Opinion Commentary & Media VIII

Hope you are travelling well brother
Thanks. I'm in Tassie now. Was at the Mannalargenna celebration on the weekend. Great day. I was at a pretty ****ed up car accident recently that left me in a bit of hole but I'm climbing out of it now.

I hope things are good for you.

Lets be honest, he sounds like a useless campaigner whose death made society a little bit better.

I can't be certain if Sillygit has presented us with Arden's entire list of achievements or just knit picking a few things to suit a narrative so i'm taking it with a grain of salt.

Disengage. He or she has proven to be disingenuous.

I find the timing of this interesting, the name of the station 'Arden' was announced in 2017 but 7 years later as the station has been finished with signage it suddenly gets reported on? Where was the outrage back then? To me it feels like the newspaper just looking for something else to criticize the Government for.

With all the $ in support services, welfare etc, I say we already do.
Well you're wrong.

If I went to your house, stole all your shit then gave the phone numbers for Centrelink and the Salvos would you say that's a fair price?

Why do we hold people born 200 years ago to todays standards of morality?

**** me, the 80’s were a different time, how could we imagine what 200 years ago was like?
Yep, even people born 80 or 90 years ago grew up in a different time and sometimes they’ll say something innocent that wasn’t considered racist in their time that (rightfully) wouldn’t be accepted today.
Happened the other day near me in a coffee shop and the barista was rightfully respectful and took no offence to it.

Well you're wrong.

If I went to your house, stole all your shit then gave the phone numbers for Centrelink and the Salvos would you say that's a fair price?

Well we can agree to disagree. The recent referendum suggests that the majority of Australian's believe that 40bil or thereabouts per year is more than enough.

Once again, if you want to hold a guy who wrote things and had certain views way back in the 1840's to today's societal standards, I think that's very unfair.
He's dead.

We don't have to continue to laude him. Life is unfair and he's not even alive.

There's literally a link in this thread with a clipping detailing the man's life. So go have a look yourself.

The thing I found funny about the article summary was “should we remember this bloke”

Geez, it’s hard to remember someone you’ve never heard of.

I would have been oblivious to his existence and racial comments if to weren’t for the article. I’m certain 95% of people reading the article would be the same.

Well we can agree to disagree. The recent referendum suggests that the majority of Australian's believe that 40bil or thereabouts per year is more than enough.
Thats not what the voice to parliament was about. People believed on false pretence it was about money, it really wasnt though. Perhaps if it wasnt filled with misinformation, it may have gone the other way

Thanks. I'm in Tassie now. Was at the Mannalargenna celebration on the weekend. Great day. I was at a pretty ****ed up car accident recently that left me in a bit of hole but I'm climbing out of it now.

I hope things are good for you.
If you spotted a guy and his son bashing around in a tinny out the front, that was me!

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yep, even people born 80 or 90 years ago grew up in a different time and sometimes they’ll say something innocent that wasn’t considered racist in their time that (rightfully) wouldn’t be accepted today.
Happened the other day near me in a coffee shop and the barista was rightfully respectful and took no offence to it.
A lot of current society I really have no qualms with. Whatever, if it makes people happy, I really couldn’t give a shit. Doesn’t change my life one bit. I also understand that the way I grew up wouldn’t be tolerated today.. sometimes I wish I could give my kids a clip like I received but just doesn’t work like that any longer 😂

We should all hang out our parents for their capital punishment. Terrible people, lets cancel em

Thats not what the voice to parliament was about. People believed on false pretence it was about money, it really wasnt though. Perhaps if it wasnt filled with misinformation, it may have gone the other way

Once people caught wind that this was about Truth Telling and Treaty it predictably failed. And if you don't believe this was the case then read up what a Makarrata is for and go back and listen to Albanese's speech on election night. It was a Trojan horse.

Who's been lauding him up until this point?
Stop being obtuse. The story - as much as it is clearly a fishing exercise - is about naming a train station on one of the largest infrastructure projects in decades after the bloke. I reckon that passes the reasonable person test to meet the definition of the word. Whether it was done out of ignorance, lack of interest or whatever is up for debate.

I mostly think it's a beat up from a paper that has a hard on for whinging about Lab PT projects but it doesn't mean it wasn't a poor choice given the history behind the name.

Just watched it and came on here to post the very same thing.

I could honestly listen to Euge speak all day. He's such a great North Melbourne man now.

Kudos to Marnie as well for doing a great job with the interview. Here's a direct link to the YouTube page for part one for anyone who hasn't seen it, it's definitely worth a look...

And here is the direct link to part two

Just absolutely confirms what a shit bloke Demetriou is.

Opinion Commentary & Media VIII