News Club Song - Re-done

Which song do you prefer?

• Old ‘fable’ version

• New ‘afl’ version

Results are only viewable after voting.

Agree with digital music missing out on quality and this has been proven with Mathematics and Physics. Even myself who was born with a tin ear can identify the differences. Going back to seeing live bands backed up with excellent mixers and equipment has brought back life into my ears. Listening to the artists CD’s is not the real thing and my ears can now pick up the subtle changes. Most people don’t have the fine hearing as musos or music lovers so most likely couldn’t care less. Until seeing live bands for the past two years I myself could never understand why musicians were so edgy over subtle differences in sound quality as my hearing wasn’t trained to be sharp. I basically had lazy and uneducated ears. I can now walk in a room and walk out of the room depending on the quality of sound being played.
Quality Post.

Please don't change our beloved, emotional, timeless recording:

Due to technological innovation, video enjoys definitive improvement in viewing experiences through SD / HD / Super HD / 4K. Each technological innovation is an undeniable improvement in quality.

Modernisation of music is not like the modernisation of video.

Music is subjective, such that technological improvements do not necessarily increase emotional connection. And that's what this club is all about, right?

This modern "digital version" of the Richmond Theme Song does not give me the same warm, magical feeling of connection to the Richmond Football Club.

Some people may disagree. You might disregard this post as an internet outrage piece. But I'm serious - I love and cherish the original song and get emotional when I hear it after a win. Nothing else gives me that feeling. I've been hearing it since I was a small child. The club song plays a strong emotional role during my match day experience (especially if I haven't been able to attend for a while). The sound of those original instruments is burned into my memory forever, so as soon as I hear that song, it reminds me of those distant memories going to the football with my Dad. It's truly timeless and means so much more to me than just the minor differences in digital sound clarity or the word 'shin'.

Besides, nobody prefers "modern music". Nobody.

Music sounded better in the pre-digital age. That's a universal fact. Seriously, who listens to modern day music and says "wow, I wish the Beatles sounded like this!"? It sounds sterile and cold. Why would you want to choose digital modern music over the richness of analogue music from an era that produced the most popular music in human history? Richmond fans don't want that. I imagine this poll will support my opinion.

The original song opens with those gritty, rich horns. It's Strong and Bold.
The digital one opens with a snare underneath some keyboard-sounding horns. It's Neat and Sterile.

The digital one doesn't crescendo into the 'yellow and black' anymore, and the singing of the descending semi-tones for 'yellow and black' is sung like a Disney singer (over-pronounced, soulless, too perfect) and over time, I worry the crowd might eventually stop shouting yellow and black and start singing it like it's done on the new recording. Picture it when you listen. It doesn't crescendo properly.

Also, all the modernised AFL club songs sound too similar. Go ahead and listen to them all in the link below. Imagine listening to them played after one another before a game. We'll be enemies marching to the same band. It doesn't feel right.

But what about the lyrical change? I say the word 'skin' is a quirk we can live with. When you become a diehard fan, you start singing 'shin' at games because you understand the club's history. It's sung with pride, because you're part of the tribe and you understand.

To conclude, the new digital song sacrifices soul and sounds like a group of private school cabaret dancer boys. It's not a representative sound for the traditional Richmond fanbase.

I'm not exaggerating when I say I will lose a small part of my emotional connection to the Richmond FC if they go ahead and modernise our timeless recording.

Here's the digital version with modern mixing and fake-sounding horns probably done on keyboard: https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/afl/news/listen-to-every-afl-clubs-new-theme-song-for-season-2018

Paul McCartney didn't re-record 'Yesterday'; Richmond shouldn't re-record our theme song.

Please don't change it.

100% with you mate.

So sick of the meddling boof heads at the AFL doing their best to kill any form of tradition just to 'modernize the game'.

Just ****ing leave it alone for **** sake!!! :mad:
campaigners.

The old one hits you in the face when it starts. I actually love the players running out to the drums, crowd going nuts, players stop at the banner, drums stop, it’s all silent. WHACK. The start of our song is my second favourite part of it.

Hearing the new one is gonna be like someone calling “HEADS” and you get hit in the face with a marshmallow.

It's not terrible but agree that it lacks the 'raw testosterone' of the original.

With all the issues in football today (Tassie, Concussions, MRP, Gold Coast, deliberate out of bounds, pokies, lolnorf etc...) I wonder how changing these songs makes it to the priority list?

Anyway, basically the AFL has just re-created the Mona Lisa with 'updated paint technology' and it just won't catch on I don't think.

Agree with digital music missing out on quality and this has been proven with Mathematics and Physics. Even myself who was born with a tin ear can identify the differences. Going back to seeing live bands backed up with excellent mixers and equipment has brought back life into my ears. Listening to the artists CD’s is not the real thing and my ears can now pick up the subtle changes. Most people don’t have the fine hearing as musos or music lovers so most likely couldn’t care less. Until seeing live bands for the past two years I myself could never understand why musicians were so edgy over subtle differences in sound quality as my hearing wasn’t trained to be sharp. I basically had lazy and uneducated ears. I can now walk in a room and walk out of the room depending on the quality of sound being played.
Quality Post.
Agree about mathematics, I still use a slide ruler, and an abacus,

Then just fix the one word. Why re-do the whole song. If Sydney can go from ‘souths’ to ‘swans’ we can go from ‘skin’ to ‘shin’

Nail Head.

Why couldn't they just fix the word and leave the rest alone.

Pretty sure it not like putting men on Pluto.

Then just fix the one word. Why re-do the whole song. If Sydney can go from ‘souths’ to ‘swans’ we can go from ‘skin’ to ‘shin’
What's the big deal? Tiges don't have to use it, they can still go with the old from last week.
What's the bet Benny and Co use the new version. This is the biggest beat-up in the clubs long proud history.
People need to chill out and get a life.

Were we the supporters and members asked?

Taking the s of the tiger and the oh from the last line is ****ing stupid and doesn't allow you to emphasise those parts.

Was the only reason KB got this approved due to his nineteen year sabbatical?

The club is ours, stop messing around with our club you simple Simons.

What's the big deal? Tiges don't have to use it, they can still go with the old from last week.
What's the bet Benny and Co use the new version. This is the biggest beat-up in the clubs long proud history.
People need to chill out and get a life.
So I don’t have a life because I prefer the older version to the new one? Give me a spell.

New version is a disgrace.

RFC_Official
Whats the best way to contact the club about this?

Twitter, Facebook or a small note attached to a trailer load of chicken shit carefully placed outside Punt Road. That one usually gets noticed

chicken-poo-pic.jpg

News Club Song - Re-done