Opinion Commentary and media

Getting smashed in the middle was the main factor in this so called *******ation.

We smash most teams in the middle yet our forwards struggle to get many marks, let alone uncontested marks from centre clearances, most of our inside 50 scoring comes from defensive rebounds.

Our defenders must be able to prevent the opposition getting so many marks when the opposition has momentum. If we are getting smashed they are going to get scoring opportunity, but the amount of dead easy scoring opportunities we gave teams in 2014 is not premiership calibre.

Teams will score from good passages of play, we need to stop teams scoring from mediocre passages of play, we cough up so many preventable soft goals yet have to work hard for ours.

Worst Commentator - Dwayne Russell
Worst Special Comments - Tony Shaw

It truly staggers me that these two a$sclowns get a gig year after year.
I don't disagree, but my least favourite 'special comments' man is Alastair Lynch. It's as if he needs to make a special comment on every tiny bit of play and as though he needs to have his say on everything, even if it's someone elses turn to speak. He also has a horrible breathing technique when he's speaking; he runs out of breath at the end of every sentence because he forgets to breathe and then you can hear him over the microphone. It's as if he's done no media training at all.

I'm really excited about Brown joining BigFooty. I was unsure about the choice when I heard he'd be on On the Couch. Now I'm salivating at the mouth at the prospect of him on that show plus doing special comments for games. Watch a few of those round tables. He's really knows what he's talking about and I hope we get him for some of our games.

Gonna be fair dinkum grouse hearin about the darrrrrrrl, havin a few coldies down the Murray and the bloody good ol days Jase.

Worst Commentator - Dwayne Russell
Worst Special Comments - Tony Shaw

It truly staggers me that these two a$sclowns get a gig year after year.

Every year I sit in hope that when i watch the NAB games that Tony Shaw won't appear, every year I'm disappointed.

How long is this guys f****** contract?

Also if Damien Barret had any respect from me he lost it last night on The Footy Show with his Big News that Dank said Daniher wasnt part of the injecting program.. Big Deal and his Convenient inteviw with Campaigner of the Year A.Goodes taking a swipe at Essendon was a Joke.... I now have him in the Craig Hutchinson league of Journo/Reporter...

Best - I like Commetti and Hudson. Duck for special comments.

Worst - Basil Zempilass by a loooooooooong way. Why he keeps his contract I literally have no idea.

Over here in SA we get Stephen Rowe, an illiterate bogan with little footballing talent and less linguistic skill than an untrained parrot.

Rowe brings the excitement and lack of self-control of a 6 month old labby, he has no footy knowledge, but offers heaps of excitement and energy. Whereas Darcy brings a more slow, calm and measured approach to delivering his special brand of (a total lack-of) football knowledge. I call them evens. Both are as useful a square spare tyre.

A shame they had to bring Jon Ralph into Round Table. The show's credibility took a hit as soon as he was allowed into the studio.

I was just waiting for him to throw out some inane headline and, sure enough...."NicNat is the biggest tease in the AFL". Mindnumbing stuff Ralphie. :thumbsdown:

A shame they had to bring Jon Ralph into Round Table. The show's credibility took a hit as soon as he was allowed into the studio.

I was just waiting for him to throw out some inane headline and, sure enough...."NicNat is the biggest tease in the AFL". Mindnumbing stuff Ralphie. :thumbsdown:
I agree with Ralphy on this one. NicNat for the hype he gets, has probably got to be one of the most overrated players in the AFL. He does the spectacular on occasion, but he is nowhere near consistent, but lets forgive that because he is an 'excitement machine'. Finished ninth in WCE's best and fairest...and they had an average year on the field because they are an average side.

Never be more than a 2nd ruckman that kicks 25 goals a season and averages about 15-20 hitouts a game.