Past Chris Yarran

I still say he'll kill it at the Tigs. Pick 19 is an iffy return for a player of his capabilities. Very disappointing he didn't want to be here.

BUT, we are where we are, and SOS has absolutely demolished the list so... it's all new kids and Bolts to take us forward now. Scars of the past gone.
What are your thoughts on the direction SOS is taking us Fazman? Always value your input mate, keep it up :thumbsu:

So long Chris... a nice highlight package... but too many games where you do something special and then disappear for the rest of the game.

Have a nice career taking it easy over at Bitchmond.

Farewell Chris. I enjoyed watching you glide through traffic like the were standing still. I'll probably never know the real reasons you left. I justvwish you left with more dignity. Good luck!

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

What are your thoughts on the direction SOS is taking us Fazman? Always value your input mate, keep it up :thumbsu:

The reality is Yarran wanted out. That's sad. Hendo, too. But one can understand why Carlton would not have been a fun place to be the past few years.

*I* think the best way forward for Carlton is a complete rebuild - and that's what's happening. Am I sure it'll work? Nope. But I'm satisfied I'm getting what I want. We are going to have to take our medicine for the next few years - but how enjoyable should it be following a young and developing low-ranked team vs an old, broken, sulky, underachieving low-ranked team?

I'm excited. The kids will take a while to get going, but in their first few years you only expect to see glimpses of the player they will become.

So the Tiges got Yarran, heard richardson on sen reckons he was nervous towards .then heard plough the list manager, who is tigers man, not a fan of yarran reckons tigers didn't do very well. 19 was not a good deal, reckons yarran will probably spike then pretty much same old... Rated tigers c minus

Personally I dont think yarran is the type of player they need, they're already flakey enough

I think someone on the Tigers Board said it best.

Yazz is phenomenal when he is on, and loving his footy, but he is a hugely negative liability when he is not.

He hated his footy under Mick.
So he sooked and ran away when Richmond offered him a big pay check to play unaccountable footy.

I have no idea whether he will play well for Richmond, but I think SOS did the right thing in relenting and taking 19.

The likelihood that Yazz was going to play good footy for us at some point in the future was pretty small. Better to take pick 19 and have a few toothless barflies from Richmond laugh at SOS, instead of getting shafted in free agency next year and getting not much in return except for a years worth of negative energy from Yazz.

I think in the early years I liked Yazz for his consistency and energy, but in recent years he has turned into a flakey inconsistent sook. You could argue that Mick ruined Yazz for us, but you could also argue that Mick pushed Yazz and found him out.

Yazz is now an inconsistent flake.
Maybe Hardwick can sort him out - to his credit he did sort out Reiwoldt.
But I don't think Yazz will be holding up any cups with the Tigers.

We move on with a young, rebuilt team.
No rockstar amigos, just a hardworking young team.

I can live with that.

Wow! They've created a new thread over there having a circle jerk about not blinking with pick 19.
I suppose they don't have much else from the trade period to talk about, so they have to hang on to the small things.
Typical Richmond. Don't have any success themselves so this is what makes them happy. Classic Tuggers.

Wow! They've created a new thread over there having a circle jerk about not blinking with pick 19.
I suppose they don't have much else from the trade period to talk about, so they have to hang on to the small things.

Like they've won a final...

Dimma must think Yarran is the final peice ... LOL

It's a shame that you've left us in these circumstances. Certainly plenty of highlights. Unfortunately there were too many lowlights brought on by a lack of mental toughness. I think of your mates playing back in Perth. Nic Nat and Michael Walters. Nic Nat always a star with a great attitude and a will to win the contest. Walters, a troubled kid, who listened and pulled himself together in time. He is now a feared player in the competition.

Over 100 games, pushing 100 goals, great skills, speed to burn, shocking attitude. If you continue on your current path your talent will be wasted. I'm glad you've gone because you had become a distraction at Carlton. We need focus to get better. Focus is definitely not one of your strong points. So we'll improve as a result of you leaving.

On a personal note I do wish Chris well, he hasn't been happy and if his off field issues are true, its a sad situation. The doco of the 3 indigenous boys is great and when we first drafted Chris, i was rapt. So I hope it improves for him and his life outside footy sees him happy & sorted.

What a pointless article.

Let's measure all players on how many Browlow votes they accrue...pfft.

Plenty of players provide solid, consistent output for their teams and never accrue a single vote. I'd rather a guy who does his job week in week out without fail than a guy who has the odd blinder and then disappears for the rest of the season.
That looks like a year 9 maths project on statistical analysis. Absolute amatuer hour that article.

On a personal note I do wish Chris well, he hasn't been happy and if his off field issues are true, its a sad situation. The doco of the 3 indigenous boys is great and when we first drafted Chris, i was rapt. So I hope it improves for him and his life outside footy sees him happy & sorted.
Yeah I was really excited when we picked him up, but he kind of lost his way that's for sure.

However I fail to see how moving 2klm's down Hoddle St will fix his personal issues outside footy.

Pretty sure he'll tear it up twice a year though ..... bastard.

Posted in The Bay

On field performance when he is in the mood is what everyone wants to see from Yarran - without a doubt one of the genuine elite runners/kickers in the game - can play back (as long as he doesn't have to get over the ball or make a hard tackle) - rebound when given the ball (by some poor schmuck having to not only cover for him but also win the ball and get it to him) - is sublime - can play a crumbing forward role as well as any and better than most...just won't tackle or run each way..only negative I can see in his game is severe lack of tank - he is a burst player looks like he is doing it easy when leaving blokes in the dust or grasping at air- but in fact is burning up massive amounts of limited energy..

can't play him on the wing - no endurance...can't rotate for any period of time as an on baller - doesn't like getting smashed...not that you'd waste his outside run on that...

Now thats the on field upside...and what the Tuggers are hoping for...

It was Carlton's call to keep him or not - and I don't think on field lack of form was the issue.

Good luck (genuine) tuggers I love watching Yarran play his best and leave everyone eating dust as he saunters through the arcs - when he feels like it. If you are in front he can close the game for you...if you are too far behind - he won't be there. If you play him forward he is good for 30+ goals - easy, but if you do - you miss out on his major weaponry - setting up play. He was in my opinion the perfect for Hawthorn - they have the running game and runners capable of actually doing Yarran's skill's justice.

I'll miss his best and prefer to forget the rest.:thumbsu:

I tell you what makes me peeved. The 119 games and the name on a locker of a guy who really played for himself and chose when he decided to do so.

The trade should have included him having to forfeit 20 of his games and move them to a player from a neighbouring locker (say 14) who gave his all to the jumper (say Brad Fisher), so that they could deservingly have their name on a locker.

:cool:

I feel very nostalgic about the days of the 3 amigos, when they were all fit and firing and smiling and wreaking havoc on opposition defences.

Good luck to Yaz, if he overcomes whatevers been bothering him then he'll be one of the elites in the league.

Maybe they should go to the Dogs board to thank them for trading pick 11 to us otherwise the yarran deal may not have eventuated. Carlton got their wish in the end for another early pick so no point holding on to yarran anymore. Pity we didn't get Tomlinson though, I guess the yazz deal went through a bit late for that to eventuate

I tell you what makes me peeved. The 119 games and the name on a locker of a guy who really played for himself and chose when he decided to do so.

The trade should have included him having to forfeit 20 of his games and move them to a player from a neighbouring locker (say 14) who gave his all to the jumper (say Brad Fisher), so that they could deservingly have their name on a locker.

:cool:
Just 1 would've been enough

Maybe they should go to the Dogs board to thank them for trading pick 11 to us otherwise the yarran deal may not have eventuated. Carlton got their wish in the end for another early pick so no point holding on to yarran anymore. Pity we didn't get Tomlinson though, I guess the yazz deal went through a bit late for that to eventuate

Just 1 would've been enough
Yeah I know. I just wanted to get Yarran under 100.

19 was a decent pick for him... could easily have been a lot less.
Certainly it was more than most Tigger supporters were suggesting we would get, including their ex-coach/The List Mangler. At the end of the day, knowing we could get 19 for Yarran made it easy to swap 20 & 21 for 11. You would happily take this outcome.

The age is reporting that the Tiges would have taken Yarran +20 for pick 12.
I guess it doesn't matter cos GWS knocked back 11 for Tomlinson anyway.
They also said that GC offered 29 + undisclosed pick for Everitt but it fell over when we couldn't get Tomlinson.

Anyway, I am not feeling sorry to see any of those players leave other than Tom Bell.

Past Chris Yarran