Rumour Clayton Oliver

Well to be fair, driving without a license (whilst not defendable) is nowhere near as bad as drink driving which your lad JDG and several other players have been busted for.
I'm only just catching up on this latest incident, but driving whilst your license is disqualified for medical reasons is ABSOLUTELY as bad as drink driving.
I have a family member who had a seizure behind the wheel, crossed 3 lanes of traffic going the same direction and crashed into a concrete light post in fairly wide median strip, that then fell across the 3 lanes of oncoming traffic. He was on the phone to his dad at the time, who had no idea what was going on and had to listen to the people who pulled over to help talking in the background asking if he was still alive.
Thankfully, he was, and nobody was taken out by the lamp pole. If he hadn't hit the post, he would have driven into oncoming traffic.

He lost his license for 12 months, then had another 6 months added at the end of that 12 months. Many, many neurologist visits and changes in medication dosage to eventually get it back, then lost it again due to a seizure at work (not behind the wheel), which had to be reported.

It is NOT the kind of thing to be throwing into the 'this thing is worse than this thing' basket. Nothing against you personally EJ, just wanted to add some personal experience to the mix.

Now that that's out of the way, addressing the issue in general, I actually had to google what happened this time, as I wasn't really aware of the latest indiscretion. You'd think he'd be doing his best to pull his head in with everything that's happened this year.
Sounds like he just simply isn't getting it. Isn't the first and won't be the last to waste a career on bad choices. Every club has had at least one.
I like the way news reports say that he immediately informed the club after the incident, as though it's a good thing. In reality, he's informing the club that he's been caught breaking the law because he knows they will find out very quickly through other avenues. I'd be more impressed by that kind of statement if he'd informed the club that he was about to go out for an illegal drive before it happened, not the 'oh shit, I'm in heaps of trouble here, I better get on the offensive' type scenario.

There's just so many red flags with Oliver. You can blame it on ADHD, seizures, medication, whatever.
He collapses and spends time in hospital on Oct 12th. On Oct 20th, Joel Smith is announced as having tested positive to cocaine (test occurred back in August for round 23).
Then, as the story comes out about the events surrounding Clayton's collapse, we lead up to this direct comment from Clayton: “I was in bed, asleep with Joel. Then got up to get a drink … next thing I was on the ground.”
I think it's fair to say that the 'Joel' Oliver is referring to is Joel Smith and that if Joel has a drug issue that sees him doing coke during the season, there's a fair chance he was doing it, after his season had finished and 8 days prior to the announcement of a positive test. And given the long-standing rumours about Clayton and illicit substances, it's not an unreasonable jump that he was also partaking on the day that they ended up asleep in bed together. Obviously this is nothing but speculation, but speculation grounded in reasonable assumptions.
One last assumption is that Oliver states that he got up to get a drink whilst in bed with Joel. Cocaine is known to make your mouth dry (in powdered form, cocaine hydrochloride is a salt). It can make you less hungry and less thirsty, which leads to dehydration. One of the symptoms of a coke hangover is excessive thirst. Other symptoms include fatigue, dizziness and vertigo (could be disguised or mistaken for a mild seizure).

Anyway, conspiracy theories and conjecture aside, if Oliver has a substance issue, then I hope he gets it sorted before it's too late. I'm not a fan of the outward persona that he's shown over the years, but he's certainly an immense talent.

...one more conspiracy theory, given the board we're on... I wonder if the substance and culture problem was brought across by a premiership player from another club that has been rumoured to have similar substance problems in the past?

Hopefully that rant isn't too discombobulated, as I was distracted multiple times and jumped back and forth adding and removing things. Ironically, some ritalin might have helped me here.

If he seizures running with the footy it's not quite the same as seizing driving a car down a busy road... ?
Maybe not for those around him, but for him? Potentially. That's not a great look for the doctor who clears him. Not to mention how the AFL would look in that scenario if they knowingly allow him to play with a medical condition that could see him collapse on the field in a contact situation (obvious similarities here to players with repeated concussion, so maybe the AFL won't care too much).

Clayton Oliver gets compared to Dayne Beams a lot. Without reading the whole thread I'm sure it's been made once or twice but is there a bit of Colin Sylvia about Clarry's trajectory and isn't that a better comparison? In Sylvia's case, it ended tragically. :(

A lot of police vehicles, as far as I'm aware, are fitted with automated number plate recognition technology. They can pick up vehicles on the road registered to drivers with suspended licenses. May have been that.
Correct. I believe the newer BMW highway patrol cars in particular have 4 (two forward, two rear) cameras on the roof that detect number plates.

We have been for years now. Politicians are just too scared and cowardly to update the laws. Better to scapegoat a very small minority then get any bad press

He should drive since it shouldn’t be suspended. He should judge for himself and let his condition dictate. With his type of epilepsy if he manages to get in a car, drive and have a seizure he is a absolute medical marvel who could have the answer to curing the illness such would be the magic behind it
This is wrong on multiple fronts.
Your own personal opinion does not trump medical study.
Your own personal experience is not the same as others.
He (and countless others) has shown that he's not capable of judging for himself.
Liability is a thing.

Unfortunately, the moron minority have shown that they are incapable of judging for themselves. Do you think murderers, rapists and thieves are in the majority? Every single law in existence is because of the idiotic minority.

That is simply not correct for all seizures / seizure victims. The first time I realised I had a seizure was when I woke up on the floor trying to get up with a paramedic telling me to “lie down and relax mate, you’ve just had a seizure”. I had no inkling it was coming. If I had I wouldn’t have faceplanted my desk and broke my nose. The same with the second seizure. Fortunately for that one I was already strapped into a hospital bed and couldn’t hurt myself.
Yep, my same family member mentioned in my earlier post had a seizure on the toilet (small, confined space and quite a large person). He ended up convulsing through the plaster wall and losing an eye ion the process. They had to remove the door by taking the pins out of the hinges and my wife had to clean everything up.
It amazes me how people think their own experience matches that of everyone else's.

They don’t stop them from driving dude… Read the law. They have no choice

Doctors want the laws changed just like epilepsy sufferers but the uneducated keep it from changing

A guy with sleep related seizures isn’t dangerous. His drug taking is much more dangerous. His license should be suspended for that, not a illness with no risk
How do you know when, why and what type of seizures Oliver has?

All because he told reporters a story about feeling faint after a bike ride & got up too quickly & that's how he hit his head .. lol.

Are you diagnosing the type of seizures he has based on that?
Sorry, but it just doesn't add up.
If Oliver has your so-called sleep related seizures, where he knows they're going to happen, his story about the day leading up doesn't add up.
He blamed it on ADHD med, lack of sleep and first big day back in the gym. That could simply just be Oliver not understanding it, but it shows he had indications that it was coming. Indications he clearly ignored. He also said that he had been light-headed with a high heart rate and fainted off the Watt bike (did he tell club medical staff about this, or did they see it?).
This was all presumably much earlier than when he got up from his sleep to get a drink and "next thing I was on the ground". So he obviously had no idea it was coming. Sure, you can put that down to first time and not knowing the signs, but that's kind of the point of being diagnosed, getting medication and showing that you have it under control before you are allowed to put other people's lives on the line (passengers, pedestrians and fellow road users).

Regardless of whether you think this is a condition that shouldn't require loss of license (sounds more like you're annoyed that it isn't on the NDIS), or whether he should be able to tell that it's coming, his license WAS suspended and he CHOSE to ignore that, breaking the law in the process.

I'm only just catching up on this latest incident, but driving whilst your license is disqualified for medical reasons is ABSOLUTELY as bad as drink driving.
I have a family member who had a seizure behind the wheel, crossed 3 lanes of traffic going the same direction and crashed into a concrete light post in fairly wide median strip, that then fell across the 3 lanes of oncoming traffic. He was on the phone to his dad at the time, who had no idea what was going on and had to listen to the people who pulled over to help talking in the background asking if he was still alive.
Thankfully, he was, and nobody was taken out by the lamp pole. If he hadn't hit the post, he would have driven into oncoming traffic.

He lost his license for 12 months, then had another 6 months added at the end of that 12 months. Many, many neurologist visits and changes in medication dosage to eventually get it back, then lost it again due to a seizure at work (not behind the wheel), which had to be reported.

It is NOT the kind of thing to be throwing into the 'this thing is worse than this thing' basket. Nothing against you personally EJ, just wanted to add some personal experience to the mix.

Now that that's out of the way, addressing the issue in general, I actually had to google what happened this time, as I wasn't really aware of the latest indiscretion. You'd think he'd be doing his best to pull his head in with everything that's happened this year.
Sounds like he just simply isn't getting it. Isn't the first and won't be the last to waste a career on bad choices. Every club has had at least one.
I like the way news reports say that he immediately informed the club after the incident, as though it's a good thing. In reality, he's informing the club that he's been caught breaking the law because he knows they will find out very quickly through other avenues. I'd be more impressed by that kind of statement if he'd informed the club that he was about to go out for an illegal drive before it happened, not the 'oh s**t, I'm in heaps of trouble here, I better get on the offensive' type scenario.

There's just so many red flags with Oliver. You can blame it on ADHD, seizures, medication, whatever.
He collapses and spends time in hospital on Oct 12th. On Oct 20th, Joel Smith is announced as having tested positive to cocaine (test occurred back in August for round 23).
Then, as the story comes out about the events surrounding Clayton's collapse, we lead up to this direct comment from Clayton: “I was in bed, asleep with Joel. Then got up to get a drink … next thing I was on the ground.”
I think it's fair to say that the 'Joel' Oliver is referring to is Joel Smith and that if Joel has a drug issue that sees him doing coke during the season, there's a fair chance he was doing it, after his season had finished and 8 days prior to the announcement of a positive test. And given the long-standing rumours about Clayton and illicit substances, it's not an unreasonable jump that he was also partaking on the day that they ended up asleep in bed together. Obviously this is nothing but speculation, but speculation grounded in reasonable assumptions.
One last assumption is that Oliver states that he got up to get a drink whilst in bed with Joel. Cocaine is known to make your mouth dry (in powdered form, cocaine hydrochloride is a salt). It can make you less hungry and less thirsty, which leads to dehydration. One of the symptoms of a coke hangover is excessive thirst. Other symptoms include fatigue, dizziness and vertigo (could be disguised or mistaken for a mild seizure).

Anyway, conspiracy theories and conjecture aside, if Oliver has a substance issue, then I hope he gets it sorted before it's too late. I'm not a fan of the outward persona that he's shown over the years, but he's certainly an immense talent.

...one more conspiracy theory, given the board we're on... I wonder if the substance and culture problem was brought across by a premiership player from another club that has been rumoured to have similar substance problems in the past?

Hopefully that rant isn't too discombobulated, as I was distracted multiple times and jumped back and forth adding and removing things. Ironically, some ritalin might have helped me here.

No need to apologise (except to make me sound a bit silly defending Ollie)

I will admit I have very little ides of ADHD related seizures and I am glad your Cousin survived his incident, must have been so harrowing for his father and his other immediate family members.

I do think a legitimate argument that the Melbourne Footy Club and their (off field) culture is not exactly one which can discipline or sanction Clarry as much as they should given his reported off field problems (I wouldn't go so far as to call them enablers, but it could certainly look that way to some, esp given the history of Simon Goodwin's own recent alleged off field shenanigans)

It's hard for me to totally go all in Clarry and condemn him from that undisciplined club perspective

I don't know why you quoted me.
Sorry, it was because of your comment about feeling faint during/after the bike ride. An indication that he might have had prior indications of an episode, which is potentially contradictory to the claim that it's sleep induced. That's all.

Now that's he has been diagnosed, he would be taking medication for his seizures and learning the signs for when he was about to have one, ie: getting his condition under control.

There would be current players who have plenty of medical conditions they need to monitor, take medication for & have under control in order to play football.

His licence is only suspended. Not cancelled. Although it might end up being cancelled if he keeps driving whilst it's suspended..
Absolutely. Unfortunately, not everyone gets, recognises, accepts, or acts on the signs.
Some are embarrassed. Some hope it will go away. Some prefer to think that they don't have a condition. Some are affected by other substances (not specifically talking about Clarry here). Or even take their medication!!!
You can only diagnose, treat and educate so much. The rest is up to the individual.

I don't think you understand what a seizure is
A partial or absence seizure can last a few seconds, maybe even less than a second.

Not all seizures are stereo-typically spectacular.

View attachment 1872859

I've had 2 brain ops and 28 session of radiations...So you could go play golf (or other sport) on the same day as having radiation, me I drove to work doing hard landscaping after each morning session of radiation.

For brain surgery...well that's a different kettle of fish because having your head opened up is major trauma. Now the above doesn't say anything about suspended/losing your licence...but if you drove within 6 months and are involved in an accident no matter how trivial...you are absolutely NOT covered by anyone (and maybe you are automatically at fault)...brain surgery is pretty clear cut....seizures I wouldn't know

ps: in my catchup, the doc said he would have been happy for me to drive after 3 months !!! go figure (he was happy prolly because
of the rapid recovery I made)
Glad you've recovered well. In NSW seizures is 2 years without driving then yearly medical tests and a doctor's note saying the condition is controlled, usually by medication.

This is just sad now. Give the bloke a break and put your arms around him.

Footy needs to drop down the priority list significantly.

Media can just get stuffed.

The media have been quite gentle on him over the latest incident and now the going home early from camp story.

I'm not sure how a 'media can just get stuffed' comes in to it.

Rumour Clayton Oliver