Opinion Commentary and media

Looked at news in afl app, says Chris's Scott was happy with the roos.
Is it really that hard to remember? Any nuff who is qualified to write for AFL media should be able to differentiate between them. It's not a case of forgetfulness, it's a case of unprofessionalism, and quite frankly, laziness.

Looked at news in afl app, says Chris's Scott was happy with the roos.
Haha yep, just read the same article. So glad Chris was happy with our performance.

ATTACH]

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1426941449945.png
    uploadfromtaptalk1426941449945.png
    155.5 KB · Views: 5

Martin, Cotchin, Deledio and Riewoldt.

They then fall off a cliff. And down an abyss.
As I said in an earlier post, how are these guys 'stars'? I get that they are good (although I reckon Deledio is overrated) but I don't believe they are superior to our top liners.

They're not.

It's all media driven and the bonehead public lap it up.

They're not.

Really? Media Driven? Not sure that many media types have recently suggested that Richmond's top liners are better than ours. In fact as a team many in the media rank us ahead of Richmond. :stern look

They're not.

Richmond inferiority complex, any club smaller, but more successful than ninthmond, is seen as lacking stars and will always be less classier and inferior to them, similar attitude as *.

Really? Media Driven? Not sure that many media types have recently suggested that Richmond's top liners are better than ours. In fact as a team many in the media rank us ahead of Richmond. :stern look

As a team, yeah.

But I've heard many an expert espouse that Richmond has better top end talent when compared with us.

It's crapola.

I'd definitely say that Cotchin is a star. Martin should be not only a star but seriously elite if his attitude was right, same goes for Riewoldt. Deledio is a very good player. Just because they don't play for North doesn't mean you can't rate them.

We do rate them, they don't rate us.

There are plenty of others. Didnt realise I had to list all and sundry.
Now I debated this very topic at a pub some 3 years back with some BigFooty Types as it was a point of discussion in the media but recently I've heard no such nonsense from the "Footy" Media. :stern look

This "The Media don't rate us" Bullshit stinks of a "How about us?" Mentality.

**** that shit. Win and we will be respected. :stern look

Now I debated this very topic at a pub some 3 years back with some BigFooty Types as it was a point of discussion in the media but recently I've heard no such nonsense from the "Footy" Media. :stern look

This "The Media don't rate us" Bullshit stinks of a "How about us?" Mentality.

**** that shit. Win and we will be respected. :stern look

I don't care about being rated by the media.

I was pointing out that it is them who had Richmond ahead with regard to talent.

I don't care about being rated by the media.

I was pointing out that it is them who had Richmond ahead with regard to talent.
Now I'm trying to be nice about this Andy because I rate you as a poster but if we are being honest with ourselves the media haven't for a while rated Richmond's top tier players ahead of ours.

O.K. you tell me that King suggested as much in our last H&W match against the Tigers and I'll take your word on that.

But shit mate I watch a fair chunk of the Footy Shows. Listen to a fair bit of prematch stuff on the radio. Listen to SEN always in the car. Read a number of articles and I can't recall one Footy Commentator in recent times suggesting that Richmond's top tier talent is ahead of North's. :stern look

I'm over this "Why don't you love us?" whining. Let the media get all gooey over big clubs who promise lots but don't deliver. I reckon we have a good team and we should have a good team for some while yet. But right now we've won jack shit. Instead of whinging about it, let the boys go out and win a flag and then we can stick the last few years of media coverage right up their arse! YEAH!

Now I'm trying to be nice about this Andy because I rate you as a poster but if we are being honest with ourselves the media haven't for a while rated Richmond's top tier players ahead of ours.

O.K. you tell me that King suggested as much in our last H&W match against the Tigers and I'll take your word on that.

But shit mate I watch a fair chunk of the Footy Shows. Listen to a fair bit of prematch stuff on the radio. Listen to SEN always in the car. Read a number of articles and I can't recall one Footy Commentator in recent times suggesting that Richmond's top tier talent is ahead of North's. :stern look

Fair enough. As do I.

I guess I just feel aggrieved that some of our star players don't get the recognition they deserve.

Did anyone else watch that round table discussion tonight on Fox Footy between Gerard Whately, Gerard Healy, Dermott Brereton, David King and Jonathan Brown? Tonight they covered Hawthorn, Sydney, Port and Essendon. A few little bits I picked up from it:

As is well established by now, Dermie is a smug, insufferable campaigner whenever he talks about Hawthorn, it was painfully bias and without sense. Continually claimed they were a top ball-winning side although IIRC they were distinctly average in clearances and contested possessions this year. (Boy am i going to seem like a ****wit if I've got that wrong. It might even be Geelong i'm thinking of but my point stands nonetheless).

Likewise Healy when talking about the Swans. He claimed that the commissions decision to ban them from trading for two years was one of the worst and grossly unfair decisions they've ever made. Obviously he conveniently forgets COLA and the academies.

Kingy was the only one to not tip Hawthorn to win the premiership this year (although Whately didn't make a tip) and he was constantly in disagreement with Dermie, an attitude that endeared him to me. Like always he places far too much emphasis on statistics and Champion Data rankings but in total he made some astute observations.

Browny surprisingly spoke really well. He's more articulate than the likes of Tony Shaw and Frawley and not as pretentious or verbose as Healy and Derm. I can actually see him making a reasonable commentator if he cuts out making too many blatantly obvious or superfluous statements.

Of most interest for this board, North is one of the teams being covered tomorrow night. It's on Fox Footy from 730 and if tonights anything to go by it will be interesting to see what these guys make of North in 2015.