krakouers
Certified with Bonz Tick of Approval
- Sep 13, 2011
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
- Other Teams
- Claremont
Meth helpsPositively balmy compared to a Melbourne or Hobart winter!
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Meth helpsPositively balmy compared to a Melbourne or Hobart winter!
In the last three years Luke has gone at 0.50 goals a game and and 0.60 assists a game during while playing in 7 wins and 51 losses. Those numbers are far above average for a full-time centre square midfielder. In a good side that plays more front-half footy he'd be averaging close to a goal and an assist a game.
That isn't "minimal scoreboard impact". You're out of your mind if you think Luke's scoreboard ability is anywhere near the the most significant factors for our inability to win games.
Do they have a Chicken Treat anywhere nearby?Bunno is REAL close to Margs/Gracetown. I'm sure LDU won't mind that one bit. World class breaks.
Right in the guts of Margs. Also Busso and Bunbury. Get a soggy chook roll into ya! Don't forget the banana.Do they have a Chicken Treat anywhere nearby?
Asking for a friend.
This seems a bit off the mark if I'm honest.LDU is 8th for midfielder average inside 50s this year, and 8th overall.
LDU is 37th for midfielder average goal assists this year and 100th overall.
LDU is 44th for midfielder average goals kicked this year, and 197th overall.
Mate, it doesn't matter how many potatoes he is in front of, there are a lot of midfielders ahead of him and the vast majority of them aren't uncommitted, looking to earn a fortune and being picky about how everyone else is performing.
I think he can do a lot better. What is holding him back?
Lazzaro was more efficient going inside 50 and we delisted him. . I hope people don't erect an effigy of him or paint a mural, we are talking about someone who should be in AA contention, who should be captain material. But he isn't, there has to be something else going on other than just footy IQ and hunger to succeed. I am glad he isn't happy where we are at but he isn't doing everything possible to make himself a better player and us a remotely competitive team.
We need to unpack all the reasons for why we are where we are. We can't just dickride every player at the club, we have to address everything that holds us back as a team and a club.
You lost me at this point of your rant. Lazzaro cannot do what LDU does. LDU does need to hit the goal more, he could have done that instead of passing a bunch of times. He has a confidence brain thing. If that brain thing can be fixed, this is not a conversation. He is a superstar..Lazzaro was more efficient going inside 50 and we delisted him.
Phwoar!! TAS goes whack. Fair and reasonable argument, possibly a bit harsh. But I’d love to see LDU improve his kicking, it’s the only thing that lets him down. He sorts that out and lookout.LDU is 8th for midfielder average inside 50s this year, and 8th overall.
LDU is 37th for midfielder average goal assists this year and 100th overall.
LDU is 44th for midfielder average goals kicked this year, and 197th overall.
Mate, it doesn't matter how many potatoes he is in front of, there are a lot of midfielders ahead of him and the vast majority of them aren't uncommitted, looking to earn a fortune and being picky about how everyone else is performing.
I think he can do a lot better. What is holding him back?
Lazzaro was more efficient going inside 50 and we delisted him. . I hope people don't erect an effigy of him or paint a mural, we are talking about someone who should be in AA contention, who should be captain material. But he isn't, there has to be something else going on other than just footy IQ and hunger to succeed. I am glad he isn't happy where we are at but he isn't doing everything possible to make himself a better player and us a remotely competitive team.
We need to unpack all the reasons for why we are where we are. We can't just dickride every player at the club, we have to address everything that holds us back as a team and a club.
I get pilloried every time I knock his technique, but it is awful. He transfers his weight forward at the last moment, which takes away all his power and accuracy. It is a technique designed for getting a kick away at top pace and about to be tackled. It's useless in any other situation.This seems a bit off the mark if I'm honest.
The core issue with him, and his main (only?) obstacle towards being very good/elite in just about every attacking category, is his kicking technique. The ball drop's quite a bit higher than it should be. Could say the same for Dangerfield and Petracca, but at least they put everything they've got into the kick. LDU doesn't, for whatever reason, usually hit the ball at a hundred miles an hour, and to add to that, also turns ever-so-slightly to the right just before he kicks it. It's a mishmash of poor technique that generally results in a floating punt that goes almost as high as it does long. Responsibility for that lies half with him and half with whichever juniors coach saw that technique and didn't immediately set about correcting it. I wish Clarko and/or the line coaches would have a word with him about it but at 25, with such an entrenched technique, I'm not sure there's much likely to be done about it. We just have to live with it and tell him to have a ping whenever he's on the run within 55. (That's something he can do, we've seen it already).
The Lazzaro point is just weird. Did he provide the clearance power? The ball-winning ability? The scoreboard impact (yes, despite being 44th)? The baulking? Not sure what you're getting at with that one, but it's not a gotcha, because Lazzaro, despite having a better kicking technique, which allows him to kick it reasonably well inside 50, isn't/wasn't a third of the player that LDU is.
And I'm not sure why he should be captain material. All the reasons why he probably shouldn't be captain have been laid out over and over again. He's genuinely shy. Plenty of guys with his talent have had the extraverted temperament that often accompanies that talent. He doesn't. If he was shit, we wouldn't bat an eyelid at the fact that he's shy, but because he's a star, we think for some reason he should be outgoing and carrying others along for the ride. Well he's not.
Then there's the 'being picky' stuff. This is a bloke with the knowledge that every other team in the league would take him. He could've asked to leave after 2022. He's just played in the fourth-worst five year streak of all time. His career W/L ratio would be absolutely unholy viewing. Is that 'being picky,' or is that wisely holding off on your decision to see if your teammates can pull their ****ing heads in? He's polled 18 votes in a team that won three games and was only competitive in, what, eight games in total? What more are you reasonably expecting from him, aside from better delivery inside 50?
I can assure you that if others raised the consistency of their performances, whilst LDU remains on the same level of output, our fortunes would improve dramatically. If he learned to kick the thing well when trying to spot a forward teammate, our fortunes would improve at least a bit, if not noticeably. But all this other stuff about commitment is bullshit. He shone this year and he, like the rest of us, is probably wondering why those efforts have counted for jack shit
17 today in Melbourne and I wore tshirt shorts and thongs. Gorgeous weather.Average maximums in Bunbury in June and July are 18.5 and 17.3, respectively.
Bring a jumper.
Don't your pants ride up when you wear thongs? Not always a good look following behind...17 today in Melbourne and I wore tshirt shorts and thongs. Gorgeous weather.
YupDo they have a Chicken Treat anywhere nearby?
Asking for a friend.
Depends on who’s following youDon't your pants ride up when you wear thongs? Not always a good look following behind...
Dirty birdDo they have a Chicken Treat anywhere nearby?
Asking for a friend.