Clubbies 2010

Haha mate your kidding yourself. Someone of your age shouldn't even be playing footy let alone posting anonymous empty delusional comments about your percieved footballing ability over the internet. Face it, you're an old git and your team is as useful as **** on a bull

I'd suggest you enjoy your last month of footy, knackers. The revised draw sees Mazenod and Ormond play Rovers twice in the last 5 rounds. That'll be enough to consign you muppets to watching the finals from the outer. I suggest you make the most of the booze up at your Ball tomorrow night as well, champ. It's your last chance at gaining any enjoyment out of this season. Have a sh!t one.

Interesting results from the weekend, with two big upsets:

Old Geelong vs Richmond Central - the rotations of the RC boys seem to have them returning to their peak as they easily accounted for the Oggers.

Caulfield vs Mazenod - the Fielders have shown in recent weeks that they are far from indestructible. Perhaps they are losing players to their seniors/reserves?

Ormond vs Hampton - as expected with an undermanned Hampton again struggling to compete with their opponent.

Race for the finals is certainly heating up with only four rounds to go. Suspect the Nodders may be the unlucky side to miss this year, although could realistically be any of Old Geelong, Richmond Central, Ormond or Mazenod. This weekends games will be crucial with OGs vs Caulfield and Ricmond Central vs Ormond.

Tips for the weekend ahead:

Hampton vs Mazenod - nothing against Hampton as they are putting in a big effort to maintain their team despite lack of numbers, but the nodders will simply be too good in a one-sided affair.

Old Geelong vs Caulfield - top of the ladder clash which will go a long way to determining which sides will get the double chance. Am going for the home team at Como Park in a game to be decided by a kick.

Richmond Central vs Ormond - tough game to tip with both sides coming off good wins last weekend, but with the Monders being the form side of the comp at the moment I suspect they will be too strong.

Well what a weekend for the Clubbies south

two 2 point wins has shaped the ladder late in the season.

I can't speak for the ogs vs cauf game but the centrals ormond game was a belta from start to finish. never really got beyond 2 goals and the lead changed many times, only small leads at every change and a frantic finish made it one of the best clubbies games I have been apart of. We got over the line but could of gone either way and the game was played in high spirits.

Uncle Micks boys kicked so may behinds! whats the story?

Huge ones again this week as Centrals take on Caufield at the home of footy Winner will be top and loser could drop to 3rd on the result of the mazenod Geelong game which is a beauty as ormond are right on the heels and its make or break for everyone

happy tipping

Some cracking games on the weekend with Caulfield and Richmond Centrals managing to take home the points in the big two games. Looks as if both games could have gone either way, but both winners very deserved. We now see these two sides match up against each other this weekend and whatever the result, it would now appear that these two sides should hold onto top two spots with Old Geelong losing form in recent weeks. Ormond's momentum also looks to have been broken and they will find it tough to make the finals from here, although should take the points against Hampton in the week ahead. Mazenod have a crunch game against the Oggers this weekend, with a win all but securing them a finals birth.

Does anyone know what the rules are regarding player availability for the top 2 Senior sections (Premier & Premier B) who have a bye round this weekend? Ormond might consider themselves unlucky given Hampton are the only side represented in the top 2 grades and therefore may be able to give a few players a much needed run on the weekend. There are certainly a few putting their hand up already.

Well what a weekend for the Clubbies south

two 2 point wins has shaped the ladder late in the season.

I can't speak for the ogs vs cauf game but the centrals ormond game was a belta from start to finish. never really got beyond 2 goals and the lead changed many times, only small leads at every change and a frantic finish made it one of the best clubbies games I have been apart of. We got over the line but could of gone either way and the game was played in high spirits.

Uncle Micks boys kicked so may behinds! whats the story?

Huge ones again this week as Centrals take on Caufield at the home of footy Winner will be top and loser could drop to 3rd on the result of the mazenod Geelong game which is a beauty as ormond are right on the heels and its make or break for everyone

happy tipping

The boys just couldn't handle the wind Frase...it was actually a pretty close game otherwise.

Super veteran Steve Anderson didn't help the cause with 0.6 to his name :D

The Nodders looked a little rattled there for a while to...easily put off their game a couple of times with a few snide remarks ;)

ahh no good p20.

The old goal via kicking 6 points is a shocker!!

Uncle Mick did you find out any more news as to if players can come down and play.

I would think that there wouldn't be any, but could be wrong.

Whats are the tips for this weekend?

Ormond over Hampton- this could change with how many senior blokes come back for a run. Dissapointing for Ormond if it does as they are out of the 4 but very close.

Old Geelong over Mazenod- will set the tone early and take the points after there close loss last week

Richmond over Caufield- have to go for the team I play for otherwise I should be strung up hahaha winner goes top of the table.

I wouldn't have thought Senior players would be dropping back, Fraser. It'd be the Reserves players which is still quite a reasonable level of footy and I would back a handful dropping down to make a significant difference.

And I wouldn't consider it disappointing for Ormond as there are players who are playing in our Reserves this year when the preference was to play Clubbies - something your team mates may struggle to understand.

Nothing to whinge about, knackers.

As for not getting it. I reckon it's actually pretty simple. You're a bunch of inidividuals who could be playing 3rds and/or Clubbies for Scotch.

Save for this becoming a tit for tat, I'm not going to respond after the following.
The whole premise of my initial remark was the fact Scotch don't have a Clubbies and the reason that became apparent.

Quick tips for the weekend as am in a rush to get to Friday night drinks:

Hampton vs Ormond - easy win to the Monders.

Mazenod vs Old Geelong - home side just.

Caulfield vs Richmond - going for the fielders in the top of the table clash.

Good luck to all. Hope the rains stay away!

Ormond by the length of the straight at Flemington

Old Geelong to find their form again and demolish a cheating Mazenod

The Centrals in a close one at the home of VAFA football.

Good luck to those still in the quaddie

Caulfield to smash richmond. I agree with uncle mick, bunch of fat lards in that centrals team. Especially the person who posted the comment directly above

Very interesting results in Club XVIII South from the weekend:

Hampton vs Ormond - as expected the Monders were too strong, but credit to Hampton who battled it out and managed to put up a decent fight.

Mazenod vs Old Geelong - the home side completely outclassed an out-of-form OGs outfit whom realistically could finish outside the four, despite being one of the form sides for the year.

Caulfield vs Richmond Central - the fielders totally outclassed the richmond boys to run away with the game and secure themselves the minor premiership.

With two rounds to play, there is still massive interest in the compositioin of the other three finals spots on offer. Bring on next weekend!

Does anyone know what actually happened to OG?

Surely there's something going on for that scoreline to occur.

Does anyone know what actually happened to OG?

Surely there's something going on for that scoreline to occur.
After doing a bit of research, i can tell you that Old Geelong only had 17 players on Saturday against Mazenod. It also seems as though Mazenod are dropping back players from the grades above in order to qualify them for Club XVIII finals action

Flemington straight?

At least we didn't get smashed by 80 or 216 points.
Hampton were pretty competitive on the weekend. They had 3 players that are definately not regulars in the Club XVIII side. Uncle Mick played a good game in the guts but like his talented team mates, were unable to sustain the intensity for the duration of the game. It would be fantastic if Hampton were able to knock off Mazenod in round 15!

You're not far wrong Beamsy, had a couple of players back from injury who needed a run before heading back to the 1's/2's. Also had those clubbies back that've been playing 2's coz of injuries.

Boys kept trying all day, but it's hard to get any kind of 'team' play going when you have 5 blokes at training on a Thursday.

Think I might have to give the 2's a try if I want that second win of the year ;)

Only had the 2, Beamsy. The rest of us are all regulars or wannabe regulars who have had to plug some holes in the 2's. The 2nd half fade outs have been a constant this season. An accurate reflection of how serious the 3rds take their footy. Most of the boys are there for a kick on the weekend and train accordingly. The club is actively looking at the 3rds taking themselves more seriously in 2011 and beyond.

To avoid leaving my thoughts to the last minute again this week, I am getting my tips in early:

Old Geelong v Ormond - massive game in terms of shaping the finals and whilst OGs will put in a better effort than last week, I think the Monders are a little hungrier at present.

Richmond Central v Mazenod - Who wants the double chance more? I suspect Mazenod will follow on from their big win last week and secure the four points.

Caulfield v Hampton - with the Fielders having already secured a double chance, surely they will let Hampton have their second win for the season??!! Perhaps not............

Might be wet under foot on Saturday boys, but all the best to all sides.