Cockburn firming up

Cheers mate. That's the first I've heard of that and it will make everything a lot easier.

I'm not saying it isn't true but a bridge over the freeway will cost massive dollars.
It sounds like it would only be less than one kilometre north of the existing overpass of Armadale Rd.
It sounds sensible to do it to relieve congestion but when was the last time the W.A State govt spent money sensibly.

I'm not saying it isn't true but a bridge over the freeway will cost massive dollars.
It sounds like it would only be less than one kilometre north of the existing overpass of Armadale Rd.
It sounds sensible to do it to relieve congestion but when was the last time the W.A State govt spent money sensibly.

Bell Tower... No wait
Elizabeth Quay.... No wait
Water pipe from Kimberley... No wait
Premiers new office... No wait

Bell Tower... No wait

That could have been a great iconic landmark on the river if they'd built it three times as big. It's actually a pretty attractive structure that could have become symbolic of Perth and the river if they'd done it right - our own Sydney Opera house.

But of course, typical Perth conservatism kicked in and we end up with a 'landmark' you can't even see if you're further than 20 metres away.

That could have been a great iconic landmark on the river if they'd built it three times as big. It's actually a pretty attractive structure that could have become symbolic of Perth and the river if they'd done it right - our own Sydney Opera house.

But of course, typical Perth conservatism kicked in and we end up with a 'landmark' you can't even see if you're further than 20 metres away.

What is this... a centre for ANTS!!!

Yes needed to be 3 or 4 times bigger.

Conservative, non controversial designs just dont make a difference. The convention centre is not a iconic design so just looks a like a shed.

Perth people are just so conservative and sensitive to change its a joke and I'm born and bred west aussie.

mind you what passes off as public art these days is shiteful - that giant green cactus a case in point. the funniest bit is, the council never bother consulting with industry regarding what is and isnt tasteful modern art - they just go and do shit themselves and what we end up with is a colossal **** up of a structure, when combined with other colossal **** ups gives no sense of space or consistency in the street art over a wider area

just random wanton monuments to council egos

6288008357_28e7f59d99.jpg

...Perth people are just so conservative and sensitive to change its a joke and I'm born and bred west aussie.

--> You probably should steer away from the many pages of the New Stadium thread then lamenting the decision to maximise public transport in the design.

I believe you need to provide a meaningful level of parking at the stadium and within easy walking distance. Along with large capacity heavy and light rail and buses.

You cant force people into following a certain route it just causes issues and unintended consequences. Provide as many different high capacity transport options as you can.

Never been to MCG (til I go to this years GF) etc how much parking is nearby? Geez theres 100K capacity there.

Wonder how things may have been if the like's of Utting, Corser and co had failed to win the day and have Freo based at Freo Oval? For those that can remember back that far the WAFC fought to have us use shared facilities with Wet Coast at Subi, I wonder how that would sit with today's so called progressives.

You cant force people into following a certain route it just causes issues and unintended consequences. Provide as many different high capacity transport options as you can.

Never been to MCG (til I go to this years GF) etc how much parking is nearby? Geez theres 100K capacity there.
No-one drives to the MCG. Train to Flinders St then walk or tram to the G. Same as Etihad - just train to Spencer St and walk over. Different mindset required by us in the west.

Wonder how things may have been if the like's of Utting, Corser and co had failed to win the day and have Freo based at Freo Oval? For those that can remember back that far the WAFC fought to have us use shared facilities with Wet Coast at Subi, I wonder how that would sit with today's so called progressives.

I was talking about this the other day with my FIL, who happens to be a day 1 member of the weages.

We both came to the conclusion that it would be impossible to share Subi, what the hell were the wafc thinking.

I was talking about this the other day with my FIL, who happens to be a day 1 member of the weages.

We both came to the conclusion that it would be impossible to share Subi, what the hell were the wafc thinking.[/quote]

WAFC is ostensibly a government department .

In fairness though it was 16 years ago and couldn't have predicted the advances that other clubs would be making in regard to elite facilities. Hell, our club wasn't exactly forward looking either when they caved in to Greenie nutters and located the clubrooms in the worst possible position at Fremantle Oval.
It is also doubtful Eagles are going to sit still while Fremantle are moving to the head of the pack.
I'm half expecting Channel Eagle to run a telethon appeal to raise funds for a new Eagles training and admin facility.

Hell, our club wasn't exactly forward looking either when they caved in to Greenie nutters and located the clubrooms in the worst possible position at Fremantle Oval.

It was those "GREENIE NUTTERS" you refer to that gave Freo the most ELITE training facilities in the league at that time. You call them "Nutters" I call them Visionaries.

Its not the maximising public transport that is the problem. It is the ignorant approach to parking that has tripped them up.

I think you will find the object named the Bell Tower was a Tricky Dicky abomination.I refer to it as the cockroach and the stick insect having sex.

I get annoyed trying to open the doors after washing my hands - like **** i want to touch that handle

Easily avoided by reaching up and levering the door open through pulling on the gas strut which is installed, in most public toilets, to ensure the toilet closes after being opened and is impossible to slam shut.

If you try this, I may or may not have grabbed it before you, though, they do say pigs, given adequate space, are one of the cleanliest animals around :)

It was those "GREENIE NUTTERS" you refer to that gave Freo the most ELITE training facilities in the league at that time. You call them "Nutters" I call them Visionaries.

And entirely in the wrong spot to expand it. But there you go, fans can now sit there to their hearts content staring at the old prison vista with it's decaying walls.
Never mind watching footy training when there's a great prison wall to stare at.

At least there is a silver lining to the 'greenies" dark cloud ; we are now going to move to an unrestricted site with the highest possible design standards and technology.

It seems the same nutters infiltrated the FCC and now they can bathe in the glow of what may have been.
They're probably secretly rejoicing and so am I.

And entirely in the wrong spot to expand it. But there you go, fans can now sit there to their hearts content staring at the old prison vista with it's decaying walls.
Never mind watching footy training when there's a great prison wall to stare at.

At least there is a silver lining to the 'greenies" dark cloud ; we are now going to move to an unrestricted site with the highest possible design standards and technology.

It seems the same nutters infiltrated the FCC and now they can bathe in the glow of what may have been.
They're probably secretly rejoicing and so am I.

The Steve's legacy to Fremantle will be the undertaking to leave the Wall Plaque celebrating the "Harbour Masters" in foyer of a vacant admin and training complex. I guess under your definition these people will fill the "Greenie Nutters" category to a tee.

Mate, a join date of 2011 either tells me you were a glint in your old mans eye in the early days or you have very little RESPECT for the people who established this club.

Whoa steady on there "mate", I discovered bigfooty in 2011 through my sons but I have been a supporter of this club since inception and I would not be alone - it is pretty pathetic to equate anyone's bf member status with their passion for the club or the game

Cockburn firming up