Jason Akermanis. I can't think of any worse way to start GF morning.

I won't remember anything that happens after the game, so no issues here. I blanked out late in the 4th quarter last year, I'm hoping to last the whole game this year.:p

And the f***ing count-down clock right up until the final siren. If it's a close game I'd rather it count up in the last five minutes so you don't know exactly how long there is to go.

just looking in the herald sun weekly tv guide and Saturday 6pm is......"to be Advised". How are we as a society goig to cope if the news is not on at 6pm on the dot. Think everyone needs to boycott ch7 for the next week as a form of protest.

Yourtv.com.au lists the news at 6pm.

I think its fair enough for Channel 7 to go to the news at 6pm BUT they have three channels now! All of the following shows are apparently more important than covering the post match celebrations:

7two
5.30pm Better Homes and Gardens
6.30 Doctor Finlay
7.30 Heartbeat

7mate
6.00 That 70s Show
6.30 Gene Simmons Family Jewels
7.00 How I Met Your Mother
7.30 Scrubs

OneHD should get all Grand Finals as they're the only channel that's actually dedicated to sport and not other crap.

And the f***ing count-down clock right up until the final siren. If it's a close game I'd rather it count up in the last five minutes so you don't know exactly how long there is to go.

**** I can't stand that either :mad:

Nothing more intense than not knowing when the siren's going to go - added dramatically to the 05/06/09 GFs. Imagine if they were broadcast on 7 :(

Damn shame that we will be subject to the travesty that is 7's GF coverage

I dunno if they're the worst, but their obsession with the super close-up is doing my far'kin head in. It's like being at the game and trying to watch the play through a cardboard tube. And because the camera is so close in, the cameraman has to jiggle his camera around a lot to try to keep the ball on the screen, and this eventually gives me a headache behind my eyes

Not to mention when they get a helicopter to fly over and show us parts of games from hundreds of meters up in the air. No, we don't want to watch the footy from the f***ing sky. :eek:

I remember they cut away just before the Hawthorn club song in 2008 for the 6pm news in the eastern zone.

Those of us in WA got treated to a nature documentary instead.

It was unfortunate.

it would be nearly worth them doing this again this year just to see the backlash, both groups of supporters would tear down ch7 HQ.

I'll be spending the broadcast huddled in a corner rocking back and forth:

'It's the last 7 GF in the contract'

At least Channel 10 stayed on after 6pm to show the celebrations :thumbsu:

And Sydney and Brisbane get Weekend Sunrise instead of the breakfast :rolleyes::thumbsdown: Great start to the weekend hey?

no gf marathon in brisbane

no north melbourne gf breakfast in brisbane. instead we have to put up with over exposed flogs for 2 hours

too much hamish mac

and having some busker wannabe singer singing the national anthem. that came from one of their rubbish shows

Back in the mid 1990s, Channel 7 was wall-to-wall footy from 7:30 PM on the Friday night... the marathon would kick off about 12:00... go through to the Grand Final Breakfast at 8:00. Under 18s at 9:00, Reserves at 11:00, Entertainment at 2:00, Main game at 2:30.

Looking at tonight... "Knocked Up" is on. Why not piss that shit off and show a marathon starting earlier. I remember Seven showing "That Was The Season That Was" as a Friday night offering before the big game.

What's also strange: since the reserves went to the VFL, how come the Under 18s game doesn't start, say, 10:00-10:30? It still starts about 8:15, and Channel 7 don't even bother to show it any more (leaving it to Foxtel). (Seven's really become lazy with coverage ever since they got it back, which is really sad - you'd think that if they lost it in the first place, they'd have wanted to try harder when they got it back. Unfortunately Nine and Ten were content to set the bar lower.)

FTA-TV Channel 7 GF Coverage bitch thread